Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

About Something Happened to Ali Greenleaf

Perfect for fans of Rory Power and Laurie Halse Anderson, this sharp, emotional debut follows two girls as they navigate tumultuous relationships, the effects of trauma, and what empowerment means to them.

Ali Greenleaf and Blythe Jensen couldn’t be more different.

Ali is sweet, bitingly funny, and just a little naive. Blythe is beautiful, terrifying, and the most popular girl in school. They’ve never even talked to each other, until a party when Ali decides she’ll finally make her move on Sean Nessel, her longtime crush and the soccer team’s superstar. But Sean pushes Ali farther than she wants to go. When she resists–he rapes her.

Blythe sees Ali when she runs from the party, everyone sees her. And Blythe knows something happened with Sean; she knows how he treats girls. Even so, she’s his best friend, his confidant. When he begs her to help him, she can’t resist.

So Blythe befriends Ali in her attempt to make things right with Sean, bringing Ali into a circle of ruthless popular girls, and sharing her own dark secrets. Despite the betrayal at the heart of their relationship, they see each other, in a way no one ever has before.

In her searing, empowering debut novel, Hayley Krischer tells the story of what happened that night, and how it shaped Ali and Blythe forever. Both girls are survivors in their own ways, on their own terms, and while their friendship might not be built to last, it’s one that helps each of them find a way forward.

#SomethingHappenedtoAliGreenleaf

A Mood Reader’s Roadmap

Are you a mood reader? We’ve got you! We’ve put together a list of reads perfect for all of the reading moods, including some of 2020’s hottest reads and what’s about to hit shelves next! In the mood for a fantasy that will take you away for a bit? You should read… The Kingdom of Back by … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP