Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

11 Books to Read for #Blackathon

SHARE

#Blackathon is just the latest creative and exciting read-a-thon that the bookish online world has brought into our lives! Taking place from February 11th-25th, the goal is to get everyone reading books about (and by!) black and African American people. You can find all of the read-a-thon challenges on the BlackAThon Twitter, but we’ve got a few suggestions for books to add to your read-a-athon To Be Read list!

 

If You Come Softly by Jacqueline Woodson

IfYouComeSoftly20_JK.indd

It’s the twentieth anniversary of Jacqueline Woodson’s classic If You Come Softly, and it’s suddenly more timely than ever. It’s a story of a two teens from different worlds who collide at a Manhattan prep school, for fans of The Hate U Give.

 

Dear Martin by Nic Stone

Raw, captivating, and undeniably real, Nic Stone joins industry giants as she boldly tackles American race relations in this stunning New York Times bestselling debut, a William C. Morris Award Finalist.

 

Let’s Go Swimming on Doomsday by Natalie C. Anderson

Let's-Go-Swimming-on-Doomsday

If you loved City of Saints and Thievesthen be excited for Natalie C Anderson’s return! This heartbreaking yet riveting story of child soldier Abdi leave you on the edge of your seat.

 

Beasts Made of Night by Tochi Onyebuchi

BeastsmadeofnightCOVER

Black Panther meets Nnedi Okorafor’s Akata Witch in Beasts Made of Night, the first book in an epic fantasy duology!

 

Akata Witch by Nnedi Okorafor

Akata-Witch

A heart-pounding tale of magic and mystery that’s been given the affectionate nickname “the Nigerian Harry Potter.”

 

Dream Country by Shannon Gibney

Dream-Country

The heartbreaking story of five generations of young people from a single African-and-American family pursuing an elusive dream of freedom.

 

Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson

Brown-Girl-Dreaming

Raised in South Carolina and New York, Woodson always felt halfway home in each place. In vivid poems, she shares what it was like to grow up as an African American in the 1960s and 1970s, living with the remnants of Jim Crow and her growing awareness of the Civil Rights movement.

 

City of Saints and Thieves by Natalie C. Anderson

City-of-Saints-and-Thieves

City of Saints and Thieves is set in a fictional Kenyan city and follows a girl named Tina who, after her mother is mysteriously murdered, is determined to find her killer. Tina spends the next four years surviving on the streets alone, working as a master thief for Sangui City’s local gang.

 

Kids of Appetite by David Arnold

Kids-of-Appetite

Baz and Nzuzi are the gentle leaders of the eponymous misfit group the Kids of Appetite. Brothers who fled violence and hunger in the Republic of Congo, it is these two who support the group (and the story) as they work to fulfill their dreams and tell their stories.

 

The Bitter Side of Sweet by Tara Sullivan

The-Bitter-Side-of-Sweet

Have you ever read a book that made you realize how life in other places can be so different that it almost seems impossible? The Bitter Side of Sweet is a gorgeously written, heartwrenching survival story inspired by true to life events that will break down the walls of your world, only to show you a much bigger one.

 

Check out even more books to read during Black History Month! 

 

#ShelfGoals

Read an excerpt of IMAGINARY BORDERS!

We’ve been spotlighting some of our favorite reads by Latinx authors in honor of #LatinxHeritageMonth, and today we’re sharing an excerpt of Imaginary Borders by Xiuhtezcatl Martinez. In this personal, moving essay, environmental activist and hip-hop artist Xiuhtezcatl Martinez uses his art and his activism to show that climate change is a human issue that can’t be ignored. … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: VICIOUS SPIRITS by Kat Cho

We fell completely in LOVE with Kat Cho’s Wicked Fox last year. And we may be even more in love with its stunning companion novel, Vicious Spirits! Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE As with any tragedy, it came about because he loved. When he was on the cusp of manhood, a young man met a … Continued
See More

Sci-Fi & Fantasy reads to move up on your TBR asap

2020 has brought a LOT of amazing reads to our shelf. Here are just a few of our favorite sci-fi/fantasy reads you’ll want to make sure you didn’t miss!   Want to win them all? Click here to enter our sweepstakes! The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae You will laugh. You will cry. You will … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: WE ARE NOT FROM HERE

We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez is a poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, inspired by current events. Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE   When you live in a place like this, you’re always planning your escape. Even if you don’t know when you’ll go. Even if … Continued
See More

Start reading HARROW LAKE by Kat Elis

Calling all horror movie fans! Harrow Lake is a can’t-put-down, creepy thriller about the daughter of a horror film director who’s not afraid of anything–until she gets to Harrow Lake. Scroll down to start reading! Transcript of interview with Nolan Nox, Director of Nightjar, for Scream Screen magazine (Nightjar twentieth-anniversary special feature) CJL: C. J. Lahey, columnist with Scream Screen NN: Nolan … Continued
See More

What to read if you’re not over The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes

If you’ve binge re-read the entire Hunger Games series and flew through the new prequel, The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes, we’ve got some recommendations for what to pick up next! From the Katniss energy of standing up to oppressive governing forces, to death-defying, high-stakes competitions, let’s get started!   The Kinder Poison by Natalie … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of When I Am Through With You

When I Am Through With You by Stephanie Kuehn is a gripping story of survival and the razor’s-edge difference between perfect cruelty and perfect love. Ben Gibson is many things, but he’s not sorry and he’s not a liar. He will tell you exactly about what happened on what started as a simple school camping trip … Continued
See More

Start Reading CHEMICAL HEARTS by Krystal Sutherland!

Chemical Hearts is now streaming on Amazon Prime Video and we are SO excited to see Krystal Sutherland’s gorgeous novel come to life on screen. But in case you still have some catching up to do on reading the book, here’s an excerpt to get you started! About Chemical Hearts: Henry Page has never been in love. He … Continued
See More

Books to Read for Latinx Heritage Month

September 15-October 15 is Latinx Heritage Month. We’re inviting you to join us in reading stories by Latinx authors–and if you don’t know where to start, here are a few of our recommendations!   We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez A poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, … Continued
See More

10 Swoony Romances to Read Before Summer Ends!

Summer has been a whirlwind, but there are a few summer romances we recommend you pick up to read in the sunshine before summer is over!   Beyond the Break by Heather Buchta For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP