Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

15 Books We Can’t Wait to Throw in Our Bags This Summer

SHARE

Are the winter blues getting you down? Do you find your thoughts drifting to warmer weather, days at the beach, and maybe a fabulous vacation or two? Sound like you’re ready to start making your summer plans—and what better place to start than your summer TBR pile? Check out our list of books we can’t wait to read this summer below.

 

This is Really Happening by Erin Chack

On sale: 4/25/17

Where to bring this one: the beach

Hit the beach with BuzzFeed senior writer Erin Chack’s This is Really Happening for a sunny afternoon full of her hilarious real life stories.

 

The One Memory of Flora Banks by Emily Barr

On sale: 5/2/17

Where to bring this one: your epic European vacation

Take a break from your European adventure to follow Flora on hers! Read on as Flora bravely travels to reclaim her life, despite her loss of short-term memory.

 

Girling Up by Mayim Bialik

On sale: 5/9/17

Where to bring this one: the library

Just because it’s summer doesn’t mean you can’t learn anything. Who better to learn about girling up from than Mayim Bialik, neuroscientist and star of The Big Bang Theory? No one. Bonus: soak up that glorious air conditioning while you read!

 

Flame in the Mist by Renée Ahdieh

On sale: 5/16/17

Where to bring this one: the backseat during a road trip

Make the hours in the car fly by taking a journey through Renee Ahdieh’s latest sizzling fantasy–an action-packed novel set in Feudal Japan!

 

A Million Junes by Emily Henry

On sale: 5/16/17

Where to bring this one: lake house

If you’re hanging out lakeside, lose yourself in this Romeo and Juliet inspired tale about the daughter and son of long-feuding families working together to uncover the truth about a curse plaguing their bloodlines.

 

Juniper Lemon’s Happiness Index by Julie Israel

On sale: 5/30/17

Where to bring this one: the park

Looking forward to a sunny day at the park? Toss a copy of Julie Israel’s funny, moving debut in your bag with your frisbee and a snack.

And Then There Were Four by Nancy Werlin

On sale: 6/6/17

Where to bring this one: your porch

Fly through this YA thriller in which the parents are trying to kill their kids during an afternoon on your porch. Or a night, if you’re brave enough.

 

Once and For All by Sarah Dessen

On sale: 6/6/17

Where to bring this one: ice cream parlor

A sweet read deserves a sweet treat! See what happens when a girl who stopped believing in happily-ever-afters meets her second chance in Sarah Dessen’s latest.

 

The Girl In Between by Sarah Carroll

On sale: 6/20/17

Where to bring this one: a morning trip to a cafe

If you’ve got a few hours to relax in your favorite breakfast spot, pick up a copy of The Girl in Between to enjoy with your coffee or tea! You’ll speed through this story about a girl, her mother, and some unexpected ghosts.

 

Midnight Jewel by Richelle Mead

On sale: 6/27/17

Where to bring this one: poolside

Make a day at the pool sparkle with the latest book in Richelle Mead’s Glittering Court series! Bonus: you don’t need to read The Glittering Court before diving into Midnight Jewel.

 

The Merciless III: Origins of Evil by Danielle Vega

On sale: 7/11/17

Where to bring this one: a comfy chair on a rainy night

Give yourself chills on a dark and stormy night with the latest installment of the Merciless series–just make sure you remember to leave your lights on…

 

The Library of Fates by Aditi Khorana

On sale: 7/18/17

Where to bring this one: the boardwalk

Experiencing the inevitable sugar crash on the boardwalk? Grab a bench and sneak a few pages of The Library of Fates, a romantic fantasy read perfect for fans of The Wrath and the Dawn and The Star-Touched Queen!

 

Spellbook of the Lost and Found by Moira Fowley-Doyle

On sale: 8/8/17

Where to bring this one: a bonfire

A bonfire would set the perfect mood for Moira Fowley-Doyle’s atmospheric, twisted novel about things going missing and returning from the past.

 

Thirteen Rising by Romina Russell

On sale: 8/29/17

Where to bring this one: stargazing

You’ll find it impossible not to reach for the final book in the Zodiac series while you’re checking out the constellations.

 

The Fashion Committee by Susan Juby

On sale: 5/23/17

Where to bring this one: to your summer job

In The Fashion Committee, two teens are desperate to receive a scholarship to a private art school to escape their mundane lives. Escape yours by reading on your break!

 

 

 

 

Looking for more recommendations? Check out these books that will give you an adrenaline overdose!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#ShelfGoals

5 Books to Read to Celebrate the Year of the Dog!

新年快乐 HAPPY CHINESE NEW YEAR! If you like books, dogs, and celebrations you’re in luck, because it is the year of the dog and we have the perfect books to help you celebrate Chinese New Year! Don’t know much about Chinese New Year? Here are a few quick facts to get you on your way … Continued
See More

Books to Read if You Loved The Maze Runner

So, you just finished watching Maze Runner: The Death Cure movie. Your heart rate is still ridiculously high from the action, terrifying creatures, and escape scenes and let’s be real, you probably feel the need to feed your adrenaline. Read on for 6 more books to keep the adventure going!   The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey … Continued
See More

5 Books by Muslim and/or Middle Eastern Authors to Add to Your Shelf This Year

If your goal is to read more diverse books in 2018, you’re in luck, because Penguin Teen has a great offering of stories penned by a diverse range of authors who identify as Muslim and/or Middle Eastern. Whether you’re looking to see yourself in a new story or want to read outside your own experience, … Continued
See More

12 Books You’ll Want to Re-read as Soon as You Finish

We’ve all been there—sitting in a train, or drinking coffee at a coffee shop, or lying in bed at 3 AM not knowing what to do with yourself because you’ve just finished reading the ~greatest book of all time~ and you’re contemplating if it’s a good idea to dive right back into it by turning to … Continued
See More

7 Books That Will Give You an Adrenaline Overdose

Ugh…is it really still January? We get it, the winter is long and boredom is going to set in soon. To help you out, we’ve compiled a list of our favorite adrenaline-boosting books to snap you out of it. Hello, fight-or-flight!   People Like Us by Dana Mele If you loved One of Us is Lying, you need … Continued
See More

Books by Women of Color that You Need to Read This Year

If 2017 was the year of the woman, in 2018 women are keeping that momentum going and taking the world by storm. If the Golden Globes were any indication, women are finally (and rightfully) demanding to have their voices heard. And while we continue to show support from a social and political standpoint, we are also making … Continued
See More

11 Books to Read, Swoon, Repeat All Month Long

This February, whether you’re gearing up for Valentine’s Day or ready to go hard on some Galentine’s Day festivities, we know one thing is for certain: it’s the absolute best time to grab your favorite romances for a re-read! To help you out with your love-filled TBR, we’re giving you 11 books to ensure that the … Continued
See More

Our Top 6 Moments from THE VALIANT *spoilers*

We cannot contain our excitement that the sequel to Lesley Livingston’s The Valiant comes out tomorrow. If you haven’t yet read The Valiant, stop what you’re doing and go get it (and definitely don’t read this post yet because it’s FULL OF SPOILERS!). Book two, The Defiant, follows Fallon in the fight for her life, and … Continued
See More

Every Book Hitting Shelves in February 2018

February may be the shortest month, but it doesn’t mean you can’t have the biggest stack of books! Start building your TBR, because here’s what’s coming your way this February!   2/6: Immortal Reign by Morgan Rhodes: The finale of the epic Falling Kingdoms series by Morgan Rhodes is finally here. Magnus and Cleo‘s love will … Continued
See More

9 Books to Read if You Live in New York City (Or Wish You Did)

Ah, New York City… Doesn’t everyone have that dream of sitting on a bench in Central Park, the leaves falling, and you’re clutching a hot chocolate while making your way through a giant novel? We can’t buy you a ticket, but we can give you an insider’s view of The Big Apple with these books … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP

I can give you book recommendations.
Please enter your name and email address to begin chatting with me.



What is your date of birth?

START CHAT