Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Cover Reveal: THE GIRLS ARE NEVER GONE by Sarah Glenn Marsh

SHARE

Cover reveal time! The Conjuring meets Sadie in The Girls Are Never Gone by Sarah Glenn Marsh when seventeen-year-old podcaster Dare takes an internship in a haunted house and finds herself in a life-or-death struggle against an evil spirit.

Scroll down to see the cover and read an excerpt of this chilling read!

9780803739260_NearlyGone_JKT.indd

Jacket design: Kristin Boyle

Photographer: Marko Nadj

 

Once we’ve crossed the bridge, we take another dirt road, this one less traveled. The path ahead is studded with the occasional rock that makes Mom gasp when it plinks against the windshield. At last, we reach the base of the gentle slope up to the house and begin a slow crawl along the driveway. Paradise Lake looks murkier up close, less pristine than it did from above on the bridge, as it laps at the shore to our left.

You’d think the water in a lake called Paradise would be a little less muddy.

Out my window is a wooded field. Most of the trees have been reduced to stumps poking out of the earth like jagged teeth, no doubt waiting to be ground to dust to make way for a visitors’ parking lot.

The house itself watches our approach through shattered eyes, having taken a few rocks to its front windows. It’s just as big as the beast it appeared to be in pictures, though less polished. It crouches against the trees that flank it on either side, as if trying to disappear into the sprawling woods, afraid of someone seeing the slight sag in its double-story columned porch, the lingering graffiti stark on its white, peeling sides, the overgrown lawn, the moss that clings patchily to its shingles. Behind the house, farther away than they appear, the mountains, those huddled blue giants, see everything.

Was Atheleen Bell happy to see this place when her family arrived? Did she flash her wide, carefree smile, imagining the summer adventures she’d have on the grounds? Did she—like I soon would—shoulder her bags and stride eagerly toward the porch, her little black-and-white cat at her side? Or did she shrink back from the sight of the neglected building starved for love? Perhaps it looked less forbidding in her day, even though it was old back then, too.

By the time Mom stops the car as close to the front door as she seems willing to get, the afternoon clouds covering the sun have stained the mountains the deep plum of a bruise. I lean against her, inhaling the familiar scents of coffee, dog dander, and spring meadow fabric softener—of home.

“You’re sure you want to do this, baby girl?” she asks softly, frowning up at the house.

“You’re just salty because you’re going to miss my cooking for a whole month, and you’ll have to order takeout every night,” I try to tease, but as I follow her gaze, my voice gets smaller until it vanishes altogether.

There are secrets in that house, concealed by cracked paint and faded grandeur. Who knows what I might dig up during the renovation process ahead? Perhaps evidence about the life and death of a girl my age—and I’m ready to explore. I’m not leaving without some insight into Atheleen’s final days and a bigger follower count.

The Arrington Estate is a dark place, but I like the dark. It’s content, it’s quiet and empty. Just as I’ve done so many times before, I’ll reach out into the darkness, safe in knowing nothing ever reaches back.

 

 

Pre-order your copy here!

 

 

Looking for some gripping reads to hold you over while you wait for this one to hit shelves? Make sure to check out the mysterious case of the Hollow sisters in House of Hollow!

#WhatsTrending

COVER REVEAL: Edie in Between

Edie in Between by Laura Sibson is a modern-day Practical Magic about love, loss, and embracing the mystical. It’s been one year since Edie’s mother died—but her ghost has never left. And when her mother’s teenage journal tumbles into her life, her family’s mystical inheritance becomes once and for all too hard to ignore. As … Continued
See More

5 Reasons it’s time to hop on the House of Hollow hype train

House of Hollow by Krystal Sutherland is the talk of the (bookish) town, and here are just a few reasons we invite you to hop on the House of Hollow hype train!   1. THE PLOT TWIST via GIPHY No spoilers, but…you’re not ready.   2. The writing will give you chills. via GIPHY “She was a … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: HELLO (FROM HERE)

Cover reveal time! Hello (From Here) is a witty and thought-provoking YA love story set during the COVID-19 quarantine, written by two NYT bestselling authors, with shades of Five Feet Apart and Anna and the French Kiss. Maxine and Jonah bump into each other in the canned goods aisle of the grocery store just as the state of California is going into lockdown, … Continued
See More

House of Hollow quotes that give us CHILLS

House of Hollow by Krystal Sutherland is filled to the brim with quotes that give us CHILLS. It was hard to narrow down, but here are our top 7 favorites!   About House of Hollow:  A dark, twisty modern fairytale where three sisters discover they are not exactly all that they seem and evil things really … Continued
See More

Start reading HOUSE OF HOLLOW

One of 2021’s most anticipated reads is just around the corner! House of Hollow is a dark, twisty modern fairytale where three sisters discover they are not exactly all that they seem and evil things really do go bump in the night. Scroll down to start reading! PROLOGUE I was ten years old the first … Continued
See More

FLAMEFALL is coming, and you can start reading it now!

Dragons and romance and political intrigue, oh my! Revolutionary flames ignite around Annie, Lee, and a brand new character in the follow-up to Fireborne, Flamefall! Scroll down to start reading! Psst! Need to catch up on Fireborne first? Click here for more info! Chapter One: New Pythos GRIFF Julia’s missing, and I’m in a terrible mood. … Continued
See More

5 Things We Can’t Wait to See in the Shadow and Bone Netflix Series

Onward to Ravka, my dear Grisha. We couldn’t be more excited that the TV adaptation of Leigh Bardugo’s unforgettable Shadow and Bone trilogy is magicking its way onto Netflix this Friday, April 23rd. It’s finally time to see Alina, Mal, Genya, Zoya, the Darkling, and many others of our favorite Grishaverse characters take their rightful … Continued
See More

COVER REVEAL: When We Make It

When We Make It by Elisabet Velasquez is an unforgettable young adult debut novel-in-verse that redefines what it means to “make it,” touching on themes of mental illness, sexual assault, food insecurity and gentrification, in the Nuyorican literary tradition of Nicholasa Mohr and the work of contemporary writer Elizabeth Acevedo. Scroll down to see the … Continued
See More

Unforgettable Siblings in YA for National Siblings Day!

There are a lot of siblings with protagonist brothers or sisters who have a knack for stealing the spotlight on account of being awesome, and we want to take a moment to appreciate them! So, here are 10 of our favorite siblings from YA in honor of National Sibling Day!   House of Hollow by … Continued
See More

See the cover of DARK AND SHALLOW LIES and read an excerpt!

We are so excited to show you the cover for Dark and Shallow Lies by Ginny Myers Sain! A teen girl disappears from her small town deep in the bayou, where magic festers beneath the surface of the swamp like water rot, in this chilling debut supernatural thriller for fans of Natasha Preston, Karen McManus, and Rory Power. … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP