Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Althea & Oliver

By Cristina Moracho
SHARE

About Althea & Oliver

“The bittersweet romance, Oliver’s battle with his illness, and Althea’s coming-of-age struggle should appeal to fans of John Green and Sarah Dessen who are looking for something new.” —VOYA

Althea Carter and Oliver McKinley have been best friends since they were six. Now, as their junior year of high school comes to a close, Althea has begun to want something more. Oliver simply wants life to go back to normal, but when he wakes up one morning with no memory of the past three weeks, he can’t deny any longer that something is seriously wrong with him. Then Althea makes the worst decision ever, and her relationship with Oliver is shattered. When he leaves town for a clinical study in New York, she drives up the coast after him, determined to make up for what she’s done.

Cristina Moracho’s extraordinary debut is an achingly real story about identity, illness, and love—and how one decision can change everything.

TIME Magazine Top 10 YA of 2014 ~ An SLJ Best Books of the Year ~ A Booklist Editor’s Choice 2014 ~ A Kirkus Reviews Best Books of 2014

“Fans of Rainbow Rowell’s Eleanor and Park will enjoy debut author Cristina Moracho’s trip back to the 1990s in Althea and Oliver.” —CNN.com

“A gut-wrenching tale.” —People

* “Moracho’s coming-of-age story carries rare insight and a keen understanding of those verging on adulthood.” —Booklist, starred review

* “Mesmerizing.” —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

#AltheaOliver

12 Books With Multiple Narrators That Prove Two (Or More) Voices Are Better Than One

Two’s company but three totally isn’t a crowd when it comes to narrators. Getting to read a story from more than one point of view kind of feels like mind-reading, which, let’s be real, is awesome. Read on for some of our favorite YA books told by more than one character!   The Arsonist by … Continued
See More

8 Book Club Suggestions for When It’s Your Turn to Pick

Everyone knows the most important member of your book club…is the book. You need one that you’ll want to talk about over and over again to EVERYONE you know. So we created a magnificent YA Book Club website with tips, exclusives, and the 8 book club suggestions that had us dialing our emergency MUST DISCUSS NOW numbers the second … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP