Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

COVER REVEAL: City of the Uncommon Thief

SHARE

It’s cover reveal time! Get ready for a dark and intricate fantasy perfect for readers of The Book of Dust and Leigh Bardugo. City of the Uncommon Thief is the story of a quarantined city gripped by fear and of the war that can free it.

Scroll down to see the cover and read an excerpt down below!

City of the Uncommon Thief

Illustrator: AJ Frena; Designer: Kristin Boyle

 

About the book:

“Guilders work. Foundlings scrub the bogs. Needles bind. Swords tear. And men leave. There is nothing uncommon in this city. I hope Errol Thebes is dead. We both know he is safer that way.”

In a walled city of a mile-high iron guild towers, many things are common knowledge: No book in any of the city’s libraries reveals its place on a calendar or a map. No living beasts can be found within the city’s walls. And no good comes to the guilder or foundling who trespasses too far from their labors. Even on the tower rooftops, where Errol Thebes and the rest of the city’s teenagers pass a few short years under an open sky, no one truly believes anything uncommon is possible within the city walls. But one guildmaster has broken tradition to protect her child, and as a result the whole city faces an uncommon threat: a pair of black iron spikes that have the power of both sword and needle on the rib cages of men have gone missing, but the mayhem they cause rises everywhere. If the spikes not found and contained, no wall will be high enough to protect the city–or the world beyond it. And Errol Thebes? He’s not dead and he’s certainly not safe.

 

If you love high fantasy and fantastical world build, this one is for you. Get ready to get INVESTED because the author created a timeline and map while writing the book….and it’s kind of incredible.

Scroll down to read an excerpt!

City of the Uncommon Thief

BE WARNED. A fragrance rises from this ink. The recipe is equal parts blood, gall, sewage, tears, the spit of a dying bard, and the soot from a sputtering head lamp. This day has not gone well.

Homer would never find himself here, squatting on a ledge in an earthen shaft, scratching plot on a scab of parchment with a quill yanked from a chicken’s ass. I’m glad for him. Let him ply his trade on the other side of the wall. Homer, Ovid, Virgil. They’re all there, no doubt barding together around a blazing fire, unfurling high tales of heroes and Olympians. I’m sure they have no trouble keeping a safe distance from their own plots. So glad for them. I fling all my good wishes to them from my pit. However, for any tales that occur on this side of the wall and that involve a shafted bard, there is Odd Thebes. Despite all of my best efforts, I am he.

The scratches of this plot begin with a game of cards, a felony theft, and a pair of missing pelts on the roof of Thebes. It was the fifth of Ganso.

Five of us were well into a round of maw in Talwyn’s tent when our roof master, Marek Thebes, called us for body count. I abandoned a perfect hand to grope my way across the flat expanse of our roof in the cloud that had lain thick as a kitchen sponge on us and stinking of fish all week. Our clothes were sopped. I could see nothing but white—not the yurt, or the earth below us, not one of the 999 other guild towers of our city, not even the snot dripping off my nose.

Marek paced inside the yurt. He felt an evil lack. Felt it in his teeth, he said. We counted ourselves off and found his teeth to be correct. There were merely fifteen of us. The two who were missing were pelts from a group who had come up that morning. Marek dispatched us to find them.

New runners always go missing. How can anything prepare them for that first full day on a tower roof? And yet there are so few places to hide. On Thebes: sev­enteen tents, seventeen trunks, a common yurt, a tent kitchen, and the bogs. It’s tempting, in the first days, to go down, to find permanent relief from the vast, too-beautiful sky in the grim tedium of the guild tower below. I felt my way to the grate and woke the hatch-guilder beneath it with a jab. “

“Two runners gone!” I yelled. “Before the tufuga could even mark them. Did they bribe their way home?”

“That’s a dark question to ask me,” the hatch guilder growled, scratching his nethers. “Look for yourself! The hatch is locked. And no pimple-faced, homesick runners paid me to slip home through it. It’s a misdemeanor for you runners to come home. You know it as well as any.”

(Actually what he said was, “Foulen darky, wakken en gulder. Luket ye. Atchis locked, en naught puss-scabben geld-seck roonies fived my to slip mam-home twanen the bares. ’Tis a foul crimm for en of ye te mam-home roon. En ye nown it verily, Odd Thebes, bester than te rest, as ye’v trine it for your own salf thryce that once’t yar.” But if I laid out every actor’s mother tongue, every guild’s language, this quill will fray before a plot rises.)

 

Pre-order your copy here!

 

 

Waiting for Witcher season 2? Here’s what you should read!

#WhatsTrending

Do’s and Don’ts for encountering a vampire: things YA taught us

Let’s face it: we all have a soft spot for the eternally damned. YA made us love vampires and we aren’t sorry about it. HOWEVER, our favorite books have ALSO taught us that there are certain things to do and not do if you encounter a handsome broody potentially blood-thirsty character. At no. 1…   1. DO … Continued
See More

Books to Read if You Love Unsolved Mysteries

Whether you’re obsessed with Netflix’s recent docuseries Unsolved Mysteries or love to binge Buzzfeed Unsolved here and there, we’ve got the reads to keep your mind spinning around What really happened? for days. Let’s get to it!   They Wish They Were Us by Jessica Goodman Gossip Girl meets One of Us Is Lying with a dash of The Secret History in … Continued
See More

Read the first 3 chapters of Goddess in the Machine by Lora Beth Johnson!

Goddess in the Machine by Lora Beth Johnson just hit shelves! In this smart, thrilling sci-fi adventure, perfect for fans of Renegades and Aurora Rising, Andra wakes up from a cryogenic sleep 1,000 years later than she was supposed to, forcing her to team up with an exiled prince to navigate an unfamiliar planet. Scroll down to read the … Continued
See More

The thriller TBR for anyone who loved ONE OF US IS LYING

If the plot twist of One of Us Is Lying knocked your socks right off, we have a few twisty thrillers recommendations for that TBR.   They Wish They Were Us by Jessica Goodman  Gossip Girl meets One of Us Is Lying with a dash of The Secret History in this slick, taut murder mystery set against the backdrop of an exclusive prep … Continued
See More

Penguin Teen Cover Reveal Bonanza!

It’s cover reveal time! Today, we are revealing not one, not two, but SIX covers, from debut authors to the return of beloved fantasy characters! We may have even snatched an excerpt for each of these new reads for you to get an early taste of each one. New books will be added here as they are revealed, … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: STORMBREAK by Natalie C. Parker

  June may be coming to an end, but we are looking forward to continuing to #ReadPrideAndBeyond all year long with upcoming spectacular 2020 reads. And we’re sharing an excerpt today from one of them! Stormbreak by Natalie C. Parker is the epic conclusion to the Seafire trilogy, applauded by Tor.com for celebrating “sisterhood and queernormativity in the face … Continued
See More

Taylor Swift’s FOLKLORE is here, and so is your ultimate book match!

Taylor Swift dropped her new album Folklore last night and not to be dramatic but we’ve had this cottagecore goodness on repeat ever since. And we have been working fast to get you your ULTIMATE Folklore book match!   Track: The No 1 Book Match: Lovely War “But it would have been fun, if you would … Continued
See More

Start reading They Wish They Were Us by Jessica Goodman

One of 2020’s most highly-anticipated reads They Wish They Were Us by Jessica Goodman is right around the corner, but we can’t wait until then to start reading. So today we’re sharing 20 pages of it! Scroll down for a sneak peek at the murder mystery of the summer! Scroll down to read and don’t forget to … Continued
See More

COVER REVEAL: House of Hollow

One of our most HOTLY anticipated reads of 2021 has a cover and your eyes aren’t ready. House of Hollow by Krystal M. Sutherland is a dark, twisty modern fairytale where three sisters discover they are not exactly all that they seem and evil things really do go bump in the night, coming April 6, 2021! Iris … Continued
See More

The Beautiful: The Recap

Diving into The Damned by Renée Ahdieh this week? We’re here to give you a refresher on what happened in book 1, The Beautiful!     The Beautiful starts with Celine fleeing Paris, sailing to New Orleans with Pippa, her best friend, to live at a local convent. via GIPHY   Celine, by the way, is one hell … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP