Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

The Girl in Between

By Sarah Carroll
SHARE

About The Girl in Between

“A deeply moving story of family, homelessness, and the ghosts that won’t let us go. Haunting and unforgettable.”—Megan Shepherd, New York Times bestselling author of The Secret Horses of Briar Hill

Told in the naïve voice of a homeless girl sheltered by her mother from the world, this is a moving debut perfect for fans of David Almond, A Monster Calls, and Room.

I’m invisible. Ma says I’m supposed to be so the Authorities don’t get me. She goes out into the streets almost every day but I’m not allowed. I’ve got to stay inside the mill so they don’t see me. 

In an old, abandoned mill, a girl and her ma take shelter from their memories of life on the streets, and watch the busy world go by. The girl calls it the Castle because it’s the biggest place they’ve ever stayed, a home of her own like no other. The windows are boarded up and the floorboards are falling in, but for her neither of those things matter.

Then developers show up, and it’s clear that their lives are about to change forever. Desperate to save their refuge from the Authorities and her mother from her own personal demons, the girl seeks out the ghosts of the mill. And with only Caretaker—the old man who’s slept outside the mill for decades—around to answer her questions, she begins to wonder what kind of ghosts are haunting both the mill and her mother.

The Girl in Between is a compelling, witty, and at times heartbreaking novel that explores themes of loneliness and grief with effortless warmth and an unforgettable voice that will stick with you long after you’ve finished.

#TheGirlinBetween

11 Books You’ll Want to Re-read as Soon as You Finish

We’ve all been there—sitting in a train, or drinking coffee at a coffee shop, or lying in bed at 3 AM in the morning not knowing what to do with yourself because you’ve just finished reading the ~greatest book of all time~ and you’re contemplating if it’s a good idea to dive right back into it … Continued
See More

Seriously Ominous First Lines from Books

Remember learning about foreshadowing in high school English? Sometimes all it takes is one sentence to set the tone for an entire story. We rounded up 11 books with utterly chills-inducing and powerful first lines that grab you on the very first page and don’t let go for the entire rest of the story. Snuggle up safe and sound … Continued
See More

The Hottest Debuts Coming this Summer!

Summer reading, had me a blast… read on for seven amazing debuts coming out this summer that we can’t wait for!   Perfect Ten by L. Philips On sale: June 6 Does a Perfect Ten exist? Classic rom-com-meets-Freaky Friday feels in this delightful story about small town teen romance with an unexpected twist. What’s a boy … Continued
See More

15 Books We Can’t Wait to Throw in Our Bags This Summer

Are the winter blues getting you down? Do you find your thoughts drifting to warmer weather, days at the beach, and maybe a fabulous vacation or two? Sound like you’re ready to start making your summer plans—and what better place to start than your summer TBR pile? Check out our list of books we can’t … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP

I can give you book recommendations.
Please enter your name and email address to begin chatting with me.



What is your date of birth?

START CHAT