Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

11 Books to Read for #Blackathon

SHARE

#Blackathon is just the latest creative and exciting read-a-thon that the bookish online world has brought into our lives! Taking place from February 11th-25th, the goal is to get everyone reading books about (and by!) black and African American people. You can find all of the read-a-thon challenges on the BlackAThon Twitter, but we’ve got a few suggestions for books to add to your read-a-athon To Be Read list!

 

If You Come Softly by Jacqueline Woodson

IfYouComeSoftly20_JK.indd

It’s the twentieth anniversary of Jacqueline Woodson’s classic If You Come Softly, and it’s suddenly more timely than ever. It’s a story of a two teens from different worlds who collide at a Manhattan prep school, for fans of The Hate U Give.

 

Dear Martin by Nic Stone

Raw, captivating, and undeniably real, Nic Stone joins industry giants as she boldly tackles American race relations in this stunning New York Times bestselling debut, a William C. Morris Award Finalist.

 

Let’s Go Swimming on Doomsday by Natalie C. Anderson

Let's-Go-Swimming-on-Doomsday

If you loved City of Saints and Thievesthen be excited for Natalie C Anderson’s return! This heartbreaking yet riveting story of child soldier Abdi leave you on the edge of your seat.

 

Beasts Made of Night by Tochi Onyebuchi

BeastsmadeofnightCOVER

Black Panther meets Nnedi Okorafor’s Akata Witch in Beasts Made of Night, the first book in an epic fantasy duology!

 

Akata Witch by Nnedi Okorafor

Akata-Witch

A heart-pounding tale of magic and mystery that’s been given the affectionate nickname “the Nigerian Harry Potter.”

 

Dream Country by Shannon Gibney

Dream-Country

The heartbreaking story of five generations of young people from a single African-and-American family pursuing an elusive dream of freedom.

 

Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson

Brown-Girl-Dreaming

Raised in South Carolina and New York, Woodson always felt halfway home in each place. In vivid poems, she shares what it was like to grow up as an African American in the 1960s and 1970s, living with the remnants of Jim Crow and her growing awareness of the Civil Rights movement.

 

City of Saints and Thieves by Natalie C. Anderson

City-of-Saints-and-Thieves

City of Saints and Thieves is set in a fictional Kenyan city and follows a girl named Tina who, after her mother is mysteriously murdered, is determined to find her killer. Tina spends the next four years surviving on the streets alone, working as a master thief for Sangui City’s local gang.

 

Kids of Appetite by David Arnold

Kids-of-Appetite

Baz and Nzuzi are the gentle leaders of the eponymous misfit group the Kids of Appetite. Brothers who fled violence and hunger in the Republic of Congo, it is these two who support the group (and the story) as they work to fulfill their dreams and tell their stories.

 

The Bitter Side of Sweet by Tara Sullivan

The-Bitter-Side-of-Sweet

Have you ever read a book that made you realize how life in other places can be so different that it almost seems impossible? The Bitter Side of Sweet is a gorgeously written, heartwrenching survival story inspired by true to life events that will break down the walls of your world, only to show you a much bigger one.

 

Check out even more books to read during Black History Month! 

 

#ShelfGoals

10 Swoony Romances to Read Before Summer Ends!

Summer has been a whirlwind, but there are a few summer romances we recommend you pick up to read in the sunshine before summer is over!   Beyond the Break by Heather Buchta For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, … Continued
See More

YA Books by Black Authors You Should Be Reading

From award winning icons such as Mildred D. Taylor to debut voices such as Patrice Caldwell, here are some of the Black authors you should be reading.   A Phoenix First Must Burn edited by Patrice Caldwell Sixteen tales by bestselling and award-winning authors that explore the Black experience through fantasy, science fiction, and magic. … Continued
See More

14 Books to Read During Mental Health Awareness Month

May is Mental Health Awareness Month and we find that books can not only help us understand or sympathize, but can often help us talk about difficult topics. Here are 15 books to read this month to help start a conversation and #endthestigma.   Turtles All the Way Down by John Green Aza is trying. She is trying … Continued
See More

Sci-Fi & Fantasy reads to move up on your TBR asap

2020 has brought a LOT of amazing reads to our shelf. Here are just a few of our favorite sci-fi/fantasy reads you’ll want to make sure you didn’t miss!   Want to win them all? Click here to enter our sweepstakes! The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae You will laugh. You will cry. You will … Continued
See More

The 2020/2021 books you need to add to your TBR ASAP

Did you join us for Penguin Teen’s 2020/2021 preview show? Here are the books we talked about! Scroll down to read about some of our most anticipated reads!   They Wish They Were Us by Jessica Goodman – July 21, 2020 Gossip Girl meets One of Us Is Lying with a dash of The Secret History in this slick, taut murder mystery … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of THIS COVEN WON’T BREAK

This Coven Won’t Break is hitting shelves next month! We are so excited for the thrilling sequel to These Witches Don’t Burn and are sharing an excerpt in anticipation of book 2. Scroll down to read! High school. They say it’s the best time of our lives. A time of exploration and endless possibilities. We can try … Continued
See More

What to read if you’re not over The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes

If you’ve binge re-read the entire Hunger Games series and flew through the new prequel, The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes, we’ve got some recommendations for what to pick up next! From the Katniss energy of standing up to oppressive governing forces, to death-defying, high-stakes competitions, let’s get started!   The Kinder Poison by Natalie … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: WE ARE NOT FROM HERE

We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez is a poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, inspired by current events. Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE   When you live in a place like this, you’re always planning your escape. Even if you don’t know when you’ll go. Even if … Continued
See More

Middle Grade Books by Black Authors You Should Be Reading

  What Lane? by Torrey Maldonado “STAY IN YOUR LANE.” Stephen doesn’t want to hear that–he wants to have no lane.Anything his friends can do, Stephen should be able to do too, right? So when they dare each other to sneak into an abandoned building, he doesn’t think it’s his lane, but he goes. Here’s … Continued
See More

9 Books That Make Great Gift Ideas For Mother’s Day

Mother’s Day is right around the corner, and we know that gift lists for moms are running rampant everywhere. But the best thing about giving books is that you give an experience, too. So we rounded up some of our favorite heartfelt, historical, and humorous books that make great gift ideas for Mother’s Day.   … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP