Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Kingdom of The Blazing Phoenix

By Julie C. Dao
SHARE

About Kingdom of The Blazing Phoenix

This fairy tale retelling lives in a mystical world inspired by the Far East, where the Dragon Lord and the Serpent God battle for control of the earthly realm; it is here that the flawed heroine of Forest of a Thousand Lanterns finally meets her match. An epic fantasy finale to that breathtaking and dazzling story.

Princess Jade has grown up in exile, hidden away in a monastery while her stepmother, the ruthless Xifeng, rules as Empress of Feng Lu. But the empire is in distress and its people are sinking into poverty and despair. Even though Jade doesn’t want the crown, she knows she is the only one who can dethrone the Empress and set the world right. Ready to reclaim her place as rightful heir, Jade embarks on a quest to raise the Dragon Lords and defeat Xifeng and the Serpent God once and for all. But will the same darkness that took Xifeng take Jade, too? Or will she find the strength within to save herself, her friends, and her empire?

Set in an East Asian-inspired fantasy world filled with breathtaking pain and beauty, Kingdom of the Blazing Phoenix is filled with dazzling magic, powerful prose, and characters readers won’t soon forget.

Fans of Stealing Snow, Red Queen, and The Wrath and the Dawn will hungrily devour this page-turning read.

Praise for Kingdom of the Blazing Phoenix:

“There aren’t many authors who could so precisely undo their first book with their second, but it is this clever unweaving that shows Dao’s brilliance and skill. With heart-stopping action and wonderful new characters, this is not a sequel to be missed.” —EK Johnston, #1 New York Times bestselling author
 
“A lush, enchanting tale of magic, myth, and absolute courage. At once gorgeously woven and deliciously gruesome, Kingdom of the Blazing Phoenix is a thrilling end to a series that feels like a classic in its own right.” —Natalie Mae, author of The Kinder Poison
 
Kingdom of the Blazing Phoenix is the stunning counterpoint to Forest of a Thousand Lanterns. A refreshing take on the classic heroine, and an adventure of stories nestled within stories, this is a book fairytale lovers will tuck among their most beloved treasures.” —Emily X.R. Pan, New York Times bestselling author of The Astonishing Color of After
 
Kingdom of the Blazing Phoenix broke my heart and filled it, all at once. In the process, Julie C. Dao has turned a well-worn tale into something thrilling and new. Ornate, tender, and magical. I could not put this book down.” —Tochi Onyebuchi, author of Beasts Made of Night and Crown of Thunder
 
“Beautifully written and masterfully told, Kingdom of the Blazing Phoenix feels at once timeless and entirely new . . . I loved it with my whole heart.” —Margaret Rogerson, New York Times bestselling author of An Enchantment of Ravens
 
“Utterly brilliant in every way, Kingdom of the Blazing Phoenix is the perfect follow-up to Julie C. Dao’s debut. This is the dark fantasy I’ve been waiting for, and I can’t get enough!” —Beth Revis, New York Times bestselling author of Give the Dark My Love

“A grand adventure for fans of fairy tales, fables, and legends coupled with the vibrant history of Chinese dynasties.”—Kirkus Reviews

* “A top purchase for most fantasy collections.” —School Library Journal, starred review

#KingdomofTheBlazingPhoenix

Royal Fantasy MUST Reads!

Ok, ok, ok, is it really surprising that we all continue to be obsessed with kings, queens, kingdoms, and magical ongoings of all sorts? We grow up playing in imaginary castles and then BOOM, we’re just expected to give that up to be adults, make doctors appointments, buy groceries, and do laundry? Ha. No. Welcome to … Continued
See More

Bad Boys Brood, Bad Girls Are “Unlikeable”

By Julie C. Dao Picture this: a male anti-hero strutting onto the page, cape billowing, eyes burning, the perfect smolder on his lips as he lies, cheats, and kills. He wins us over with his careless smirk and well-placed sarcasm, and readers are eager to defend him when he performs terrible deeds. “There’s a reason … Continued
See More

Pre-Order goodness! All the amazing THINGS!

There are SOOOO many amazing books still to come in 2018 and if you’re like us, then pre-ordering to get that Day 1 read is must. Of course, we want to reward those organized pre-order peeps out there so for some of our biggest books Penguin Teen has got amazing pre-order goodies just for uploading an … Continued
See More

Your Cheat Sheet to Every Book that Came Out in 2018

Wait…you’re saying it’s almost 2019? ALREADY? Well, then it’s time to take a stroll down Bookish Memory Lane and make sure you haven’t missed out on any of the amazing titles 2018 gave us! via GIPHY January: Rookie on Love by Tavi Gevinson A single-subject anthology about the heart’s most powerful emotion, edited by Rookie creator, … Continued
See More

Fall Into Fantasy Readathon HQ

Everything You Need To Know!   The Fall Into Fantasy Readathon will take place from November 18th – 25th, with the goal of reading at least four fantasy books off your to be read (TBR) pile! Not sure what to read? No worries, we’ve come up with eight reading challenges to help you build your … Continued
See More

5 Great Series Ending in the Second Half of 2018!

Hello, readers! Earlier this year, we brought you a list of series finishing in the first half of 2018, and really, who would we be if we didn’t follow it up with the second half? A small but mighty list, here are the series that are coming to a close in the end of this … Continued
See More

Books That Aren’t Afraid to Go There

Sometimes it’s easy to think YA books are all light and fluffy. It’s easy to forget that The Outsiders, arguably a YA genre instigator for a lot of the books we know and love today, wasn’t all that light and fluffy at all, and that YA books have been providing windows and mirrors for teens dealing with all … Continued
See More

Every Book Going on Sale in November!

November is a time to be thankful, and in true bookish style the thing we’re most thankful for is NEW BOOKS! Check out the full list below to see all the newest hardcovers, the most anticipated sequels, and beautiful new paperbacks coming your way.   11/6: Kingdom of the Blazing Phoenix by Julie C. Dao – … Continued
See More

These book series are ending in 2018 and we’re not okay

It’s been a stellar year for shelves everywhere. Games were hacked, thrones were claimed, and—let’s face it—tears were shed.   And now, it’s time to say goodbye to seven of these beloved series as they take their bows (…and by “say goodbye” we mean re-read obsessively).   Warcross   It’s okay, we all cried too. A … Continued
See More

Kingdom of the Blazing Phoenix Book Tour!

See More
BACK TO TOP