Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Every Book Coming Out in January 2018

SHARE

New year new TBR, am I right? We are so ready to start this new year off right with seven incredible reads, all coming out in January! We’ve got a lush LGBT fantasy, a powerful refugee story, a collection to fill your heart, and much, much more. Add these to your January TBR immediately!

 

Rookie on Love by Tavi Gevinson

A single-subject anthology about the heart’s most powerful emotion, edited by Rookie creator, Tavi Gevinson. Featuring exclusive essays from John Green, Rainbow Rowell, Alessia Cara, Jenny Zhang, and more, this collection explores all types of love–between lovers, friends, sisters, and more.

 

Traitor to the Throne by Alwyn Hamilton

The sizzling, un-put-downable sequel to the New York Times bestselling Rebel of the Sandsin which Amani finds herself thrust into the epicenter of the regime—the Sultan’s palace— and she’s determined to bring the tyrant down. But the longer she remains, the more she questions whether the Sultan is really the villain she’s been told he is, and who’s the real traitor. Now in paperback!

 

Getting Away with Murder by Chris Crowe

Chris Crowe investigates the before-and-aftermath of Emmett Till’s murder, as well as the dramatic trial and speedy acquittal of his white murderers, situating both in the context of the nascent Civil Rights Movement. Newly reissued with a new chapter of additional material–including recently uncovered details about Till’s accuser’s testimony–this book grants eye-opening insight to the legacy of Emmett Till. Now in paperback!

 

Roses and Radicals by Susan Zimet and Todd Hasak-Lowy

The United States of America is almost 250 years old, but American women won the right to vote less than a hundred years ago. The story of women’s suffrage is epic, frustrating, and as complex as the women who fought for it. Illustrated with portraits, period cartoons, and other images, Roses and Radicals celebrates this captivating yet overlooked piece of American history and the women who made it happen.

 

The Defiant by Lesley Livingston

In this highly anticipated sequel to The Valiant, Fallon and her warrior sisters find themselves thrust into a vicious conflict with a rival gladiator academy, one that will threaten not only Fallon’s heart – and her love for Roman soldier Cai – but the very heart of the ancient Roman Empire.

 

The Valiant by Lesley Livingston

Fallon, the daughter of a Celtic king, is captured and sold to an elite training school for female gladiators. In order to survive, Fallon must overcome vicious rivalries, deadly fights in and out of the arena, and face her irresistible feelings for Cai, a young Roman soldier and her sworn enemy. Now in paperback!

 

A Land of Permanent Goodbyes by Atia Abawi

Narrated by Destiny, this heartbreaking story of refugees escaping from war-torn Syria captures the hope that spurs people forward against all odds. Award-winning author and journalist–and a refugee herself–Atia Abawi captures the hope that spurs people forward against all odds and the love that makes that hope grow.

 

Reign of the Fallen by Sarah Glenn-Marsh

The first novel in this unique fantasy series follows a talented necromancer who must face down a deadly nemesis who has learned how to turn her magic into a weapon. Perfect for fans of Three Dark Crowns and Red Queen, Reign of the Fallen is a gutsy, unpredictable read with a surprising and breathtaking LGBT romance at its core.

 

It’s January 2nd…have you gotten a late start on resolution-making? Check out these bookish resolutions!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#ShelfGoals

7 Alternate Histories to Answer Your Biggest “What If’s…”

Historical fiction is great, but sometimes you need your history with a twist. What if one thing had changed about your favorite historical time period? We’ve rounded up 7 reads that answer some of our favorite “what if’s”.   What if America had lost the Revolutionary War? The Inventor’s Secret by Andrea Roberton (Cremer) After years … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: The Small Crimes of Tiffany Templeton

Excerpt alert! This week we’re reading The Small Crimes of Tiffany Templeton by Richard Fifield. The Serpent King meets Girl in Pieces in this moving and darkly funny story about a teenage girl coming of age and learning how to grieve in small-town Montana. Scroll down to start reading! The court-appointed advocate dropped me off at two o’clock in the morning. … Continued
See More

6 Books to Cuddle Up With

Winter is the best time to be a reader because no one tries to force you to go outside and be “active,” leaving you with plenty of time to cuddle up with a cup of hot cocoa and a good book. Below are a few of our favorites to get all snuggly with, and the … Continued
See More

4 O.G. YA Romances That Must Be Remembered

For many of us book nerds, YA romances were what helped us start to learn what love is. (The PINING. Oh, that unforgettable PINING. 💔) If you’re looking for some romances to cozy up with indoors right now, then we’re here to remind you of some of the ORIGINAL YA romances that some of us … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: A Phoenix First Must Burn

A Phoenix First Must Burn is a collection of sixteen tales by bestselling and award-winning authors that explore the Black experience through fantasy, science fiction, and magic. Evoking Beyoncé’s Lemonade for a teen audience, these authors who are truly Octavia Butler’s heirs, have woven worlds to create a stunning narrative that centers Black women and gender nonconforming individuals. A … Continued
See More

Excerpt alert: The Blossom and the Firefly

This week, we’re reading The Blossom and the Firefly by Sherri L. Smith, a powerful WWII romance between two Japanese teens caught in the cogs of an unwinnable war. Scroll down to read the excerpt! Chapter One Hana Japan 1945 My father’s voice wakes me—thick as wool, slightly scratchy. “Get up, Hana. It’s time to get going.” Music … Continued
See More

10 Books That Will Destroy Your Heart (And Help You Heal)

As the incomparable Mara from Aaron Starmer’s explosive novel Spontaneous sagely said, “No one buying a book cares about metaphors and all that crap. All they want to do is cry.” We all have that book that we sobbed through, or books we return to when we’re in need of a good old fashioned feels … Continued
See More

Top Dragon Book Recommendations…by Author Andrea Tang!

Andrea Tang’s debut, Rebelwing, is hitting shelves THIS.MONTH. We are so psyched to join Prudence Wu on the back of a cybernetic dragon in an epic escape from a smuggling deal gone VERY wrong. If you are here for dragons, dystopia, or action-packed plot, make sure to add this one to the top of your February TBR! … Continued
See More

12 Books to Read If You’re Obsessed With Musical Theater

Do you sing Hamilton in the shower? Wicked in your car? Geeking out to Six the Musical on a regular basis? Here are the musical theater books for you.   The Alex and Eliza Trilogy by Melissa de la Cruz Hey Hamilton lovers, this one is for you. The Alex and Eliza Trilogy is the love story … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: Rebelwing

Happy #FridayReads! Did someone say robot dragons?! This week, we’re reading Rebelwing by Andrea Tang. Read the excerpt below! Chapter 1   The Drop   The whole mess was a long time coming, but the drama really began when the long, sleek snout of a plasma gun interrupted Pru’s breakfast.   “Good morning,” said Alex, black-eyed gaze intent over … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP