Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Beyond the Break

By Heather Buchta
SHARE

About Beyond the Break

For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, if you count her faith… and that’s where things may get complicated.

Manhattan Beach native Lovette has two rules in life. One: no surfing. Not after her brother’s accident. Two: absolutely, no dating. And going into her junior year of high school, she’s pretty happy with that arrangement. She has friends, her church youth group, and God to fall back on when things get dicey. But after Jake Evans walks into her life, following these two simple rules gets a lot more complicated.

Jake is the boy from Lovette’s childhood who grew up. Handsome and sweet, he unlocks the part of Lovette that wants nothing more than to surf the waves again. And as their relationship grows, she begins to question what it means to be faithful: to her family, to God, but mostly, to herself.

Told with humor and heart, Heather Buchta delivers a sparkling debut that asks the question: Can you fall in love, be a teenager, and also be a good Christian?

#BeyondtheBreak

7 Things from Beyond the Break that anyone who grew up going to youth group will recognize

If you grew up going to youth group, then you’re about to get hit with a whole lot of flashbacks. Beyond the Break by Heather Buchta is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, if you count her faith… and that’s where things may get complicated. Lovette’s weekly youth group meet-ups … Continued
See More

Every cover we’re OBSESSED with this year so far

2020 is dropping some INCREDIBLE reads. And incredible reads deserve incredible covers. So, we’re sharing some of our favs! Scroll down for some serious book cover eye candy.   The Conference of the Birds by Ransom Riggs. There Ransom Riggs goes again. Baffling us all with his ability to find the absolute best vintage photos … Continued
See More

A Mood Reader’s Roadmap

Are you a mood reader? We’ve got you! We’ve put together a list of reads perfect for all of the reading moods, including some of 2020’s hottest reads and what’s about to hit shelves next!   In the mood for a fantasy that will take you away for a bit? You should read…   The Kinder Poison by … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: BEYOND THE BREAK

It’s COVER REVEAL TIME! We’re revealing the cover of Heather Buchta’s Beyond the Break, a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, if you count her faith… and that’s where things may get complicated. Scroll down to see the cover AND read an excerpt below!   Chapter One The first time … Continued
See More

Every Book Hitting Shelves in June

Here’s a sneak peek of what’s hitting shelves this June!   6/2: Jo & Laurie by Melissa de la Cruz and Margaret Stohl – Bestselling authors Margaret Stohl and Melissa de la Cruz bring us a romantic retelling of Little Women starring Jo March and her best friend, the boy next door, Theodore “Laurie” Laurence.   6/2: Beyond … Continued
See More

Read the first 4 chapters of BEYOND THE BREAK

For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, if you count her faith… and that’s where things may get complicated. Scroll down to read the excerpt! Chapter One The first time a guy felt me up was in the … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP