Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

15 Books We Can’t Wait to Throw in Our Bags This Summer

SHARE

Are the winter blues getting you down? Do you find your thoughts drifting to warmer weather, days at the beach, and maybe a fabulous vacation or two? Sound like you’re ready to start making your summer plans—and what better place to start than your summer TBR pile? Check out our list of books we can’t wait to read this summer below.

 

This is Really Happening by Erin Chack

On sale: 4/25/17

Where to bring this one: the beach

Hit the beach with BuzzFeed senior writer Erin Chack’s This is Really Happening for a sunny afternoon full of her hilarious real life stories.

 

The One Memory of Flora Banks by Emily Barr

On sale: 5/2/17

Where to bring this one: your epic European vacation

Take a break from your European adventure to follow Flora on hers! Read on as Flora bravely travels to reclaim her life, despite her loss of short-term memory.

 

Girling Up by Mayim Bialik

On sale: 5/9/17

Where to bring this one: the library

Just because it’s summer doesn’t mean you can’t learn anything. Who better to learn about girling up from than Mayim Bialik, neuroscientist and star of The Big Bang Theory? No one. Bonus: soak up that glorious air conditioning while you read!

 

Flame in the Mist by Renée Ahdieh

On sale: 5/16/17

Where to bring this one: the backseat during a road trip

Make the hours in the car fly by taking a journey through Renee Ahdieh’s latest sizzling fantasy–an action-packed novel set in Feudal Japan!

 

A Million Junes by Emily Henry

On sale: 5/16/17

Where to bring this one: lake house

If you’re hanging out lakeside, lose yourself in this Romeo and Juliet inspired tale about the daughter and son of long-feuding families working together to uncover the truth about a curse plaguing their bloodlines.

 

Juniper Lemon’s Happiness Index by Julie Israel

On sale: 5/30/17

Where to bring this one: the park

Looking forward to a sunny day at the park? Toss a copy of Julie Israel’s funny, moving debut in your bag with your frisbee and a snack.

And Then There Were Four by Nancy Werlin

On sale: 6/6/17

Where to bring this one: your porch

Fly through this YA thriller in which the parents are trying to kill their kids during an afternoon on your porch. Or a night, if you’re brave enough.

 

Once and For All by Sarah Dessen

On sale: 6/6/17

Where to bring this one: ice cream parlor

A sweet read deserves a sweet treat! See what happens when a girl who stopped believing in happily-ever-afters meets her second chance in Sarah Dessen’s latest.

 

The Girl In Between by Sarah Carroll

On sale: 6/20/17

Where to bring this one: a morning trip to a cafe

If you’ve got a few hours to relax in your favorite breakfast spot, pick up a copy of The Girl in Between to enjoy with your coffee or tea! You’ll speed through this story about a girl, her mother, and some unexpected ghosts.

 

Midnight Jewel by Richelle Mead

On sale: 6/27/17

Where to bring this one: poolside

Make a day at the pool sparkle with the latest book in Richelle Mead’s Glittering Court series! Bonus: you don’t need to read The Glittering Court before diving into Midnight Jewel.

 

The Merciless III: Origins of Evil by Danielle Vega

On sale: 7/11/17

Where to bring this one: a comfy chair on a rainy night

Give yourself chills on a dark and stormy night with the latest installment of the Merciless series–just make sure you remember to leave your lights on…

 

The Library of Fates by Aditi Khorana

On sale: 7/18/17

Where to bring this one: the boardwalk

Experiencing the inevitable sugar crash on the boardwalk? Grab a bench and sneak a few pages of The Library of Fates, a romantic fantasy read perfect for fans of The Wrath and the Dawn and The Star-Touched Queen!

 

Spellbook of the Lost and Found by Moira Fowley-Doyle

On sale: 8/8/17

Where to bring this one: a bonfire

A bonfire would set the perfect mood for Moira Fowley-Doyle’s atmospheric, twisted novel about things going missing and returning from the past.

 

Thirteen Rising by Romina Russell

On sale: 8/29/17

Where to bring this one: stargazing

You’ll find it impossible not to reach for the final book in the Zodiac series while you’re checking out the constellations.

 

The Fashion Committee by Susan Juby

On sale: 5/23/17

Where to bring this one: to your summer job

In The Fashion Committee, two teens are desperate to receive a scholarship to a private art school to escape their mundane lives. Escape yours by reading on your break!

 

 

 

 

Looking for more recommendations? Check out these books that will give you an adrenaline overdose!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#ShelfGoals

7 Books to Read When Adulting is Too Hard

Adulting is hard – making your own appointments, doing laundry, self-imposed bed times, being the one to tell yourself that you shouldn’t eat that whole roll of cookie dough… luckily for days when you just can’t, there’s a way to escape: one of these books. Here, all you have to worry about is ruling kingdoms, … Continued
See More

Our Most Anticipated Summer 2018 Reads!

Ok, so we know it’s basically not even spring yet, but can you blame us that we are SO EXCITED FOR SUMMER?! It’s only natural. And not only are we excited for warm days, long nights, flip flops (the list goes on), but we absolutely cannot wait for all the amazing books we have in … Continued
See More

Get Ready to Feel All of Your Feelings With These 7 New Books

Are you that reader that likes to have your heart totally crushed, weep silent tears of joy, or feel inspired AF when you read a book? Any way you like to feel, we’ve got the books for you this spring and summer! Read on for 7 of our favorites that will make you feel ALL of … Continued
See More

A New Way to Binge: 12 of Our Favorite Standalone Novels to Read

We love finding that perfect series, the one where you want to read every single book. But often times, waiting for the next book has got us like What to do in the meantime? Binge our list of awesome standalone novels, that’s what! These books will have you turning the pages so fast that you’ll … Continued
See More

Every Book Hitting Shelves in April 2018

April showers bring…new books! We have a small but mighty list coming at you this April, with highly-anticipated sequels, books that are new in paperback, and…Gudetama’s Guide to Life, which is truly hard to put in any category! Read on and build that TBR!   4/3: Folded Notes from High School by Matt Boren: A status-obsessed senior … Continued
See More

7 Books to Make You More Socially Aware

YOU are the future. No, but like for real, one day you are going to be the one in charge of everything: schools, hospitals, book publishing, and even the government! That’s a lot to take on, but don’t worry, you aren’t the first generation to rise up and fight for what you believe in and you’re … Continued
See More

6 Must-Read Forbidden Love Stories

We all love a good love story. But a forbidden love story? Even better. These stories have us anxiously turning the pages, rooting for the two characters against all odds. Read on for some of our favorite forbidden love stories!   Flame in the Mist by Renee Ahdieh What do you do when you’re falling in … Continued
See More

5 Contemporary Books Told From More Than One Character’s Perspective

We all know there’s always two sides to a story…or maybe three… or maybe four. These books are told in multiple point of views to show all the sides of a story and to show what makes each character different in their thoughts and actions. Read on for a few of our favorites!   I … Continued
See More

8 Diverse Fantasies to Read if You Loved CHILDREN OF BLOOD AND BONE

Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi is one of the biggest books of 2018 so far, and has enticed readers with its lush West-African inspired setting and its intriguing world of dark magic. Readers are craving more diverse fantasy, because after a while, the same old stuff gets a little bit tiring! Need more … Continued
See More

12 Books That Will Get You Hooked on Historical Fiction

Here’s the thing about reading a life-changing historical fiction novel. Once you read one, there’s no going back. You need to read another. And another. And another. So we decided to share the love and round up 12 reads that will get YOU hooked on historical fiction.   Orphan Monster Spy by Matt Killeen Sarah … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP