Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Cover Reveal: GETTING OVER MAX COOPER

SHARE

Cover reveal! Boundaries are crossed and the edge of sanity is tested in Marcelle Karp’s debut novel that celebrates the complicated dynamics of female friendship, and the heartbreaking ache of first love. 

Sixteen-year-old Jazz Jacobson has always spent her summers on Fire Island.

This year she’ll be scooping ice cream during the day and hanging out with her friends at night. It’s a charmed life: riding bikes, taking over lifeguard chairs, and soaking up the sun. Sure, she’s got a crush on the hot new surfer boy, and her best friend, Macy, is still not over that jerk , Max Cooper, but what’s a summer without its drama?

While Jazz starts to fall in love, Macy unravels, revealing exactly how not-over Max Cooper she really is.

Scroll down to see the cover of Getting Over Max Cooper and read an early sneak peek!

MaxCooper_ONLINE

Cover/jacket design: Theresa Evangelista

Jacket art: Mallory Heyer 

 

My phone buzzes, a text from Ravi. Dammit. My drama-free night is interrupted by a boy.

 

Come out on your deck yo.

 

I get up off the couch and go to the floor to ceiling screen doors of our house—at night, you can’t really see what’s on the deck from inside the house, so I press my face against the loose mesh screen and see Adera facing the moonlight taking selfies, plus Ravi sitting beside Nate on the steps of our damp deck, smoking cigarettes and finally, Leo, crouched in the sand, facing my house, shooting my friends.

 

Leo taking photos of Adera and Ravi and Nate.

 

“What are you guys doing out here?” I ask, trying to be casual, while inside I’m doing somersaults. Leo McDimple is on my deck, at my house. I slide the screen door open and then shut it behind me. It’s hotter out on the deck than inside my house, which is unusual for Fire Island, where the tem- perature usually drops to the sixties at night. The boys are in T-shirts and shorts, except for Ravi, who isn’t wearing a shirt, which, hello, brave—the mosquitos are out too, and I slap my exposed neck, manna for them.

 

“This one wanted to come here,” Adera says, pointing at Leo. Adera is exquisite in a simple tank dress, white against her dark skin, formfitting, accentuating her curves.

 

“I was telling Leo about the view from your top deck, but he doesn’t remember it, so we figured we’d come check it out,” Ravi says. When we were all in elementary and mid- dle school, Mom would have parents come over with their kids, and the parents would go to the upper deck and drink and smoke while the kids stayed here on the lower deck, playing in the sand and running in and out of the house, letting bugs in.

 

“See, I don’t remember bath time and you don’t remember the deck, so we’re even,” I say to Leo.

“I don’t think so, babe. I seriously do not think you can compare a view of a sky with a view of me . . .” Leo stops talking, spins around, his fist closed at his mouth.

 

Did he just call me “babe”?

 

Everyone starts laughing and poking fun at Leo for calling me “babe.” And he gives everyone except me the middle finger, and we laugh even harder while Ravi meanders down the steps of my deck to the bay water and starts splashing about.

 

“Where’s Macy?” I ask as I sit beside Adera on one of the chaise lounges.

 

“I don’t know,” Adera answers, moving her legs, making room for my butt. “She didn’t open my Snaps.”

 

So it’s not just me. Macy’s blown off Adera, too.

 

“Yeah, this whole roll just kind of happened,” Ravi explains as he comes back onto the deck and sits on the floor oppo- site me and Adera. “These guys were at my house and Adera came over . . .” That’s typical here; everything is so casual. It’s so much better just showing up at someone’s house than waiting to be Snapped.

 

“What happened to the boy?” I ask Adera.

 

She tsks. “Girl, he blew me off.”

 

I scowl. I was so excited for Adera to be in like with someone who liked her back.

 

 

“And may I remind you, he”—she points to Leo, speaking in a low tone “wanted to come here.” And then she whispers, “No mention of Alice, at all.”

 

I nod, absorbing the information. Cautious in my urge to be enthusiastic.

 

“So, can I see this famously epic view?” Leo asks, the air thick with things flying across our eyes. I swat at whatever it is that lands on my forehead.

 

“Yeah, sure, let’s go up—maybe you’ll remember it,” I say generically to everyone, even though I really want to be in- viting only Leo upstairs.

 

“Can we smoke up there?” Nate asks, in a Russian accent, which of all the accents he takes on is the best I’ve heard so far. “No, dummy. My mom will lose her mind if she catches us.” Nate tsks and says something about how I’ll never stop being a Goody Two-shoes. I don’t take my preference for following the rules as an insult.

 

Ravi says, “Yeah, cool. You bring Leo upstairs. We’re gonna take the boat out and smoke a bowl.”

Adera nods her head, indicating that I need to take advan-tage of this moment; yes, I can interpret that much from a mere chin cocked at a certain angle, eyes wide open, nose doing a twitch.

 

Leo looks at me. “I’m game if you are.”

 

I nod, because of course I am game.

 

 

Preorder your copy here

 

 

November is here! Click here to see what’s hitting shelves

#Newsyoucanuse

February 2022 Books: Here’s What’s Coming to Shelves!

February is almost here, and she’s bringing books!   2/1: I Must Betray You by Ruta Sepetys – A gut-wrenching, startling window into communist Romania and the citizen spy network that devastated a nation, from the #1 New York Times bestselling, award-winning author of Salt to the Sea and Between Shades of Gray.   2/1: And We Rise by Erica Martin – A … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: I GUESS I LIVE HERE NOW

Cover reveal! For fans of Never Have I Ever and Crazy Rich Asians, I Guess I Live Here Now by Claire Ahn is a journey to the place where trends are born—Seoul, Korea—where Melody Lee unwillingly moves with her family and must start a new life, a new school…and maybe a new romance. Melody always wanted to get to know the Korean … Continued
See More

2022 YA Book Preview!

Are you ready for all the amazing reads next year is bringing to your shelf? Here’s your official 2022 YA book preview of what to look forward to!   Echoes and Empires by Morgan Rhodes – January 4 A snarky seventeen-year-old must team up with an enigmatic criminal to cure herself of dangerous forbidden magic … Continued
See More

The Sky is Everywhere trailer is HERE!

It’s been YEARS in the making but we’re finally weeks away from the adaptation of Jandy Nelson’s beloved book, The Sky is Everywhere. Starring Grace Kaufman as Lennie, Jacques Colimon (SOCIETY FANS SHOUTOUT!) and Pico Alexander as well as Jason Segel and Cherry Jones. And with the trailer drop, our Valentine’s Day weekend plans are … Continued
See More

Beloved YA Series Ending in 2021!

2021 may be coming to a close, but it left us with the completion of several YA series you can read start to finish now! Scroll down to see which beloved YA series and duologies ended in 2021.   Goddess in the Machine by Lora Beth Johnson A smart, thrilling sci-fi adventure, perfect for fans … Continued
See More

2022 Fantasy books to get absolutely lost in

We love wandering into a fantasy world and getting absolutely lost in it, and we know you do too! We’re here to help you prepare your 2022 TBR with bookish escapes, so get ready for 6 of our most highly-anticipated fantasy books!   Echoes and Empires by Morgan Rhodes – January 4 A snarky seventeen-year-old must … Continued
See More

January 2022 Books: Here’s What’s Hitting Shelves!

It’s a new year, and that means amazing new books! Scroll down to see what’s hitting shelves in January!   1/4: Echoes and Empires by Morgan Rhodes – From the New York Times bestselling author of the Falling Kingdoms series comes the first book in a brand-new duology about forbidden magic and dangerous secrets, for readers of Victoria Aveyard and Margaret … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: PRACTICE GIRL by Estelle Laure

Cover reveal! Jo never heard of the label “practice girl”…until she was called one. And those two devastating words would irreversibly change the way she saw everyone–including herself. Jo Beckett is looking for love. She’s fallen for a few boys, but for some reason, they’ve never fallen for her. One night, at a party she … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: THE LIFE AND CRIMES OF HOODIE ROSEN

Cover reveal! The Chosen meets Darius the Great in this irreverent and timely story of worlds colliding in friendship, betrayal, and hatred. Hoodie Rosen has recently moved to the town of Tregaron, where members of his Orthodox Jewish community are looking to build a new home. But the town’s mayor and many of the people who live there … Continued
See More

December Books: Here’s What’s Hitting Shelves!

Grab a cozy blanket and a warm beverage, because it’s time to cuddle up with December’s most anticipated reads! Here’s what’s hitting shelves.   12/7: Call Us What We Carry by Amanda Gorman – The breakout poetry collection by #1 New York Times bestselling author and presidential inaugural poet Amanda Gorman   12/7: The Righteous by Renée Ahdieh … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP