Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

15 Books We Can’t Wait to Throw in Our Bags This Summer

SHARE

Are the winter blues getting you down? Do you find your thoughts drifting to warmer weather, days at the beach, and maybe a fabulous vacation or two? Sound like you’re ready to start making your summer plans—and what better place to start than your summer TBR pile? Check out our list of books we can’t wait to read this summer below.

 

This is Really Happening by Erin Chack

On sale: 4/25/17

Where to bring this one: the beach

Hit the beach with BuzzFeed senior writer Erin Chack’s This is Really Happening for a sunny afternoon full of her hilarious real life stories.

 

The One Memory of Flora Banks by Emily Barr

On sale: 5/2/17

Where to bring this one: your epic European vacation

Take a break from your European adventure to follow Flora on hers! Read on as Flora bravely travels to reclaim her life, despite her loss of short-term memory.

 

Girling Up by Mayim Bialik

On sale: 5/9/17

Where to bring this one: the library

Just because it’s summer doesn’t mean you can’t learn anything. Who better to learn about girling up from than Mayim Bialik, neuroscientist and star of The Big Bang Theory? No one. Bonus: soak up that glorious air conditioning while you read!

 

Flame in the Mist by Renée Ahdieh

On sale: 5/16/17

Where to bring this one: the backseat during a road trip

Make the hours in the car fly by taking a journey through Renee Ahdieh’s latest sizzling fantasy–an action-packed novel set in Feudal Japan!

 

A Million Junes by Emily Henry

On sale: 5/16/17

Where to bring this one: lake house

If you’re hanging out lakeside, lose yourself in this Romeo and Juliet inspired tale about the daughter and son of long-feuding families working together to uncover the truth about a curse plaguing their bloodlines.

 

Juniper Lemon’s Happiness Index by Julie Israel

On sale: 5/30/17

Where to bring this one: the park

Looking forward to a sunny day at the park? Toss a copy of Julie Israel’s funny, moving debut in your bag with your frisbee and a snack.

And Then There Were Four by Nancy Werlin

On sale: 6/6/17

Where to bring this one: your porch

Fly through this YA thriller in which the parents are trying to kill their kids during an afternoon on your porch. Or a night, if you’re brave enough.

 

Once and For All by Sarah Dessen

On sale: 6/6/17

Where to bring this one: ice cream parlor

A sweet read deserves a sweet treat! See what happens when a girl who stopped believing in happily-ever-afters meets her second chance in Sarah Dessen’s latest.

 

The Girl In Between by Sarah Carroll

On sale: 6/20/17

Where to bring this one: a morning trip to a cafe

If you’ve got a few hours to relax in your favorite breakfast spot, pick up a copy of The Girl in Between to enjoy with your coffee or tea! You’ll speed through this story about a girl, her mother, and some unexpected ghosts.

 

Midnight Jewel by Richelle Mead

On sale: 6/27/17

Where to bring this one: poolside

Make a day at the pool sparkle with the latest book in Richelle Mead’s Glittering Court series! Bonus: you don’t need to read The Glittering Court before diving into Midnight Jewel.

 

The Merciless III: Origins of Evil by Danielle Vega

On sale: 7/11/17

Where to bring this one: a comfy chair on a rainy night

Give yourself chills on a dark and stormy night with the latest installment of the Merciless series–just make sure you remember to leave your lights on…

 

The Library of Fates by Aditi Khorana

On sale: 7/18/17

Where to bring this one: the boardwalk

Experiencing the inevitable sugar crash on the boardwalk? Grab a bench and sneak a few pages of The Library of Fates, a romantic fantasy read perfect for fans of The Wrath and the Dawn and The Star-Touched Queen!

 

Spellbook of the Lost and Found by Moira Fowley-Doyle

On sale: 8/8/17

Where to bring this one: a bonfire

A bonfire would set the perfect mood for Moira Fowley-Doyle’s atmospheric, twisted novel about things going missing and returning from the past.

 

Thirteen Rising by Romina Russell

On sale: 8/29/17

Where to bring this one: stargazing

You’ll find it impossible not to reach for the final book in the Zodiac series while you’re checking out the constellations.

 

The Fashion Committee by Susan Juby

On sale: 5/23/17

Where to bring this one: to your summer job

In The Fashion Committee, two teens are desperate to receive a scholarship to a private art school to escape their mundane lives. Escape yours by reading on your break!

 

 

 

 

Looking for more recommendations? Check out these books that will give you an adrenaline overdose!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#ShelfGoals

11 Diverse Fantasies You NEED On Your Shelf

Everyone loves classic fantasy tales like Lord of the Rings and The Chronicles of Narnia, but at some point you might realize that all these classics seem to feel pretty similar. Fantasy should transport us to a new and exciting world, but that doesn’t mean it should forget the richness of the world in which … Continued
See More

9 Books To Read While You Wait for the New John Green Book

If you’re reading this then you may have recently been stunned with excitement to hear that John Green has announced his long-awaited next novel, Turtles All the Way Down, which hits shelves on October 10th (yes, THIS October 10th).  We know you’re looking for some books to tide you over until then, and assuming you’ve … Continued
See More

12 Books So Beautiful They Belong in a Museum

While we’re not one to judge a book by its cover, some covers simply demand to be picked up! Read on for a list of books so gorgeous they’ll transform your entire bookshelf into a literary wonderland.   Puffin + Pantone Series With their paint chip-style cover and their tinted color spectrum spine, the bold Puffin + … Continued
See More

9 Books to Give You the Summer Scaries

Looking for a way to beat the heat? You’re in luck–there are a lot of books that will send a chill down your spine on even the hottest of nights this summer. From monsters to ghosts to serial killers (and even some ghostly serial killers), there’s a book for everyone seeking thrills. Check out this … Continued
See More

9 Romances to Seduce You This Summer

Everyone deserves the love story they desire…whether IRL or in a book. That’s why we’ve rounded up 9 YA romances that will give your heart what it wants…evaluated by exactly how the book would woo you in real life!   Once and For All by Sarah Dessen Everyone deserves a second chance at love. But what you … Continued
See More

Every Book Going on Sale in June 2017

It’s official: summer is here (yes, yes, we know it’s actually not until the 21st but bear with us here). We’ve got our white pants out, our sunglasses on, and our summer reading list started. Here’s everything coming out in June that you need to bring on your next beach trip!   6/6: Once and … Continued
See More

Every Book Going On Sale in July 2017!

Wait…it’s July already?! We feel you on that. Luckily, with July comes long days spent with reading: at the beach, in the car, at the park…wherever your books take you! Read on for our July releases that are sure to keep you busy all month long!   July 4: Debutantes and Daggers by Rachel Hawkins: … Continued
See More

Seriously Ominous First Lines from Books

Remember learning about foreshadowing in high school English? Sometimes all it takes is one sentence to set the tone for an entire story. We rounded up 11 books with utterly chills-inducing and powerful first lines that grab you on the very first page and don’t let go for the entire rest of the story. Snuggle up safe and sound … Continued
See More

11 Books You’ll Want to Re-read as Soon as You Finish

We’ve all been there—sitting in a train, or drinking coffee at a coffee shop, or lying in bed at 3 AM in the morning not knowing what to do with yourself because you’ve just finished reading the ~greatest book of all time~ and you’re contemplating if it’s a good idea to dive right back into it … Continued
See More

15 Series to Feed Your #SummerBookBinge

Summer is here, and it’s time for our favorite part! No, not the beach. No, not the super-long days (but that’s pretty nice, huh). We’re talking about SUMMER. READING. Summer 2017 is going to be the best because we have a TON of great series, ready for your binge-reading pleasure! So whether you’re going on … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP

I can give you book recommendations.
Please enter your name and email address to begin chatting with me.



What is your date of birth?

START CHAT