Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

11 Books You’d Actually Want to Get in a Yankee Swap

SHARE

If you’re familiar with a Yankee Swap, you know that without the right group of people, it can be a disaster. If you’re unfamiliar, it’s a gift exchange in which participants draw numbers, which allows for the unwilling trading of gifts, which allows for the potential to receive something terrible. The easiest way to solve that? A Yankee Swap featuring exclusively books! Here are a few books we’d really, really like to get (you know, instead of an itchy sweater).

 

Turtles All the Way Down by John Green

In this along-waited novel by John Green, sixteen year-old Aza Holmes tries to be the best she can be while battling constant thought spirals in her own mind (and trying to track down a billionaire). This book will change your life.

 

Once and For All by Sarah Dessen

The latest romance from Sarah Dessen, about loss and learning to love again. Set in the world of wedding planning, Once and For All is a richly satisfying, enormously entertaining story. This gift is the perfect happily-ever-after.

 

Warcross by Marie Lu

Emika is a bounty-hunter who hacks her way into the international Warcross Championships, something that has never been done before. It doesn’t go unnoticed by the game’s creator, Hideo Tanaka. Cue romance. And the perfect gift for the technology-obsessed!

 

The Valiant by Lesley Livingston

A richly imagined fantasy for fans of Sarah J. Maas, The Valiant recounts Fallon’s gripping journey from fierce Celtic princess to legendary gladiator and darling of the Roman empire. A great gift for a badass lady (or really anyone).

 

We Are Okay by Nina LaCour

From the award-winning author of Hold Still comes an achingly beautiful novel about grief and the enduring power of friendship. Perfect for anyone who loves a good cry (but who doesn’t, really).

 

Forest of a Thousand Lanterns by Julie C. Dao

In this East Asian-inspired fantasy, Xifeng knows she’s destined for greatness—the stars have told her so. But can she embrace the darkness within her to become the Empress of Feng Lu? Perfect for anyone who loves a fairytale retelling!

 

Flame in the Mist by Renée Ahdieh

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Wrath and the Dawn, comes a sweeping, action-packed YA adventure set against the backdrop of Feudal Japan where Mulan meets Throne of Glass.

 

Beasts Made of Night by Tochi Onyebuchi

Taj is a sin-eater—a boy with magical powers to kill sin-beasts. He must use this power to save the princess, but not without risk. Shake up your gift-giving with this unique fantasy.

 

There’s Someone Inside Your House by Stephanie Perkins

Someone is going around killing members of a high school in a small town in Nebraska, and Makani is determined to find out who it is and why. For the person who likes to creep themselves out.

 

City of Saints and Thieves by Natalie C. Anderson

This murder mystery set in Kenya has topped best book lists everywhere because it’s a fast-paced thriller that’s gritty and suspenseful with a tough, smart heroine. The gift that gets your heart racing.

 

This is Really Happening by Erin Chack

BuzzFeed senior writer Erin Chack hits you in the guts, the feels, and the funny bone all at once with this collection of personal essays. This book will make you both laugh and cry really hard.

 

 

 

Looking for more recommendations? These series finishing in early 2018 are perfect for bingeing!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#ShelfGoals

Dear Hollywood, These YA Books Are READY!

With the success of recent YA adaptations including Love, Simon and a heavy slate of upcoming awesomeness including To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before, The Darkest Minds and The Hate U Give – we gotta ask the question: why is Hollywood sleeping on these amazing books that are SCREAMING for adaptation?!   An Ember … Continued
See More

5 Great Series Ending in the Second Half of 2018!

Hello, readers! Earlier this year, we brought you a list of series finishing in the first half of 2018, and really, who would we be if we didn’t follow it up with the second half? A small but mighty list, here are the series that are coming to a close in the end of this … Continued
See More

9 Paperbacks to Bring With You on Your Next Vacation

Yes, we recommend you bring all 9. They’re light, right? Read on for 9 books that are newly in paperback–if you missed them the first time around, now’s the perfect moment to grab one (or all, like we said), and pack ’em in your beach bag!   City of Saints and Thieves by Natalie C. Anderson The … Continued
See More

Every Book Hitting Shelves in July 2018!

July is almost here, and we have three amazing books to help you beat the heat and celebrate! So read on to discover a genre-bending mystery, a thrilling tale of survival, and a powerful literary look at environmentalism and activism.   Legacy by Jessica Blank Coming July 10th, Legacy is a powerful coming-of-age story about a seventeen-year-old … Continued
See More

Adam & Mia, and 9 Other Artists from YA Books We Love

Isn’t there something just so attractive about an artist? Whether they’re putting paint on a canvas or strumming out their feelings on a guitar, the brooding definitely gets to us in the best possible way. Here at Penguin Teen, we work with books (obviously), so it’s no mystery why we love artists in fiction. Here … Continued
See More

12 Books You’ll Want to Re-read as Soon as You Finish

We’ve all been there—sitting in a train, or drinking coffee at a coffee shop, or lying in bed at 3 AM not knowing what to do with yourself because you’ve just finished reading the ~greatest book of all time~ and you’re contemplating if it’s a good idea to dive right back into it by turning to … Continued
See More

Every Book Hitting Shelves in June 2018!

It’s finally June, which means summer is upon us, which means summer reading! We’ve got a ton of new books out this month–everything from fantasy, to horror, to historical romance. Read on for a list of our June new releases!   6/5: Smoke in the Sun by Renée Ahdieh: The highly anticipated sequel to New York Times bestselling Flame … Continued
See More

10 YA Characters Who Will Mess with Your Mind

How much can you really trust the main character in the book you’re reading? If your answer is somewhere along the lines of “not much,” you’re in for a wild ride. There’s nothing better than when a book truly shocks you, and who better to take you on this ride than a narrator who’s going to … Continued
See More

What to Read If You’re Graduating & Don’t Know What To Do With Your Life

Listen, we get you. Graduating is HARD! You’ve spent so many years on a path that was decided for you before you could talk, and now all of a sudden there are too many options on what to do next (or sometimes not enough). Do you go to college or graduate school? Get a job? … Continued
See More

11 Books to Help You Confront Your Grief

Loss is something terrible that we all must face in our lives at one time or another. Whether it’s the death of a loved one, a bad break up, or the loss of a friend, the grief and pain can often feel like the end of the world. But luckily there are books out there that … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP