Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Books to Save Your Gift Cards For

SHARE

You’ve opened your gifts and thanked your family, and now it’s time to start planning which books you’ll be adding to your TBR! These winter releases are almost here, and even though your gift cards are burning a hole in your pocket, these beauties are worth the wait.

 

Song of the Dead by Sarah Glenn Marsh

We fell in love with the dark land ruled by the dead in Reign of the Fallen, but now that Karthia’s borders have been opened, Odessa and Meredy are on a new adventure farther than they thought they would ever travel. Out January 29th!

 

Let’s Go Swimming on Doomsday by Natalie C. Anderson

If you loved City of Saints and Thieves (and lots of people including Kerry Washington did!) then get excited for Natalie C Anderson’s return! This heartbreaking yet riveting story of child soldier Abdi leave you on the edge of your seat. Out January 15th!

 

Someday We Will Fly by Rachel DeWoskin

From the author of Blind, a heart-wrenching coming-of-age story set during World War II in Shanghai, one of the only places Jews without visas could find refuge. Out January 22nd!

 

The Triumphant by Lesley Livingston

Just when you thought Fallon had sorted her life out and her crew’s stunning victory in The Defiant meant she could kick back and relax, THINK AGAIN! And this is the finale – people need to STAY SAFE!! Out February 12th!

 

Four Dead Queens by Astrid Scholte

One of the most HIGHLY-ANTICIPATED fantasies of 2019! Seventeen-year-old Keralie Corrington may seem harmless, but she’s, in fact, one of Quadara’s most skilled thieves and a liar. Varin, on the other hand, is an honest, upstanding citizen of Quadara’s most enlightened region, Eonia. He runs afoul of Keralie when she steals a package from him, putting his life in danger. When Varin attempts to retrieve the package, he and Keralie both find themselves entangled in a conspiracy that leaves all four of Quadara’s queens dead. Out February 26th!

 

The Afterward by E.K. Johnston

An apprentice knight and a beggar and thief are both the kickass central figures in this EPIC fantasy from E.K. Johnston and what happens AFTER the final battle is won and heroes are crowned. Where does that leave everyone?! If you love YA fantasy, this is the ultimate spin on the genre! Out February 19th!

 

The Waning Age by S.E. Grove

Imagine not be able to feel? Having your emotions ‘wane’ away when you reach a certain age? In a scarily relatable world, S. E. Grove explores what would happen if we became desensitized to violence and the power of love to change. Out February 5th!

 

Shout by Laurie Halse Anderson

Announced with this exclusive and must read interview in The Washington PostShout by Laurie Halse Anderson is a startling memoir and call to action that will ignite conversation. Out March 12th!

The Last Voyage of Poe Blythe by Ally Condie

PoeBlythe

Who do you become when you have nothing left to lose? There is something Poe Blythe, the seventeen-year-old captain of the Outpost’s last mining ship, wants far more than the gold they tear from the Serpentine River.
Revenge. Out March 26th!

 

Lovely War by Julie Berry

A sweeping, multi-layered romance with a divine twist, by the Printz Honor-winning author of The Passion of Dolssa, set in the perilous days of World Wars I and II. This one is going to have you guessing and guessing and then pondering about fate, love, war and time FOR HOURS afterwards. Weirdly like a cross between Atonement and the Wonder Woman movie …yes, really…Julie Berry’s here to shake your world. Out March 5th!

 

Tarot by Marissa Kennerson 

Tarot

Prepare to dive into the world of Tarot, a fantasy from Marissa Kennerson that will do for tarot cards, what Romina Russell did for horoscopes! Anna is a result of a forbidden love and she’s spent her life in hiding and alone. To pass the time she imagines a world of dreamers and creatives – the exact opposite of the life she’s living. On her sixteenth birthday though, the walls between her imagination and the world she lives in, come crashing down. Out February 19!

 

Looking for more recommendations? Make sure you didn’t miss any of last year’s amazing reads!

#ShelfGoals

10 Swoony Romances to Read Before Summer Ends!

Summer has been a whirlwind, but there are a few summer romances we recommend you pick up to read in the sunshine before summer is over!   Beyond the Break by Heather Buchta For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, … Continued
See More

YA Books by Black Authors You Should Be Reading

From award winning icons such as Mildred D. Taylor to debut voices such as Patrice Caldwell, here are some of the Black authors you should be reading.   A Phoenix First Must Burn edited by Patrice Caldwell Sixteen tales by bestselling and award-winning authors that explore the Black experience through fantasy, science fiction, and magic. … Continued
See More

14 Books to Read During Mental Health Awareness Month

May is Mental Health Awareness Month and we find that books can not only help us understand or sympathize, but can often help us talk about difficult topics. Here are 15 books to read this month to help start a conversation and #endthestigma.   Turtles All the Way Down by John Green Aza is trying. She is trying … Continued
See More

Sci-Fi & Fantasy reads to move up on your TBR asap

2020 has brought a LOT of amazing reads to our shelf. Here are just a few of our favorite sci-fi/fantasy reads you’ll want to make sure you didn’t miss!   Want to win them all? Click here to enter our sweepstakes! The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae You will laugh. You will cry. You will … Continued
See More

The 2020/2021 books you need to add to your TBR ASAP

Did you join us for Penguin Teen’s 2020/2021 preview show? Here are the books we talked about! Scroll down to read about some of our most anticipated reads!   They Wish They Were Us by Jessica Goodman – July 21, 2020 Gossip Girl meets One of Us Is Lying with a dash of The Secret History in this slick, taut murder mystery … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of THIS COVEN WON’T BREAK

This Coven Won’t Break is hitting shelves next month! We are so excited for the thrilling sequel to These Witches Don’t Burn and are sharing an excerpt in anticipation of book 2. Scroll down to read! High school. They say it’s the best time of our lives. A time of exploration and endless possibilities. We can try … Continued
See More

What to read if you’re not over The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes

If you’ve binge re-read the entire Hunger Games series and flew through the new prequel, The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes, we’ve got some recommendations for what to pick up next! From the Katniss energy of standing up to oppressive governing forces, to death-defying, high-stakes competitions, let’s get started!   The Kinder Poison by Natalie … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: WE ARE NOT FROM HERE

We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez is a poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, inspired by current events. Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE   When you live in a place like this, you’re always planning your escape. Even if you don’t know when you’ll go. Even if … Continued
See More

Middle Grade Books by Black Authors You Should Be Reading

  What Lane? by Torrey Maldonado “STAY IN YOUR LANE.” Stephen doesn’t want to hear that–he wants to have no lane.Anything his friends can do, Stephen should be able to do too, right? So when they dare each other to sneak into an abandoned building, he doesn’t think it’s his lane, but he goes. Here’s … Continued
See More

9 Books That Make Great Gift Ideas For Mother’s Day

Mother’s Day is right around the corner, and we know that gift lists for moms are running rampant everywhere. But the best thing about giving books is that you give an experience, too. So we rounded up some of our favorite heartfelt, historical, and humorous books that make great gift ideas for Mother’s Day.   … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP