Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

City of the Uncommon Thief

By Lynne Bertrand
SHARE

About City of the Uncommon Thief

A dark and intricate fantasy, City of the Uncommon Thief is the story of a quarantined city gripped by fear and of the war that can free it.

“Guilders work. Foundlings scrub the bogs. Needles bind. Swords tear. And men leave. There is nothing uncommon in this city. I hope Errol Thebes is dead. We both know he is safer that way.”  

In a walled city of a mile-high iron guild towers, many things are common knowledge: No book in any of the city’s libraries reveals its place on a calendar or a map. No living beasts can be found within the city’s walls. And no good comes to the guilder or foundling who trespasses too far from their labors. Even on the tower rooftops, where Errol Thebes and the rest of the city’s teenagers pass a few short years under an open sky, no one truly believes anything uncommon is possible within the city walls. But one guildmaster has broken tradition to protect her child, and now the whole city faces an uncommon threat: a pair of black iron spikes that has the power of both sword and needle on the rib cages of men has gone missing, but the mayhem they cause rises everywhere. If the spikes are not found, no wall will be high enough to protect the city—or the world beyond it. 
And Errol Thebes? He’s not dead and he’s certainly not safe.

#CityoftheUncommonThief

Excerpt Alert: CITY OF THE UNCOMMON THIEF

A dark and intricate fantasy, City of the Uncommon Thief is the story of a quarantined city gripped by fear and of the war that can free it. Scroll down to read an excerpt! SACKED Talwyn was not singing. I sat up. It was past dawn, with a gray sun leaking through the vents of my travel … Continued
See More

Author Lynne Bertrand shares what she learned while writing CITY OF THE UNCOMMON THIEF

City of the Uncommon Thief by Lynne Bertrand hits shelves THIS TUESDAY! This dark and intricate fantasy follows the story of a quarantined city gripped by fear and of the war that can free it. If you absolutely love to get lost in a deep, complex fantasy book, we hope you’ve marked your calendar for this one.   … Continued
See More

February 2021 Books: here’s what’s hitting shelves!

February is coming in with some HIGHLY-anticipated reads, and we’re here to tell you what to add to that TBR list ASAP!   2/2: A Taste for Love by Jennifer Yen – For fans of Jenny Han, Jane Austen, and The Great British Baking Show, A Taste for Love, is a delicious rom com about first love, familial … Continued
See More

2021 YA Book Preview!

Get your TBRs ready…set…GO! Here’s what’s hitting shelves in 2021!     Winterkeep by Kristin Cashore – Coming January 19, 2021 The highly anticipated next book in the New York Times bestselling, award-winning Graceling Realm series, which has sold 1.3 million copies. For the past five years, Bitterblue has reigned as Queen of Monsea, heroically rebuilding her … Continued
See More

COVER REVEAL: City of the Uncommon Thief

It’s cover reveal time! Get ready for a dark and intricate fantasy perfect for readers of The Book of Dust and Leigh Bardugo. City of the Uncommon Thief is the story of a quarantined city gripped by fear and of the war that can free it. Scroll down to see the cover and read an excerpt down below! Illustrator: … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP