Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

15 Books We Can’t Wait to Throw in Our Bags This Summer

SHARE

Are the winter blues getting you down? Do you find your thoughts drifting to warmer weather, days at the beach, and maybe a fabulous vacation or two? Sound like you’re ready to start making your summer plans—and what better place to start than your summer TBR pile? Check out our list of books we can’t wait to read this summer below.

 

This is Really Happening by Erin Chack

On sale: 4/25/17

Where to bring this one: the beach

Hit the beach with BuzzFeed senior writer Erin Chack’s This is Really Happening for a sunny afternoon full of her hilarious real life stories.

 

The One Memory of Flora Banks by Emily Barr

On sale: 5/2/17

Where to bring this one: your epic European vacation

Take a break from your European adventure to follow Flora on hers! Read on as Flora bravely travels to reclaim her life, despite her loss of short-term memory.

 

Girling Up by Mayim Bialik

On sale: 5/9/17

Where to bring this one: the library

Just because it’s summer doesn’t mean you can’t learn anything. Who better to learn about girling up from than Mayim Bialik, neuroscientist and star of The Big Bang Theory? No one. Bonus: soak up that glorious air conditioning while you read!

 

Flame in the Mist by Renée Ahdieh

On sale: 5/16/17

Where to bring this one: the backseat during a road trip

Make the hours in the car fly by taking a journey through Renee Ahdieh’s latest sizzling fantasy–an action-packed novel set in Feudal Japan!

 

A Million Junes by Emily Henry

On sale: 5/16/17

Where to bring this one: lake house

If you’re hanging out lakeside, lose yourself in this Romeo and Juliet inspired tale about the daughter and son of long-feuding families working together to uncover the truth about a curse plaguing their bloodlines.

 

Juniper Lemon’s Happiness Index by Julie Israel

On sale: 5/30/17

Where to bring this one: the park

Looking forward to a sunny day at the park? Toss a copy of Julie Israel’s funny, moving debut in your bag with your frisbee and a snack.

And Then There Were Four by Nancy Werlin

On sale: 6/6/17

Where to bring this one: your porch

Fly through this YA thriller in which the parents are trying to kill their kids during an afternoon on your porch. Or a night, if you’re brave enough.

 

Once and For All by Sarah Dessen

On sale: 6/6/17

Where to bring this one: ice cream parlor

A sweet read deserves a sweet treat! See what happens when a girl who stopped believing in happily-ever-afters meets her second chance in Sarah Dessen’s latest.

 

The Girl In Between by Sarah Carroll

On sale: 6/20/17

Where to bring this one: a morning trip to a cafe

If you’ve got a few hours to relax in your favorite breakfast spot, pick up a copy of The Girl in Between to enjoy with your coffee or tea! You’ll speed through this story about a girl, her mother, and some unexpected ghosts.

 

Midnight Jewel by Richelle Mead

On sale: 6/27/17

Where to bring this one: poolside

Make a day at the pool sparkle with the latest book in Richelle Mead’s Glittering Court series! Bonus: you don’t need to read The Glittering Court before diving into Midnight Jewel.

 

The Merciless III: Origins of Evil by Danielle Vega

On sale: 7/11/17

Where to bring this one: a comfy chair on a rainy night

Give yourself chills on a dark and stormy night with the latest installment of the Merciless series–just make sure you remember to leave your lights on…

 

The Library of Fates by Aditi Khorana

On sale: 7/18/17

Where to bring this one: the boardwalk

Experiencing the inevitable sugar crash on the boardwalk? Grab a bench and sneak a few pages of The Library of Fates, a romantic fantasy read perfect for fans of The Wrath and the Dawn and The Star-Touched Queen!

 

Spellbook of the Lost and Found by Moira Fowley-Doyle

On sale: 8/8/17

Where to bring this one: a bonfire

A bonfire would set the perfect mood for Moira Fowley-Doyle’s atmospheric, twisted novel about things going missing and returning from the past.

 

Thirteen Rising by Romina Russell

On sale: 8/29/17

Where to bring this one: stargazing

You’ll find it impossible not to reach for the final book in the Zodiac series while you’re checking out the constellations.

 

The Fashion Committee by Susan Juby

On sale: 5/23/17

Where to bring this one: to your summer job

In The Fashion Committee, two teens are desperate to receive a scholarship to a private art school to escape their mundane lives. Escape yours by reading on your break!

 

 

 

 

Looking for more recommendations? Check out these books that will give you an adrenaline overdose!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#ShelfGoals

Excerpt Alert: WE ARE NOT FROM HERE

We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez is a poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, inspired by current events. Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE   When you live in a place like this, you’re always planning your escape. Even if you don’t know when you’ll go. Even if … Continued
See More

17 Mystery Books That Will Keep You Guessing

There’s nothing like the adrenaline rush of reading a mystery book, and we’re here to tell you about 17 that will absolutely stump you. Read on for our list of favorite YA mysteries that are ANYTHING but elementary, my dear Watson.   People Like Us by Dana Mele Clue you’ll love it: At Bates Academy, … Continued
See More

7 Alternate Histories to Answer Your Biggest “What If’s…”

Historical fiction is great, but sometimes you need your history with a twist. What if one thing had changed about your favorite historical time period? We’ve rounded up 7 reads that answer some of our favorite “what if’s”.   What if America had lost the Revolutionary War? The Inventor’s Secret by Andrea Roberton (Cremer) After years … Continued
See More

9 Books That Make Great Gift Ideas For Mother’s Day

Mother’s Day is right around the corner, and we know that gift lists for moms are running rampant everywhere. But the best thing about giving books is that you give an experience, too. So we rounded up some of our favorite heartfelt, historical, and humorous books that make great gift ideas for Mother’s Day.   … Continued
See More

Boxsets You Need to Binge

If you’re stuck at home and are officially looking for your next series to binge read, we got you. We’ve rounded up a wish list of our fav bingey boxsets!   John Green: The Complete Collection Box Set Honestly, have tissues on hand. This collection includes paperback editions of Looking for Alaska, An Abundance of Katherines, Paper Towns, … Continued
See More

4 O.G. YA Romances That Must Be Remembered

For many of us book nerds, YA romances were what helped us start to learn what love is. (The PINING. Oh, that unforgettable PINING. 💔) If you’re looking for some romances to cozy up with indoors right now, then we’re here to remind you of some of the ORIGINAL YA romances that some of us … Continued
See More

14 Books to Read During Mental Health Awareness Month

May is Mental Health Awareness Month and we find that books can not only help us understand or sympathize, but can often help us talk about difficult topics. Here are 15 books to read this month to help start a conversation and #endthestigma.   Turtles All the Way Down by John Green Aza is trying. She is trying … Continued
See More

Dancing at the Pity Party: Sneak Peek!

Dancing at the Pity Party by Tyler Feder is part poignant cancer memoir and part humorous reflection on a motherless life. From before her mother’s first oncology appointment through the stages of her cancer to the funeral, sitting shiva, and afterward, when she must try to make sense of her life as a motherless daughter, Tyler … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of THIS COVEN WON’T BREAK

This Coven Won’t Break is hitting shelves next month! We are so excited for the thrilling sequel to These Witches Don’t Burn and are sharing an excerpt in anticipation of book 2. Scroll down to read! High school. They say it’s the best time of our lives. A time of exploration and endless possibilities. We can try … Continued
See More

10 Love Stories Gone Wrong

We all love a good love story…but not all love stories necessarily have smooth courses (or happy endings). Come to think of it, a lot of love stories have a few bumps (or 200) along the way. Here are 10 love stories that don’t go quite as you’d expect!   The Love that Split the World by … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP