Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Dreamers Often Lie

By Jacqueline West
SHARE

About Dreamers Often Lie

New York Times bestselling author Jacqueline West makes her YA debut in this Shakespeare-inspired novel for fans of Holly Black and Laini Taylor

“If you liked the trippy hallucinations of Black Swan, you’ll be mesmerized by Jacqueline West’s eerie new YA romance.”—Entertainment Weekly

Who can you trust when you can’t trust yourself?

Jaye wakes up from a skiiing accident with a fractured skull, a blinding headache, and her grip on reality sliding into delusion. Determined to get back to her starring role in the school production of A Midsummer Night’s Dream, Jaye lies to her sister, her mom, her doctors. She’s fine, she says. She’s fine. If anyone knew the truth—that hallucinations of Shakespeare and his characters have followed her from her hospital bed to the high school halls—it would all be over. She’s almost managing to pull off the act when Romeo shows up in her anatomy class. And it turns out that he’s 100 percent real. Suddenly Jaye has to choose between lying to everyone else and lying to herself.

Troubled by this magnetic boy, a long-lost friend turned recent love interest, and the darkest parts of her family’s past, Jaye’s life tangles with Shakespeare’s most famous plays until she can’t tell where the truth ends and pretending begins. Soon, secret meetings and dizzying first kisses give way to more dangerous things. How much is real, how much is in Jaye’s head, and how much does it matter as she flies toward a fate over which she seems to have no control?

#DreamersOftenLie

9 Retellings You’ll Feel Guilty For Liking Better Than the Original

Sometimes you love a story so much you can read it again and again. But after you’ve read it five…six…seven…times, you may need to move on for a minute. We’ve rounded up some of our favorite retellings that, dare I say it, you might even like more than the original!   Piper by Jay Asher … Continued
See More

New Books Available in April 2016

Before you dive into your May reading, make sure you didn’t miss any of these YA books that came out in April!   1. Blind by Rachel Dewoskin: This powerful story about blindness is now in paperback. 2. First there Was Forever by Juliana Romano: This bittersweet story about first love and first loss is now in paperback. 3. Dreamers Often Lie by Jacqueline … Continued
See More

9 Ways To Get The Deets On Shakespeare’s Drama Without Reading His Plays

Invoke the name Shakespeare and one word comes to mind…DRAMA. Whether it’s a comedy or a tragedy, you know some shiz is about to go down. It’s easy to see why so many things in pop culture are inspired by his classic takes on love, revenge, and murder. Read on for nine ways to refresh … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP