Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Patron Saints of Nothing

By Randy Ribay
SHARE

About Patron Saints of Nothing

A NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FINALIST

“Brilliant, honest, and equal parts heartbreaking and soul-healing.” –Laurie Halse Anderson, author of SHOUT 

“A singular voice in the world of literature.” –Jason Reynolds, author of Long Way Down

A powerful coming-of-age story about grief, guilt, and the risks a Filipino-American teenager takes to uncover the truth about his cousin’s murder.

Jay Reguero plans to spend the last semester of his senior year playing video games before heading to the University of Michigan in the fall. But when he discovers that his Filipino cousin Jun was murdered as part of President Duterte’s war on drugs, and no one in the family wants to talk about what happened, Jay travels to the Philippines to find out the real story.

Hoping to uncover more about Jun and the events that led to his death, Jay is forced to reckon with the many sides of his cousin before he can face the whole horrible truth — and the part he played in it.

As gripping as it is lyrical, Patron Saints of Nothing is a page-turning portrayal of the struggle to reconcile faith, family, and immigrant identity.

#PatronSaintsofNothing

Reads by Filipino-American authors for your shelf!

October is Filipino American History Month, and here are a few amazing reads by Filipino American authors we recommend you add to your shelf if you haven’t already!   Patron Saints of Nothing by Randy Ribay A powerful coming-of-age story about grief, guilt, and the risks a Filipino-American teenager takes to uncover the truth about his cousin’s … Continued
See More

9 Books to Help You Recover from Veronica Mars Season 4

THIS IS A SPOILER ALERT. VERONICA MARS SEASON 4 SPOILERS BELOW. BE WARNED. SPOILERS.  We’re absolutely not over what happened at the end of Veronica Mars season 4. Honestly, we’re never going to be over what happened at the end of season 4. We’re going to weep every single time we hear “I Hear the … Continued
See More

Every Book Hitting Shelves in April!

April is almost here, and she’s bringing books!   4/7: The Best Laid Plans by Cameron Lund – High school senior Keely Collins takes on firsts, lasts, and everything in between in this sweet, sex-positive rom-com for fans of Meg Cabot and Jenny Han.   4/7: Holding on to You by Ash Parsons – A gripping and … Continued
See More

Every Book Hitting Shelves this June!

Summer is finally here and she brought BOOKS!   6/4: The Haunted by Danielle Vega – From Danielle Vega, YA’s answer to Stephen King, comes a new paranormal novel about dark family secrets, deep-seated vengeance, and the horrifying truth that evil often lurks in the unlikeliest of places.   6/4: When the Ground Is Hard by Malla Nunn … Continued
See More

A book lover’s holiday gift guide!

Presenting: the holiday gift guide you should give to the friends & family of all book lovers.   If your reader loves FANTASY… Four Dead Queens by Astrid Scholte Seventeen-year-old Keralie Corrington may seem harmless, but she’s, in fact, one of Quadara’s most skilled thieves and a liar. Varin, on the other hand, is an … Continued
See More

11 Gorgeous Diverse Covers You Need to See

  From the looks of things, 2019 will be full of amazing new reads. But, let’s be honest. We’re almost equally as excited about all the pretty covers we get to decorate our shelves with too! That being said, here are a few of our favorite covers from the last couple of years and upcoming 2019 releases celebrating … Continued
See More

Here are 13 of the most gorgeous covers we’ve seen so far this year

Shoutout to all the cover designers giving us more excuses to hoard multiple copies of one book. PREPARE YOUR EYEBALLS for 13 of the most stunning covers you will see this year:   1. War Girls by Tochi Onyebuchi About the book: The year is 2172. Climate change and nuclear disasters have rendered much of earth … Continued
See More

Patron Saints of Nothing Exclusive Cover Reveal and Excerpt!

Author Randy Ribay’s new YA release is finally here and we can’t wait to talk about it. Patron Saints of Nothing explores the darker side of contemporary with a hard-hitting glimpse into the war on drugs in the Philippines and the often overlooked casualties that follow. After the sudden death of his cousin, 17-year-old Jay Reguero … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP