Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

11 Books You’d Actually Want to Get in a Yankee Swap

SHARE

If you’re familiar with a Yankee Swap, you know that without the right group of people, it can be a disaster. If you’re unfamiliar, it’s a gift exchange in which participants draw numbers, which allows for the unwilling trading of gifts, which allows for the potential to receive something terrible. The easiest way to solve that? A Yankee Swap featuring exclusively books! Here are a few books we’d really, really like to get (you know, instead of an itchy sweater).

 

Turtles All the Way Down by John Green

In this along-waited novel by John Green, sixteen year-old Aza Holmes tries to be the best she can be while battling constant thought spirals in her own mind (and trying to track down a billionaire). This book will change your life.

 

Once and For All by Sarah Dessen

The latest romance from Sarah Dessen, about loss and learning to love again. Set in the world of wedding planning, Once and For All is a richly satisfying, enormously entertaining story. This gift is the perfect happily-ever-after.

 

Warcross by Marie Lu

Emika is a bounty-hunter who hacks her way into the international Warcross Championships, something that has never been done before. It doesn’t go unnoticed by the game’s creator, Hideo Tanaka. Cue romance. And the perfect gift for the technology-obsessed!

 

The Valiant by Lesley Livingston

A richly imagined fantasy for fans of Sarah J. Maas, The Valiant recounts Fallon’s gripping journey from fierce Celtic princess to legendary gladiator and darling of the Roman empire. A great gift for a badass lady (or really anyone).

 

We Are Okay by Nina LaCour

From the award-winning author of Hold Still comes an achingly beautiful novel about grief and the enduring power of friendship. Perfect for anyone who loves a good cry (but who doesn’t, really).

 

Forest of a Thousand Lanterns by Julie C. Dao

In this East Asian-inspired fantasy, Xifeng knows she’s destined for greatness—the stars have told her so. But can she embrace the darkness within her to become the Empress of Feng Lu? Perfect for anyone who loves a fairytale retelling!

 

Flame in the Mist by Renée Ahdieh

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Wrath and the Dawn, comes a sweeping, action-packed YA adventure set against the backdrop of Feudal Japan where Mulan meets Throne of Glass.

 

Beasts Made of Night by Tochi Onyebuchi

Taj is a sin-eater—a boy with magical powers to kill sin-beasts. He must use this power to save the princess, but not without risk. Shake up your gift-giving with this unique fantasy.

 

There’s Someone Inside Your House by Stephanie Perkins

Someone is going around killing members of a high school in a small town in Nebraska, and Makani is determined to find out who it is and why. For the person who likes to creep themselves out.

 

City of Saints and Thieves by Natalie C. Anderson

This murder mystery set in Kenya has topped best book lists everywhere because it’s a fast-paced thriller that’s gritty and suspenseful with a tough, smart heroine. The gift that gets your heart racing.

 

This is Really Happening by Erin Chack

BuzzFeed senior writer Erin Chack hits you in the guts, the feels, and the funny bone all at once with this collection of personal essays. This book will make you both laugh and cry really hard.

 

 

 

Looking for more recommendations? These series finishing in early 2018 are perfect for bingeing!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#ShelfGoals

Three 2019 Historical Fiction Books that Will Steal Your Heart This Year

There are some amazing reads in our near future…and ironically they’re set in the past. Basically, if historical fiction is your jam, you definitely don’t want to miss out on these top three picks!   1. Lovely War A sweeping, multi-layered romance with a divine twist, by the Printz Honor-winning author of The Passion of Dolssa, set … Continued
See More

Our Top 6 Moments from THE VALIANT *spoilers*

We cannot contain our excitement/nervousness for the finale of Lesley Livingston’s The Valiant series, The Triumphant! If you haven’t yet read The Valiant, stop what you’re doing and READ IT (and definitely don’t read this post yet because it’s chalk full of spoilers!…unless you’re a person who likes spoilers, which, weird). BUT if you need a refresh on book … Continued
See More

11 Witchy Books to Read on the Winter Solstice

2018 has kinda been the year of the witch, from The Chilling Adventures of Sabrina to The Wicked Deep! So we certainly don’t have to tell someone as magical as you that celebrating magic should never be limited to just Halloween. In fact, with the winter solstice fast approaching, this is almost an even better time to revel … Continued
See More

8 Books to Cuddle Up With

Winter is the best time to be a reader because no one tries to force you to go outside and be “active,” leaving you with plenty of time to cuddle up with a cup of hot cocoa and a good book. Below are a few of our favorites to get all snuggly with, and the … Continued
See More

Books to Save Your Gift Cards For

You’ve opened your gifts and thanked your family, and now it’s time to start planning which books you’ll be adding to your TBR! These winter releases are almost here, and even though your gift cards are burning a hole in your pocket, these beauties are worth the wait.   Song of the Dead by Sarah … Continued
See More

Sci-Fi for People Who Don’t Like Sci-Fi

Okay, we know, we know–sci-fi often features the usual suspects: aliens, spaceships, and evil villains who wants to destroy the intergalactic world. But let’s be real: there’s also mystery, action, suspense, and of course, romance *wink wink*. Here are some great sci-fi books that’ll make you forget you’re not a sci-fi fan!   Nemesis by … Continued
See More

9 Love Stories Gone Wrong

We all love a good love story…but not all love stories necessarily have smooth courses (or happy endings). Come to think of it, a lot of love stories have a few bumps (or 200) along the way. Here are 9 love stories that don’t go quite as you’d expect!   Wildcard by Marie Lu (SPOILER ALERT: ) … Continued
See More

Transport Yourself Into a Bookish Winter Wonderland

It’s the perfect time of year to cuddle up under a blanket with a warm drink and dive into a winter wonderland of books, and these are the perfect candidates! Some are funny, some are heartbreaking. Some romantic, and some are unforgettable classics you’ll come back to over and over again.   Let It Snow by … Continued
See More

14 Books That Will Get You Hooked on Historical Fiction

Here’s the thing about reading a life-changing historical fiction novel. Once you read one, there’s no going back. You need to read another. And another. And another. So we decided to share the love and round up 12 reads that will get YOU hooked on historical fiction. (Welcome to the dark side. We have cookies.) … Continued
See More

6 Romances We Can’t Wait to Continue in 2019

  Let’s face it: we all love a dashing love interest swaggering into our current read. It’s one of the many (many) wonderful things about YA we can always count on, and you better bet we’ve got plenty coming your way in 2019. via GIPHY But some of the best romances are the ones we … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP