Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

About Catch the Light

A love story perfect for fans of Nina LaCour and Jandy Nelson about a girl who moves cross country and finds herself falling for someone new who throws her whole life out of order.

Nine months after the death of her father, Marigold is forced to pick up and move from her home in sunny Los Angeles all the way across the country to rural upstate New York. According to her mom, living with her aunt in a big old house in the woods is the fresh start Marigold and her little sister need. But Mary aches for the things she’s leaving behind—her best friend, her older sister, her now-long-distance boyfriend, and the senior year that felt like her only chance at making things feel normal again.
 
On top of everything, Mary has a troubling secret: she’s starting to forget her dad. The void he’s left in her memory is quickly getting filled with bonfires, house parties, and hours in the darkroom with Jesse, a fellow photographer and kindred spirit whom she can’t stop thinking about. As the beauty of Mary’s new world begins to sink in and her connection with Jesse grows stronger, she feels caught between her old life and her new one.
 
When the two finally come crashing together, Mary will have to decide what she really wants and come to terms with the ways that the loss of her dad has changed who she is. She can’t hold on to her past forever, but maybe it can be the foundation for something even brighter.
 

#CatchtheLight

25 Coming of age stories that will warm your heart

Come inside from the cold and snuggle up with a good book, because these 13 coming of age stories are guaranteed to warm your heart! (Psst, we also added 12 upcoming reads for you to add to your TBR for later too!)   Sunny G’s Series of Rash Decisions by Navdeep Singh Dhillon  For fans of … Continued
See More

Reads to look out for in the second half of 2021!

2021 has filled our shelves with incredible reads…and there’s more to come! So, here are the reads to look out for in the second half of 2021!   We Are Inevitable by Gayle Forman – 6/1 Aaron Stein used to think books were miracles. But not anymore. Even though he spends his days working in … Continued
See More

Top Trending 2021: Romance Books!

2021 has been filled with amazing reads of all categories, and we want to make sure you haven’t missed out on any! Scroll down to see our recap of some of 2021’s top trending romance reads!   Some Girls Do by Jennifer Dugan In this YA contemporary queer romance from the author of Hot Dog Girl, an … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: CATCH THE LIGHT by Kate Sweeney

Excerpt alert! Catch the Light by Kate Sweeney is a love story perfect for fans of Nina LaCour and Jandy Nelson, about a girl who moves cross country and finds herself falling for someone new who throws her whole life out of order. Nine months after the death of her father, Marigold is forced to pick up … Continued
See More

November 2021 books: see what’s hitting shelves!

November snuck up on us. But luckily, is here with some of our most-anticipated reads! Scroll down to see what’s hitting shelves!   11/2: Where Echoes Lie by Shannon Schuren – In this eerie thriller of a ghost story, a teenage girl must solve the mystery of the ghost bride that has haunted her community in rural Kentucky … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP