Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

15 Books We Can’t Wait to Throw in Our Bags This Summer

SHARE

Are the winter blues getting you down? Do you find your thoughts drifting to warmer weather, days at the beach, and maybe a fabulous vacation or two? Sound like you’re ready to start making your summer plans—and what better place to start than your summer TBR pile? Check out our list of books we can’t wait to read this summer below.

 

This is Really Happening by Erin Chack

On sale: 4/25/17

Where to bring this one: the beach

Hit the beach with BuzzFeed senior writer Erin Chack’s This is Really Happening for a sunny afternoon full of her hilarious real life stories.

 

The One Memory of Flora Banks by Emily Barr

On sale: 5/2/17

Where to bring this one: your epic European vacation

Take a break from your European adventure to follow Flora on hers! Read on as Flora bravely travels to reclaim her life, despite her loss of short-term memory.

 

Girling Up by Mayim Bialik

On sale: 5/9/17

Where to bring this one: the library

Just because it’s summer doesn’t mean you can’t learn anything. Who better to learn about girling up from than Mayim Bialik, neuroscientist and star of The Big Bang Theory? No one. Bonus: soak up that glorious air conditioning while you read!

 

Flame in the Mist by Renée Ahdieh

On sale: 5/16/17

Where to bring this one: the backseat during a road trip

Make the hours in the car fly by taking a journey through Renee Ahdieh’s latest sizzling fantasy–an action-packed novel set in Feudal Japan!

 

A Million Junes by Emily Henry

On sale: 5/16/17

Where to bring this one: lake house

If you’re hanging out lakeside, lose yourself in this Romeo and Juliet inspired tale about the daughter and son of long-feuding families working together to uncover the truth about a curse plaguing their bloodlines.

 

Juniper Lemon’s Happiness Index by Julie Israel

On sale: 5/30/17

Where to bring this one: the park

Looking forward to a sunny day at the park? Toss a copy of Julie Israel’s funny, moving debut in your bag with your frisbee and a snack.

And Then There Were Four by Nancy Werlin

On sale: 6/6/17

Where to bring this one: your porch

Fly through this YA thriller in which the parents are trying to kill their kids during an afternoon on your porch. Or a night, if you’re brave enough.

 

Once and For All by Sarah Dessen

On sale: 6/6/17

Where to bring this one: ice cream parlor

A sweet read deserves a sweet treat! See what happens when a girl who stopped believing in happily-ever-afters meets her second chance in Sarah Dessen’s latest.

 

The Girl In Between by Sarah Carroll

On sale: 6/20/17

Where to bring this one: a morning trip to a cafe

If you’ve got a few hours to relax in your favorite breakfast spot, pick up a copy of The Girl in Between to enjoy with your coffee or tea! You’ll speed through this story about a girl, her mother, and some unexpected ghosts.

 

Midnight Jewel by Richelle Mead

On sale: 6/27/17

Where to bring this one: poolside

Make a day at the pool sparkle with the latest book in Richelle Mead’s Glittering Court series! Bonus: you don’t need to read The Glittering Court before diving into Midnight Jewel.

 

The Merciless III: Origins of Evil by Danielle Vega

On sale: 7/11/17

Where to bring this one: a comfy chair on a rainy night

Give yourself chills on a dark and stormy night with the latest installment of the Merciless series–just make sure you remember to leave your lights on…

 

The Library of Fates by Aditi Khorana

On sale: 7/18/17

Where to bring this one: the boardwalk

Experiencing the inevitable sugar crash on the boardwalk? Grab a bench and sneak a few pages of The Library of Fates, a romantic fantasy read perfect for fans of The Wrath and the Dawn and The Star-Touched Queen!

 

Spellbook of the Lost and Found by Moira Fowley-Doyle

On sale: 8/8/17

Where to bring this one: a bonfire

A bonfire would set the perfect mood for Moira Fowley-Doyle’s atmospheric, twisted novel about things going missing and returning from the past.

 

Thirteen Rising by Romina Russell

On sale: 8/29/17

Where to bring this one: stargazing

You’ll find it impossible not to reach for the final book in the Zodiac series while you’re checking out the constellations.

 

The Fashion Committee by Susan Juby

On sale: 5/23/17

Where to bring this one: to your summer job

In The Fashion Committee, two teens are desperate to receive a scholarship to a private art school to escape their mundane lives. Escape yours by reading on your break!

 

 

 

 

Looking for more recommendations? Check out these books that will give you an adrenaline overdose!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#ShelfGoals

Read an excerpt of IMAGINARY BORDERS!

We’ve been spotlighting some of our favorite reads by Latinx authors in honor of #LatinxHeritageMonth, and today we’re sharing an excerpt of Imaginary Borders by Xiuhtezcatl Martinez. In this personal, moving essay, environmental activist and hip-hop artist Xiuhtezcatl Martinez uses his art and his activism to show that climate change is a human issue that can’t be ignored. … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: VICIOUS SPIRITS by Kat Cho

We fell completely in LOVE with Kat Cho’s Wicked Fox last year. And we may be even more in love with its stunning companion novel, Vicious Spirits! Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE As with any tragedy, it came about because he loved. When he was on the cusp of manhood, a young man met a … Continued
See More

Sci-Fi & Fantasy reads to move up on your TBR asap

2020 has brought a LOT of amazing reads to our shelf. Here are just a few of our favorite sci-fi/fantasy reads you’ll want to make sure you didn’t miss!   Want to win them all? Click here to enter our sweepstakes! The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae You will laugh. You will cry. You will … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: WE ARE NOT FROM HERE

We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez is a poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, inspired by current events. Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE   When you live in a place like this, you’re always planning your escape. Even if you don’t know when you’ll go. Even if … Continued
See More

Start reading HARROW LAKE by Kat Elis

Calling all horror movie fans! Harrow Lake is a can’t-put-down, creepy thriller about the daughter of a horror film director who’s not afraid of anything–until she gets to Harrow Lake. Scroll down to start reading! Transcript of interview with Nolan Nox, Director of Nightjar, for Scream Screen magazine (Nightjar twentieth-anniversary special feature) CJL: C. J. Lahey, columnist with Scream Screen NN: Nolan … Continued
See More

What to read if you’re not over The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes

If you’ve binge re-read the entire Hunger Games series and flew through the new prequel, The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes, we’ve got some recommendations for what to pick up next! From the Katniss energy of standing up to oppressive governing forces, to death-defying, high-stakes competitions, let’s get started!   The Kinder Poison by Natalie … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of When I Am Through With You

When I Am Through With You by Stephanie Kuehn is a gripping story of survival and the razor’s-edge difference between perfect cruelty and perfect love. Ben Gibson is many things, but he’s not sorry and he’s not a liar. He will tell you exactly about what happened on what started as a simple school camping trip … Continued
See More

Start Reading CHEMICAL HEARTS by Krystal Sutherland!

Chemical Hearts is now streaming on Amazon Prime Video and we are SO excited to see Krystal Sutherland’s gorgeous novel come to life on screen. But in case you still have some catching up to do on reading the book, here’s an excerpt to get you started! About Chemical Hearts: Henry Page has never been in love. He … Continued
See More

Books to Read for Latinx Heritage Month

September 15-October 15 is Latinx Heritage Month. We’re inviting you to join us in reading stories by Latinx authors–and if you don’t know where to start, here are a few of our recommendations!   We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez A poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, … Continued
See More

10 Swoony Romances to Read Before Summer Ends!

Summer has been a whirlwind, but there are a few summer romances we recommend you pick up to read in the sunshine before summer is over!   Beyond the Break by Heather Buchta For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP