Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Books to Read if You Love Unsolved Mysteries

SHARE

Whether you’re obsessed with Netflix’s recent docuseries Unsolved Mysteries or love to binge Buzzfeed Unsolved here and there, we’ve got the reads to keep your mind spinning around What really happened? for days. Let’s get to it!

 

They Wish They Were Us by Jessica Goodman

THEY-WISH-THEY-WERE-US

Coming August 4, pre-order your copy here!

 

 

People Like Us by Dana Mele

PEOPLE LIKE US

 

When I Am Through with You by Stephanie Kuehn 

when i am through with you

A gripping story of survival and the razor’s-edge difference between perfect cruelty and perfect love.
 
“This isn’t meant to be a confession. Not in any spiritual sense of the word. Yes, I’m in jail at the moment. I imagine I’ll be here for a long time, considering. But I’m not writing this down for absolution and I’m not seeking forgiveness, not even from myself. Because I’m not sorry for what I did to Rose. I’m just not. Not for any of it.”

Ben Gibson is many things, but he’s not sorry and he’s not a liar. He will tell you exactly about what happened on what started as a simple school camping trip in the mountains. About who lived and who died. About who killed and who had the best of intentions. But he’s going to tell you in his own time. Because after what happened on that mountain, time is the one thing he has plenty of.
 

The Beautiful by Renée Ahdieh

The-Beautiful

 

Sadie by Courtney Summers

Sadie

A missing girl on a journey of revenge. A Serial―like podcast following the clues she’s left behind. And an ending you won’t be able to stop talking about.

Sadie hasn’t had an easy life. Growing up on her own, she’s been raising her sister Mattie in an isolated small town, trying her best to provide a normal life and keep their heads above water.

But when Mattie is found dead, Sadie’s entire world crumbles. After a somewhat botched police investigation, Sadie is determined to bring her sister’s killer to justice and hits the road following a few meager clues to find him.

When West McCray―a radio personality working on a segment about small, forgotten towns in America―overhears Sadie’s story at a local gas station, he becomes obsessed with finding the missing girl. He starts his own podcast as he tracks Sadie’s journey, trying to figure out what happened, hoping to find her before it’s too late.

Courtney Summers has written the breakout book of her career. Sadie is propulsive and harrowing and will keep you riveted until the last page.

 

Rules for Vanishing by Kate Alice Marshall

Rules-for-Vanishing

 

The Smaller Evil by Stephanie Kuehn

the smaller evil

 

The Last Confession of Autumn Casterly by Meredith Tate

TheLastConfessionofAutumnCasterly

 

Nightfall by Jake Halpern and Peter Kujawinski

Nightfall

The dark will bring your worst nightmares to light in this gripping and eerie survival story, perfect for fans of James Dashner and Neil Gaiman.

On Marin’s island, the sunrise only comes every twenty-eight years. But it’s not the dawn she has to worry about. When sunset triggers the tide to roll out hundreds of miles, the islanders of Bliss must quickly prepare to sail south, where they will wait out the long, fourteen years of unforgiving Night. Marin and her twin brother, Kana, ready their house for departure: locks must be taken off doors, furniture arranged, tables set. The rituals are bizarre, but none of the adults in town will discuss why it has to be done this way.

Just as the ships are about to sail, a boy goes missing—the twins’ friend Line. Marin and Kana are the only ones who know the truth about where Line has gone, and the only way to rescue him is by doing it themselves. But Night is falling. Their island is changing.

And it may already be too late.

 

The Unleashed by Danielle Vega

THE-UNLEASHED-cover

A Line in the Dark by Malinda Lo 

A-Line-in-the-Dark

The line between best friend and something more is a line always crossed in the dark.

Jess Wong is Angie Redmond’s best friend. And that’s the most important thing, even if Angie can’t see how Jess truly feels. Being the girl no one quite notices is OK with Jess anyway. If nobody notices her, she’s free to watch everyone else. But when Angie begins to fall for Margot Adams, a girl from the nearby boarding school, Jess can see it coming a mile away. Suddenly her powers of observation are more a curse than a gift.

As Angie drags Jess further into Margot’s circle, Jess discovers more than her friend’s growing crush. Secrets and cruelty lie just beneath the carefree surface of this world of wealth and privilege, and when they come out, Jess knows Angie won’t be able to handle the consequences.

When the inevitable darkness finally descends, Angie will need her best friend.

“It doesn’t even matter that she probably doesn’t understand how much she means to me. It’s purer this way. She can take whatever she wants from me, whenever she wants it, because I’m her best friend.”

A Line in the Dark is a story of love, loyalty, and murder.

 

 

BONUS ROUND: 2020 has some FREAKY reads coming. Here’s what to look out for…

The Companion by Katie Alender – Coming August 25, 2020!

The-Companion

 

Harrow Lake by Kat Ellis – Coming August 25, 2020

Harrow-Lake-COVER

 

MEME by Aaron Starmer – Coming September 8, 2020!

9780735231924

A tense, psychological thriller for the internet age about the destructive combination of self-important goals and self-serving plans.

Cole Weston—former friend, former boyfriend—has become dangerous, erratic. Something needs to be done. Getting rid of Cole is practically a public service. So high school seniors Holly Morse, Grayson Hobbs, Logan Bailey, and Meeka Miller devise a plan. Kill Cole. Bury him in the woods behind Meeka’s house. Bury him deep, deep in the ground along with four old cell phones, wiped except for their video confession as insurance that no one will ever betray the group. Everything is perfect, until the meme appears. It’s a screenshot from their confession… a confession that’s supposed to be entombed with Cole forever in the cold Vermont dirt.

 

 

Excited for They Wish They Were Us? Start reading it here!

#WhatsTrending

Do’s and Don’ts for encountering a vampire: things YA taught us

Let’s face it: we all have a soft spot for the eternally damned. YA made us love vampires and we aren’t sorry about it. HOWEVER, our favorite books have ALSO taught us that there are certain things to do and not do if you encounter a handsome broody potentially blood-thirsty character. At no. 1…   1. DO … Continued
See More

Penguin Teen Cover Reveal Bonanza!

It’s cover reveal time! Today, we are revealing not one, not two, but SIX covers, from debut authors to the return of beloved fantasy characters! We may have even snatched an excerpt for each of these new reads for you to get an early taste of each one. New books will be added here as they are revealed, … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: STORMBREAK by Natalie C. Parker

  June may be coming to an end, but we are looking forward to continuing to #ReadPrideAndBeyond all year long with upcoming spectacular 2020 reads. And we’re sharing an excerpt today from one of them! Stormbreak by Natalie C. Parker is the epic conclusion to the Seafire trilogy, applauded by Tor.com for celebrating “sisterhood and queernormativity in the face … Continued
See More

The thriller TBR for anyone who loved ONE OF US IS LYING

If the plot twist of One of Us Is Lying knocked your socks right off, we have a few twisty thrillers recommendations for that TBR.   They Wish They Were Us by Jessica Goodman  Gossip Girl meets One of Us Is Lying with a dash of The Secret History in this slick, taut murder mystery set against the backdrop of an exclusive prep … Continued
See More

Start reading They Wish They Were Us by Jessica Goodman

One of 2020’s most highly-anticipated reads They Wish They Were Us by Jessica Goodman is right around the corner, but we can’t wait until then to start reading. So today we’re sharing 20 pages of it! Scroll down for a sneak peek at the murder mystery of the summer! Scroll down to read and don’t forget to … Continued
See More

ICYMI: the cover for Super Fake Love Song is here!

Super Fake Love Song by David Yoon, author of Frankly in Love, is hitting shelves November 17th, and we are SO in love with this cover. Scroll down to take a look and read a bit about the book!     From the bestselling author of Frankly in Love comes a contemporary YA rom-com where a case of mistaken … Continued
See More

Taylor Swift’s FOLKLORE is here, and so is your ultimate book match!

Taylor Swift dropped her new album Folklore last night and not to be dramatic but we’ve had this cottagecore goodness on repeat ever since. And we have been working fast to get you your ULTIMATE Folklore book match!   Track: The No 1 Book Match: Lovely War “But it would have been fun, if you would … Continued
See More

The Beautiful: The Recap

Diving into The Damned by Renée Ahdieh this week? We’re here to give you a refresher on what happened in book 1, The Beautiful!     The Beautiful starts with Celine fleeing Paris, sailing to New Orleans with Pippa, her best friend, to live at a local convent. via GIPHY   Celine, by the way, is one hell … Continued
See More

COVER REVEAL: House of Hollow

One of our most HOTLY anticipated reads of 2021 has a cover and your eyes aren’t ready. House of Hollow by Krystal M. Sutherland is a dark, twisty modern fairytale where three sisters discover they are not exactly all that they seem and evil things really do go bump in the night, coming April 6, 2021! Iris … Continued
See More

Read the first 3 chapters of Goddess in the Machine by Lora Beth Johnson!

Goddess in the Machine by Lora Beth Johnson just hit shelves! In this smart, thrilling sci-fi adventure, perfect for fans of Renegades and Aurora Rising, Andra wakes up from a cryogenic sleep 1,000 years later than she was supposed to, forcing her to team up with an exiled prince to navigate an unfamiliar planet. Scroll down to read the … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP