Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

9 Books That Will Help You Find Your Strength

SHARE

In an ideal world, every day would consist of sunny days spent reading on grassy knolls with not a cloud in sight. But the real world is full of ups and downs, the occasional cloudy day and sometimes straight up thunder and lightning. Luckily, we find that books can be the best way to weather the storm. Whether you just need to get through a Monday or you’re going through a tough time, these books that demonstrate the strength of the human spirit will give you a lift.

 

Things I’m Seeing Without You by Peter Bognanni

After her boyfriend commits suicide, Tess drops out of school, unsure what to do next. As she tries to process her grief and confusion, she begins to help her father’s business…doing pet funerals. The more they work together, both find comfort in the clients they serve and in each other. But love, loss, and life are so much more complicated than Tess ever thought. Especially after she receives a message that turns her life upside down.

 

Still Life with Tornado by A.S. King

Sarah thinks she’s having an existential crisis: she keeps running into past and future versions of herself. But maybe she’s just waking up to the tornado of her family, and events that happened years ago. Heartwrenching and beautifully written, Still Life With Tornado will remind you how difficult yet important it is to break free.

 

The Impossible Knife of Memory by Laurie Halse Anderson

Hayley’s father struggles to escape the demons of his PTSD, which means they haven’t lived in one place for very long in the past five years. Now, they’re finally settling down – but will it help her father?

 

Exit Pursued by a Bear by E.K. Johnston

Hermione refuses to be anyone’s cautionary tale after she gets assaulted at cheer camp – and she’ll face a wrenching decision to regain the control she’s always had.

 

The First Time She Drowned by Kerry Kletter

Exploring psychological damage,toxic relationships, and facing your past, this is Cassie’s journey to learn to love herself after her mother commits her to a mental institution.

 

What Light by Jay Asher

What Light is a touching story about forgiveness: forgiving the past, forgiving others, and forgiving yourself.

 

Amy Chelsea Stacie Dee by Mary G. Thompson

After the unthinkable happens to Amy and her cousin Dee, she will have to go back in order to move forward, risking everything along the way.

 

Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys

A tale of survival, strength, and love set in 1941 that requires tissues on hand.

 

The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly by Stephanie Oakes

A hard-hitting but ultimately hopeful book about the dangers of blind faith…and  the importance of having faith in yourself.

 

 

 

 

Looking for more recommendations? Here are some books to help you confront your grief.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#ShelfGoals

Read an excerpt of When I Am Through With You

When I Am Through With You by Stephanie Kuehn is a gripping story of survival and the razor’s-edge difference between perfect cruelty and perfect love. Ben Gibson is many things, but he’s not sorry and he’s not a liar. He will tell you exactly about what happened on what started as a simple school camping trip … Continued
See More

Start Reading CHEMICAL HEARTS by Krystal Sutherland!

Chemical Hearts is now streaming on Amazon Prime Video and we are SO excited to see Krystal Sutherland’s gorgeous novel come to life on screen. But in case you still have some catching up to do on reading the book, here’s an excerpt to get you started! About Chemical Hearts: Henry Page has never been in love. He … Continued
See More

Middle Grade Books by Black Authors You Should Be Reading

  What Lane? by Torrey Maldonado “STAY IN YOUR LANE.” Stephen doesn’t want to hear that–he wants to have no lane.Anything his friends can do, Stephen should be able to do too, right? So when they dare each other to sneak into an abandoned building, he doesn’t think it’s his lane, but he goes. Here’s … Continued
See More

Books to Read for Latinx Heritage Month

September 15-October 15 is Latinx Heritage Month. We’re inviting you to join us in reading stories by Latinx authors–and if you don’t know where to start, here are a few of our recommendations!   We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez A poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, … Continued
See More

10 Swoony Romances to Read Before Summer Ends!

Summer has been a whirlwind, but there are a few summer romances we recommend you pick up to read in the sunshine before summer is over!   Beyond the Break by Heather Buchta For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, … Continued
See More

YA Books by Black Authors You Should Be Reading

From award winning icons such as Mildred D. Taylor to debut voices such as Patrice Caldwell, here are some of the Black authors you should be reading.   A Phoenix First Must Burn edited by Patrice Caldwell Sixteen tales by bestselling and award-winning authors that explore the Black experience through fantasy, science fiction, and magic. … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: VICIOUS SPIRITS by Kat Cho

We fell completely in LOVE with Kat Cho’s Wicked Fox last year. And we may be even more in love with its stunning companion novel, Vicious Spirits! Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE As with any tragedy, it came about because he loved. When he was on the cusp of manhood, a young man met a … Continued
See More

Sci-Fi & Fantasy reads to move up on your TBR asap

2020 has brought a LOT of amazing reads to our shelf. Here are just a few of our favorite sci-fi/fantasy reads you’ll want to make sure you didn’t miss!   Want to win them all? Click here to enter our sweepstakes! The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae You will laugh. You will cry. You will … Continued
See More

Start reading HARROW LAKE by Kat Elis

Calling all horror movie fans! Harrow Lake is a can’t-put-down, creepy thriller about the daughter of a horror film director who’s not afraid of anything–until she gets to Harrow Lake. Scroll down to start reading! Transcript of interview with Nolan Nox, Director of Nightjar, for Scream Screen magazine (Nightjar twentieth-anniversary special feature) CJL: C. J. Lahey, columnist with Scream Screen NN: Nolan … Continued
See More

What to read if you’re not over The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes

If you’ve binge re-read the entire Hunger Games series and flew through the new prequel, The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes, we’ve got some recommendations for what to pick up next! From the Katniss energy of standing up to oppressive governing forces, to death-defying, high-stakes competitions, let’s get started!   The Kinder Poison by Natalie … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP