Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

The Reader

By Traci Chee
SHARE

About The Reader

An instant New York Times Bestseller, this is a stunning debut set in a world where reading is unheard-of. Perfect for fans of Inkheart and Shadow and Bone

Finalist for the Kirkus Prize and nominated for the Goodreads Choice Award!

Sefia knows what it means to survive. After her father is brutally murdered, she flees into the wilderness with her aunt Nin, who teaches her to hunt, track, and steal. But when Nin is kidnapped, leaving Sefia completely alone, none of her survival skills can help her discover where Nin’s been taken, or if she’s even alive. The only clue to both her aunt’s disappearance and her father’s murder is the odd rectangular object her father left behind, an object she comes to realize is a book—a marvelous item unheard of in her otherwise illiterate society. With the help of this book, and the aid of a mysterious stranger with dark secrets of his own, Sefia sets out to rescue her aunt and find out what really happened the day her father was killed—and punish the people responsible.

“I was spellbound from the first page. An utterly transportive tale of swashbucklers and sharpshooters, masterfully written.”—Renée Ahdieh, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Wrath and the Dawn

“Traci Chee’s The Reader Could Be The Next Big YA Fantasy Series”—Bustle.com

#TheReader

Books by Women of Color that You Need to Read This Year

If 2017 was the year of the woman, in 2018 women are keeping that momentum going and taking the world by storm. If the Golden Globes were any indication, women are finally (and rightfully) demanding to have their voices heard. And while we continue to show support from a social and political standpoint, we are also making … Continued
See More

Every Book Coming Out in September 2017

It’s important to start your fall reading off on a high note so it’s a good thing that the books coming out in September already have incredible reader love and are destined to become hits. Read on for a sneak peek of each one!    Warcross by Marie Lu The next blockbuster from #1 New York Times bestselling … Continued
See More

The #IAmTheReader Book Tag

What makes you a reader? In honor of Traci Chee’s instant New York Times bestselling debut The Reader, which is about a world without reading, we asked fans on Youtube to take a minute and reflect on what reading means to them. They answered with some of the most passionate, inspiring, and sometimes tear-worthy replies we’ve ever … Continued
See More

9 Heroines Who Are Ready to Join the Rebel Alliance

  Already seen Star Wars: The Last Jedi but can’t seem to get enough of it? Want to see Star Wars: The Last Jedi but you’re too worried about what is going to happen to our friends in the Rebel Alliance to do so? Have no fear–we’ve got you covered, regardless of your current Star … Continued
See More

11 Diverse Fantasies You NEED On Your Shelf

Everyone loves classic fantasy tales like Lord of the Rings and The Chronicles of Narnia, but at some point you might realize that all these classics seem to feel pretty similar. Fantasy should transport us to a new and exciting world, but that doesn’t mean it should forget the richness of the world in which … Continued
See More

Fall Into Fantasy With These Magical Reads

Instead of meeting a wall of humidity and heat every morning, the reinvigorating cool of fall is making its way in. Predictably, the pumpkin spice flurry has descended, boots are being dug out from closets, people are remembering why flannel is heaven on earth, and everyone is planning their trips to go apple picking for … Continued
See More

8 Books to Inspire Your Unique Bookish Tattoos

Looking for ideas for your latest tattoo? Well, look no further! Whether it’s a meaningful quote or an image, these bookish ideas will inspire you for your next ink appointment!   Beasts Made of Night Bookish tattoo idea: Sin beasts woven together The intricate animals on this cover would make for a perfect new tattoo. In … Continued
See More

Our 5 Ultimate Favorite Fictional Libraries

  As bookworms, we know that there’s no better place than an awesome library (the books are free, I mean, come on). With that in mind, we’ve rounded up 5 of our favorite fictional libraries. Before you read on, remember to support your libraries by visiting, checking out books, and using the many awesome services … Continued
See More

8 Books About Books

Our world is pretty much all about books. So when we come across a book about a book, it’s like multiplying our love for them x1000000. It’s like getting a second helping of book love. It’s like getting double the love. Experience the magic and get on a meta level with us with these books about books!   … Continued
See More

Fantasy By the Numbers

Got a few hours? A few days? A few weeks? Check out our Fantasy By the Numbers infographic to discover your next great fantasy read!     Want to know a little more about each of these books? Look no further!
See More
BACK TO TOP

I can give you book recommendations.
Please enter your name and email address to begin chatting with me.



What is your date of birth?

START CHAT