Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Cover Reveal: PRACTICE GIRL by Estelle Laure

SHARE

Cover reveal! Jo never heard of the label “practice girl”…until she was called one. And those two devastating words would irreversibly change the way she saw everyone–including herself.

Jo Beckett is looking for love. She’s fallen for a few boys, but for some reason, they’ve never fallen for her. One night, at a party she didn’t even want to go to, she finds out the truth. Those boys, who are on the wrestling team she manages, consider her just a “practice girl”—the popular term for girl who’s good enough to hook up with but not to date.

With this crushing revelation, Jo feels so many things–heartsick, ashamed, betrayed, and angry. But she refuses to let that label define her. In piecing her life back together, Jo is forced to unpack more uncomfortable truths about all her relationships–from her best friend to the boy she likes–that help her understand her real worth.

From the author of the acclaimed This Raging Light, Practice Girl is a heart-wrenching, relatable, and ultimately triumphant story about a girl who rejects her label and decides for herself who she is to the world.

 

Scroll down to see the cover of Practice Girl and read a sneak peek!

PracticeGirl_ONLINE

Ty slides the box of cereal over and considers me. I’m hoping he’s thinking about how we just crossed over a new relationship threshold, maybe doing a little obsessing of his own. What I really want is to believe that the tenderness he showed me as we climbed the stairs to his room, as he held my hand, took his time removing my clothes, made appreciative noises at the sight of my naked body, is still there now that we’ve done it. I cross my arm over my chest and grip my own shoulder even though I’m not naked anymore.

He leans over and pats my free hand. My stomach plummets into my feet. This friendly patting of the hand does not bode well.

“Jo?” he says, his eyes deep, the color of mountain earth.

“Yeah?”

“Can I ask you something?” I recognize the look he gets when he’s trying a new wrestling move—total concentration.

“Of course.” I arrange my face into its best approximation of attentive and extremely attractive.

He doesn’t meet my eyes. “Was that . . . okay?” he asks.

“Okay?”

“Yeah. I mean, am I okay? Was it . . . satisfying for you? When we . . .” He tilts his head toward mine. “I just want to make sure I didn’t suck. That you weren’t like, ‘I wish he would hurry up and stop touching me like that’ or counting down the seconds until you could get away from me or something. I mean . . . when I put my finger on your—”

“No!” I cut him off.

“No? No, that was not good?” He leans forward, spoon in hand. Little droplets of milk hang at its edges. I would not be surprised if he produced a notebook from his pocket and started taking notes.

I put my hand over his to reassure him. “Yeah, Ty. It’s good. You’re good. Great.”

Ty’s face relaxes. “Okay, cool,” he says. “It’s hard to know, you know?” He resumes eating. Vigorously.

I want to tell him that it’s actually not hard to know, but I decide there’ll be time for that later.

Looking at him now with his pinked-up cheeks and shifty eyes, I’m pretty sure Tyler Martinez is actually into me, and what I had mistaken for ambivalence has been insecurity all along. It can’t be easy to be a guy. They’ve had to put themselves out there and risk rejection for as long as our social norms have been in place.

Now his face transforms from grave concern to his usual confidence. “I mean, I thought you liked it.” Ty chews on a huge, happy bite of cereal. “But you could have been faking or something.”

“Faking?” I mean, I was faking a little, adding some extra drama.

“I heard girls do that. I don’t know! I’ve only ever been with one other person and it was a couple years ago.” He points to my bowl. “You’re not eating.”

“You’re great, really.” I take a soggy bite. I hope more reassurance will take us out of the sex-talk zone, which is all full of skin and bodily fluids, and into the other one, where I find out where we actually stand. I know these are conversations that should happen before, but it’s like I forget or something.

“I’m so glad we’re friends, Jo,” he says after gulping down his sugar milk. “I want you to know that. Sincerely. You’re the coolest girl I know.”

I’m almost positive all the blood drains out of my face.

Friends?

“But I’ve been thinking . . .” he says as he goes to the sink and rinses his bowl. “Maybe we should stop this before it gets awkward. It’s been amazing, but it feels like the right time, don’t you think?”

Wait, what?

 

Preorder your copy here

Looking for more great 2022 reads? Here are 6 of our most-anticipated fantasy novels!

#Newsyoucanuse

Cover Reveal: SO, THIS IS LOVE by Tracy Andreen

Cover reveal! In the sequel to Tracy Andreen’s debut romantic comedy So, This Is Christmas, we follow Finley and Arthur back to Barrington Academy for a swoony semester in So, This Is Love, coming December 20, 2022! Scroll down to see the cover and read more. Cover design by Jessica Jenkins and Theresa Evangelista   Finley and Arthur … Continued
See More

May 2022 Books: Here’s What’s Coming to Shelves!

We MAY have some really great reads for your shelf this May! Scroll down to see what’s about to hit shelves.   5/3: The Noh Family by Grace K. Shim – This sparkling K-drama inspired debut novel introduces irrepressibly charming teen Chloe Chang, who is reunited with her deceased father’s estranged family via a DNA test, … Continued
See More

Books coming to shelves in March 2022!

These books are coming to shelves in March 2022! Is your TBR ready?!   3/1: All My Rage by Sabaa Tahir From #1 New York Times bestselling author Sabaa Tahir comes a brilliant, unforgettable, and heart-wrenching contemporary YA novel about family and forgiveness, love and loss, in a sweeping story that crosses generations and continents.   3/1: The … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: ETERNALLY YOURS edited by Patrice Caldwell

Cover reveal! Vampires and merpeople, angels and demons—the paranormal is full of  unusual beings. The stories in this anthology imagine worlds where the only thing more powerful than the supernatural, is love. Coming September 20, 2022! Scroll down to see the cover of Eternally Yours! Illustrator: Hillary D. Wilson Designer: Kelley Brady   Contributors include:  Kalynn … Continued
See More

YA Books hitting shelves in April 2022!

From HOTLY anticipated fantasy debuts to beloved reads coming to paperback, here’s what’s hitting shelves in April, 2022!   4/5: Hotel Magnifique by Emily J. Taylor Decadent and darkly enchanting, this lavish YA fantasy debut follows seventeen-year-old Jani as she uncovers the deeply disturbing secrets of the legendary Hotel Magnifique.   4/5: You Are More … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: AZAR ON FIRE by Olivia Abtahi

Cover reveal! Finding her voice takes on a whole new meaning when fourteen-year-old Azar Rossi sets out to win her local Battle of the Bands contest in this heartfelt and hilarious contemporary YA. Get ready for Azar on Fire, from the author of Perfectly Parvin! Fourteen-year-old Azar Rossi’s first year of high school has mostly been silent, and intentionally … Continued
See More

See the new paperback cover for WHEN WE MAKE IT by Elisabet Velasquez!

When We Make It by Elisabet Velasquez is an unforgettable, torrential, and hopeful debut young adult novel-in-verse that redefines what it means to “make it,” for readers of Nicholasa Mohr and Elizabeth Acevedo, now with a new paperback look! Scroll down to see the new cover and read more. Designer: Theresa Evangelista Illustrator: Chloe Zola    Sarai … Continued
See More

Did you see these 7 recent YA cover reveals?

Time for a cover reveal bonanza! Here are 7 YA reads to add to your 2022 reading list.   Finding her voice takes on a whole new meaning when fourteen-year-old Azar Rossi sets out to win her local Battle of the Bands contest in this heartfelt and hilarious contemporary YA. Fourteen-year-old Azar Rossi’s first year … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: AS YOU WALK ON BY by Julian Winters

Cover reveal time! The Breakfast Club meets Can’t Hardly Wait with an unforgettable ensemble cast in another swoony YA contemporary from award-winning author Julian Winters. Get ready for As You Walk on By, coming to shelves January 17, 2023! Scroll down to see the cover and read more! Cover illustrator: Cannaday Chapman    Designer: Kaitlin Yang    Seventeen-year-old Theo Wright has … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: SECRETS SO DEEP by Ginny Myers Sain

From the bestselling author of Dark and Shallow Lies comes a moody and atmospheric paranormal thriller about a seventeen-year-old girl returning to an exclusive theater camp to uncover the truth of what really happened there twelve years ago, the night her mother drowned. Get ready to read Secrets So Deep! Twelve years ago, Avril’s mother drowned at Whisper … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP