Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Juliet Takes a Breath

By Gabby Rivera
SHARE

About Juliet Takes a Breath

A People magazine Best Book of Fall 2019
An Amazon Best Young Adult Book of 2019
“F***ing outstanding.”–Roxane Gay, New York Times bestselling author

Juliet Milagros Palante is a self-proclaimed closeted Puerto Rican baby dyke from the Bronx. Only, she’s not so closeted anymore. Not after coming out to her family the night before flying to Portland, Oregon, to intern with her favorite feminist writer–what’s sure to be a life-changing experience. And when Juliet’s coming out crashes and burns, she’s not sure her mom will ever speak to her again.

But Juliet has a plan–sort of. Her internship with legendary author Harlowe Brisbane, the ultimate authority on feminism, women’s bodies, and other gay-sounding stuff, is sure to help her figure out this whole “Puerto Rican lesbian” thing. Except Harlowe’s white. And not from the Bronx. And she definitely doesn’t have all the answers . . .

In a summer bursting with queer brown dance parties, a sexy fling with a motorcycling librarian, and intense explorations of race and identity, Juliet learns what it means to come out–to the world, to her family, to herself.

#JulietTakesaBreath

10 Swoony Romances to Read Before Summer Ends!

Summer has been a whirlwind, but there are a few summer romances we recommend you pick up to read in the sunshine before summer is over!   Beyond the Break by Heather Buchta For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, … Continued
See More

A book lover’s holiday gift guide!

Presenting: the holiday gift guide you should give to the friends & family of all book lovers.   If your reader loves FANTASY… Four Dead Queens by Astrid Scholte Seventeen-year-old Keralie Corrington may seem harmless, but she’s, in fact, one of Quadara’s most skilled thieves and a liar. Varin, on the other hand, is an … Continued
See More

7 Books to buddy read this fall!

Fall is upon us, like all the dead crunchy-looking leaves you totally keep going out of your way to step on. But anyway, it’s the season to grab an unnaturally orange pumpkin-flavored beverage and a reading buddy, and time to get that TBR into shape! Here are 7 of the reads you and aforementioned reading buddy will … Continued
See More

#ReadPrideAndBeyond with these books!

This Pride Month, we’re celebrating with books that highlight extraordinary LGBTQ+ stories. Funny, heartbreaking, suspenseful, romantic – there’s a little something for everyone on this list, so scroll down on for some of our favorites and #ReadPrideAndBeyond all year long! Plus, don’t forget to enter our sweeps to win a stack!   Click here to enter our #ReadPrideAndBeyond … Continued
See More

Best of #Bookstagram: Juliet Takes a Breath

Welcome back to Best of #Bookstagram! This week, we’re sharing our favorite photos that we’ve seen lately of Gabby Rivera’s Juilet Takes a Breath, the story of Juliet learning what it means to come out–to the world, to her family, and to herself.   From this simple beauty, View this post on Instagram A post shared by Allison … Continued
See More

Juliet Takes a Breath is taking peoples’ breath away

In case you haven’t heard yet, Juliet Takes a Breath by Gabby Rivera is making an epic comeback…and in a gorgeous yellow cover! But just in case you’re new to Juliet’s journey, here’s a bit about the book: Juliet Milagros Palante is leaving the Bronx and headed to Portland, Oregon. She just came out to her family and … Continued
See More

Try Not to Swoon Challenge: YA’s Steamiest Romances 😍

Alright, folks. Prepare to swoon. We’re counting down some of YA’s absolute swooniest romances of all time. Kicking us off…   Warcross by Marie Lu *cough* hot tub scene *cough*   Juliet Takes a Breath by Gabby Rivera Juliet falling in love with a cute librarian named Kira was sort of the best. Also? Kira rides … Continued
See More

Welcome to the We Are YA Podcast!

YA books are longer than 280 characters. Conversations about YA should be too. Welcome to the We Are YA podcast! Over 7 episodes, host Anna Borges will be talking all all things YA with the amazing authors that make up the modern YA community. Here is where you can find additional information and links to each episode! … Continued
See More

Best Book Club Reads of the Year!

Some reads just require a buddy to talk about them with. And some reads require more than just one person to discuss, so here are our favorite book club picks of the year!   Frankly in Love by David Yoon You’ll have a lot of feelings both while and after reading this book. Get ready to bring a lot of … Continued
See More

Juliet Takes a Breath reborn: 5 reasons its rise to publication is important

Juliet is back! You may have heard that we’re re-releasing Juliet Takes a Breath by Gabby Rivera, which was previously published in paperback, now in hardcover for the first time. That makes now the perfect time to celebrate what makes Juliet’s story so special, so here are five reasons why this book’s publication matters to … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP