Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

11 Books You’d Actually Want to Get in a Yankee Swap

SHARE

If you’re familiar with a Yankee Swap, you know that without the right group of people, it can be a disaster. If you’re unfamiliar, it’s a gift exchange in which participants draw numbers, which allows for the unwilling trading of gifts, which allows for the potential to receive something terrible. The easiest way to solve that? A Yankee Swap featuring exclusively books! Here are a few books we’d really, really like to get (you know, instead of an itchy sweater).

 

Turtles All the Way Down by John Green

In this along-waited novel by John Green, sixteen year-old Aza Holmes tries to be the best she can be while battling constant thought spirals in her own mind (and trying to track down a billionaire). This book will change your life.

 

Once and For All by Sarah Dessen

The latest romance from Sarah Dessen, about loss and learning to love again. Set in the world of wedding planning, Once and For All is a richly satisfying, enormously entertaining story. This gift is the perfect happily-ever-after.

 

Warcross by Marie Lu

Emika is a bounty-hunter who hacks her way into the international Warcross Championships, something that has never been done before. It doesn’t go unnoticed by the game’s creator, Hideo Tanaka. Cue romance. And the perfect gift for the technology-obsessed!

 

The Valiant by Lesley Livingston

A richly imagined fantasy for fans of Sarah J. Maas, The Valiant recounts Fallon’s gripping journey from fierce Celtic princess to legendary gladiator and darling of the Roman empire. A great gift for a badass lady (or really anyone).

 

We Are Okay by Nina LaCour

From the award-winning author of Hold Still comes an achingly beautiful novel about grief and the enduring power of friendship. Perfect for anyone who loves a good cry (but who doesn’t, really).

 

Forest of a Thousand Lanterns by Julie C. Dao

In this East Asian-inspired fantasy, Xifeng knows she’s destined for greatness—the stars have told her so. But can she embrace the darkness within her to become the Empress of Feng Lu? Perfect for anyone who loves a fairytale retelling!

 

Flame in the Mist by Renée Ahdieh

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Wrath and the Dawn, comes a sweeping, action-packed YA adventure set against the backdrop of Feudal Japan where Mulan meets Throne of Glass.

 

Beasts Made of Night by Tochi Onyebuchi

Taj is a sin-eater—a boy with magical powers to kill sin-beasts. He must use this power to save the princess, but not without risk. Shake up your gift-giving with this unique fantasy.

 

There’s Someone Inside Your House by Stephanie Perkins

Someone is going around killing members of a high school in a small town in Nebraska, and Makani is determined to find out who it is and why. For the person who likes to creep themselves out.

 

City of Saints and Thieves by Natalie C. Anderson

This murder mystery set in Kenya has topped best book lists everywhere because it’s a fast-paced thriller that’s gritty and suspenseful with a tough, smart heroine. The gift that gets your heart racing.

 

This is Really Happening by Erin Chack

BuzzFeed senior writer Erin Chack hits you in the guts, the feels, and the funny bone all at once with this collection of personal essays. This book will make you both laugh and cry really hard.

 

 

 

Looking for more recommendations? These series finishing in early 2018 are perfect for bingeing!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#ShelfGoals

New MISS PEREGRINE: Start Reading A MAP OF DAYS now!

Ransom Riggs has returned to the thrilling and magical world of Miss Peregrine with a new trilogy set in America, and we could not be more excited. A Map of Days once again follows Jacob Portman, back where his story began, in Florida, this time with the whole Peculiar crew tagging along! Read the first chapter below, … Continued
See More

Summer times feels! These books will make you sob in the BEST way

We’re certainly in our feelings for the end of summer, and while these books maybe won’t cheer you up they’ll certainly give you something else to cry about! If you love to have your heartstring tugged and your tear ducts active, you can’t miss these three summer feels blockbusters!   I Have Lost My Way … Continued
See More

Every Book On Sale in August 2018!

There’s only one more month of summer left, and we’ve got every book you’ll want to read before heading back to school this fall! August 2018 is packed with amazing titles you DON’T want to miss. So soak up the last of the summer sun with these fantastic releases and brand new paperbacks!   8/7: … Continued
See More

Every. Book. Dropping. In. September!!!

As summer draws to a close, we start to ponder the nature of time and the inevitable passing of the seasons – JUST KIDDING! No time for existential dread cause we’ve got SO MANY amazing new books dropping this September the only thing you have time to think about is how to make room on … Continued
See More

Summer Reading Treats That Are Perfectly Sweet

It’s the last days of Summer and the best way to enjoy it is with some of the sweetest books we’ve got! These sugary reads are the perfect addition to your day, whether you’re taking your final beach trip or just soaking up some sun in the backyard.   Once and For All by Sarah … Continued
See More

Dear Hollywood, These YA Books Are READY!

With the success of recent YA adaptations including Love, Simon and a heavy slate of upcoming awesomeness including To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before, The Darkest Minds and The Hate U Give – we gotta ask the question: why is Hollywood sleeping on these amazing books that are SCREAMING for adaptation?!   An Ember … Continued
See More

Summer Reading: The Ultimate Thrillers!

Summer is so relaxing. Sometimes it’s like, too relaxing, and you need to mix it up with an edge-of-your-seat, sweating-from-something-other-than-humidity, adrenaline-pulsing thriller. Here are a few heart racing reads for the end of your Summer list: I Am Still Alive by Kate Alice Marshall Think Wild meets The Revenant, except the protagonist is a teenaged … Continued
See More

DARIUS THE GREAT is #Relatable & You Can Read It Now!

If you like making Tolkien references and watching Star Trek you’ll love Darius, a teenage tea enthusiast who’s half Persian and who feels constantly out of place. Interested? You can read the first few chapters below! Dive into Darius the Great is Not Okay for a touching story of self discovery that spans continents and … Continued
See More

Get HYPED for Wildcard and Read Chapter 1 Now!

If you missed Warcross now’s the time to pick it up and hop on board the hype train that’s headed directly for Wildcard station! This equally heart-pounding sequel picks up just days after the end of Warcross as we follow Emika Chen deeper into a web of betrayal and lies. Marie Lu delivers an addictive finale … Continued
See More

The Beginning of Seafire is EXPLOSIVE and You Can Read It NOW!

That’s right, no click-bait here, we’re REALLY letting everyone read the prologue AND the first chapter of Seafire the most hotly anticipated books of August! Join Caledonia Styx on the high seas with her all lady crew of Pirates as they fight to reclaim their freedom and family from the notorious war lord Aric Athair. Start reading … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP