Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

11 Books You’d Actually Want to Get in a Yankee Swap

SHARE

If you’re familiar with a Yankee Swap, you know that without the right group of people, it can be a disaster. If you’re unfamiliar, it’s a gift exchange in which participants draw numbers, which allows for the unwilling trading of gifts, which allows for the potential to receive something terrible. The easiest way to solve that? A Yankee Swap featuring exclusively books! Here are a few books we’d really, really like to get (you know, instead of an itchy sweater).

 

Turtles All the Way Down by John Green

In this along-waited novel by John Green, sixteen year-old Aza Holmes tries to be the best she can be while battling constant thought spirals in her own mind (and trying to track down a billionaire). This book will change your life.

 

Once and For All by Sarah Dessen

The latest romance from Sarah Dessen, about loss and learning to love again. Set in the world of wedding planning, Once and For All is a richly satisfying, enormously entertaining story. This gift is the perfect happily-ever-after.

 

Warcross by Marie Lu

Emika is a bounty-hunter who hacks her way into the international Warcross Championships, something that has never been done before. It doesn’t go unnoticed by the game’s creator, Hideo Tanaka. Cue romance. And the perfect gift for the technology-obsessed!

 

The Valiant by Lesley Livingston

A richly imagined fantasy for fans of Sarah J. Maas, The Valiant recounts Fallon’s gripping journey from fierce Celtic princess to legendary gladiator and darling of the Roman empire. A great gift for a badass lady (or really anyone).

 

We Are Okay by Nina LaCour

From the award-winning author of Hold Still comes an achingly beautiful novel about grief and the enduring power of friendship. Perfect for anyone who loves a good cry (but who doesn’t, really).

 

Forest of a Thousand Lanterns by Julie C. Dao

In this East Asian-inspired fantasy, Xifeng knows she’s destined for greatness—the stars have told her so. But can she embrace the darkness within her to become the Empress of Feng Lu? Perfect for anyone who loves a fairytale retelling!

 

Flame in the Mist by Renée Ahdieh

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Wrath and the Dawn, comes a sweeping, action-packed YA adventure set against the backdrop of Feudal Japan where Mulan meets Throne of Glass.

 

Beasts Made of Night by Tochi Onyebuchi

Taj is a sin-eater—a boy with magical powers to kill sin-beasts. He must use this power to save the princess, but not without risk. Shake up your gift-giving with this unique fantasy.

 

There’s Someone Inside Your House by Stephanie Perkins

Someone is going around killing members of a high school in a small town in Nebraska, and Makani is determined to find out who it is and why. For the person who likes to creep themselves out.

 

City of Saints and Thieves by Natalie C. Anderson

This murder mystery set in Kenya has topped best book lists everywhere because it’s a fast-paced thriller that’s gritty and suspenseful with a tough, smart heroine. The gift that gets your heart racing.

 

This is Really Happening by Erin Chack

BuzzFeed senior writer Erin Chack hits you in the guts, the feels, and the funny bone all at once with this collection of personal essays. This book will make you both laugh and cry really hard.

 

 

 

Looking for more recommendations? These series finishing in early 2018 are perfect for bingeing!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#ShelfGoals

9 Books to Read if You Live in New York City (Or Wish You Did)

Ah, New York City… Doesn’t everyone have that dream of sitting on a bench in Central Park, the leaves falling, and you’re clutching a hot chocolate while making your way through a giant novel? We can’t buy you a ticket, but we can give you an insider’s view of The Big Apple with these books … Continued
See More

Lessons Learned from 2017 Books

2017 was a wild ride filled with lots of laughs, tears, friends, family, and love, every day teaching us a valuable lesson. With 2018 just around the corner, we wanted to share with you all the lessons we’ve learned from our books from 2017.   Turtles All the Way Down by John Green Aza never … Continued
See More

8 Great Series Finishing in the First Half of 2018

As readers, we know that sometimes there’s nothing more frustrating than discovering an amazing series, only to realize that you have months (or worse, years!) to wait before the next book. To help you out with that, we’re rounding up 8 series that will be complete by June 2018, in chronological order, noting the number of books … Continued
See More

5 Books by Muslim and/or Middle Eastern Authors to Add to Your Shelf This Year

If your goal is to read more diverse books in 2018, you’re in luck, because Penguin Teen has a great offering of stories penned by a diverse range of authors who identify as Muslim and/or Middle Eastern. Whether you’re looking to see yourself in a new story or want to read outside your own experience, … Continued
See More

9 Books to Save Your Gift Cards For

Our favorite gift? Books! Our second favorite gift? Gift cards to buy books! And while it’s incredibly tempting to go out IMMEDIATELY and buy everything you’ve been wanting, we’re here to tell you about a few books coming out in early 2018 that you just might not know about yet! Here are the books you … Continued
See More

Romances We Can’t Wait to Continue in 2018

We’re looking forward to 2018 for a number of reasons, but one of our biggest reasons for anticipating the new year is to finally continue some of our favorite romances. From Amani and Jin to Hideo and Emika, we can wait to see what’s in store for our favorite literary lovebirds.   Alex and Eliza: A … Continued
See More

Books by Women of Color that You Need to Read This Year

If 2017 was the year of the woman, in 2018 women are keeping that momentum going and taking the world by storm. If the Golden Globes were any indication, women are finally (and rightfully) demanding to have their voices heard. And while we continue to show support from a social and political standpoint, we are also making … Continued
See More

9 Witchy Books to Read on the Winter Solstice

We certainly don’t have to tell someone as magical as you that celebrating magic and witches should never be limited to just Halloween. In fact, with the winter solstice fast approaching, this is almost an even better time to revel in witchy fun! We’ve collected the perfect solstice reading list for you to devour on the shortest of … Continued
See More

Every Book Coming Out in January 2018

New year new TBR, am I right? We are so ready to start this new year off right with seven incredible reads, all coming out in January! We’ve got a lush LGBT fantasy, a powerful refugee story, a collection to fill your heart, and much, much more. Add these to your January TBR immediately!   … Continued
See More

16 Books We Can’t Wait to Read in Early 2018

While we’re just getting started with our winter reading, we think it’s never too early to start getting hyped about the books ahead. Read on for some of the incredible reads coming out in early 2018! From genre-bending debuts to exhilarating additions to series from beloved authors, our future bookshelf is looking quite fine.   Reign of the … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP

I can give you book recommendations.
Please enter your name and email address to begin chatting with me.



What is your date of birth?

START CHAT