Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

11 Books You’d Actually Want to Get in a Yankee Swap

SHARE

If you’re familiar with a Yankee Swap, you know that without the right group of people, it can be a disaster. If you’re unfamiliar, it’s a gift exchange in which participants draw numbers, which allows for the unwilling trading of gifts, which allows for the potential to receive something terrible. The easiest way to solve that? A Yankee Swap featuring exclusively books! Here are a few books we’d really, really like to get (you know, instead of an itchy sweater).

 

Turtles All the Way Down by John Green

In this along-waited novel by John Green, sixteen year-old Aza Holmes tries to be the best she can be while battling constant thought spirals in her own mind (and trying to track down a billionaire). This book will change your life.

 

Once and For All by Sarah Dessen

The latest romance from Sarah Dessen, about loss and learning to love again. Set in the world of wedding planning, Once and For All is a richly satisfying, enormously entertaining story. This gift is the perfect happily-ever-after.

 

Warcross by Marie Lu

Emika is a bounty-hunter who hacks her way into the international Warcross Championships, something that has never been done before. It doesn’t go unnoticed by the game’s creator, Hideo Tanaka. Cue romance. And the perfect gift for the technology-obsessed!

 

The Valiant by Lesley Livingston

A richly imagined fantasy for fans of Sarah J. Maas, The Valiant recounts Fallon’s gripping journey from fierce Celtic princess to legendary gladiator and darling of the Roman empire. A great gift for a badass lady (or really anyone).

 

We Are Okay by Nina LaCour

From the award-winning author of Hold Still comes an achingly beautiful novel about grief and the enduring power of friendship. Perfect for anyone who loves a good cry (but who doesn’t, really).

 

Forest of a Thousand Lanterns by Julie C. Dao

In this East Asian-inspired fantasy, Xifeng knows she’s destined for greatness—the stars have told her so. But can she embrace the darkness within her to become the Empress of Feng Lu? Perfect for anyone who loves a fairytale retelling!

 

Flame in the Mist by Renée Ahdieh

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Wrath and the Dawn, comes a sweeping, action-packed YA adventure set against the backdrop of Feudal Japan where Mulan meets Throne of Glass.

 

Beasts Made of Night by Tochi Onyebuchi

Taj is a sin-eater—a boy with magical powers to kill sin-beasts. He must use this power to save the princess, but not without risk. Shake up your gift-giving with this unique fantasy.

 

There’s Someone Inside Your House by Stephanie Perkins

Someone is going around killing members of a high school in a small town in Nebraska, and Makani is determined to find out who it is and why. For the person who likes to creep themselves out.

 

City of Saints and Thieves by Natalie C. Anderson

This murder mystery set in Kenya has topped best book lists everywhere because it’s a fast-paced thriller that’s gritty and suspenseful with a tough, smart heroine. The gift that gets your heart racing.

 

This is Really Happening by Erin Chack

BuzzFeed senior writer Erin Chack hits you in the guts, the feels, and the funny bone all at once with this collection of personal essays. This book will make you both laugh and cry really hard.

 

 

 

Looking for more recommendations? These series finishing in early 2018 are perfect for bingeing!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#ShelfGoals

7 Books to Read When Adulting is Too Hard

Adulting is hard – making your own appointments, doing laundry, self-imposed bed times, being the one to tell yourself that you shouldn’t eat that whole roll of cookie dough… luckily for days when you just can’t, there’s a way to escape: one of these books. Here, all you have to worry about is ruling kingdoms, … Continued
See More

Our Most Anticipated Summer 2018 Reads!

Ok, so we know it’s basically not even spring yet, but can you blame us that we are SO EXCITED FOR SUMMER?! It’s only natural. And not only are we excited for warm days, long nights, flip flops (the list goes on), but we absolutely cannot wait for all the amazing books we have in … Continued
See More

Get Ready to Feel All of Your Feelings With These 7 New Books

Are you that reader that likes to have your heart totally crushed, weep silent tears of joy, or feel inspired AF when you read a book? Any way you like to feel, we’ve got the books for you this spring and summer! Read on for 7 of our favorites that will make you feel ALL of … Continued
See More

A New Way to Binge: 12 of Our Favorite Standalone Novels to Read

We love finding that perfect series, the one where you want to read every single book. But often times, waiting for the next book has got us like What to do in the meantime? Binge our list of awesome standalone novels, that’s what! These books will have you turning the pages so fast that you’ll … Continued
See More

Every Book Hitting Shelves in April 2018

April showers bring…new books! We have a small but mighty list coming at you this April, with highly-anticipated sequels, books that are new in paperback, and…Gudetama’s Guide to Life, which is truly hard to put in any category! Read on and build that TBR!   4/3: Folded Notes from High School by Matt Boren: A status-obsessed senior … Continued
See More

7 Books to Make You More Socially Aware

YOU are the future. No, but like for real, one day you are going to be the one in charge of everything: schools, hospitals, book publishing, and even the government! That’s a lot to take on, but don’t worry, you aren’t the first generation to rise up and fight for what you believe in and you’re … Continued
See More

6 Must-Read Forbidden Love Stories

We all love a good love story. But a forbidden love story? Even better. These stories have us anxiously turning the pages, rooting for the two characters against all odds. Read on for some of our favorite forbidden love stories!   Flame in the Mist by Renee Ahdieh What do you do when you’re falling in … Continued
See More

5 Contemporary Books Told From More Than One Character’s Perspective

We all know there’s always two sides to a story…or maybe three… or maybe four. These books are told in multiple point of views to show all the sides of a story and to show what makes each character different in their thoughts and actions. Read on for a few of our favorites!   I … Continued
See More

8 Diverse Fantasies to Read if You Loved CHILDREN OF BLOOD AND BONE

Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi is one of the biggest books of 2018 so far, and has enticed readers with its lush West-African inspired setting and its intriguing world of dark magic. Readers are craving more diverse fantasy, because after a while, the same old stuff gets a little bit tiring! Need more … Continued
See More

12 Books That Will Get You Hooked on Historical Fiction

Here’s the thing about reading a life-changing historical fiction novel. Once you read one, there’s no going back. You need to read another. And another. And another. So we decided to share the love and round up 12 reads that will get YOU hooked on historical fiction.   Orphan Monster Spy by Matt Killeen Sarah … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP