Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

15 Books We Can’t Wait to Throw in Our Bags This Summer

SHARE

Are the winter blues getting you down? Do you find your thoughts drifting to warmer weather, days at the beach, and maybe a fabulous vacation or two? Sound like you’re ready to start making your summer plans—and what better place to start than your summer TBR pile? Check out our list of books we can’t wait to read this summer below.

 

This is Really Happening by Erin Chack

On sale: 4/25/17

Where to bring this one: the beach

Hit the beach with BuzzFeed senior writer Erin Chack’s This is Really Happening for a sunny afternoon full of her hilarious real life stories.

 

The One Memory of Flora Banks by Emily Barr

On sale: 5/2/17

Where to bring this one: your epic European vacation

Take a break from your European adventure to follow Flora on hers! Read on as Flora bravely travels to reclaim her life, despite her loss of short-term memory.

 

Girling Up by Mayim Bialik

On sale: 5/9/17

Where to bring this one: the library

Just because it’s summer doesn’t mean you can’t learn anything. Who better to learn about girling up from than Mayim Bialik, neuroscientist and star of The Big Bang Theory? No one. Bonus: soak up that glorious air conditioning while you read!

 

Flame in the Mist by Renée Ahdieh

On sale: 5/16/17

Where to bring this one: the backseat during a road trip

Make the hours in the car fly by taking a journey through Renee Ahdieh’s latest sizzling fantasy–an action-packed novel set in Feudal Japan!

 

A Million Junes by Emily Henry

On sale: 5/16/17

Where to bring this one: lake house

If you’re hanging out lakeside, lose yourself in this Romeo and Juliet inspired tale about the daughter and son of long-feuding families working together to uncover the truth about a curse plaguing their bloodlines.

 

Juniper Lemon’s Happiness Index by Julie Israel

On sale: 5/30/17

Where to bring this one: the park

Looking forward to a sunny day at the park? Toss a copy of Julie Israel’s funny, moving debut in your bag with your frisbee and a snack.

And Then There Were Four by Nancy Werlin

On sale: 6/6/17

Where to bring this one: your porch

Fly through this YA thriller in which the parents are trying to kill their kids during an afternoon on your porch. Or a night, if you’re brave enough.

 

Once and For All by Sarah Dessen

On sale: 6/6/17

Where to bring this one: ice cream parlor

A sweet read deserves a sweet treat! See what happens when a girl who stopped believing in happily-ever-afters meets her second chance in Sarah Dessen’s latest.

 

The Girl In Between by Sarah Carroll

On sale: 6/20/17

Where to bring this one: a morning trip to a cafe

If you’ve got a few hours to relax in your favorite breakfast spot, pick up a copy of The Girl in Between to enjoy with your coffee or tea! You’ll speed through this story about a girl, her mother, and some unexpected ghosts.

 

Midnight Jewel by Richelle Mead

On sale: 6/27/17

Where to bring this one: poolside

Make a day at the pool sparkle with the latest book in Richelle Mead’s Glittering Court series! Bonus: you don’t need to read The Glittering Court before diving into Midnight Jewel.

 

The Merciless III: Origins of Evil by Danielle Vega

On sale: 7/11/17

Where to bring this one: a comfy chair on a rainy night

Give yourself chills on a dark and stormy night with the latest installment of the Merciless series–just make sure you remember to leave your lights on…

 

The Library of Fates by Aditi Khorana

On sale: 7/18/17

Where to bring this one: the boardwalk

Experiencing the inevitable sugar crash on the boardwalk? Grab a bench and sneak a few pages of The Library of Fates, a romantic fantasy read perfect for fans of The Wrath and the Dawn and The Star-Touched Queen!

 

Spellbook of the Lost and Found by Moira Fowley-Doyle

On sale: 8/8/17

Where to bring this one: a bonfire

A bonfire would set the perfect mood for Moira Fowley-Doyle’s atmospheric, twisted novel about things going missing and returning from the past.

 

Thirteen Rising by Romina Russell

On sale: 8/29/17

Where to bring this one: stargazing

You’ll find it impossible not to reach for the final book in the Zodiac series while you’re checking out the constellations.

 

The Fashion Committee by Susan Juby

On sale: 5/23/17

Where to bring this one: to your summer job

In The Fashion Committee, two teens are desperate to receive a scholarship to a private art school to escape their mundane lives. Escape yours by reading on your break!

 

 

 

 

Looking for more recommendations? Check out these books that will give you an adrenaline overdose!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#ShelfGoals

Let Reality TV Choose Your Next Read!

We know that there’s no shame in bingeing on some reality tv, no matter how trashy it may be. But why not channel your reality TV picks when it comes to lining up your TBR list? Read on for books paired with a few of our favorite shows!     If you like Say Yes … Continued
See More

11 Nonfiction Books That Will Change Your Life

Nonfiction comes in many forms: memoir, autobiography, how-to, and more. And there’s just something great about reading a nonfiction book, an experience you wouldn’t normally get. Read on for 11 books that will give you knowledge, feels, and inspiration!   Girls Who Code by Reshma Saujani Part how-to, part girl-empowerment, and all fun, Reshma Saujani, … Continued
See More

The Ultimate Guide to Surviving the Warcross Games

All right, Warcross by Marie Lu comes out on September 12th, and you’re going to want to be prepared. In Marie Lu’s world, a virtual reality exists, complete with an extremely competitive video game called Warcross. This game has taken the world by storm, and about 90% of the population plays. A great deal of strategy, agility, … Continued
See More

9 Books That Will Help You Find Your Strength

In an ideal world, every day would consist of sunny days spent reading on grassy knolls with not a cloud in sight. But the real world is full of ups and downs, the occasional cloudy day and sometimes straight up thunder and lightning. Luckily, we find that books can be the best way to weather the … Continued
See More

Every Book Coming Out in September 2017

It’s important to start your fall reading off on a high note so it’s a good thing that the books coming out in September already have incredible reader love and are destined to become hits. Read on for a sneak peek of each one!    Warcross by Marie Lu The next blockbuster from #1 New York Times bestselling … Continued
See More

The 6 Worst Fictional Islands to Get Stuck On

Worst. Islands. Ever. The end of the summer is almost upon us, which means you’re either vacationing or dreaming of doing so. If you’re in the latter group, why not soothe your jealousy by thinking of the terrible vacation spots you’re avoiding instead? Check out our list of the worst islands you could visit below. … Continued
See More

Book Boyfriend Spotlight: Hideo Tanaka

Here at Penguin Teen HQ, we know one thing for sure: falling for a fictional character is a 100% real phenomenon. That’s why we’ve decided to start spotlighting some of our most eligible book boyfriends – the ones readers can’t stop talking about. Why? Because the only thing better than crushing on a fictional character is getting … Continued
See More

An Open Letter to the Cover of Warcross

Dear Cover of Warcross,   It’s time we had a talk.   I got my box of finished hardcover copies of WARCROSS! 😱❤ They’re so shiny and beautiful, and I love the turquoise interior. I can’t wait for you guys to be able to get them in a few weeks! #Sept12 A post shared by … Continued
See More

Books to Read Based On Your Hogwarts House!

Don’t worry; we get it.  It’s hard being away from Hogwarts for the whole summer.  But while you’re waiting for the 11:00 train from Platform 9¾ to leave, here are some Muggle books you might enjoy!   If you’re a GRYFFINDOR   Flame in the Mist by Renée Ahdieh Seventeen-year-old Mariko’s life is laid out … Continued
See More

8 Reasons You Should Read FLAME IN THE MIST This Weekend

We know, summer is ending, make the most of August, yada yada, but if there’s one thing you do this weekend, you should be reading Flame in the Mist by Renée Ahdhieh. The first book in a fantasy duology filled with action, adventure, and romance, this is a book you absolutely do not want to miss. … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP

I can give you book recommendations.
Please enter your name and email address to begin chatting with me.



What is your date of birth?

START CHAT