Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

See the EXCLUSIVE cover reveal of A Land of Permanent Goodbyes by Atia Abawi

SHARE

We’re thrilled to reveal the cover of A Land of Permanent Goodbyes by Atia Abawi, a heartbreaking and timely story of refugees escaping from war-torn Syria, masterfully told by a foreign news correspondent who experienced the crisis firsthand.

 

About the book:

Tareq lives in Syria with his warm and loving family, until the bombs strike. He, his father, and his younger sister are the only survivors, and they have no choice but to go to Raqqa, where they have extended family. But Raqqa is a stronghold for Daesh, the militant group claiming to follow the tennets of Islam, yet who really exist only to enable violence and intolerance. Tareq’s family leave quickly, and Tareq heads to Istanbul with his cousin. From there, reunited with his younger sister, they flee successfully to Greece.

This is a story of resilience in the face of darkness, and of one boy’s courage in desperate circumstances. But it is also the story of all wars, of all tragedy, and of all strife. With Destiny as a narrator offering perspective and context, readers see that this conflict in Syria is part of a long chain of wars throughout time — and that, throughout all of those wars, there have also been heroes, small and large, who prove that humanity is ultimately inclined toward good.

 

Check out the beautiful cover below, and read a piece from the author, Atia Abawi!

 

Untitled-4

 

In the summer of 2015 while visiting my parents in California, my dad opened up a folder to find the birth certificate and medical papers I needed for what I don’t even remember. Among the documents were our refugee papers and old passports—identification cards I was too young to remember receiving.

 

A few weeks later my eyes were glued to the TV screen as I watched hundreds of thousands of people escaping the Syrian war. They were risking their lives on boats, trekking along the sides of Europe’s busy highways, and pushing strollers and wheel chairs through muddy fields. They were people who only a few years prior lived normal lives in their comfortable homes.

 

As a former refugee I saw a familiarity that I couldn’t shake. Although my family’s story took place at a different time and started in a different country, the stories seemed almost parallel. My parents had a comfortable life with great jobs in the peaceful Afghan capital they had grown up in – but that all came crashing down at the onset of the Soviet war in 1979. They tried to stick it out, but as the years passed the scarier it became. Both my grandfathers were imprisoned for being army generals under pre-communist leaderships. Even family members within the new government turned on my parents for not embracing communism. To protect their children, my parents finally left.

 

After their own terrifying and tiresome journey, my parents found refuge first in Germany. My mom was 8-months pregnant with me and my brother was 2-years-old. A year later we were welcomed as refugees to America. Life continued to be difficult but I count my blessings every day for the decision they made and the risks they took. I sometimes wonder what would have happened if they didn’t leave – it never ends happily.

 

As I watched the Syrians fleeing I felt a pained connection. And when I read and heard the vitriol against them, my heart broke. They were all human beings whose lives had been torn apart and ravaged. They were not people who wanted to leave their country, they were people who were forced to, not just for a better life but for a chance to live.

 

I wrote A Land of Permanent Goodbyes to humanize the refugee crisis we see today. Like with my first novel, The Secret Sky, I want readers to see beyond the headlines and short video clips. I’ll never forget, and never want to forget, the pain I felt day after day researching this novel – speaking with refugees, witnessing what was happening in Greece, standing in the lifejacket graveyard among thousand upon thousands of lifejackets, each representing a person who took the risk to live. The abandoned baby shoe I brought back home with me sits in my office and I often wonder where the little girl is now. I hope my book can in some way give the reader a better understanding of those who are living the crisis as they relate to the characters. And I hope maybe—just maybe—it will inspire them to do what they can to help or at least understand.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#Newsyoucanuse

Books Hitting Shelves in March 2021!

Prepare your TBRs! March is bringing in some HIGHLY-anticipated reads. Here’s what’s about to hit shelves!   3/2: The Queen’s Secret by Melissa de la Cruz – From #1 bestselling author Melissa de la Cruz comes the heart-pounding follow-up to The Queen’s Assassin, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Holly Black.   3/2: Singled Out by Andrew … Continued
See More

COVER REVEAL: So, This Is Christmas

Already missing the holiday season? We’re here with some exciting news and a holiday read to look forward to…from an actual Hallmark movie screenwriter! Yep, Tracy Andreen has written a few beloved holiday classics, including the Penguin Teen favorite The Spirit of Christmas (time-traveling hot ghost learns to love again – WATCH IT!) Sarah Dessen … Continued
See More

Switch by A.S. King COVER REVEAL!

If you’ve read an A.S. King novel, you KNOW it is an event! And we’re so EXCITED, because 2021 brings a new genre-defying, game-changing, only-A.S.-King-could-write-this read! Switch will keep you intrigued until the very last page. And of course, the mystery continues with a truly amazing cover! But first, what can you expect from Switch: From … Continued
See More

TBR Check: make sure these romance reads are on your radar!

There are so many sweet romances hitting shelves this year, and we want to make sure you don’t miss a single one! Scroll down for just a few of our highly-anticipated swoony reads coming this year.   The Queen’s Secret by Melissa de la Cruz – Coming March 2! From #1 bestselling author Melissa de la … Continued
See More

A Beginner’s Guide to the Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children Series

With the sixth and final novel in the Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children series The Desolations of Devil’s Acre hitting shelves, we’ve created a beginner’s guide to this one-of-a-kind series to help you catch up for the finale! Also, can we TALK ABOUT THE COVER? Alright, let’s dive in!   What is the order of the books? It’s best to read … Continued
See More

January Books: Here’s What’s Hitting Shelves!

New year, new books! Here’s what’s hitting shelves this January.   12/29: Fireborne by Rosaria Munda – This technically hit shelves at the end of December, but we want to make sure you don’t miss out on the GORGEOUS new paperback of one of our favorite fantasy reads! Click here to see the new cover … Continued
See More

COVER REVEAL: The Passing Playbook

You know those books that you LOVE! The books that you’d ride or die for and will spend the rest of your days telling everyone you ever meet to just READ IT. Well, Isaac Fitzsimon’s The Passing Playbook is about to join those ranks of BELOVED reads. With fans including Becky Albertalli, Kacen Callender, Adib Khorram, … Continued
See More

Are you ready for the finale? These series are ending in 2021!

Series finales are always bittersweet. While it’s tough to let go of characters we’ve come to adore, we’re also dying to find out how it all ends! So, here are 8 series you’ll DEFINITELY want to make sure you’re all caught up on before the finales hit shelves this year! (Don’t worry, we tried our best … Continued
See More

February 2021 Books: here’s what’s hitting shelves!

February is coming in with some HIGHLY-anticipated reads, and we’re here to tell you what to add to that TBR list ASAP!   2/2: A Taste for Love by Jennifer Yen – For fans of Jenny Han, Jane Austen, and The Great British Baking Show, A Taste for Love, is a delicious rom com about first love, familial … Continued
See More

The Taking of Jake Livingston COVER REVEAL!

If you’re talking most anticipated debut novels of 2021, then clear your shelves, prepare your eyes and get ready to obsess! Ryan Douglass’ first book, The Taking of Jake Livingston is a chilling, timely ghost story that is as sharp as it is scary. And of course, an AMAZING cover must accompany such a read, but … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP