Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

COVER REVEAL: Girls Save the World in This One

SHARE

It’s time to reveal the stunning cover of Ash Parson’s upcoming YA novel Girls Save the World in This One! And not just that…WE HAVE AN EXCERPT!

Shaun of the Dead meets Clueless in this hilarious YA horror comedy set at a local zombie convention–featuring a teenage girl gang that has to save the world from a horde of actual zombies. Perfect for fans of Geekerella, Undead Girl Gang, and Anna and the Apocalypse. But we’ll shut up now and let the author tell you about it! Scroll down to read about the author’s inspiration for Girls Save the World in This One and see its magnificent cover, created by Eisner Award winning artist, Jen Bartel!

 

“A few years ago I went to a zombie fan convention. That’s where I had the idea for Girls Save the World in This One: while in my fangirl happy place, wandering around an exhibit hall, pursued by zombie cosplayers. I couldn’t stop laughing at the idea What if the zombie apocalypse started right now? How would we even know? 

Of course, once the idea started I couldn’t stop thinking about it. At the same time, I was remembering going to DragonCon when I was in high school. One of my best friends, Kari Bakken, took me, and it was the first time I felt a part of fan-culture. The magic of that was deep.

The last piece of the inspiration puzzle was an image: a group of teenage girls, best friends, not endowed with any supernatural abilities, but still out there, fighting against the end of the world. It turns out that was an image I really needed in my mind, and in my heart. It wouldn’t go away, it just kept coming back. It made me happy, thinking about these girls. I knew they would be funny, sweet, prickly, brilliant, flawed, and true-hearted. I wanted to see what they would do.

And so I made a kickass playlist, named it ‘Girls Save the World,’ and started writing.”

– Ash Parsons

GSTWITO final

Scroll down to read the excerpt!

 

It’s over. I didn’t get to ask my question. That’s it, there won’t be another chance. Photo ops move so fast I won’t be able to ask then, and besides I don’t want to monopolize the time because Siggy and Imani and I pooled all our money together for it.

I didn’t get to ask my question.

I still feel a little shaky from the adrenaline dump, and a little empty like a balloon drifting down to the floor.

Onstage Michaela is saying don’t go far, the next event is a panel featuring some writers of the show, and after that is the zombie makeup team, don’t miss it—

But all around me people are grabbing their things and making their way out, brushing past those of us who rushed out to get in line and are still standing in the aisle.

Imani and Siggy are making their way toward me. Imani has my mini backpack slung over one shoulder.

I’m struggling to keep from feeling furious at that girl, wondering if the session would have gone on longer, if I would have been able to ask my question, and also wonder­ing if he smelled good and if that girl can die happy now that she got a selfie and a hug.

Ugh.

“Ugh,” Siggy says as they reach me.

“Ugh.” Imani hands over my backpack and starts to lead the way out. “That’s so unfair!”

“Yep,” I say, but they know how I feel already; they heard me practice my question all week.

We step out into the airy hallway, and file onto the down escalator.

“Okay we’re not going to let that ruin our day but can I just say, that was so much BS.” Imani runs a hand over her side-sweep of wavy hair.

“It was,” I agree. “I’m just gonna be in my emotions about it for a little bit more.”

“We still have the photo op,” Siggy says. “Maybe you can ask your question then.”

“Yeah,” Imani says.

“That’s for all of us, though,” I say. “It’s okay, I promise.”

I say it because I can see that they want to push the issue. They want to swear that they don’t mind and I should ask my question at the photo op.

But the photo op isn’t about me asking my question. It’s just a quick moment, to memorialize our day, and beyond that our friendship (and how much we love Hunter and Human Wasteland), and I’m not going to change that.

“The photo op is going to be great!” I continue. “I can’t wait until we’re all there together.”

We step off the escalator and walk forward, past the floor-to-ceiling exterior window wall and around the volca­nic rock waterfalls to the bottleneck forming at the center set of exhibit hall doors.

“I just hope I can act cool during it, and not become a complete dork,” I say.

“You are cool,” Imani says,

“Thanks, Mom.” I roll my eyes at her.

She thwaps my shoulder, laughing. “Stop that, young lady.”

“June, you really are, you know.” Siggy adjusts the side-tie of her jumpsuit while we wait in line. “You’re cool and awe­some and hilarious, too.”

“Aw, stop,” I feel my eyes start to well up. “You’re fun and beautiful and you have such a free spirit, Siggy.”

Imani gives a polite little cough. Ahem.

I turn to her, smiling.

“And you’re absolutely brilliant and loyal and your con­victions are such a force for good, Imani,” I tell her.

Imani loops an arm around me.

“June, you’ve got the best sense of humor, you’re so smart no matter what you say, and you have the biggest heart of anybody I ever met.”

“Stop, I’m gonna cry,” I say.

“Too late,” Siggy says.

“What are we gonna do next fall?” I ask.

“I don’t want to think about it,” Siggy says.

“We’ll talk all the time,” Imani reassures us.

Siggy swipes her fingers under her eyes. “Aw hell, why don’t I ever have any Kleenex?”

Imani hands us tissues out of her purse and even has to dab at her own eyes.

We all stand in line, in our little trio, dabbing at our eyes and honking our noses and saying I love you guys so much and Stop talking okay? I’m still crying and Siggy starts humming the theme from The Golden Girls and that gets us over the emotional hump.

We inch forward, waiting to show our badges to the door guards. Behind us, there’s a ruckus, a person shouting “Whoa!” and laughter.

I turn and there are two people in head-to-toe hazmat suits pushing through the crowd, holding up some kind of scanner, sweeping it at people.

Imani laughs, and she lifts her phone for some pictures.

“Weirdos,” Siggy laughs.

“No, it’s cool!” I half wish I was cosplaying, but then decide I want to experience my first con as me.

In front of us, two zombies, a man and woman, sink a little when they see the hazmat guys.

“Rut-roh, they’re coming for us,” the man zombie says, smiling at me. I guess because he heard me say the cosplayers were cool.

“Don’t let them get you, babe,” the woman zombie replies. Her makeup is so cool. There’s a gaping bite mark in her neck, her skin looks positively necrotic, and her eyes are clouded with milky cataracts.

“Wow, you guys look amazing,” I say. “Can we take a pic­ture with you?”

“Absolutely!” she says, so we get in the exhibit hall and slide to the side. I ask a man to take our photo, and the three of us act scared while the man and woman strike hun­gry-zombie poses at us.

“Thanks! Have a great day!” Imani says. The man groans and makes these wet choking noises, and the woman lets her head fall forward as she starts shuffling away.

The man stumbles after her, takes her arm, and steers her down the first aisle on the right.

They hold hands, and stumble-shuffle away. People all around are laughing good-naturedly, taking pictures of the zombie couple.

“True love, you guys,” Siggy says. “Till death do they part. And then not even then.”

“Those sweet kids. I hope everything works out for them,” I say.

“They’re already dead,” Imani says. “What’s the worst thing that could happen?”

 

Girls Save the World in This One hits shelves April, 2020!

 

 

Looking for other amazing reads to fall in love with until then? Check out these 10 reasons you’re frankly going to fall in love with FRANKLY IN LOVE!

#WhatsTrending

Penguin Teen Cover Reveal Bonanza!

It’s cover reveal time! Today, we are revealing not one, not two, but SIX covers, from debut authors to the return of beloved fantasy characters! We may have even snatched an excerpt for each of these new reads for you to get an early taste of each one. New books will be added here as they are revealed, … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: STORMBREAK by Natalie C. Parker

  June may be coming to an end, but we are looking forward to continuing to #ReadPrideAndBeyond all year long with upcoming spectacular 2020 reads. And we’re sharing an excerpt today from one of them! Stormbreak by Natalie C. Parker is the epic conclusion to the Seafire trilogy, applauded by Tor.com for celebrating “sisterhood and queernormativity in the face … Continued
See More

Week 2 Recap: The Beautiful Read-Along!

It was week 2 of of sinking our teeth into Renée Ahdieh’s The Beautiful. We have been loving reading this book alongside you all this month and this book is KILLING IT! As week 2 of our Read-Along comes to a close, here are some of our favorite posts from readers who are reading (or re-reading) the book with … Continued
See More

Start reading They Wish They Were Us by Jessica Goodman

One of 2020’s most highly-anticipated reads They Wish They Were Us by Jessica Goodman is right around the corner, but we can’t wait until then to start reading. So today we’re sharing 20 pages of it! Scroll down for a sneak peek at the murder mystery of the summer! Scroll down to read and don’t forget to … Continued
See More

ICYMI: the cover for Super Fake Love Song is here!

Super Fake Love Song by David Yoon, author of Frankly in Love, is hitting shelves November 17th, and we are SO in love with this cover. Scroll down to take a look and read a bit about the book!     From the bestselling author of Frankly in Love comes a contemporary YA rom-com where a case of mistaken … Continued
See More

2020 YA Preview!

Hello and WELCOME to the 2020 YA preview! We’re talking all early info on upcoming 2020 books we cannot WAIT to read and all the amazing books out so far this year!   All the Days Past, All the Days to Come by Mildred D. Taylor – January 7, 2020 The saga of the Logan family–made … Continued
See More

The Beautiful: The Recap

Diving into The Damned by Renée Ahdieh this week? We’re here to give you a refresher on what happened in book 1, The Beautiful!     The Beautiful starts with Celine fleeing Paris, sailing to New Orleans with Pippa, her best friend, to live at a local convent. via GIPHY   Celine, by the way, is one hell … Continued
See More

#ReadPrideAndBeyond with these books!

This Pride Month, we’re celebrating with books that highlight extraordinary LGBTQ+ stories. Funny, heartbreaking, suspenseful, romantic – there’s a little something for everyone on this list, so scroll down on for some of our favorites and #ReadPrideAndBeyond all year long! Plus, don’t forget to enter our sweeps to win a stack!   Click here to enter our #ReadPrideAndBeyond … Continued
See More

Read the first 3 chapters of Goddess in the Machine by Lora Beth Johnson!

Goddess in the Machine by Lora Beth Johnson just hit shelves! In this smart, thrilling sci-fi adventure, perfect for fans of Renegades and Aurora Rising, Andra wakes up from a cryogenic sleep 1,000 years later than she was supposed to, forcing her to team up with an exiled prince to navigate an unfamiliar planet. Scroll down to read the … Continued
See More

A Mood Reader’s Roadmap

Are you a mood reader? We’ve got you! We’ve put together a list of reads perfect for all of the reading moods, including some of 2020’s hottest reads and what’s about to hit shelves next!   In the mood for a fantasy that will take you away for a bit? You should read…   The Kinder Poison by … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP