Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

About The Falling Girls

From the author of Something Happened to Ali Greenleaf comes another searing, affecting novel that follows one girl caught between two toxic worlds, perfect for fans of Kathleen Glasgow and Nina LaCour.

Shade and Jadis are everything to each other. They share clothes, toothbrushes, and even matching stick-and-poke tattoos. So when Shade unexpectedly joins the cheerleading team, Jadis can hardly recognize who her best friend is becoming. 
 
Shade loves the idea of falling into a group of girls; she loves the discipline it takes to push her body to the limits alongside these athletes . Most of all, Shade finds herself drawn to The Three Chloes—the insufferable trio that rules the squad—including the enigmatic cheer captain whose dark side is as compelling as it is alarming.
 
Jadis won’t give Shade up so easily, though, and the pull between her old best friend and her new teammates takes a toll on Shade as she tries to forge her own path. So when one of the cheerleaders dies under mysterious circumstances, Shade is determined to get to the bottom of her death. Because she knows Jadis—and if her friend is responsible, doesn’t that mean she is, too?
 
In this compelling, nuanced exploration of the layered, intoxicating relationships between teen girls, and all the darkness and light that exists between them, novelist Hayley Krischer weaves a story of loss and betrayal, and the deep reverberations felt at a friendship’s breaking point.  
 

#TheFallingGirls

Cover Love: Our Favorite Illustrated Covers This Year!

We are LOVING the illustrated cover trend that has blessed YA recently. If you are too, here are 28 of our favorite illustrated covers from this year!   Margot Mertz Takes It Down by Carrie McCrossen and Ian McWethy The laptop decals. The smirk. We’re here for it.   Huda F Are You? by Huda … Continued
See More

10 of the most iconic YA friendships!

What do we love about YA books? EPIC PLOTS? Well, yes. SWOONY LOVE INTERESTS? Also yes, but that’s not what we’re talking about right now… We love a complex, unforgettable friendship (and friend group!) So we’re listing 10 of the most iconic friendships in YA books!   Flyy Girls by Ashley Woodfolk Lux, Micah, Noelle, and … Continued
See More

Hey Netflix! These books are READY!

After all the recent announcements and film adaptations, we’ve been thinking it’s time to put together a list of nominations for what hits the screen next. Because between Beasts of Prey getting picked up by Netflix, Vampire Academy getting picked up by Peacock, and There’s Someone Inside Your House JUST hitting screens this month, we have some requests!   An Ember … Continued
See More

Reads to look out for in the second half of 2021!

2021 has filled our shelves with incredible reads…and there’s more to come! So, here are the reads to look out for in the second half of 2021!   We Are Inevitable by Gayle Forman – 6/1 Aaron Stein used to think books were miracles. But not anymore. Even though he spends his days working in … Continued
See More

October 2021 books: here’s what’s coming to shelves!

Whether you’re looking for a thriller, a graphic novel, or a holiday romcom, October is bringing some AMAZING reads to our shelves! 10/5: The Falling Girls by Hayley Krischer From the author of the unforgettable Something Happened to Ali Greenleaf comes an intoxicating thriller about the dark paths female friendships can take, set against the backdrop of … Continued
See More

Contemporary Books Guaranteed to Steal Your Heart

If you love your contemporary reading, here are 14 books to pick up this summer (and a few to add to your tbr for later!) that are guaranteed to steal your heart.   We Are Inevitable by Gayle Forman Aaron Stein used to think books were miracles. But not anymore. Even though he spends his … Continued
See More

9 YA books for your autumn TBR!

Fall is upon us, and from fantasy, to poetry, and knockout debut novels, we’re here with 9 YA books for your autumn TBR you’ll DEFINITELY want to snuggle up with!   The Woods Are Always Watching by Stephanie Perkins  Click here for more info!   Dark and Shallow Lies by Ginny Myers Sain  Click here … Continued
See More

COVER REVEAL: The Falling Girls by Hayley Krischer

Today we’re revealing the cover for Hayley Krischer’s new novel, The Falling Girls. From the author of Something Happened to Ali Greenleaf comes another searing, affecting novel that follows one girl caught between two toxic worlds, perfect for fans of Kathleen Glasgow and Nina LaCour. Scroll down to see the cover and read a bit about the book! Illustrator: … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP