Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Last Night at the Telegraph Club

By Malinda Lo
SHARE

About Last Night at the Telegraph Club

“Proof of Malinda Lo’s skill at creating darkly romantic tales of love in the face of danger.“—O: The Oprah Magazine

“The queer romance we’ve been waiting for.”—Ms. Magazine

“Restrained yet luscious.”—Sarah Waters, bestselling author of Tipping the Velvet 

A National Bestseller

Seventeen-year-old Lily Hu can’t remember exactly when the feeling took root—that desire to look, to move closer, to touch. Whenever it started growing, it definitely bloomed the moment she and Kathleen Miller walked under the flashing neon sign of a lesbian bar called the Telegraph Club. Suddenly everything seemed possible. 

But America in 1954 is not a safe place for two girls to fall in love, especially not in Chinatown. Red-Scare paranoia threatens everyone, including Chinese Americans like Lily. With deportation looming over her father—despite his hard-won citizenship—Lily and Kath risk everything to let their love see the light of day.

#LastNightattheTelegraphClub

YA Reads for AA-NH/PI Heritage Month

May is Asian American and Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander Heritage Month, and here are just a few of the reads from incredible AA-NH/PI authors we recommend for your shelf! Psst! Don’t forget to enter our sweepstakes to win a stack!   The Righteous by Renée Ahdieh In this latest installment of The New York Times bestselling quartet that began … Continued
See More

Top Trending 2021: Fan Favorites!

2021 has been filled with amazing reads of all categories, and we want to make sure you haven’t missed out on any! Scroll down to see our recap of some of 2021’s fan favorites on BookTok and Bookstagram!   Call Us What We Carry by Amanda Gorman  The breakout poetry collection by #1 New York Times bestselling author and … Continued
See More

Cover Love: Our Favorite Illustrated Covers This Year!

We are LOVING the illustrated cover trend that has blessed YA recently. If you are too, here are 28 of our favorite illustrated covers from this year!   Margot Mertz Takes It Down by Carrie McCrossen and Ian McWethy The laptop decals. The smirk. We’re here for it.   Huda F Are You? by Huda … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: A SCATTER OF LIGHT by Malinda Lo

Today we’re revealing the cover for Malinda Lo’s A Scatter of Light–AND giving you a sneak peek interview with the author! Award-winning author Malinda Lo returns to the Bay Area with another masterful coming-of-queer-age story, this time set against the backdrop of the first major Supreme Court decisions legalizing gay marriage. And almost sixty years after … Continued
See More

Cozy reads to snuggle up with for the holidays!

It’s getting chilly outside, so we recommend finding your coziest blanket and a good book to snuggle up with. Here are 7 of our top cozy reading recommendations!   So, This Is Christmas by Tracy Andreen If you love hallmark movies, we think you’re going to adore this small town Christmas romance (best paired with … Continued
See More

Untold secrets: these historical fiction novels will take you into the most hidden corners of history!

Love historical fiction? Here are 10 novels that will absolutely sweep you away into some of history’s most hidden corners!   Luck of the Titanic by Stacey Lee  From the critically-acclaimed author of The Downstairs Girl comes the richly imagined story of Valora and Jamie Luck, twin British-Chinese acrobats traveling aboard the Titanic on its ill-fated maiden voyage.   Salt … Continued
See More

Swoony reads to fall in love with this Valentine’s Day!

Love is in the air…and on our shelves! From prom night romcoms to beguiling fantasy books, here are 21 of our swooniest books to read this Valentine’s Day!   Sunny G’s Series of Rash Decisions by Navdeep Singh Dhillon  For fans of Sandhya Menon and Adam Silvera, a prom-night romantic-comedy romp about a Sikh teen’s search for … Continued
See More

Holiday Gift Guide: Book Lover’s Edition!

Looking for the perfect gift for the book lover in your life? We’ve got you covered for all types, from fantasy fans to romance readers! Scroll down to find the perfect read for the book lover in your life.   House of Hollow by Krystal Sutherland – A dark, twisty modern fairytale where three sisters discover they … Continued
See More

8 Book Dedications That Will Stay With You

It can be so tempting to flip right to chapter one, that sometimes we miss some absolutely beautiful book dedications. But don’t worry, we rounded up some favs from YA books that are guaranteed to stay with you.   The Damned by Renée Ahdieh   The Other Merlin by Robyn Schneider    The Taking of … Continued
See More

December Books: Here’s What’s Hitting Shelves!

Grab a cozy blanket and a warm beverage, because it’s time to cuddle up with December’s most anticipated reads! Here’s what’s hitting shelves.   12/7: Call Us What We Carry by Amanda Gorman – The breakout poetry collection by #1 New York Times bestselling author and presidential inaugural poet Amanda Gorman   12/7: The Righteous by Renée Ahdieh … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP