Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

11 Books You’d Actually Want to Get in a Yankee Swap

SHARE

If you’re familiar with a Yankee Swap, you know that without the right group of people, it can be a disaster. If you’re unfamiliar, it’s a gift exchange in which participants draw numbers, which allows for the unwilling trading of gifts, which allows for the potential to receive something terrible. The easiest way to solve that? A Yankee Swap featuring exclusively books! Here are a few books we’d really, really like to get (you know, instead of an itchy sweater).

 

Turtles All the Way Down by John Green

In this along-waited novel by John Green, sixteen year-old Aza Holmes tries to be the best she can be while battling constant thought spirals in her own mind (and trying to track down a billionaire). This book will change your life.

 

Once and For All by Sarah Dessen

The latest romance from Sarah Dessen, about loss and learning to love again. Set in the world of wedding planning, Once and For All is a richly satisfying, enormously entertaining story. This gift is the perfect happily-ever-after.

 

Warcross by Marie Lu

Emika is a bounty-hunter who hacks her way into the international Warcross Championships, something that has never been done before. It doesn’t go unnoticed by the game’s creator, Hideo Tanaka. Cue romance. And the perfect gift for the technology-obsessed!

 

The Valiant by Lesley Livingston

A richly imagined fantasy for fans of Sarah J. Maas, The Valiant recounts Fallon’s gripping journey from fierce Celtic princess to legendary gladiator and darling of the Roman empire. A great gift for a badass lady (or really anyone).

 

We Are Okay by Nina LaCour

From the award-winning author of Hold Still comes an achingly beautiful novel about grief and the enduring power of friendship. Perfect for anyone who loves a good cry (but who doesn’t, really).

 

Forest of a Thousand Lanterns by Julie C. Dao

In this East Asian-inspired fantasy, Xifeng knows she’s destined for greatness—the stars have told her so. But can she embrace the darkness within her to become the Empress of Feng Lu? Perfect for anyone who loves a fairytale retelling!

 

Flame in the Mist by Renée Ahdieh

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Wrath and the Dawn, comes a sweeping, action-packed YA adventure set against the backdrop of Feudal Japan where Mulan meets Throne of Glass.

 

Beasts Made of Night by Tochi Onyebuchi

Taj is a sin-eater—a boy with magical powers to kill sin-beasts. He must use this power to save the princess, but not without risk. Shake up your gift-giving with this unique fantasy.

 

There’s Someone Inside Your House by Stephanie Perkins

Someone is going around killing members of a high school in a small town in Nebraska, and Makani is determined to find out who it is and why. For the person who likes to creep themselves out.

 

City of Saints and Thieves by Natalie C. Anderson

This murder mystery set in Kenya has topped best book lists everywhere because it’s a fast-paced thriller that’s gritty and suspenseful with a tough, smart heroine. The gift that gets your heart racing.

 

This is Really Happening by Erin Chack

BuzzFeed senior writer Erin Chack hits you in the guts, the feels, and the funny bone all at once with this collection of personal essays. This book will make you both laugh and cry really hard.

 

 

 

Looking for more recommendations? These series finishing in early 2018 are perfect for bingeing!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#ShelfGoals

Magical reads to snuggle up with

Sometimes, you just need to escape into a book–and a bit of magic (or, you know, a lot) never hurts! So, here are 13 magical reads we recommend you snuggle up with.   Fireborne by Rosaria Munda Game of Thrones meets Red Rising in a debut young adult fantasy that’s full of rivalry, romance . . . and dragons. … Continued
See More

YA Books by Black Authors You Should Be Reading

From award winning icons such as Mildred D. Taylor to incredible debut voices such as Amanda Joy, here are some of the Black authors you should be reading.   A Phoenix First Must Burn edited by Patrice Caldwell Sixteen tales by bestselling and award-winning authors that explore the Black experience through fantasy, science fiction, and … Continued
See More

12 Love Stories Gone Wrong

We all love a good love story…but not all love stories necessarily have smooth courses (or happy endings). Come to think of it, a lot of love stories have a few bumps (or 200) along the way. Here are 10 love stories that don’t go quite as you’d expect!   The Love that Split the World by … Continued
See More

Read the first chapter of THE GIRLS I’VE BEEN by Tess Sharpe!

The Girls I’ve Been by Tess Sharpe is feminist, suspenseful thriller, following the daughter of a con artist who is taken hostage in a bank heist—and will need to tap into all her skills in order to survive. And did we mention it’s soon to be a Netflix film starring Millie Bobbie Brown?! Scroll down to read … Continued
See More

Dear Hollywood, These YA Books Are READY!

With the success of recent YA adaptation like Love, Simon, To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before, The Hate U Give and news that a new Harry Potter TV series is in the works– we gotta ask the question: why is Hollywood sleeping on these amazing books that are SCREAMING for adaptation?!   An Ember in the Ashes series … Continued
See More

12 Books to Cuddle Up With

Winter is the best time to be a reader because no one tries to force you to go outside and be “active,” leaving you with plenty of time to cuddle up with a cup of hot cocoa and a good book. Below are a few of our favorites to get all snuggly with, and the … Continued
See More

5 Reasons THE CONFERENCE OF THE BIRDS needs to be next on your TBR

The Desolations of Devil’s Acre is hitting shelves NEXT WEEK! So, we’ve been celebrating the series as we countdown to the finale, and this week we’re talking about The Conference of the Birds. This is Book 5 in the Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children series, and it picks up immediately where A Map of Days (Book 4) … Continued
See More

10 Critically-Acclaimed Novels You Should Have on Your Shelf

 If you’re looking for some incredible reads that will make you think, you’ve come to the right place. Here are 10 of our recommendations for amazing, critically-acclaimed novels you should have on your shelf!   Every Body Looking by Candice Iloh A Finalist for the National Book Award. When Ada leaves home for her freshman year … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of WINTERKEEP by Kristin Cashore!

Winterkeep is the newest installment in Kristin Cashore’s bestselling Graceling Realm series. And whether you’ve read Graceling five times over, or are just hearing about it now, never fear! Each Graceling novel can be read as a stand alone, and we’re here to help you get started on this epic fantasy series with an excerpt! Scroll … Continued
See More

High Stakes Thrillers That Will Keep You Guessing

2020 has had some crazy real-life plot twists (what happened to the murder hornets??) but if you want some fictional thrills, these high stakes books have everything you need, from pirates to reanimated sisters to assassins! And we even added a couple 2021 titles to start your New Year’s reading lists off right.   Rebel … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP