Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Dear Hollywood, These YA Books Are READY!

SHARE

With the success of recent YA adaptation like Love, Simon, To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before, The Hate U Give and news that a new Harry Potter TV series is in the works– we gotta ask the question: why is Hollywood sleeping on these amazing books that are SCREAMING for adaptation?!

 

An Ember in the Ashes series by Sabaa Tahir

An-Ember-in-the-Ashes-COVER

This is basically the perfect series to fill the Game of Thrones-shaped hole the final season is about to leave in our hearts. Even though we’re honestly we’re a little bit alarmed at the idea of experiencing all the Ember emotions on screen, especially after managing to end the series with a PERFECT final book, in A Sky Beyond the Storm. Choose violence and put Elias, Laia and Helene on the screen!

 

The Legend series by Marie Lu

Legend

Another series that has been taking the slow road to the screen, the Legend series is sadly super relevant and timely. But honestly, we’re all SUPER READY FOR JUNE AND DAY ON THE SCREEN AND WE NEED IT NOW!

 

War Girls by Tochi Onyebuchi

war-girls-cover

Sisters separated in a war torn futuristic world! WE WANT TO SEE THAT. While it’s definitely a heavier YA series, this would be a perfect adaptation for the Marvel fan who wanted more of Killmonger’s story but loved the power of Shuri! And the setting itself is incredibly visual, with war camps, space and everything in between. And just think of the amazing tech that could be on Onyii’s arm!

 

A River of Royal Blood by Amanda Joy

river of royal blood

Speaking of sisters at war, a battle royal that is begging to be adapted, Amanda Joy’s A River of Royal Blood. Throwing the chosen one tale on its head by have two sisters fight to the death to be the chosen on, this would be a perfect fantasy series, with diabolical characters, betrayals and secrets in and out of the royal setting. Shonda Rhimes does fantasy – we could see it work perfectly with Eva and Isa.

Prince Charming by Rachel Hawkins

prince-charming

Netflix is KILLING it with the rom-coms lately AND they’ve also shown an interest in royal movies. So it begs the question – has anyone at Netflix read Prince Charming? And if not, what are you waiting for? This book would be a delightful rom-com movie romp and bonus, Scotland setting! Also, the equally charming Her Royal Highness is ready as the sequel, Flora and Millie falling in love – and we all know Prince Sebastian messy Royal story should be seen!

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Anna-and-the-French-Kiss-COVER

Ever since To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before launched on Netflix we’ve been dying for more beloved YA rom-coms to grace our screens. Proving that we all want to go to Paris, with Emily in Paris – can someone please send Anna and Etienne!?! And then we can go to San Francisco with Lola and Cricket and come back to Paris via New York with Anna and Josh. Taking us traveling without needing to leave our homes.

Seafire by Natalie C Parker

Seafire-New-Cover

 

Pretty sure everyone is on board (see what we did there??) with a Seafire movie. This would be the best kind of genre busting YA adaptation that could take the world by storm (another sailing pun!). Girls kicking butt. Fire and water stunts. Let’s set sail on this adaptation ASAP.

 

Excited for May reads? Checkout every book we have hitting shelves in next month!

#ShelfGoals

The perfect TBR for fans of enemies to lovers books!

Is enemies to lovers your trope of choice? Here are a few reads featuring hate-to-love couples we can’t help but fall for!     What’s Not to Love by Emily Wibberley and Austin Siegemund-Broka In the game of love, there’s always room for extra creditAn enemies-to-lovers YA rom-com filled with perfect banter, nerdy drama, and … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: FLYY GIRLS #3 – Noelle: The Mean Girl by Ashley Woodfolk

The third installment in Ashley Woodfolk’s Flyy Girls series is here! There are only three things that matter to Noelle Lee: her family, school, and the cello. She doesn’t care if people see her as selfish or mean because she knows she has her priorities in order. That’s why when her dad loses his job, Noelle doesn’t … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of We Are the Ashes, We Are the Fire by Joy McCullough

From the author of the acclaimed Blood Water Paint, a new contemporary YA novel in prose and verse about a girl struggling with guilt and a desire for revenge after her sister’s rapist escapes with no prison time. Scroll down to read an excerpt of Joy McCullough’s We Are the Ashes, We Are the Fire. Content warning: this … Continued
See More

Love triangles we LOVE in YA!

Love a good love triangle? Here are a few of our recommendations if you’re looking for your next love triangle to feel deeply conflicted over!   The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae Perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Holly Black, The Kinder Poison is an enthralling fantasy adventure that follows a teenage girl chosen to be … Continued
See More

Start reading THE VALLEY AND THE FLOOD

Debut author Rebecca Mahoney delivers an immersive and captivating novel about magical places, found family, the power of grief and memory, and the journey toward reconciling who you think you’ve become with the person you’ve been all along. Scroll down to start reading The Valley and the Flood by Rebecca Mahoney My taillights cut a path down … Continued
See More

Best Sisters in YA

We love an epic protagonist. But you know who we really need to talk about? The underrated siblings we adore. So here are a few of our favorite sisters in YA!   The Girls I’ve Been by Tess Sharpe Nora O’Malley’s badass big sis is someone you do NOT want to mess with.   The … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: What’s Not to Love

Author couple #Wibbroka is back! What’s Not to Love is an enemies-to-lovers YA romcom filled with perfect banter, nerdy drama, and heart-pounding romance—perfect for fans of Morgan Matson, Emma Lord, and Sandhya Menon. Scroll down to read an excerpt! One I hold my head high, sitting up straight in the passenger seat of my mom’s SUV. Whatever happens, I … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: THE SHADOW WAR

Today we’re sharing an excerpt of Lindsay Smith’s The Shadow War! Inglourious Basterds meets Stranger Things in this dark and thrilling tale of power, shadow, and revenge set during World War II. Scroll down to start reading! Chapter One Liam Liam staggered through the storybook village with a fistful of shadows and a mouthful of lies. The whitewashed … Continued
See More

High Stakes Thrillers That Will Keep You Guessing

If you’re looking to escape real life for a bit for some fictional thrills, these high stakes books have everything you need, from pirates to reanimated sisters to assassins! Scroll down for 17 high stakes thrillers that are sure to keep you guessing.   Rebel Sisters by Tochi Onyebuchi A deadly virus is only one … Continued
See More

Start reading THE WIDE STARLIGHT

The Hazel Wood meets The Astonishing Color of After in this dreamy, atmospheric novel that follows sixteen-year-old Eli as she tries to remember what truly happened the night her mother disappeared off a frozen fjord in Norway under the Northern Lights. Scroll down to start reading The Wide Starlight by Nicole Lesperance! I find the letter one slushy February afternoon, … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP