Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Mazie

By Melanie Crowder
SHARE

About Mazie

*”Deserves a standing ovation.” —Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
 
*”The peppy first-person narrative keeps the story zipping along, and adroitly placed period details make the setting come alive in this bighearted, exuberant novel.” —Publishers Weekly (starred review)
 
An eighteen-year-old aspiring actress trades in starry Nebraska skies for the bright lights of 1950s Broadway in this show-stopping novel from award-winning author Melanie Crowder.

Mazie has always longed to be on Broadway. But growing up in her small Nebraska town, that always seemed like an impossible dream. So when an opportunity presents itself to spend six weeks auditioning, Mazie jumps at the chance, leaving behind everything–and everyone–she’s ever known.

New York City is a shock to the senses: thrilling, but lonely. Auditions are brutal. Mazie’s homesick and she misses the boyfriend whose heart she broke when she left. Nothing is as she expected.

With money running out, and faced with too many rejections to count, Mazie is more determined than ever to land a role. But when she discovers that booking a job might mean losing sight of herself, everything Mazie always thought she wanted is called into question.

Mazie is the story of a girl caught between two lives–and two loves–as she navigates who she is, what matters most, and the cost of following her dream.
 
Praise for Mazie:
 
“Entertaining and heartfelt.”– Booklist
 
“Mazie’s authenticity makes this novel stand out. Recommended for all collections, especially where theater is popular.”– School Library Journal

#Mazie

February 2021 Books: here’s what’s hitting shelves!

February is coming in with some HIGHLY-anticipated reads, and we’re here to tell you what to add to that TBR list ASAP!   2/2: A Taste for Love by Jennifer Yen – For fans of Jenny Han, Jane Austen, and The Great British Baking Show, A Taste for Love, is a delicious rom com about first love, familial … Continued
See More

2021 YA Book Preview!

Get your TBRs ready…set…GO! Here’s what’s hitting shelves in 2021!     Winterkeep by Kristin Cashore – Coming January 19, 2021 The highly anticipated next book in the New York Times bestselling, award-winning Graceling Realm series, which has sold 1.3 million copies. For the past five years, Bitterblue has reigned as Queen of Monsea, heroically rebuilding her … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP