Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Every Book Going on Sale in May 2018

SHARE

May officially kicks off summer for us here at Penguin Teen HQ, and we have a TON of great books coming your way. From epic fantasy to surrealist literary fiction, we truly have something for everyone this May. Read on for what to look out for!

 

5/1: The Smoke Thieves by Sally Green: Unforgivable betrayals, devious motives, and forbidden love collide in the first installment of this epic new fantasy series, perfect for Game of Thrones fans.

5/1: Royals by Rachel Hawkins: Daisy has no desire to be in the spotlight, but anonymity isn’t really an option when your sister is marrying the Crown Prince of Scotland. Thankfully, the dashing young aristocrat Miles will be around to show her the royal ropes.

5/1: Perfect Ten by L. Phillips: A gay coming-of-age romantic comedy–perfect for fans of Love, Simon! Now in paperback!

5/1: The One Memory of Flora Banks by Emily Barr: A breathtaking page-turner about a girl with no short-term memory and her remarkable journey, against all odds, to find the one boy able to penetrate her fractured mind. Now in paperback!

5/8: Undead Girl Gang by Lily Anderson: Veronica Mars meets The Craft when a teen girl investigates the suspicious deaths of three classmates and accidentally ends up bringing them back to life to form a hilariously unlikely–and unwilling–vigilante girl gang.

5/8: I Am Gandhi by Brad Meltzer: Twenty-five exceptional comic book creators join forces to share the heroic story of Gandhi in this inspiring graphic novel biography written by New York Times bestselling author Brad Meltzer.

5/8: Boying Up by Mayim Bialik: Mayim Bialik, star of The Big Bang Theory and author of the #1 bestseller Girling Up, puts her Ph.D. to work to talk to teen boys about the science and pressures of growing up male in today’s world. A must-have book for all teenage boys!

5/8: And We’re Off by Dana Schwartz: 13 Little Blue Envelopes meets Gilmore Girls in this fun, funny, and bittersweet summer adventure from Observer writer and the hilarious voice behind @GuyInYourMFA, Dana Schwartz. Now in paperback!

5/8: Flame in the Mist by Renée Ahdieh: From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Wrath and the Dawn, comes a sweeping, action-packed YA adventure set against the backdrop of Feudal Japan. Now in paperback, and the sequel, Smoke in the Sun, is out 6/5!

5/15: We Are All That’s Left by Carrie Arcos: Two lives. Two worlds apart. One deeply compelling story set in both Bosnia and the United States, spanning decades and generations, about the brutality of war and the trauma of everyday life after war, about hope and the ties that bind us together.

5/15: A Million Junes by Emily Henry: Romeo and Juliet meets One Hundred Years of Solitude in Emily Henry’s novel about the daughter and son of two long-feuding families who fall in love while trying to uncover the truth about the strange magic and harrowing curse that has plagued their bloodlines for generations.

5/22: The Strange Fascinations of Noah Hypnotik by David Arnold: From the bestselling author of Mosqiotoland and Kids of Appetite, comes the story of sixteen-year-old Noah, who is hypnotized and quickly realizes nothing in his life is the same.

5/22: Always Never Yours by Austin Siegemund-Broka and Emily Wibberley: Megan is the girl before–all of her exes find their one true love right after dating her. When she is cast in her school’s production of Romeo and Juliet, she meets Owen Okita, a boy who has her considering the lead role in her own love story.

5/22: Once and For All by Sarah Dessen: Hailed as the queen of Young Adult literature, Sarah Dessen delivers a richly satisfying romance with an ending that is so much more than happily-ever-after in her latest novel. Now in paperback!

5/29: Lies You Never Told Me by Jennifer Donaldson: Gabe and Elyse have never met. But they both have something to hide. Told in parallel narratives, this twisty, shocking story shows how one bad choice can lead to a spiral of unforeseen consequences that not everyone will survive.

 

 

Can’t wait for May? See if you missed any of these books that came out in April!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#ShelfGoals

Middle Grade Books by Black Authors You Should Be Reading

  What Lane? by Torrey Maldonado “STAY IN YOUR LANE.” Stephen doesn’t want to hear that–he wants to have no lane.Anything his friends can do, Stephen should be able to do too, right? So when they dare each other to sneak into an abandoned building, he doesn’t think it’s his lane, but he goes. Here’s … Continued
See More

9 Books That Make Great Gift Ideas For Mother’s Day

Mother’s Day is right around the corner, and we know that gift lists for moms are running rampant everywhere. But the best thing about giving books is that you give an experience, too. So we rounded up some of our favorite heartfelt, historical, and humorous books that make great gift ideas for Mother’s Day.   … Continued
See More

Boxsets You Need to Binge

If you’re stuck at home and are officially looking for your next series to binge read, we got you. We’ve rounded up a wish list of our fav bingey boxsets!   John Green: The Complete Collection Box Set Honestly, have tissues on hand. This collection includes paperback editions of Looking for Alaska, An Abundance of Katherines, Paper Towns, … Continued
See More

YA Books by Black Authors You Should Be Reading

From award winning icons such as Mildred D. Taylor to debut voices such as Patrice Caldwell, here are some of the Black authors you should be reading.   A Phoenix First Must Burn edited by Patrice Caldwell Sixteen tales by bestselling and award-winning authors that explore the Black experience through fantasy, science fiction, and magic. … Continued
See More

14 Books to Read During Mental Health Awareness Month

May is Mental Health Awareness Month and we find that books can not only help us understand or sympathize, but can often help us talk about difficult topics. Here are 15 books to read this month to help start a conversation and #endthestigma.   Turtles All the Way Down by John Green Aza is trying. She is trying … Continued
See More

Dancing at the Pity Party: Sneak Peek!

Dancing at the Pity Party by Tyler Feder is part poignant cancer memoir and part humorous reflection on a motherless life. From before her mother’s first oncology appointment through the stages of her cancer to the funeral, sitting shiva, and afterward, when she must try to make sense of her life as a motherless daughter, Tyler … Continued
See More

The 2020/2021 books you need to add to your TBR ASAP

Did you join us for Penguin Teen’s 2020/2021 preview show? Here are the books we talked about! Scroll down to read about some of our most anticipated reads!   They Wish They Were Us by Jessica Goodman – July 21, 2020 Gossip Girl meets One of Us Is Lying with a dash of The Secret History in this slick, taut murder mystery … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of THIS COVEN WON’T BREAK

This Coven Won’t Break is hitting shelves next month! We are so excited for the thrilling sequel to These Witches Don’t Burn and are sharing an excerpt in anticipation of book 2. Scroll down to read! High school. They say it’s the best time of our lives. A time of exploration and endless possibilities. We can try … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: WE ARE NOT FROM HERE

We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez is a poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, inspired by current events. Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE   When you live in a place like this, you’re always planning your escape. Even if you don’t know when you’ll go. Even if … Continued
See More

17 Mystery Books That Will Keep You Guessing

There’s nothing like the adrenaline rush of reading a mystery book, and we’re here to tell you about 17 that will absolutely stump you. Read on for our list of favorite YA mysteries that are ANYTHING but elementary, my dear Watson.   People Like Us by Dana Mele Clue you’ll love it: At Bates Academy, … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP