Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

About Akata Woman

From award-winning author Nnedi Okorafor, the electrifying conclusion to the series that started with Akata Witch, named one of Time magazine’s “100 Best Fantasy Books of All Time”!

“In this series, Okorafor creates a stunningly original world of African magic that draws on Nigerian folk beliefs and rituals instead of relying on the predictable tropes of Western fantasy novels.”
Time magazine

From the moment Sunny Nwazue discovered she had magic flowing in her blood, she sought to understand and control her powers. Throughout her adventures in Akata Witch and Akata Warrior, she had to navigate the balance between nearly everything in her life–America and Nigeria, the “normal” world and the one infused with juju, human and spirit, good daughter and powerful Leopard Person.

Now, those hard lessons and abilities are put to the test in a quest so dangerous and fantastical, it would be madness to go…but deadly not to. With the help of her friends, Sunny embarks on a mission to find a precious object hidden deep in a magical realm. Defeating the guardians of the prize will take more from Sunny than she has to give, and triumph will mean she will be forever changed.

#AkataWoman

YA Fantasy Books: 8 Books About Forbidden Powers

We are all about discovering a new fantasy book that sweeps you into another world…and we *might* also have a particular weakness for the forbidden powers trope (I mean, who doesn’t?!) So, if you can’t resist a story that dives deep into dangerous and forbidden powers in other worlds, scroll down for 8 reads you’ll … Continued
See More

8 YA books to preorder for your 2022 TBR!

2022 is almost here, and we’re here to make sure you’re ready to kick off that new year TBR! Here are just a few reads to make sure you have on that list.   The Bone Spindle by Leslie Vedder Sleeping Beauty meets Indiana Jones in this thrilling fairytale retelling for fans of Sorcery of Thorns and The … Continued
See More

Join the Nsibidi Scripts Read-Along!

Join us for the Nsibidi Scripts Read-Along and discover Sunny’s mystical destiny! From December 27-January 9, we’ll be exploring the thrilling world of Nnedi Okorafor’s Akata Witch and Akata Warrior. Whether you’ve read the series multiple times or are picking it up for the first time, all are invited to catch up with us before the … Continued
See More

YA books to read if you absolutely believe in fate and destiny

If you are an avid believer in fate and destiny, here are 9 YA reads that will absolutely fuel your faith in both!   Flirting with Fate by J.C. Cervantes As the title may imply, this gorgeous novel will definitely have you believing in the power of fate this April, 2022! In her swoony, heartwarming … Continued
See More

2022 YA Book Preview!

Are you ready for all the amazing reads next year is bringing to your shelf? Here’s your official 2022 YA book preview of what to look forward to!   Echoes and Empires by Morgan Rhodes – January 4 A snarky seventeen-year-old must team up with an enigmatic criminal to cure herself of dangerous forbidden magic … Continued
See More

Not-to-be-missed YA reads this winter!

Keep warm this winter with these not-to-be-missed YA reads coming to shelves!   Akata Woman by Nnedi Okorafor – January 18 The electrifying third book in the series that started with Akata Witch, named one of Time magazine’s “100 Best Fantasy Books of All Time” and “100 Best YA Books of All Time,” from award-winning author Nnedi Okorafor. … Continued
See More

2022 Fantasy books to get absolutely lost in

We love wandering into a fantasy world and getting absolutely lost in it, and we know you do too! We’re here to help you prepare your 2022 TBR with bookish escapes, so get ready for 6 of our most highly-anticipated fantasy books!   Echoes and Empires by Morgan Rhodes – January 4 A snarky seventeen-year-old must … Continued
See More

January 2022 Books: Here’s What’s Hitting Shelves!

It’s a new year, and that means amazing new books! Scroll down to see what’s hitting shelves in January!   1/4: Echoes and Empires by Morgan Rhodes – From the New York Times bestselling author of the Falling Kingdoms series comes the first book in a brand-new duology about forbidden magic and dangerous secrets, for readers of Victoria Aveyard and Margaret … Continued
See More

Hey Netflix! These books are READY!

After all the recent announcements and film adaptations, we’ve been thinking it’s time to put together a list of nominations for what hits the screen next. Because between Beasts of Prey getting picked up by Netflix, Vampire Academy getting picked up by Peacock, and There’s Someone Inside Your House JUST hitting screens this month, we have some requests!   An Ember … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP