Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Things I’m Seeing Without You

By Peter Bognanni
SHARE

About Things I’m Seeing Without You

Equal parts heartbreaking, funny, and life-affirming, this is a story about love after the most profound loss, for fans of Jesse Andrews, Rainbow Rowell, and Jennifer Niven.

“Required reading.” –John Corey Whaley, winner of the Printz Award

Seventeen-year-old Tess Fowler has dropped out of high school, tossed her laptop in a freezing lake, then jumped in after it fully clothed. Why? Because Jonah was the boy she knew only through texts and emails but understood to his very core. Jonah was the only boy she’d told she loved and the only boy to say it back. And Jonah was the boy whose suicide she never saw coming.
 
Jonah’s death has sent Tess pinwheeling into grief and confusion. But even though he’s gone, Tess still writes to him. She wants answers to the yawning chasm of questions that’s become her life. At the same time, she’s trying to find solace in her father’s alternative funeral business. Who knew that arranging last rites for prized pets could be so life-affirming? But love, loss, and life are so much more complicated than Tess ever thought . . . especially after she receives a message that turns her already inside-out world totally upside down.
 
As funny as it is heartbreaking and completely unputdownable, Things I’m Seeing Without You shows us what it means to love someone, to lose someone, to wade through the beautiful/strange agony of the aftermath, and somehow love again.

“Sometimes hilarious, always affecting.”VOYA
“Nails the messiness of grief.”SLJ
“Compelling . . . a draw for fans of Nicola Yoon.”BCCB

#ThingsImSeeingWithoutYou

Every book hitting shelves in April!

Dear April, we would just like to say thank you thank you thank you for all the new books.   4/2: Life Sucks by Michael Bennett and Sarah Bennet – A book for teens that shows readers that we all deal with crap in our lives and how to laugh at some of the things we … Continued
See More

13 Books to Read During Mental Health Month

May is Mental Health Month and we find that books can not only help us understand or sympathize, but can often help us talk about difficult topics. Here are 13 books to read this month to help you start a conversation and #endthestigma.   Turtles All the Way Down by John Green Aza is trying. She is trying … Continued
See More

Everything You Need to Know About THINGS I’M SEEING WITHOUT YOU Author Peter Bognanni

Name: Peter Bognanni Novel: Things I’m Seeing Without You Available: October 3, 2017 About the book: Fans of Eleanor and Park and All the Bright Places will laugh and cry as they read this heartbreaking and life-affirming novel about love after the most profound loss. Seventeen-year-old Tess Fowler has just dropped out of high school. She can barely function after … Continued
See More

Books to Read Based On Your Hogwarts House!

Need to take a break from stalking the mailman for your Hogwarts letter? Don’t worry, we get it. And we’ve got the perfect list of reads to keep you distracted until it comes!   If you’re a GRYFFINDOR     Flame in the Mist by Renée Ahdieh On her way to the imperial city, Mariko is … Continued
See More

Every Book Going on Sale in October 2017!

Ahh, fall. Crisp air, pumpkin spice lattes, and lots and lots of great reads, perfect for curling up by the fire with on those chilly October nights. We’ve got an incredible list of October reads for you, so get ready to add them to your TBR!   10/3: Things I’m Seeing Without You by Peter … Continued
See More

Celebrating 50 Years of Game-Changing YA

A truly amazing story has the power to last forever. We took a look at the past 50 years to pull out some of our Penguin Teen books that have been seriously ground-shaking, heartbreaking and movement-shaping. These are the books that have changed the name of the game in Young Adult books and we’re excited to continue … Continued
See More

13 Books to Read After You Finish 13 Reasons Why

You’ve read the book (haven’t you?!), you’ve now binged both seasons of the show (maybe more than once), and now all you want is more. Never fear, we’ve got thirteen great emotional reads to get you through your 13 Reasons Why book/Netflix hangover!   Things I’m Seeing Without You by Peter Bognanni Seventeen-year-old Tess Fowler has … Continued
See More

9 Books That Will Help You Find Your Strength

In an ideal world, every day would consist of sunny days spent reading on grassy knolls with not a cloud in sight. But the real world is full of ups and downs, the occasional cloudy day and sometimes straight up thunder and lightning. Luckily, we find that books can be the best way to weather the … Continued
See More

11 Books to Help You Confront Your Grief

Loss is something terrible that we all must face in our lives at one time or another. Whether it’s the death of a loved one, a bad break up, or the loss of a friend, the grief and pain can often feel like the end of the world. But luckily there are books out there that … Continued
See More

12 Books We Can’t Wait to Read this Fall

Oh autumn, a season full of cool weather, pumpkins, leaves changing colors, and lots and lots of reading. With a change of season comes a change in our book list. While we aren’t quite ready for summer to end, it’s never too early to start getting hyped about the amazing new books coming this fall. … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP