Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

The Reader

By Traci Chee
SHARE

About The Reader

An instant New York Times Bestseller, this is a stunning debut set in a world where reading is unheard-of. Perfect for fans of Inkheart and Shadow and Bone

Finalist for the Kirkus Prize and nominated for the Goodreads Choice Award!

Sefia knows what it means to survive. After her father is brutally murdered, she flees into the wilderness with her aunt Nin, who teaches her to hunt, track, and steal. But when Nin is kidnapped, leaving Sefia completely alone, none of her survival skills can help her discover where Nin’s been taken, or if she’s even alive. The only clue to both her aunt’s disappearance and her father’s murder is the odd rectangular object her father left behind, an object she comes to realize is a book—a marvelous item unheard of in her otherwise illiterate society. With the help of this book, and the aid of a mysterious stranger with dark secrets of his own, Sefia sets out to rescue her aunt and find out what really happened the day her father was killed—and punish the people responsible.

“I was spellbound from the first page. An utterly transportive tale of swashbucklers and sharpshooters, masterfully written.”—Renée Ahdieh, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Wrath and the Dawn

“Traci Chee’s The Reader Could Be The Next Big YA Fantasy Series”—Bustle.com

#TheReader

5 Great Series Ending in the Second Half of 2018!

Hello, readers! Earlier this year, we brought you a list of series finishing in the first half of 2018, and really, who would we be if we didn’t follow it up with the second half? A small but mighty list, here are the series that are coming to a close in the end of this … Continued
See More

9 Heroines Who Are Ready to Join the Rebel Alliance

On this May the Fourth, we’re celebrating the fierce heroines we know and love that would be so down to join the Rebel Alliance. These ladies either have the experience, the wherewithal, or let’s be real here–the sass–to take on the dark side.     AMANI, Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton Rebel Cred: … Continued
See More

The First Excerpt from The Storyteller Is HERE

The gorgeous finale to Traci Chee’s The Reader Trilogy is just around the corner and we’re not ready for it to end either. BUT this first excerpt from The Storyteller has us really excited to jump back into Sefia’s world, and we can’t wait to share it! via GIPHY   Find the first excerpt from The Storyteller below!   Chapter One … Continued
See More

9 Books to Read During Asian Pacific American Heritage Month

May is Asian Pacific American Heritage Month, and 2018 marks the 40th anniversary that it’s been celebrated. Asian Pacific American Heritage Month celebrates the culture, traditions, and history of Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders in the United States. How are we celebrating? By reading, of course! Read on for 9 great books to add to … Continued
See More

8 Books to Inspire Your Unique Bookish Tattoos

Looking for ideas for your latest tattoo? Well, look no further! Whether it’s a meaningful quote or an image, these bookish ideas will inspire you for your next ink appointment!   Beasts Made of Night Bookish tattoo idea: Sin beasts woven together The intricate animals on this cover would make for a perfect new tattoo. In … Continued
See More

Reasons to Re-Read The Reader This Fall!

As the release date for The Storyteller (aka final book in the The Reader trilogy, aka the series Traci Chee has BLESSED our shelves with) rapidly approaches, the time has come for a re-read (or, if you’re new, just a read!)   Now, we could tell you about why we love this trilogy ourselves, but … Continued
See More

8 Diverse Fantasies to Read if You Loved CHILDREN OF BLOOD AND BONE

Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi is one of the biggest books of 2018 so far, and has enticed readers with its lush West-African inspired setting and its intriguing world of dark magic. Readers are craving more diverse fantasy, because after a while, the same old stuff gets a little bit tiring! Need more … Continued
See More

These book series are ending in 2018 and we’re not okay

It’s been a stellar year for shelves everywhere. Games were hacked, thrones were claimed, and—let’s face it—tears were shed.   And now, it’s time to say goodbye to seven of these beloved series as they take their bows (…and by “say goodbye” we mean re-read obsessively).   Warcross   It’s okay, we all cried too. A … Continued
See More

Books by Women of Color that You Need to Read This Year

If 2017 was the year of the woman, in 2018 women are keeping that momentum going and taking the world by storm. If the Golden Globes were any indication, women are finally (and rightfully) demanding to have their voices heard. And while we continue to show support from a social and political standpoint, we are also making … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP