Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

The Virtue of Sin

By Shannon Schuren
SHARE

About The Virtue of Sin

A compelling novel about speaking out, standing up, and breaking free — perfect for fans of The Handmaid’s Tale and Tara Westover’s Educated.

Miriam lives in New Jerusalem, a haven in the desert far away from the sins and depravity of the outside world. Within the gates of New Jerusalem, and under the eye of its founder and leader, Daniel, Miriam knows she is safe. Cared for. Even if she’s forced, as a girl, to quiet her tongue when she has thoughts she wants to share, Miriam knows that New Jerusalem is a far better life than any alternative. So when God calls for a Matrimony, she’s thrilled; she knows that Caleb, the boy she loves, will choose her to be his wife and they can finally start their life together.

But when the ceremony goes wrong and Miriam winds up with someone else, she can no longer keep quiet. For the first time, Miriam begins to question not only the rules that Daniel has set in place, but also what it is she believes in, and where she truly belongs.

Alongside unexpected allies, Miriam fights to learn–and challenge–the truth behind the only way of life she’s ever known, even if it means straying from the path of Righteousness.

A compelling debut novel about speaking out, standing up, and breaking free.

Praise for The Virtue of Sin:

“Shannon Schuren weaves a complex tale of love, faith, and lies in her thought-provoking debut The Virtue of Sin. As important as it is entertaining, this is a must-read for anyone who knows that independent thought trumps fitting in. One of my favorite reads of the year.” –Christina Dalcher, bestselling author of VOX

#TheVirtueofSin

Reads to Celebrate Women’s Equality Day

Today is Women’s Equality Day, and we’re celebrating with some amazing reads written by amazing women!   Juliet Takes a Breath by Gabby Rivera  This book radiates feminism. When Juliet’s hero fails her, she grapples with crucial, timely questions of what feminism means if it excludes queer and trans women of color, giving language to hard … Continued
See More

9 Books to Read if You Love The Handmaid’s Tale

If you’re like us, you’re completely obsessed with Hulu’s adaptation of Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale. If you need your dystopian fix, these dystopian novels are just the thing! #BlessUp   The Virtue of Sin by Shannon Schuren Rules. Secrets. Manipulation. This book takes place in a present-day cult and it’s chilling. Miriam lives in New Jerusalem, a haven in … Continued
See More

15 MUST Reads for the First Half of 2019!

You know what? A lot (a LOT) of good books come out every year. So many that it can be hard to keep track. It’s great, but it can also be overwhelming. What if you miss out on something AMAZING? So, let’s go over a few upcoming releases you DON’T want to miss out on! … Continued
See More

Top 5 Writing Tips…from Debut Authors!

Any aspiring writers out there? We see you! And we something super exciting to share today. You’ve probably noticed a lot of amazing debuts hitting shelves this year. In fact, had a whole #NewBooksNewVoices celebration! Now, those authors are here to share with you their absolute BEST writing tips!   Laura Sibson, author of The Art of … Continued
See More

#FridayReads: The Virtue of Sin

Happy #FridayReads! This week’s excerpt comes from The Virtue of Sin by Shannon Schuren, a compelling novel about speaking out, standing up, and breaking free, and perfect for fans of The Handmaid’s Tale! Scroll down to start reading! Chapter 1 The girls never get a choice. Recite your Prayers, report for Lessons, respect your Elders. Do unto others and … Continued
See More

Read an interview & excerpt with the author of THE VIRTUE OF SIN

Hooray, it’s excerpt day! In continuation of our #NewBooksNewVoices celebration, Shannon Schuren, author of The Virtue of Sin is answering some questions and sharing her publishing journey! Read her interview below and scroll down to read an excerpt of her debut novel.   Q: What are your top three absolute FAVORITE reads?   A: The Female of the Species … Continued
See More

Every Book Hitting Shelves this June!

Summer is finally here and she brought BOOKS!   6/4: The Haunted by Danielle Vega – From Danielle Vega, YA’s answer to Stephen King, comes a new paranormal novel about dark family secrets, deep-seated vengeance, and the horrifying truth that evil often lurks in the unlikeliest of places.   6/4: When the Ground Is Hard by Malla Nunn … Continued
See More

Meet the Author: Shannon Schuren!

We’ve been celebrating all the amazing debut books hitting shelves this year, not to mention the amazing authors who wrote them! This week we’re reading Shannon Schuren’s intense, addictive debut The Virtue of Sin, a shocking tale about a cult and one girl’s determination to speak out. Scroll down to hear from Shannon about her debut! I’m Shannon, and my … Continued
See More

Books to add to your summer TBR ASAP

If you are COUNTING. DOWN. THE. DAYS. until summer then you’re not alone, and we’ve got some reads you should add to your summer TBR asap.   If I’m Being Honest by Austin Siegemund-Broka and Emily Wibberley This is THE SUMMER READ. If you’re packing up to go to the beach, you had best make … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP