Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Cover Reveal: BEAUTY AND THE BESHARAM

SHARE

Cover reveal time! Heated competition leads to even hotter romance in this YA summer rom-com for fans of Sandhya Menon, Emma Lord, and Wibbroka. Scroll down to see the cover of Beauty and the Besharam by Lillie Vale AND read an early excerpt!

Seventeen-year-old, high-achieving Kavya Joshi has always been told she’s a little too ambitious, a little too mouthy, and overall just a little too much. In one word: besharam.

So, when her nemesis, Ian Jun, witnesses Kavya’s very public breakup with her loser boyfriend on the last day of junior year, she decides to lay low and spend the summer doing what she loves best–working part time playing princess roles for childrens’ birthday parties. But her plan is shot when she’s cast as Ariel instead of her beloved Belle, and learns that Ian will be her Prince Eric for the summer. [Cue the combative banter.]

Exhausted by Kavya and Ian’s years-long feud, their friends hatch a plan to end their rivalry by convincing them to participate in a series of challenges throughout the summer. Kavya is only too eager to finally be declared the winner. But as the competition heats up, so too does the romantic tension, until it escalates from a simmer to a full-on burn.

beauty and the besharam

Cover/jacket design: Kaitlin Yang

 

Ruining the start of Ian Jun’s day is the favorite part of mine. He’s the only person for whom it’s worth going toe-to-toe with our AP Statistics teacher, who’s currently gaping at me like he can’t believe my hand is in the air first thing first period before he’s even had the chance to start Friday’s lesson.

Ian sits all the way in the front row, wavy black hair styled into a pompadour that I can grudgingly admit doesn’t look totally terrible. He’s probably freaking out and trying to correct the questions he got wrong on our just-returned homework. In that respect, we’re the same.

He hasn’t turned around yet. But he will.

I wiggle my fingers to get the teacher’s attention, lifting my butt off the seat to be noticed. After a long, drawn-out moment of watching me flail, Mr. Gage unsuccessfully turns his grimace into a smile. Closing his eyes, he says, “Yes, Kavya? Do you have a question?”

Somehow? lingers like a stink.

A few titters break out from those awake enough to get on my bad side.

Ian stiffens, shoulders snapping extra straight.

I’ve got his attention now.

“You docked me points for question number three,” I say. “My answer’s correct.”

Mr. Gage’s round glasses seem to magnify his absolute displeasure. “No.”

A unilateral no? Taken aback, I gawk. “But I—”

“We have a lot of material to get through today, so if I could get started?” He pauses as though he’s really waiting for my go-ahead. The exaggerated politeness makes me think he’s given up all pretense of not finding me the most annoying junior he’s ever had the misfortune of teaching z-scores and chi-squares.

Next to me, my best friend Blaire Tyler shuffles to the back of her stats textbook, where the answers to odd-numbered questions are provided. She slides it across the table to nudge against my arm, tapping her black-and-silver constellation nail against question three.

Okay, yes, the back of the book, dubbed our beloved “BOB,” has half the answers all the time, but I checked my work twice, and I choose to put my faith in me.

Without raising my hand, I say, “Mr. Gage, I showed my work. There’s no way I got the question wrong. Could you please work it out on the board?”

“This is not one-on-one tutoring, Ms. Joshi,” he says without looking up from his notes. “Now if everyone would please turn their attention to the linear regression on the whiteboard.”

Shut down twice in as many minutes. That’s a record.

No one’s looking at me anymore, but my face still burns with embarrassment and the flame of indignation Mr. Gage didn’t manage to extinguish.

I’ve never had a teacher this adamantly bullheaded in their own wrongness. They don’t need to like me as long as they respect me for being right. I’m willing to bet that he hasn’t even tried to solve the problem himself, relying wholly on his answer guide.

Parker Ellis, the boyfriend I’m planning to dump, sniggers from the row behind me. My spine stiffens with a flicker of foreboding. It’s not the first time he’s found my standoff with Mr. Gage amusing, but he usually does a better job of hiding it.

Blaire leans in to whisper, the small lavender beads at the end of her honey braids gently clinking. “Hey, fuck him. It’s just one point. You can let it go.”

I fix her with a look. She’s known me how long, now?

“But you’re not going to,” she acknowledges with a sigh.

My pencil scratches against notepaper as I work out the answer again, joining the soft background drone of twenty-nine other pencils trying to keep up with Mr. Gage’s speed.

“What answer did you put?” I mutter.

Blaire shoots a furtive look up front before saying, “I got the same answer you did, but I changed it when I checked the back.”

“Why did you do that? You had the right answer.”

“Like you did?” She chin-nods toward the red ink slash across the third question. “Kavs, it’s one point. You still got an A on the assignment. Even if you’re right and he’s wrong, and the book’s wrong, and everyone else in the thousands of classrooms using this textbook got it wrong, it’s not worth the fight for one measly point.”

I begrudge so much that she’s right, but letting this point go means letting Ian Jun win. If I think real hard, squinting back the last five years, I can almost remember a world in which I wasn’t constant and bitter rivals with the boy in the first row who has only now, finally, turned to raise one perfectly arched What now? eyebrow.

It’s that eyebrow that does it. The smug assurance that I’m going to keep my mouth shut.

“When it comes to Ian, a point is never just a point.” I forget to keep my voice low, hissing the words while keeping my eyes unblinkingly fastened on Ian the whole time.

“Ms. Joshi,” says Mr. Gage without turning around. “Why don’t you come up here where I can keep an eye on you?”

 

 

Preorder your copy here!

 

Did you hear? The Electric Kingdom has a stunning new paperback cover!

#WhatsTrending

Heartstopper has landed on Netflix, and we’ve got your ultimate character book match!

If your heart stopped while watching Heartstopper on Netflix, we’re here to help you recover! Like leaves from a cool fall breeze, Heartstopper swept us off our feet with its themes of friendship, queer joy, mental health awareness, and found family. Welcome to your Ultimate Character Book Match for what we think the main characters of … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: A SCATTER OF LIGHT by Malinda Lo

Today we’re revealing the cover for Malinda Lo’s A Scatter of Light–AND giving you a sneak peek interview with the author! Award-winning author Malinda Lo returns to the Bay Area with another masterful coming-of-queer-age story, this time set against the backdrop of the first major Supreme Court decisions legalizing gay marriage. And almost sixty years after … Continued
See More

YA books and what they were *ALMOST* called!

Did you know some YA books change title before going to publication? Here are 6 books that did!   They Wish They Were Us by Jessica Goodman Original title: The Players’ Table Fun fact: this will actually be the title of the TV adaptation currently in development!   Beasts of Prey by Ayana Gray Original title: The … Continued
See More

Non-Fiction YA Books Everyone Should Read

We love escaping into a fantasy world, but also love a good read to pull us back down to earth. Here’s a stack of non-fiction YA books everyone should have on their shelf!   Cramm This Book by Olivia Seltzer  From the founder of The Cramm, a news outlet by and for the incredible Gen Z … Continued
See More

Top Tier Tropes (and Reads to Go With Them!)

Whether you can’t resist a good chosen one trope, or enemies-to-lovers is your jam, we’ve got reads for all your top tier YA tropes! Scroll down to start stacking your TBR!   Love Decoded by Jennifer Yen A hilarious, heartfelt rom-com about the unexpected consequences of one teen’s quest to help her friends find love, perfect … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: EIGHT NIGHTS OF FLIRTING by Hannah Reynolds

Cover reveal time! A sixteen-year-old girl is on a mission to find the perfect boyfriend this Hanukkah, but love might not go according to plan, in this charming winter romcom from the author of The Summer of Lost Letters. Shira Barbanel has a plan: this Hanukkah, she’s going to get a boyfriend. And she has the … Continued
See More

Everything we know about the TURTLES ALL THE WAY DOWN movie adaptation

We are so excited that one of our favorite John Green novels Turtles All the Way Down is on its way to our screens! Here’s everything we know about the adaptation so far.   1. Hannah Marks is directing Actress-turned-director Hannah Marks is helming from a script by Isaac Aptaker and Elizabeth Berger, best known for co-showrunning This … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: HOW TO SUCCEED IN WITCHCRAFT by Aislinn Brophy

Cover reveal time! An overachieving teen witch vies for a prestigious scholarship at her elite high school in this contemporary YA fantasy for fans of Never Have I Ever and Sabrina the Teen Witch.  Magically brilliant, academically perfect, chronically overcommitted… Shay Johnson has all the makings of a successful witch. Now that she’s a junior at T.K. Anderson … Continued
See More

YA Books to read while you wait for Stranger Things season 4!

If you just watched the Stranger Things season 4 trailer 35 times like us, you might be counting down the days until May 27th when Netflix releases it. And we know waiting is hard, so here are 9 books with definite Stranger Things vibes to read while you wait!   1. The Electric Kingdom by David … Continued
See More

Join us for Penguin Teen Fantasy Day!

Games, panels, and giveaways, oh my! Join us for Penguin Teen Fantasy Day on March 26th, and scroll down to begin registering for events!   EVENTS Join Penguin Teen authors Ayana Gray (Beasts of Prey), David Arnold (The Electric Kingdom), Kristin Cashore (Winterkeep), and Krystal Sutherland (House of Hollow) for a panel on the shocking … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP