Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

COVER REVEAL: Girls Save the World in This One

SHARE

It’s time to reveal the stunning cover of Ash Parson’s upcoming YA novel Girls Save the World in This One! And not just that…WE HAVE AN EXCERPT!

Shaun of the Dead meets Clueless in this hilarious YA horror comedy set at a local zombie convention–featuring a teenage girl gang that has to save the world from a horde of actual zombies. Perfect for fans of Geekerella, Undead Girl Gang, and Anna and the Apocalypse. But we’ll shut up now and let the author tell you about it! Scroll down to read about the author’s inspiration for Girls Save the World in This One and see its magnificent cover, created by Eisner Award winning artist, Jen Bartel!

 

“A few years ago I went to a zombie fan convention. That’s where I had the idea for Girls Save the World in This One: while in my fangirl happy place, wandering around an exhibit hall, pursued by zombie cosplayers. I couldn’t stop laughing at the idea What if the zombie apocalypse started right now? How would we even know? 

Of course, once the idea started I couldn’t stop thinking about it. At the same time, I was remembering going to DragonCon when I was in high school. One of my best friends, Kari Bakken, took me, and it was the first time I felt a part of fan-culture. The magic of that was deep.

The last piece of the inspiration puzzle was an image: a group of teenage girls, best friends, not endowed with any supernatural abilities, but still out there, fighting against the end of the world. It turns out that was an image I really needed in my mind, and in my heart. It wouldn’t go away, it just kept coming back. It made me happy, thinking about these girls. I knew they would be funny, sweet, prickly, brilliant, flawed, and true-hearted. I wanted to see what they would do.

And so I made a kickass playlist, named it ‘Girls Save the World,’ and started writing.”

– Ash Parsons

GSTWITO final

Scroll down to read the excerpt!

 

It’s over. I didn’t get to ask my question. That’s it, there won’t be another chance. Photo ops move so fast I won’t be able to ask then, and besides I don’t want to monopolize the time because Siggy and Imani and I pooled all our money together for it.

I didn’t get to ask my question.

I still feel a little shaky from the adrenaline dump, and a little empty like a balloon drifting down to the floor.

Onstage Michaela is saying don’t go far, the next event is a panel featuring some writers of the show, and after that is the zombie makeup team, don’t miss it—

But all around me people are grabbing their things and making their way out, brushing past those of us who rushed out to get in line and are still standing in the aisle.

Imani and Siggy are making their way toward me. Imani has my mini backpack slung over one shoulder.

I’m struggling to keep from feeling furious at that girl, wondering if the session would have gone on longer, if I would have been able to ask my question, and also wonder­ing if he smelled good and if that girl can die happy now that she got a selfie and a hug.

Ugh.

“Ugh,” Siggy says as they reach me.

“Ugh.” Imani hands over my backpack and starts to lead the way out. “That’s so unfair!”

“Yep,” I say, but they know how I feel already; they heard me practice my question all week.

We step out into the airy hallway, and file onto the down escalator.

“Okay we’re not going to let that ruin our day but can I just say, that was so much BS.” Imani runs a hand over her side-sweep of wavy hair.

“It was,” I agree. “I’m just gonna be in my emotions about it for a little bit more.”

“We still have the photo op,” Siggy says. “Maybe you can ask your question then.”

“Yeah,” Imani says.

“That’s for all of us, though,” I say. “It’s okay, I promise.”

I say it because I can see that they want to push the issue. They want to swear that they don’t mind and I should ask my question at the photo op.

But the photo op isn’t about me asking my question. It’s just a quick moment, to memorialize our day, and beyond that our friendship (and how much we love Hunter and Human Wasteland), and I’m not going to change that.

“The photo op is going to be great!” I continue. “I can’t wait until we’re all there together.”

We step off the escalator and walk forward, past the floor-to-ceiling exterior window wall and around the volca­nic rock waterfalls to the bottleneck forming at the center set of exhibit hall doors.

“I just hope I can act cool during it, and not become a complete dork,” I say.

“You are cool,” Imani says,

“Thanks, Mom.” I roll my eyes at her.

She thwaps my shoulder, laughing. “Stop that, young lady.”

“June, you really are, you know.” Siggy adjusts the side-tie of her jumpsuit while we wait in line. “You’re cool and awe­some and hilarious, too.”

“Aw, stop,” I feel my eyes start to well up. “You’re fun and beautiful and you have such a free spirit, Siggy.”

Imani gives a polite little cough. Ahem.

I turn to her, smiling.

“And you’re absolutely brilliant and loyal and your con­victions are such a force for good, Imani,” I tell her.

Imani loops an arm around me.

“June, you’ve got the best sense of humor, you’re so smart no matter what you say, and you have the biggest heart of anybody I ever met.”

“Stop, I’m gonna cry,” I say.

“Too late,” Siggy says.

“What are we gonna do next fall?” I ask.

“I don’t want to think about it,” Siggy says.

“We’ll talk all the time,” Imani reassures us.

Siggy swipes her fingers under her eyes. “Aw hell, why don’t I ever have any Kleenex?”

Imani hands us tissues out of her purse and even has to dab at her own eyes.

We all stand in line, in our little trio, dabbing at our eyes and honking our noses and saying I love you guys so much and Stop talking okay? I’m still crying and Siggy starts humming the theme from The Golden Girls and that gets us over the emotional hump.

We inch forward, waiting to show our badges to the door guards. Behind us, there’s a ruckus, a person shouting “Whoa!” and laughter.

I turn and there are two people in head-to-toe hazmat suits pushing through the crowd, holding up some kind of scanner, sweeping it at people.

Imani laughs, and she lifts her phone for some pictures.

“Weirdos,” Siggy laughs.

“No, it’s cool!” I half wish I was cosplaying, but then decide I want to experience my first con as me.

In front of us, two zombies, a man and woman, sink a little when they see the hazmat guys.

“Rut-roh, they’re coming for us,” the man zombie says, smiling at me. I guess because he heard me say the cosplayers were cool.

“Don’t let them get you, babe,” the woman zombie replies. Her makeup is so cool. There’s a gaping bite mark in her neck, her skin looks positively necrotic, and her eyes are clouded with milky cataracts.

“Wow, you guys look amazing,” I say. “Can we take a pic­ture with you?”

“Absolutely!” she says, so we get in the exhibit hall and slide to the side. I ask a man to take our photo, and the three of us act scared while the man and woman strike hun­gry-zombie poses at us.

“Thanks! Have a great day!” Imani says. The man groans and makes these wet choking noises, and the woman lets her head fall forward as she starts shuffling away.

The man stumbles after her, takes her arm, and steers her down the first aisle on the right.

They hold hands, and stumble-shuffle away. People all around are laughing good-naturedly, taking pictures of the zombie couple.

“True love, you guys,” Siggy says. “Till death do they part. And then not even then.”

“Those sweet kids. I hope everything works out for them,” I say.

“They’re already dead,” Imani says. “What’s the worst thing that could happen?”

 

Girls Save the World in This One hits shelves April, 2020!

 

 

Looking for other amazing reads to fall in love with until then? Check out these 10 reasons you’re frankly going to fall in love with FRANKLY IN LOVE!

#WhatsTrending

Cover Reveal: BEYOND THE BREAK

It’s COVER REVEAL TIME! We’re revealing the cover of Heather Buchta’s Beyond the Break, a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, if you count her faith… and that’s where things may get complicated. Scroll down to see the cover AND read an excerpt below!   Chapter One The first time … Continued
See More

Biggest Books of the Decade: 2015

The year of the Taylor Swift 1989 tour. The year Jon Snow died. Oh, and hey, remember Left Shark? Welcome to your 2015 wrap-up!     Biggest Books of 2015! An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir Laia is a slave. Elias is a soldier. Neither is free.Under the Martial Empire, defiance is met with death. Those … Continued
See More

Biggest Books of the Decade: 2012

The year was 2012. Everyone was dancing to Gangman Style and, supposedly, the world was ending. Thankfully, we had some great reads for the end of the world. Oh, and spoiler alert, it didn’t end.   Biggest Books of 2012! The Fault in Our Stars by John Green Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought … Continued
See More

Biggest Books of the Decade: 2018

Yanny or Laurel?? Welcome to your 2018 blast from the past!   Biggest Books of 2018! A Map of Days by Ransom Riggs Laia is a slave. Elias is a soldier. Neither is free.Under the Martial Empire, defiance is met with death. Those who do not vow their blood and bodies to the Emperor risk the execution … Continued
See More

Biggest Books of the Decade: 2014

Oh, 2014. The year Adele Dazeem was born. The year everyone dropped buckets of ice each other to spread a good cause. The year How I Met Your Mother ended (in an episode that is still hotly debated to this day.) Let It Go was stuck in our heads for months on end. And also we got some amazing books. This … Continued
See More

Our book recs for the main characters of ‘Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker’

Episode IX is upon is… which means the Skywalker saga is about to reach its end. But stories (and books!) live forever, and we’d like to think that the main characters of Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker can find some time to sit down and read. When they do, here are the books that … Continued
See More

Biggest Books of the Decade: 2017

2017. To put it simply? It was the year of Fyre Festival. But hey, at least we got some great books. Welcome to your 2017 blast from the past!   Biggest Books of 2017! Turtles All the Way Down by John Green Aza Holmes never intended to pursue the disappearance of fugitive billionaire Russell Pickett, but … Continued
See More

Cast Your Vote for the Best Bookish Moments of 2019!

2019 has been a FULL of heart-stopping moments in the book world. Frank stole our hearts in Frankly in Love. The plot twist at the end of The Beautiful left us SCREAMING. Ruta Sepetys made us sob with yet another masterpiece, The Fountains of Silence. This is Penguin Teen: Best Bookish Moments of 2019, and the vote is up to YOU! Meet … Continued
See More

Biggest Books of the Decade: 2016

It was 2016 and basically everyone was either dancing to Hamilton or obsessed with Stranger Things. Welcome to your 2016 blast from the past!   Biggest Books of 2016! Tales of the Peculiar by Ransom Riggs Before Miss Peregrine gave them a home, the story of peculiars was written in the Tales.Wealthy cannibals who dine on the … Continued
See More

Biggest Books of the Decade: 2013

It was the year everyone was laughing their heads off over that video of a goat screaming to “I Knew You Were Trouble” by Taylor Swift. It was the year Vine was born. The year we pondered what, exactly, does a fox say? This is your 2013 wrap-up.   Biggest Books of 2013! The 5th Wave by … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP