Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Cover Reveal: AND WE RISE

SHARE

See the cover and read an excerpt of And We Rise by Erica Martin, a powerful, impactful, eye-opening journey that explores through the Civil Rights Movement in 1950s-1960s America in spare and evocative verse, with historical photos interspersed throughout.

Scroll down to start reading!

Untitled-4

Jacket designer: Theresa Evangelista

Illustrator: Adriana Bellet (@jeezvanilla)

 

It’s 1877 when

 

Jim Crow laws say it’s

acceptable

legal

lawful

to segregate Blacks

&

whites

based on the color of

their skin.

 

In

schools

hospitals

churches

cemeteries

prisons

public transit

restaurants—

 

if you were not

white

you were lesser

less than

human.

 

For years

&

years

&

years

&

years

 

nothing changed,

 

until 1954

when the Supreme Court reversed its decision

& ruled segregation unconstitutional.

 

Yet still,

nothing changed.

 

Because a ruling is only as effective

as its real-world execution.

 

 

the Supreme Court rules

 

in 1896

blacks are

“Separate but Equal”

 

yet

outside

in the middle of July

in Birmingham, Alabama

sweat drips

 

d

o

w

n

 

your forehead

your neck

your back

 

drenching

 

your shirt

your shorts

your socks

 

s e p a r a t e

but equal

 

you find a water fountain

your water fountain

and press the small rusty button

 

water arches

up

 

and out

waiting

for your

puck ered

lips

 

s e p a r a t e

but equal

 

only

 

it’s hot

brown

tastes like dirt

 

you glance around

checking for them

 

then

 

sneak a sip

from their fountain

 

s e p a r a t e

but equal

 

it’s cold

ice-cold

and refreshing

 

you sigh

 

s e p a r a t e

 

but equal

you are

not.

 

 

 

the Civil Rights Movement

 

was more than just

 

Dr. King

marching,

Rosa Parks

sitting,

Malcolm X,

fighting.

 

it was

 

your mom

your grandma

your best friend’s great aunt.

 

it was

everyday people

 

like you            and me.

 

 

1954

May 17

 

Brown v. Board of Education

+

inherently unequal, an unconstitutional violation of the fourteenth amendment

 

=

 

black schools

 

+

white schools

 

=

a great day for America and its court.

 

= segregation in public schools now illegal

 

 

 

 

 

in theory.

Signs, Everywhere you go . . . whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites only whites ONLY


for colored

their (other) signs read

 

 

funny thing is

 

white is still a color

 

Preorder your copy here!

 

 

Are you all caught up on the amazing covers dropping? See the epic cover of Margot Mertz Takes It Down here!

#Newsyoucanuse

Cover Reveal: SO, THIS IS LOVE by Tracy Andreen

Cover reveal! In the sequel to Tracy Andreen’s debut romantic comedy So, This Is Christmas, we follow Finley and Arthur back to Barrington Academy for a swoony semester in So, This Is Love, coming December 20, 2022! Scroll down to see the cover and read more. Cover design by Jessica Jenkins and Theresa Evangelista   Finley and Arthur … Continued
See More

May 2022 Books: Here’s What’s Coming to Shelves!

We MAY have some really great reads for your shelf this May! Scroll down to see what’s about to hit shelves.   5/3: The Noh Family by Grace K. Shim – This sparkling K-drama inspired debut novel introduces irrepressibly charming teen Chloe Chang, who is reunited with her deceased father’s estranged family via a DNA test, … Continued
See More

Books coming to shelves in March 2022!

These books are coming to shelves in March 2022! Is your TBR ready?!   3/1: All My Rage by Sabaa Tahir From #1 New York Times bestselling author Sabaa Tahir comes a brilliant, unforgettable, and heart-wrenching contemporary YA novel about family and forgiveness, love and loss, in a sweeping story that crosses generations and continents.   3/1: The … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: ETERNALLY YOURS edited by Patrice Caldwell

Cover reveal! Vampires and merpeople, angels and demons—the paranormal is full of  unusual beings. The stories in this anthology imagine worlds where the only thing more powerful than the supernatural, is love. Coming September 20, 2022! Scroll down to see the cover of Eternally Yours! Illustrator: Hillary D. Wilson Designer: Kelley Brady   Contributors include:  Kalynn … Continued
See More

YA Books hitting shelves in April 2022!

From HOTLY anticipated fantasy debuts to beloved reads coming to paperback, here’s what’s hitting shelves in April, 2022!   4/5: Hotel Magnifique by Emily J. Taylor Decadent and darkly enchanting, this lavish YA fantasy debut follows seventeen-year-old Jani as she uncovers the deeply disturbing secrets of the legendary Hotel Magnifique.   4/5: You Are More … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: AZAR ON FIRE by Olivia Abtahi

Cover reveal! Finding her voice takes on a whole new meaning when fourteen-year-old Azar Rossi sets out to win her local Battle of the Bands contest in this heartfelt and hilarious contemporary YA. Get ready for Azar on Fire, from the author of Perfectly Parvin! Fourteen-year-old Azar Rossi’s first year of high school has mostly been silent, and intentionally … Continued
See More

See the new paperback cover for WHEN WE MAKE IT by Elisabet Velasquez!

When We Make It by Elisabet Velasquez is an unforgettable, torrential, and hopeful debut young adult novel-in-verse that redefines what it means to “make it,” for readers of Nicholasa Mohr and Elizabeth Acevedo, now with a new paperback look! Scroll down to see the new cover and read more. Designer: Theresa Evangelista Illustrator: Chloe Zola    Sarai … Continued
See More

Did you see these 7 recent YA cover reveals?

Time for a cover reveal bonanza! Here are 7 YA reads to add to your 2022 reading list.   Finding her voice takes on a whole new meaning when fourteen-year-old Azar Rossi sets out to win her local Battle of the Bands contest in this heartfelt and hilarious contemporary YA. Fourteen-year-old Azar Rossi’s first year … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: AS YOU WALK ON BY by Julian Winters

Cover reveal time! The Breakfast Club meets Can’t Hardly Wait with an unforgettable ensemble cast in another swoony YA contemporary from award-winning author Julian Winters. Get ready for As You Walk on By, coming to shelves January 17, 2023! Scroll down to see the cover and read more! Cover illustrator: Cannaday Chapman    Designer: Kaitlin Yang    Seventeen-year-old Theo Wright has … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: SECRETS SO DEEP by Ginny Myers Sain

From the bestselling author of Dark and Shallow Lies comes a moody and atmospheric paranormal thriller about a seventeen-year-old girl returning to an exclusive theater camp to uncover the truth of what really happened there twelve years ago, the night her mother drowned. Get ready to read Secrets So Deep! Twelve years ago, Avril’s mother drowned at Whisper … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP