Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

COVER REVEAL: Girls Save the World in This One

SHARE

It’s time to reveal the stunning cover of Ash Parson’s upcoming YA novel Girls Save the World in This One! And not just that…WE HAVE AN EXCERPT!

Shaun of the Dead meets Clueless in this hilarious YA horror comedy set at a local zombie convention–featuring a teenage girl gang that has to save the world from a horde of actual zombies. Perfect for fans of Geekerella, Undead Girl Gang, and Anna and the Apocalypse. But we’ll shut up now and let the author tell you about it! Scroll down to read about the author’s inspiration for Girls Save the World in This One and see its magnificent cover, created by Eisner Award winning artist, Jen Bartel!

 

“A few years ago I went to a zombie fan convention. That’s where I had the idea for Girls Save the World in This One: while in my fangirl happy place, wandering around an exhibit hall, pursued by zombie cosplayers. I couldn’t stop laughing at the idea What if the zombie apocalypse started right now? How would we even know? 

Of course, once the idea started I couldn’t stop thinking about it. At the same time, I was remembering going to DragonCon when I was in high school. One of my best friends, Kari Bakken, took me, and it was the first time I felt a part of fan-culture. The magic of that was deep.

The last piece of the inspiration puzzle was an image: a group of teenage girls, best friends, not endowed with any supernatural abilities, but still out there, fighting against the end of the world. It turns out that was an image I really needed in my mind, and in my heart. It wouldn’t go away, it just kept coming back. It made me happy, thinking about these girls. I knew they would be funny, sweet, prickly, brilliant, flawed, and true-hearted. I wanted to see what they would do.

And so I made a kickass playlist, named it ‘Girls Save the World,’ and started writing.”

– Ash Parsons

GSTWITO final

Scroll down to read the excerpt!

 

It’s over. I didn’t get to ask my question. That’s it, there won’t be another chance. Photo ops move so fast I won’t be able to ask then, and besides I don’t want to monopolize the time because Siggy and Imani and I pooled all our money together for it.

I didn’t get to ask my question.

I still feel a little shaky from the adrenaline dump, and a little empty like a balloon drifting down to the floor.

Onstage Michaela is saying don’t go far, the next event is a panel featuring some writers of the show, and after that is the zombie makeup team, don’t miss it—

But all around me people are grabbing their things and making their way out, brushing past those of us who rushed out to get in line and are still standing in the aisle.

Imani and Siggy are making their way toward me. Imani has my mini backpack slung over one shoulder.

I’m struggling to keep from feeling furious at that girl, wondering if the session would have gone on longer, if I would have been able to ask my question, and also wonder­ing if he smelled good and if that girl can die happy now that she got a selfie and a hug.

Ugh.

“Ugh,” Siggy says as they reach me.

“Ugh.” Imani hands over my backpack and starts to lead the way out. “That’s so unfair!”

“Yep,” I say, but they know how I feel already; they heard me practice my question all week.

We step out into the airy hallway, and file onto the down escalator.

“Okay we’re not going to let that ruin our day but can I just say, that was so much BS.” Imani runs a hand over her side-sweep of wavy hair.

“It was,” I agree. “I’m just gonna be in my emotions about it for a little bit more.”

“We still have the photo op,” Siggy says. “Maybe you can ask your question then.”

“Yeah,” Imani says.

“That’s for all of us, though,” I say. “It’s okay, I promise.”

I say it because I can see that they want to push the issue. They want to swear that they don’t mind and I should ask my question at the photo op.

But the photo op isn’t about me asking my question. It’s just a quick moment, to memorialize our day, and beyond that our friendship (and how much we love Hunter and Human Wasteland), and I’m not going to change that.

“The photo op is going to be great!” I continue. “I can’t wait until we’re all there together.”

We step off the escalator and walk forward, past the floor-to-ceiling exterior window wall and around the volca­nic rock waterfalls to the bottleneck forming at the center set of exhibit hall doors.

“I just hope I can act cool during it, and not become a complete dork,” I say.

“You are cool,” Imani says,

“Thanks, Mom.” I roll my eyes at her.

She thwaps my shoulder, laughing. “Stop that, young lady.”

“June, you really are, you know.” Siggy adjusts the side-tie of her jumpsuit while we wait in line. “You’re cool and awe­some and hilarious, too.”

“Aw, stop,” I feel my eyes start to well up. “You’re fun and beautiful and you have such a free spirit, Siggy.”

Imani gives a polite little cough. Ahem.

I turn to her, smiling.

“And you’re absolutely brilliant and loyal and your con­victions are such a force for good, Imani,” I tell her.

Imani loops an arm around me.

“June, you’ve got the best sense of humor, you’re so smart no matter what you say, and you have the biggest heart of anybody I ever met.”

“Stop, I’m gonna cry,” I say.

“Too late,” Siggy says.

“What are we gonna do next fall?” I ask.

“I don’t want to think about it,” Siggy says.

“We’ll talk all the time,” Imani reassures us.

Siggy swipes her fingers under her eyes. “Aw hell, why don’t I ever have any Kleenex?”

Imani hands us tissues out of her purse and even has to dab at her own eyes.

We all stand in line, in our little trio, dabbing at our eyes and honking our noses and saying I love you guys so much and Stop talking okay? I’m still crying and Siggy starts humming the theme from The Golden Girls and that gets us over the emotional hump.

We inch forward, waiting to show our badges to the door guards. Behind us, there’s a ruckus, a person shouting “Whoa!” and laughter.

I turn and there are two people in head-to-toe hazmat suits pushing through the crowd, holding up some kind of scanner, sweeping it at people.

Imani laughs, and she lifts her phone for some pictures.

“Weirdos,” Siggy laughs.

“No, it’s cool!” I half wish I was cosplaying, but then decide I want to experience my first con as me.

In front of us, two zombies, a man and woman, sink a little when they see the hazmat guys.

“Rut-roh, they’re coming for us,” the man zombie says, smiling at me. I guess because he heard me say the cosplayers were cool.

“Don’t let them get you, babe,” the woman zombie replies. Her makeup is so cool. There’s a gaping bite mark in her neck, her skin looks positively necrotic, and her eyes are clouded with milky cataracts.

“Wow, you guys look amazing,” I say. “Can we take a pic­ture with you?”

“Absolutely!” she says, so we get in the exhibit hall and slide to the side. I ask a man to take our photo, and the three of us act scared while the man and woman strike hun­gry-zombie poses at us.

“Thanks! Have a great day!” Imani says. The man groans and makes these wet choking noises, and the woman lets her head fall forward as she starts shuffling away.

The man stumbles after her, takes her arm, and steers her down the first aisle on the right.

They hold hands, and stumble-shuffle away. People all around are laughing good-naturedly, taking pictures of the zombie couple.

“True love, you guys,” Siggy says. “Till death do they part. And then not even then.”

“Those sweet kids. I hope everything works out for them,” I say.

“They’re already dead,” Imani says. “What’s the worst thing that could happen?”

 

Girls Save the World in This One hits shelves April, 2020!

 

 

Looking for other amazing reads to fall in love with until then? Check out these 10 reasons you’re frankly going to fall in love with FRANKLY IN LOVE!

#WhatsTrending

15 Must-Reads Before the End of 2019

We know it’s only August, but tbh 2019 has been flying by and we penguins just want to make sure you don’t miss out on these top 15 reads to grab before the end of 2019!   I Know You Remember by Jennifer Donaldson This is the perfect suspenseful, October read. Jennifer Donaldson’s new twisty … Continued
See More

14 people who weren’t prepared for the Frankly in Love trailer

ICYMI the Frankly in Love trailer just dropped and it is AMAZING. Rotating sets? Check. All the love story gone wrong feels? Check. Dreamy Frank? CHECK. Watch the trailer below if you missed it! But in other news, the internet most certainly did not miss it. The internet is most certainly crazy over it.   From Twitter, … Continued
See More

3 Books to help you recover from Stranger Things season 3

Okay, first of all: STRANGER THINGS SEASON 3 SPOILER ALERT. There are SPOILERS ahead.   Got it? Yes? Okay, here we go.     Hopper deserved better. So did Alexei. Oh, and Billy? We see you too, Billy. Maybe take a moment and cry it out before reading on, but in honor of the (literally) … Continued
See More

Debuts you DON’T want to miss this fall

Oh, summer, we are sad to see you go… But not that sad because we are so SO excited for all the books fall is bringing! And if you didn’t know, that includes some of the biggest, highly-anticipated debuts. It all starts in September, and we’ve made you a cheat sheet for all the amazing debuts … Continued
See More

The Frankly in Love book trailer is here and it is EVERYTHING

It’s no secret that the hype for David Yoon’s debut Frankly in Love is REAL. From the cutest cover ever to author Marie Lu dubbing it “a classic in the making”, Frankly in Love is going to set up camp in your book-loving heart and live there forever. In case you somehow haven’t heard of it yet, … Continued
See More

9 Books to Read if You Love The Handmaid’s Tale

If you’re like us, you’re completely obsessed with Hulu’s adaptation of Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale. If you need your dystopian fix, these dystopian novels are just the thing! #BlessUp   The Virtue of Sin by Shannon Schuren Rules. Secrets. Manipulation. This book takes place in a present-day cult and it’s chilling. Miriam lives in New Jerusalem, a haven in … Continued
See More

Go behind the scenes of FRANKLY IN LOVE with Penguin Teen!

So, in case you (somehow???) missed it, the trailer for David Yoon’s debut novel Frankly in Love is here and we are all IN LOVE WITH HOW CUTE IT IS. Check out the trailer below in case you haven’t seen it yet! Okay, but aside from that ADORABLENESS, Penguin Teen went behind the scenes during the filming, and … Continued
See More

Everything you need to know about Frankly in Love

David Yoon’s debut novel Frankly in Love is hitting shelves in LESS THAN TWO MONTHS! September 10th, 2019 is bringing us the contemporary of the year and we need to talk about it. Also, mark those TBRs asap. This is the book that left a bunch of us penguins in happy tears and itching to re-read it. We. Are. OBSESSED. … Continued
See More

9 Books to Help You Recover from Veronica Mars Season 4

THIS IS A SPOILER ALERT. VERONICA MARS SEASON 4 SPOILERS BELOW. BE WARNED. SPOILERS.  We’re absolutely not over what happened at the end of Veronica Mars season 4. Honestly, we’re never going to be over what happened at the end of season 4. We’re going to weep every single time we hear “I Hear the … Continued
See More

The 7 Best Alien YA Books to Read on Your Road Trip to Area 51

Trying to see them aliens? Fear not—we have you covered. We’re recommending seven of the best alien-focused YA books to pack for your road trip to Area 51. (Please note, we cannot be held responsible if any books start glowing mysteriously once they’re in your backpack.) When the Sky Fell on Splendor by Emily Henry … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP