Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly

By Stephanie Oakes
SHARE

About The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly

**THE BOOK THAT INSPIRED SACRED LIES, DEBUTING JULY 27 ON FACEBOOK WATCH**

A hard-hitting and hopeful story about the dangers of blind faith—and the power of having faith in yourself. Finalist for the Morris Award.

The Kevinian cult has taken everything from seventeen-year-old Minnow: twelve years of her life, her family, her ability to trust. And when she rebelled, they took away her hands, too.

Now their Prophet has been murdered and their camp set aflame, and it’s clear that Minnow knows something—but she’s not talking. As she languishes in juvenile detention, she struggles to un-learn everything she has been taught to believe, adjusting to a life behind bars and recounting the events that led up to her incarceration. But when an FBI detective approaches her about making a deal, Minnow sees she can have the freedom she always dreamed of—if she’s willing to part with the terrible secrets of her past.

Gorgeously written, breathlessly page-turning and sprinkled with moments of unexpected humor, this harrowing debut is perfect for readers of Emily Murdoch’s If You Find Me and Nova Ren Suma’s The Walls Around Us, as well as for fans of Orange is the New Black.

#TheSacredLiesofMinnowBly

When Your Book Becomes a TV Show! Stephanie Oakes Tells All

We had to know, what’s it like when your book becomes a TV show? Stephanie Oakes‘ 2015 cult instant classic The Scared Lies of Minnow Bly was picked up by Facebook Watch and tonight Sacred Lies ends an absolute terrifically haunting first season – which you can watch at anytime right HERE. We had Stephanie look … Continued
See More

9 Books To Get You Through The Bleakest Of Winters

The days seem shorter than ever and it’s getting frighteningly chilly. Winter. Is. Coming. Luckily, we know just what you need. Read on for 9 books about the strength of the human spirit that will propel your winter-ravaged soul through this winer! Exit, Pursued by a Bear by E.K. Johnston Hermione refuses to be anyone’s cautionary tale … Continued
See More

9 Summer Reads to Fill the Void Your Favorite TV Show Left Behind

There’s one drawback to the start of summer: lots of TV shows end in the spring. Fear not! Just close your laptop and turn off the TV, because we’ve rounded up the perfect reads to keep the magic going – whatever your favorite show!   Revenge ––> Daughter of Deep Silence Here’s why: The lines of identity, truth, and … Continued
See More

13 Books to Add to Your Friday the 13th TBR

Happy Friday the 13th, y’all! We here at Penguin Teen HQ know the value and fun of a good scare, so we love that there have been so many great horror movies out right now–A Quiet Place, Truth or Dare, and The Strangers: Prey at Night, to name few. Already seen them or too scared … Continued
See More

Everything That Went on Sale in November 2016

Undoubtedly the best thing to happen in November 2016 is that all of these beautiful books were released!   The Outsiders 50th Anniversary Edition by S.E. Hinton: This beloved classic is celebrating its 50th anniversary with not one, but two anniversary editions!   Frozen Tides by Morgan Rhodes: Book four in the Falling Kingdoms series … Continued
See More

9 Retellings You’ll Feel Guilty For Liking Better Than the Original

Sometimes you love a story so much you can read it again and again. But after you’ve read it five…six…seven…times, you may need to move on for a minute. We’ve rounded up some of our favorite retellings that, dare I say it, you might even like more than the original!   Piper by Jay Asher … Continued
See More

Start Reading The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly by Stephanie Oakes!

Stephanie Oakes’ debut novel is a hard-hitting and hopeful story about the dangers of blind faith—and the power of having faith in yourself. Gorgeously written, breathlessly page-turning and sprinkled with moments of unexpected humor, this harrowing debut is perfect for readers of Emily Murdoch’s If You Find Me and Nova Ren Suma’s The Walls Around … Continued
See More

9 Books That Will Help You Find Your Strength

In an ideal world, every day would consist of sunny days spent reading on grassy knolls with not a cloud in sight. But the real world is full of ups and downs, the occasional cloudy day and sometimes straight up thunder and lightning. Luckily, we find that books can be the best way to weather the … Continued
See More

Penguin Teen Author Spotlight: Stephanie Oakes

Some books still elicit a powerful mix of feelings inside of you long after you read them. The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly is that book: it’s the tale of young Minnow Bly, who lost everything to a cult – including her hands. Gut-wrenching, vivid, and ultimately hopeful, it’s a story that will linger with you … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP