Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Juliet Takes a Breath

By Gabby Rivera
SHARE

About Juliet Takes a Breath

A People magazine Best Book of Fall 2019
An Amazon Best Young Adult Book of 2019
“F***ing outstanding.”–Roxane Gay, New York Times bestselling author

Juliet Milagros Palante is a self-proclaimed closeted Puerto Rican baby dyke from the Bronx. Only, she’s not so closeted anymore. Not after coming out to her family the night before flying to Portland, Oregon, to intern with her favorite feminist writer–what’s sure to be a life-changing experience. And when Juliet’s coming out crashes and burns, she’s not sure her mom will ever speak to her again.

But Juliet has a plan–sort of. Her internship with legendary author Harlowe Brisbane, the ultimate authority on feminism, women’s bodies, and other gay-sounding stuff, is sure to help her figure out this whole “Puerto Rican lesbian” thing. Except Harlowe’s white. And not from the Bronx. And she definitely doesn’t have all the answers . . .

In a summer bursting with queer brown dance parties, a sexy fling with a motorcycling librarian, and intense explorations of race and identity, Juliet learns what it means to come out–to the world, to her family, to herself.

#JulietTakesaBreath

Cover Love: Our Favorite Illustrated Covers This Year!

We are LOVING the illustrated cover trend that has blessed YA recently. If you are too, here are 28 of our favorite illustrated covers from this year!   Margot Mertz Takes It Down by Carrie McCrossen and Ian McWethy The laptop decals. The smirk. We’re here for it.   Huda F Are You? by Huda … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of Juliet Takes a Breath!

Summer is almost here, and if you’re as excited as we are, we recommend you pick up Juliet Takes a Breath for a breathtaking, unforgettable summer! Gabby Rivera’s debut follows Juliet Milagros Palante, who is leaving the Bronx and headed to Portland, Oregon. She just came out to her family and isn’t sure if her mom will ever … Continued
See More

10 Swoony Romances to Read Before Summer Ends!

Summer has been a whirlwind, but there are a few summer romances we recommend you pick up to read in the sunshine before summer is over!   Beyond the Break by Heather Buchta For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, … Continued
See More

Books to Read for Latinx & Hispanic Heritage Month

September 15-October 15 is Latinx & Hispanic Heritage Month. We’re inviting you to join us in reading stories by Latinx and Hispanic authors–and if you don’t know where to start, here are a few of our recommendations!   When We Make It by Elisabet Velasquez  An unforgettable debut young adult novel-in-verse that redefines what it … Continued
See More

Juliet Takes a Breath reborn: 5 reasons its rise to publication is important

Juliet is back! You may have heard Juliet Takes a Breath by Gabby Rivera is now on shelves with a stunning new paperback cover. That makes now the perfect time to celebrate what makes this so special, so here are five reasons why it’s time to pick up Juliet’s story!   1. It’s about family—all its messy, … Continued
See More

#ReadPrideAndBeyond with these books!

This Pride Month, we’re celebrating with books that highlight extraordinary LGBTQ+ stories. Funny, heartbreaking, suspenseful, romantic – there’s a little something for everyone on this list, so scroll down on for some of our favorites and #ReadPrideAndBeyond all year long! Plus, don’t forget to enter our sweeps to win a stack!   Click here to enter our #ReadPrideAndBeyond … Continued
See More

YA books to read for Pride this year!

This Pride Month, we’re celebrating extraordinary stories and voices from the LGBTQIA+ community. From contemporary, to sci-fi, to romance, there’s a little something for everyone on this list, so scroll down for a few of our recommendations to read for Pride this month–and every month after that!   Last Night at the Telegraph Club by Malinda … Continued
See More

Every book hitting shelves in May 2021!

You MAY or MAY not be ready for these May reads. Here’s what’s hitting shelves!   5/4: Luck of the Titanic by Stacey Lee – From the critically-acclaimed author of The Downstairs Girl comes the richly imagined story of Valora and Jamie Luck, twin British-Chinese acrobats traveling aboard the Titanic on its ill-fated maiden voyage.   5/4: That Was Then, … Continued
See More

Contemporary Books Guaranteed to Steal Your Heart

If you love your contemporary reading, here are 14 books to pick up this summer (and a few to add to your tbr for later!) that are guaranteed to steal your heart.   We Are Inevitable by Gayle Forman Aaron Stein used to think books were miracles. But not anymore. Even though he spends his … Continued
See More

COVER REVEAL: Juliet Takes a Breath Paperback!

Juliet Takes a Breath by Gabby Rivera was one of our favorite, groundbreaking novels of 2019. So, we are SO excited to show you the brand new paperback cover, hitting shelves May 11, 2021! Scroll down to see the cover and read a bit about the book! Cover/jacket design: Kelley Brady; Artist: Steffi Walthall   Juliet Milagros … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP