Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Cover Reveal: I GUESS I LIVE HERE NOW

SHARE

Cover reveal! For fans of Never Have I Ever and Crazy Rich Asians, I Guess I Live Here Now by Claire Ahn is a journey to the place where trends are born—Seoul, Korea—where Melody Lee unwillingly moves with her family and must start a new life, a new school…and maybe a new romance.

Melody always wanted to get to know the Korean side of her Korean American heritage better, but not quite like this. Thanks to a tiny transgression after school one day, she’s shocked to discover that her parents have decided to move her and her mom out of New York City to join her father in Seoul—immediately! Barely having the chance to say goodbye to her best friend before she’s on a plane, Melody is resentful, angry, and homesick.

But she soon finds herself settling into their super luxe home, meeting cool friends at school, and discovering the alluring aspects of living in Korea–trendsetting fashion, delectable food, her dad’s black card, and a cute boy to hang out with. Life in Seoul is amazing…until cracks begin to form on its shiny surface. Troubling family secrets, broken friendships, and a lost passion are the prices Melody has to pay for her new life, but is it worth it?

Claire Ahn’s charming, effervescent debut lets you taste every bite of kalbi, bathe in the glow of Seoul’s neon lights, and feel every high and low of Melody’s journey across the world and within her heart.

Scroll down to see the cover and read an excerpt!

I guess i live here now

Cover art: Mozza

Cover/jacket design: Danielle Ceccolini 

 

Yura pulls me to the dance floor with her, and I’m dancing away my stress about school, my fear of being stuck in Korea forever, the distance between me and my parents, the weird unspoken rift between me and Soph. To be able to release my guilt like this, even temporarily, feels amazing. Eventually, Wonjae, Kimbeom, and Junghoon join us, and the five of us are cheering, drinking, and dancing together. This is unlike any night I’ve ever experienced . . . and it’s so much fun! When I finally wear myself out dancing, I wobble back to the sofa, where I plop down and pour my third or fourth glass of champagne.

Wonjae is back at the table already, alone and on his phone, sitting not too far from me. The alcohol makes me bold; I’ve seen this happen in movies and now I know it’s real.

“Hi,” I say, scooting closer to him.

He gives me a funny look. “Hey,” he says. “You okay?”

I nod and bring my hands to my cheeks. They feel warm. “Yeah. Just needed to take a break from the dance floor.”

“Feeling better from earlier today?” he asks.

“Mmhmm. Dancing really is a stress reliever. I think I’ll come to Octagon every weekend.” My words come out a little slower than usual. I inch in a tiny bit closer, close enough that I can talk at a normal volume and he can hear me perfectly fine. If I lower my head just a bit, I can smell his clean, fresh laundry scent.

“I’m glad you came,” he says. A warm, kind smile spreads across his face. It’s a smile that makes me feel like he only sees me right now, and there’s a glittering sensation in my chest as my heart rate goes up.

But that glittering has a side effect of apparently making me wild, because a moment later, my body is moving on autopilot and I’m leaning forward and pressing my lips to his. I pull back in shock, and he does, too. My eyes are big, my cheeks are burning, but the next second he leans in and our lips meet again. He wraps his arms around my waist, and our long kiss becomes several kisses, growing in intensity. He moves a hand up to my cheek and draws me even closer to him. My hands are on his shoulders and sliding down his back and I lean deeper into him, tugging at the bottom of his shirt.

My head is spinning now and I’m smiling a lot, and in between kisses, we drink more champagne. His lips taste sweet, and I can’t tell if my dizzy buzz is from this champagne or from kissing or both. My eyes flutter open for a brief second just in time to spot the others leaving the dance floor, though they don’t see us through the crowds. I pull away and scooch to a more friend-zone safe spot and pour myself another drink.

For the rest of the night, Wonjae and I sneak little glances at each other, but nothing more. I attach myself to Yura’s hip, and we weave through crowds and dance in different locations throughout the night. The club gets even more packed as the night goes on, and whether it’s the dizzying strobe lights flashing all over or that there’s barely any space to actually move or that I had three drinks too many, my mind keeps going back to the kiss, and I want to find Wonjae for more.

 

 

Preorder your copy here

#Newsyoucanuse

Cover Reveal: SO, THIS IS LOVE by Tracy Andreen

Cover reveal! In the sequel to Tracy Andreen’s debut romantic comedy So, This Is Christmas, we follow Finley and Arthur back to Barrington Academy for a swoony semester in So, This Is Love, coming December 20, 2022! Scroll down to see the cover and read more. Cover design by Jessica Jenkins and Theresa Evangelista   Finley and Arthur … Continued
See More

May 2022 Books: Here’s What’s Coming to Shelves!

We MAY have some really great reads for your shelf this May! Scroll down to see what’s about to hit shelves.   5/3: The Noh Family by Grace K. Shim – This sparkling K-drama inspired debut novel introduces irrepressibly charming teen Chloe Chang, who is reunited with her deceased father’s estranged family via a DNA test, … Continued
See More

Books coming to shelves in March 2022!

These books are coming to shelves in March 2022! Is your TBR ready?!   3/1: All My Rage by Sabaa Tahir From #1 New York Times bestselling author Sabaa Tahir comes a brilliant, unforgettable, and heart-wrenching contemporary YA novel about family and forgiveness, love and loss, in a sweeping story that crosses generations and continents.   3/1: The … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: ETERNALLY YOURS edited by Patrice Caldwell

Cover reveal! Vampires and merpeople, angels and demons—the paranormal is full of  unusual beings. The stories in this anthology imagine worlds where the only thing more powerful than the supernatural, is love. Coming September 20, 2022! Scroll down to see the cover of Eternally Yours! Illustrator: Hillary D. Wilson Designer: Kelley Brady   Contributors include:  Kalynn … Continued
See More

YA Books hitting shelves in April 2022!

From HOTLY anticipated fantasy debuts to beloved reads coming to paperback, here’s what’s hitting shelves in April, 2022!   4/5: Hotel Magnifique by Emily J. Taylor Decadent and darkly enchanting, this lavish YA fantasy debut follows seventeen-year-old Jani as she uncovers the deeply disturbing secrets of the legendary Hotel Magnifique.   4/5: You Are More … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: AZAR ON FIRE by Olivia Abtahi

Cover reveal! Finding her voice takes on a whole new meaning when fourteen-year-old Azar Rossi sets out to win her local Battle of the Bands contest in this heartfelt and hilarious contemporary YA. Get ready for Azar on Fire, from the author of Perfectly Parvin! Fourteen-year-old Azar Rossi’s first year of high school has mostly been silent, and intentionally … Continued
See More

See the new paperback cover for WHEN WE MAKE IT by Elisabet Velasquez!

When We Make It by Elisabet Velasquez is an unforgettable, torrential, and hopeful debut young adult novel-in-verse that redefines what it means to “make it,” for readers of Nicholasa Mohr and Elizabeth Acevedo, now with a new paperback look! Scroll down to see the new cover and read more. Designer: Theresa Evangelista Illustrator: Chloe Zola    Sarai … Continued
See More

Did you see these 7 recent YA cover reveals?

Time for a cover reveal bonanza! Here are 7 YA reads to add to your 2022 reading list.   Finding her voice takes on a whole new meaning when fourteen-year-old Azar Rossi sets out to win her local Battle of the Bands contest in this heartfelt and hilarious contemporary YA. Fourteen-year-old Azar Rossi’s first year … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: AS YOU WALK ON BY by Julian Winters

Cover reveal time! The Breakfast Club meets Can’t Hardly Wait with an unforgettable ensemble cast in another swoony YA contemporary from award-winning author Julian Winters. Get ready for As You Walk on By, coming to shelves January 17, 2023! Scroll down to see the cover and read more! Cover illustrator: Cannaday Chapman    Designer: Kaitlin Yang    Seventeen-year-old Theo Wright has … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: SECRETS SO DEEP by Ginny Myers Sain

From the bestselling author of Dark and Shallow Lies comes a moody and atmospheric paranormal thriller about a seventeen-year-old girl returning to an exclusive theater camp to uncover the truth of what really happened there twelve years ago, the night her mother drowned. Get ready to read Secrets So Deep! Twelve years ago, Avril’s mother drowned at Whisper … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP