Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

COVER REVEAL: Girls Save the World in This One

SHARE

It’s time to reveal the stunning cover of Ash Parson’s upcoming YA novel Girls Save the World in This One! And not just that…WE HAVE AN EXCERPT!

Shaun of the Dead meets Clueless in this hilarious YA horror comedy set at a local zombie convention–featuring a teenage girl gang that has to save the world from a horde of actual zombies. Perfect for fans of Geekerella, Undead Girl Gang, and Anna and the Apocalypse. But we’ll shut up now and let the author tell you about it! Scroll down to read about the author’s inspiration for Girls Save the World in This One and see its magnificent cover, created by Eisner Award winning artist, Jen Bartel!

 

“A few years ago I went to a zombie fan convention. That’s where I had the idea for Girls Save the World in This One: while in my fangirl happy place, wandering around an exhibit hall, pursued by zombie cosplayers. I couldn’t stop laughing at the idea What if the zombie apocalypse started right now? How would we even know? 

Of course, once the idea started I couldn’t stop thinking about it. At the same time, I was remembering going to DragonCon when I was in high school. One of my best friends, Kari Bakken, took me, and it was the first time I felt a part of fan-culture. The magic of that was deep.

The last piece of the inspiration puzzle was an image: a group of teenage girls, best friends, not endowed with any supernatural abilities, but still out there, fighting against the end of the world. It turns out that was an image I really needed in my mind, and in my heart. It wouldn’t go away, it just kept coming back. It made me happy, thinking about these girls. I knew they would be funny, sweet, prickly, brilliant, flawed, and true-hearted. I wanted to see what they would do.

And so I made a kickass playlist, named it ‘Girls Save the World,’ and started writing.”

– Ash Parsons

GSTWITO final

Scroll down to read the excerpt!

 

It’s over. I didn’t get to ask my question. That’s it, there won’t be another chance. Photo ops move so fast I won’t be able to ask then, and besides I don’t want to monopolize the time because Siggy and Imani and I pooled all our money together for it.

I didn’t get to ask my question.

I still feel a little shaky from the adrenaline dump, and a little empty like a balloon drifting down to the floor.

Onstage Michaela is saying don’t go far, the next event is a panel featuring some writers of the show, and after that is the zombie makeup team, don’t miss it—

But all around me people are grabbing their things and making their way out, brushing past those of us who rushed out to get in line and are still standing in the aisle.

Imani and Siggy are making their way toward me. Imani has my mini backpack slung over one shoulder.

I’m struggling to keep from feeling furious at that girl, wondering if the session would have gone on longer, if I would have been able to ask my question, and also wonder­ing if he smelled good and if that girl can die happy now that she got a selfie and a hug.

Ugh.

“Ugh,” Siggy says as they reach me.

“Ugh.” Imani hands over my backpack and starts to lead the way out. “That’s so unfair!”

“Yep,” I say, but they know how I feel already; they heard me practice my question all week.

We step out into the airy hallway, and file onto the down escalator.

“Okay we’re not going to let that ruin our day but can I just say, that was so much BS.” Imani runs a hand over her side-sweep of wavy hair.

“It was,” I agree. “I’m just gonna be in my emotions about it for a little bit more.”

“We still have the photo op,” Siggy says. “Maybe you can ask your question then.”

“Yeah,” Imani says.

“That’s for all of us, though,” I say. “It’s okay, I promise.”

I say it because I can see that they want to push the issue. They want to swear that they don’t mind and I should ask my question at the photo op.

But the photo op isn’t about me asking my question. It’s just a quick moment, to memorialize our day, and beyond that our friendship (and how much we love Hunter and Human Wasteland), and I’m not going to change that.

“The photo op is going to be great!” I continue. “I can’t wait until we’re all there together.”

We step off the escalator and walk forward, past the floor-to-ceiling exterior window wall and around the volca­nic rock waterfalls to the bottleneck forming at the center set of exhibit hall doors.

“I just hope I can act cool during it, and not become a complete dork,” I say.

“You are cool,” Imani says,

“Thanks, Mom.” I roll my eyes at her.

She thwaps my shoulder, laughing. “Stop that, young lady.”

“June, you really are, you know.” Siggy adjusts the side-tie of her jumpsuit while we wait in line. “You’re cool and awe­some and hilarious, too.”

“Aw, stop,” I feel my eyes start to well up. “You’re fun and beautiful and you have such a free spirit, Siggy.”

Imani gives a polite little cough. Ahem.

I turn to her, smiling.

“And you’re absolutely brilliant and loyal and your con­victions are such a force for good, Imani,” I tell her.

Imani loops an arm around me.

“June, you’ve got the best sense of humor, you’re so smart no matter what you say, and you have the biggest heart of anybody I ever met.”

“Stop, I’m gonna cry,” I say.

“Too late,” Siggy says.

“What are we gonna do next fall?” I ask.

“I don’t want to think about it,” Siggy says.

“We’ll talk all the time,” Imani reassures us.

Siggy swipes her fingers under her eyes. “Aw hell, why don’t I ever have any Kleenex?”

Imani hands us tissues out of her purse and even has to dab at her own eyes.

We all stand in line, in our little trio, dabbing at our eyes and honking our noses and saying I love you guys so much and Stop talking okay? I’m still crying and Siggy starts humming the theme from The Golden Girls and that gets us over the emotional hump.

We inch forward, waiting to show our badges to the door guards. Behind us, there’s a ruckus, a person shouting “Whoa!” and laughter.

I turn and there are two people in head-to-toe hazmat suits pushing through the crowd, holding up some kind of scanner, sweeping it at people.

Imani laughs, and she lifts her phone for some pictures.

“Weirdos,” Siggy laughs.

“No, it’s cool!” I half wish I was cosplaying, but then decide I want to experience my first con as me.

In front of us, two zombies, a man and woman, sink a little when they see the hazmat guys.

“Rut-roh, they’re coming for us,” the man zombie says, smiling at me. I guess because he heard me say the cosplayers were cool.

“Don’t let them get you, babe,” the woman zombie replies. Her makeup is so cool. There’s a gaping bite mark in her neck, her skin looks positively necrotic, and her eyes are clouded with milky cataracts.

“Wow, you guys look amazing,” I say. “Can we take a pic­ture with you?”

“Absolutely!” she says, so we get in the exhibit hall and slide to the side. I ask a man to take our photo, and the three of us act scared while the man and woman strike hun­gry-zombie poses at us.

“Thanks! Have a great day!” Imani says. The man groans and makes these wet choking noises, and the woman lets her head fall forward as she starts shuffling away.

The man stumbles after her, takes her arm, and steers her down the first aisle on the right.

They hold hands, and stumble-shuffle away. People all around are laughing good-naturedly, taking pictures of the zombie couple.

“True love, you guys,” Siggy says. “Till death do they part. And then not even then.”

“Those sweet kids. I hope everything works out for them,” I say.

“They’re already dead,” Imani says. “What’s the worst thing that could happen?”

 

Girls Save the World in This One hits shelves April, 2020!

 

 

Looking for other amazing reads to fall in love with until then? Check out these 10 reasons you’re frankly going to fall in love with FRANKLY IN LOVE!

#WhatsTrending

A book lover’s holiday gift guide!

Presenting: the holiday gift guide you should give to the friends & family of all book lovers.   If your reader loves FANTASY… Four Dead Queens by Astrid Scholte Seventeen-year-old Keralie Corrington may seem harmless, but she’s, in fact, one of Quadara’s most skilled thieves and a liar. Varin, on the other hand, is an … Continued
See More

5 Reasons You Need to Read LET IT SNOW. Like…now

HEY. Joy from Penguin Teen here, about to be waaaaay enthusiastic about why you need to read Let It Snow this December. But first, JUST IN CASE you missed our James & Joy Book Club this month (which, psh, why would you??), I’ll leave that here: ONWARD. Here is why you need to read Let It Snow. … Continued
See More

People who could not handle the ending of The Beautiful

The Beautiful had some…moments in it. If you know, you know. Things happened. Hearts broke. Mainly ours. Long story short, people on the internet are having some FEELINGS about it.   To put it simply:   You might say The Beautiful was…beautiful And emotions? You’ll have lots of them. Those emotions won’t go away for … Continued
See More

Harry Styles’s FINE LINE is here and we’ve got your ultimate track match!

IT’S FINALLY HERE! Harry dropped the album. And you bet we’ve had it on repeat ever since. And guess what? WE’RE READY. It’s time for your ultimate Harry Styles FINE LINE Album YA Book Track Match!     Track 1: Golden Book Match: A Reaper at the Gates *spoilers on this one* Well, if this just doesn’t make you think … Continued
See More

5 reasons why James recommends A River of Royal Blood

Hey there, YA lovers! it’s James from Penguin Teen. Somehow November sneaked up on all of us, so it’s time for another Book Haul for our James & Joy Book Club! Check out our November Book Haul video: I’ve selected A River of Royal Blood by Amanda Joy as my November Book Club Pick, and … Continued
See More

5 Reasons FIREBORNE is the book your heart desperately desires

Welcome back to Joy (me, hi) Rants About Why You MUST Read Fireborne by Rosaria Munda. Like asap. Like what are you WAITING for. In case you missed our October Book Haul here’s a picture of me judging James for not reading it yet: Fireborne is the Game of Thrones meets Harry Potter fantasy you’re going to … Continued
See More

Four YA Characters Who Pulled a Steve Trevor from Wonder Woman

If you’re a fan of the 2017 Wonder Woman movie like us, then you were left pretty devastated by the ending that – SPOILER ALERT – left Steve Trevor (Chris Pine at his most-Chris-tastic) sacrificing himself to save …well everyone. But with the EPIC new trailer for Wonder Woman 1984 having just been released, you … Continued
See More

5 books to read while waiting for Children of Virtue and Vengeance

If you’re a YA fantasy fan like we are, then you’ll know that the Children of Blood and Bone phenomenon is set to continue this December with its much anticipated sequel, Children of Virtue and Vengeance. Sequels are always a waiting game, and what better way to pass the time than by diving into another … Continued
See More

Holiday Gift Tags for the Book Lover in Your Life

Have a booklover in your life? Holiday shopping stressing you out? We’ve got recommendations that might help. Namely, adorable pre-order gift tags!   The Conference of the Birds by Ransom Riggs Miss Peregrine fans REJOICE! The fifth installment of Ransom Riggs’s Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children is coming January 14th!    “Do you trust me?” Now, with … Continued
See More

2020 YA Sneak Peek!

Hello and WELCOME to the 2020 YA sneak peek! We’re talking all early info on upcoming 2020 books we cannot WAIT for!   All the Days Past, All the Days to Come by Mildred D. Taylor – January 7, 2020 The saga of the Logan family–made famous in the Newbery Medal-winning Roll of Thunder, Hear My … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP