Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

The Vanishing Deep

By Astrid Scholte
SHARE

About The Vanishing Deep

Bestselling author Astrid Scholte, returns with a thrilling adventure in which the dead can be revived…for a price.

Seventeen-year-old Tempe was born into a world of water. When the Great Waves destroyed her planet five hundred years ago, its people had to learn to survive living on the water, but the ruins of the cities below still called. Tempe dives daily, scavenging the ruins of a bygone era, searching for anything of value to trade for Notes. It isn’t food or clothing that she wants to buy, but her dead sister’s life. For a price, the research facility on the island of Palindromena will revive the dearly departed for twenty-four hours before returning them to death. It isn’t a heartfelt reunion that Tempe is after; she wants answers. Elysea died keeping a terrible secret, one that has ignited an unquenchable fury in Tempe: Her beloved sister was responsible for the death of their parents. Tempe wants to know why.

But once revived, Elysea has other plans. She doesn’t want to spend her last day in a cold room accounting for a crime she insists she didn’t commit. Elysea wants her freedom and one final glimpse at the life that was stolen from her. She persuades Tempe to break her out of the facility, and they embark on a dangerous journey to discover the truth about their parents’ death and mend their broken bond. But they’re pursued every step of the way by two Palindromena employees desperate to find them before Elysea’s time is up–and before the secret behind the revival process and the true cost of restored life is revealed.

#TheVanishingDeep

2022 YA cover reveals you might have missed!

2022 is loaded with amazing reads and gorgeous covers. In case you missed any, here are a few highly-anticipated books that were revealed in the past month to get on that TBR asap!   The Vanishing Deep by Astrid Scholte – Coming January 4, 2022 Bestselling author Astrid Scholte, returns with a thrilling adventure in … Continued
See More

Unforgettable Siblings in YA for National Siblings Day!

There are a lot of siblings with protagonist brothers or sisters who have a knack for stealing the spotlight on account of being awesome, and we want to take a moment to appreciate them! So, here are 10 of our favorite siblings from YA in honor of National Sibling Day!   House of Hollow by … Continued
See More

Sci-Fi & Fantasy reads to move up on your TBR asap

2020 has brought a LOT of amazing reads to our shelf. Here are just a few of our favorite sci-fi/fantasy reads you’ll want to make sure you didn’t miss!   Want to win them all? Click here to enter our sweepstakes! The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae You will laugh. You will cry. You will … Continued
See More

See the new paperback look for THE VANISHING DEEP by Astrid Scholte!

The Vanishing Deep by Astrid Scholte is coming to paperback with a whole new look, hitting shelves January 4, 2022! Scroll down to see the stunning new cover and read a more about the book! Bestselling author Astrid Scholte, returns with a thrilling adventure in which the dead can be revived…for a price. Seventeen-year-old Tempe was … Continued
See More

High Stakes Thrillers That Will Keep You Guessing

If you’re looking to escape real life for a bit for some fictional thrills, these high stakes books have everything you need, from pirates to reanimated sisters to assassins! Scroll down for 17 high stakes thrillers that are sure to keep you guessing.   Rebel Sisters by Tochi Onyebuchi A deadly virus is only one … Continued
See More

2020 YA Preview!

Hello and WELCOME to the 2020 YA preview! We’re talking all early info on upcoming 2020 books we cannot WAIT to read and all the amazing books out so far this year!   All the Days Past, All the Days to Come by Mildred D. Taylor – January 7, 2020 The saga of the Logan family–made … Continued
See More

22 Mystery Books That Will Keep You Guessing

There’s nothing like the adrenaline rush of reading a mystery book, and we’re here to tell you about 22 that will absolutely stump you. Read on for our list of favorite YA mysteries that are ANYTHING but elementary, my dear Watson.   They’ll Never Catch Us by Jessica Goodman  Clue you’ll love it: Dangerously competitive sisters, … Continued
See More

Best Sisters in YA

We love an epic protagonist. But you know who we really need to talk about? The underrated siblings we adore. So here are a few of our favorite sisters in YA!   The Girls I’ve Been by Tess Sharpe Nora O’Malley’s badass big sis is someone you do NOT want to mess with.   The … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: LEAGUE OF LIARS by Astrid Scholte

Today we’re revealing the cover for Astrid Scholte’s League of Liars! In this fantasy thriller from the author of Four Dead Queens, four teens charged with murder and caught up with the illegal use of magic band together to devise the ultimate jailbreak. Perfect for fans of Six of Crows and How to Get Away with Murder. Ever since his mother … Continued
See More

Books to read if you found yourself on Sea Shanty TikTok

Did TikTok get some catchy sea shanties stuck in your head? Come aboard as we set sail with these perfect reads for sea shanty enthusiasts!     Seafire by Natalie C. Parker The first in a heart-stopping trilogy that recalls the undeniable feminine power of Wonder Woman and the powder-keg action of Mad Max: Fury Road, Seafire reminds us of … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP