Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Tell Me My Name

By Amy Reed
SHARE

About Tell Me My Name

We Were Liars meets Speak in this haunting, mesmerizing psychological thriller—a gender-flipped YA Great Gatsby—that will linger long after the final line

On wealthy Commodore Island, Fern is watching and waiting—for summer, for college, for her childhood best friend to decide he loves her. Then Ivy Avila lands on the island like a falling star. When Ivy shines on her, Fern feels seen. When they’re together, Fern has purpose. She glimpses the secrets Ivy hides behind her fame, her fortune, the lavish parties she throws at her great glass house, and understands that Ivy hurts in ways Fern can’t fathom. And soon, it’s clear Ivy wants someone Fern can help her get. But as the two pull closer, Fern’s cozy life on Commodore unravels: drought descends, fires burn, and a reckless night spins out of control. Everything Fern thought she understood—about her home, herself, the boy she loved, about Ivy Avila—twists and bends into something new. And Fern won’t emerge the same person she was.

An enthralling, mind-altering psychological thriller, Tell Me My Name is about the cost of being a girl in a world that takes so much, and the enormity of what is regained when we take it back.

“A lush, gorgeously crafted page-turner.” —Jennifer Mathieu, author of Moxie

“A kaleidoscope of light and shadow that will keep you flipping page after page.”
—Amber Smith, author of The Way We Used to Be 

★ “Immersive [and] smartly written.” SLJ (starred review)

“Only Amy Reed could write a novel this dark, this gorgeous, this forward-looking while speaking to our present moment.” —Wiley Cash, author of A Land More Kind Than Home

“The best kind of literary thriller—one with as much conscience as pulse.”
 —Brendan Kiely, co-author of All American Boys

“I haven’t felt this way since reading We Were Liars—mind blown.”
 —Jaye Robin Brown, author of Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit

★ “As much Hitchcockian suspense as Fitzgerald’s tarnished glitz.” 
BCCB (starred review)

“This novel is amazing . . . A pulsating, hypnotic retelling.” —Lilliam Rivera, author of The Education of Margot Sanchez

“Relentlessly compelling . . . Reed’s latest is a literary thrill ride.”
—Kelly Jensen, author of (Don’t) Call Me Crazy and editor at BookRiot

“[A] harrowing tale of personal trauma in a violently polarized society.” 
Kirkus

“A compelling and propulsive thriller.” 
—Jeff Zentner, author of The Serpent King

“I barely breathed the last 100 pages. Simply stunning.”
 —Megan Shepherd, author of The Madman’s Daughter

#TellMeMyName

YA Retellings we are OBSESSED with

Do you love classic lit, fairytales, and legends? We think you’d like these modern retellings!   Love The Great Gatsby? Try…   Tell Me My Name by Amy Reed We Were Liars meets Speak in this haunting, mesmerizing psychological thriller—a gender-flipped YA Great Gatsby—that will linger long after the final line On wealthy Commodore Island, Fern is watching and waiting—for … Continued
See More

Penguin Teen Cover Reveal Bonanza!

It’s cover reveal time! Today, we are revealing not one, not two, but SIX covers, from debut authors to the return of beloved fantasy characters! We may have even snatched an excerpt for each of these new reads for you to get an early taste of each one. New books will be added here as they are revealed, … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: TELL ME MY NAME by Amy Reed

We Were Liars meets Speak in this haunting, mesmerizing psychological thriller—a gender-flipped YA Great Gatsby—that will linger long after the final line Scroll down to read chapter 1! 1 Ferns are older than dinosaurs. They’ve survived by growing under things, made hearty by their place in the shadows. Sucking up mud. Fern. Barely even a plant. Ferns don’t make … Continued
See More

Books Hitting Shelves in March 2021!

Prepare your TBRs! March is bringing in some HIGHLY-anticipated reads. Here’s what’s about to hit shelves!   3/2: The Queen’s Secret by Melissa de la Cruz – From #1 bestselling author Melissa de la Cruz comes the heart-pounding follow-up to The Queen’s Assassin, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Holly Black.   3/2: Singled Out by Andrew … Continued
See More

2021 YA Book Preview!

Get your TBRs ready…set…GO! Here’s what’s hitting shelves in 2021!     Winterkeep by Kristin Cashore – Coming January 19, 2021 The highly anticipated next book in the New York Times bestselling, award-winning Graceling Realm series, which has sold 1.3 million copies. For the past five years, Bitterblue has reigned as Queen of Monsea, heroically rebuilding her … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP