Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Please enter a valid date of birth.
Please enter a valid 5 digit zip code.

The Reader

By Traci Chee
SHARE

About The Reader

Instant New York Times Bestseller

A stunning debut set in a world where reading is unheard-of, perfect for fans of Inkheart and Shadow and Bone

Sefia knows what it means to survive. After her father is brutally murdered, she flees into the wilderness with her aunt Nin, who teaches her to hunt, track, and steal. But when Nin is kidnapped, leaving Sefia completely alone, none of her survival skills can help her discover where Nin’s been taken, or if she’s even alive. The only clue to both her aunt’s disappearance and her father’s murder is the odd rectangular object her father left behind, an object she comes to realize is a book—a marvelous item unheard of in her otherwise illiterate society. With the help of this book, and the aid of a mysterious stranger with dark secrets of his own, Sefia sets out to rescue her aunt and find out what really happened the day her father was killed—and punish the people responsible.

With overlapping stories of swashbuckling pirates and merciless assassins, The Reader is a brilliantly told adventure from an extraordinary new talent.

#TheReader

Fantasy By the Numbers

Got a few hours? A few days? A few weeks? Check out our Fantasy By the Numbers infographic to discover your next great fantasy read!     Want to know a little more about each of these books? Look no further!
See More

Watch Author Traci Chee Share The 1 Thing She Wishes She Knew When She Was A Teen

We asked debut author of The Reader author Traci Chee the one thing she wishes she knew when she was a teen, and we think her answer is perfect:     Ready for more from Traci Chee? Preorder your copy of The Reader!                                  … Continued
See More

Start reading THE READER by Traci Chee!

“Once there was, and one day there will be. This is the beginning of every story.” File under: most life-changing first lines from books. One of our most anticipated reads of fall 2016, The Reader, is almost here! September 13th might feel like far away, but you can read the first few chapters of The Reader below! … Continued
See More

The #IAmTheReader Book Tag

What makes you a reader? In honor of Traci Chee’s instant New York Times bestselling debut The Reader, which is about a world without reading, we asked fans on Youtube to take a minute and reflect on what reading means to them. They answered with some of the most passionate, inspiring, and sometimes tear-worthy replies we’ve ever … Continued
See More

Watch Traci Chee Share 5 Things You Need to Know About THE READER!

There are a lot of things you need to know about our hottest fantasy debut of the fall, The Reader, but we’ll let the author Traci Chee share her top 5 with you first. Watch this video to find out what they are!     Ready to read? Preorder your copy of The Reader!                   … Continued
See More

9 Books We Can’t Wait To Read This Summer

Summer is upon us—we can almost feel it! And with it comes a slew of new activities to pull us out of the long shadow of winter’s gloom—beach days (spent reading); lazy vacation days (spent reading); camping (and reading)… Okay, so maybe our activity list doesn’t actually change much from season to season but there’s … Continued
See More

Fall Into Fantasy With These 13 Fantastic Fantasy Reads

Instead of meeting a wall of humidity and heat every morning, the reinvigorating cool of fall is making its way in. Predictably, the pumpkin spice flurry has descended, boots are being dug out from closets, people are remembering why flannel is heaven on earth, and everyone is planning their trips to go apple picking for … Continued
See More

8 Books About Books

Our world is pretty much all about books. So when we come across a book about a book, it’s like multiplying our love for them x1000000. It’s like getting a second helping of book love. It’s like getting double the love. Experience the magic and get on a meta level with us with these books about books!   … Continued
See More

Everything You Need to Know About THE READER Author Traci Chee

What book made you realize how important reading is to you? We’re obsessed with The Reader for countless reasons – the unique fantasy setting, swashbuckling pirates, merciless assassins, its beautiful cover – we could go on forever. But one of the most special parts of The Reader is that it celebrates how books can change your life: set in … Continued
See More

14 Books We Can’t Wait to Read This Fall

August is here! We have good news and bad news. Bad news: we’re quickly approaching the end of summer. Good news: you’ve got a ton of brand new fall books coming your way! Why not soothe your soon-to-be end of summer blues with some of these fabulous reads?   Spontaneous by Aaron Starmer What do you … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP

I can give you book recommendations.
Please enter your name and email address to begin chatting with me.



What is your date of birth?

START CHAT