Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Our book recs for the main characters of ‘Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker’

SHARE

Episode IX is upon is… which means the Skywalker saga is about to reach its end. But stories (and books!) live forever, and we’d like to think that the main characters of Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker can find some time to sit down and read. When they do, here are the books that we think they’d benefit from reading the most!

Rey: An Ember in the Ashes

An-Ember-in-the-Ashes-COVER

Not only does Rey’s perpetual face-off with Kylo Ren give us SERIOUS Laia and the Nightbringer vibes, but we have a feeling that Rey would be able to relate to Laia’s journey of survival and restoring hope to her people. (Plus, Rey would be THE BEST teacher for Laia in hand-to-hand combat!)

 

Finn: Down and Across

Down-and-Across-COVER

As Finn knows more than anyone, sometimes you have to run away from everything and everyone you know, in order to find the courage to be honest about who you are. That’s why we think Finn would have a lot of notes to swap with Scott Ferdowsi.

 

Poe Dameron: War Girls

war-girls-cover

Since The Force Awakens, Poe Dameron has been on the path to becoming a leader, and any military commander in wartime must make difficult decisions. Onyii of the War Girls would be able to teach him a thing or two about inspiring trust on the battlefield… though we’d definitely be interested in seeing whether Onyii or Poe is the better pilot.

 

Rose Tico: The Afterward

Afterward

Family means everything to Rose Tico. Even though she lost her sister Paige in The Last Jedi, Rose never gave up hope, and she found a new family—including Finn, and (as we’re about to see in The Rise of Skywalker) Poe and Rey, too. That’s why we believe Rose would love the found family cast of The Afterward, and their (quite similar) quest to restore balance to their civilization.

 

Kylo Ren: Frankly in Love

Frankly-in-Love-COVER

Look… family can be challenging, and how you grow up has a large impact on how you live your life. No matter how you feel about Kylo Ren, all we’ll say is that Kylo could learn a lot about the complexities of family life (and about how to deal with your parents’ expectations while also detoxifying your relationships) by stepping off his throne for just one afternoon to read about Frank Li and his family.

 

General Hux: Darius the Great is Not Okay

Darius-the-Great-Is-Not-Okay-pb

On the subject of detoxifying your relationships, we’re pretty sure that Darius’s evolving relationship with his father—as well as his newfound friendship with Sohrab—can teach General Hux a lot about bringing wholesome, nontoxic relationships into your life. Even the military leader of the First Order has some room to grow, right?

 

Emperor Palpatine: The Beautiful

The-Beautiful

Being (or becoming) immortal can certainly change your worldview on life. While we’re still not positive on how Emperor Palpatine has returned to the Star Wars galaxy after his electrifying death in Return of the Jedi, maybe he learned a thing or two from La Cour des Lions on the secret of immortality. Or maybe they learned it from him?

 

#WhatsTrending

Read the first 3 chapters of Goddess in the Machine by Lora Beth Johnson!

Goddess in the Machine by Lora Beth Johnson just hit shelves! In this smart, thrilling sci-fi adventure, perfect for fans of Renegades and Aurora Rising, Andra wakes up from a cryogenic sleep 1,000 years later than she was supposed to, forcing her to team up with an exiled prince to navigate an unfamiliar planet. Scroll down to read the … Continued
See More

A Mood Reader’s Roadmap

Are you a mood reader? We’ve got you! We’ve put together a list of reads perfect for all of the reading moods, including some of 2020’s hottest reads and what’s about to hit shelves next!   In the mood for a fantasy that will take you away for a bit? You should read…   The Kinder Poison by … Continued
See More

6 Vampire Books to Read While You Wait For Twilight’s Midnight Sun

Stephenie Meyer dropped BIG news that the long anticipated, much talked about Twilight from Edward Cullen’s perspective novel Midnight Sun is coming this August! Of course, that is a few months away and if you’re craving more vampire reads, here are six books to sink your teeth into. 1. Vampire Academy Equal parts swoon and epic. Vampire Academy is … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: STORMBREAK by Natalie C. Parker

  June may be coming to an end, but we are looking forward to continuing to #ReadPrideAndBeyond all year long with upcoming spectacular 2020 reads. And we’re sharing an excerpt today from one of them! Stormbreak by Natalie C. Parker is the epic conclusion to the Seafire trilogy, applauded by Tor.com for celebrating “sisterhood and queernormativity in the face … Continued
See More

Week 2 Recap: The Beautiful Read-Along!

It was week 2 of of sinking our teeth into Renée Ahdieh’s The Beautiful. We have been loving reading this book alongside you all this month and this book is KILLING IT! As week 2 of our Read-Along comes to a close, here are some of our favorite posts from readers who are reading (or re-reading) the book with … Continued
See More

COVER REVEAL: City of the Uncommon Thief

It’s cover reveal time! Get ready for a dark and intricate fantasy perfect for readers of The Book of Dust and Leigh Bardugo. City of the Uncommon Thief is the story of a quarantined city gripped by fear and of the war that can free it. Scroll down to see the cover and read an excerpt down below! Illustrator: … Continued
See More

ICYMI: the cover for Super Fake Love Song is here!

Super Fake Love Song by David Yoon, author of Frankly in Love, is hitting shelves November 17th, and we are SO in love with this cover. Scroll down to take a look and read a bit about the book!     From the bestselling author of Frankly in Love comes a contemporary YA rom-com where a case of mistaken … Continued
See More

2020 YA Preview!

Hello and WELCOME to the 2020 YA preview! We’re talking all early info on upcoming 2020 books we cannot WAIT to read and all the amazing books out so far this year!   All the Days Past, All the Days to Come by Mildred D. Taylor – January 7, 2020 The saga of the Logan family–made … Continued
See More

#ReadPrideAndBeyond with these books!

This Pride Month, we’re celebrating with books that highlight extraordinary LGBTQ+ stories. Funny, heartbreaking, suspenseful, romantic – there’s a little something for everyone on this list, so scroll down on for some of our favorites and #ReadPrideAndBeyond all year long! Plus, don’t forget to enter our sweeps to win a stack!   Click here to enter our #ReadPrideAndBeyond … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: THE WOODS ARE ALWAYS WATCHING by Stephanie Perkins

Stephanie Perkins is back with another blood-chilling contemporary horror novel, the perfect companion to her New York Times bestseller There’s Someone Inside Your House (coming to Netflix!!) Get ready for The Woods Are Always Watching, coming September 2020! We are so ready for more scares from Stephanie Perkins. Keep an eye out, because as SOON as we have more info, … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP