Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Every Book Going on Sale in May 2018

SHARE

May officially kicks off summer for us here at Penguin Teen HQ, and we have a TON of great books coming your way. From epic fantasy to surrealist literary fiction, we truly have something for everyone this May. Read on for what to look out for!

 

5/1: The Smoke Thieves by Sally Green: Unforgivable betrayals, devious motives, and forbidden love collide in the first installment of this epic new fantasy series, perfect for Game of Thrones fans.

5/1: Royals by Rachel Hawkins: Daisy has no desire to be in the spotlight, but anonymity isn’t really an option when your sister is marrying the Crown Prince of Scotland. Thankfully, the dashing young aristocrat Miles will be around to show her the royal ropes.

5/1: Perfect Ten by L. Phillips: A gay coming-of-age romantic comedy–perfect for fans of Love, Simon! Now in paperback!

5/1: The One Memory of Flora Banks by Emily Barr: A breathtaking page-turner about a girl with no short-term memory and her remarkable journey, against all odds, to find the one boy able to penetrate her fractured mind. Now in paperback!

5/8: Undead Girl Gang by Lily Anderson: Veronica Mars meets The Craft when a teen girl investigates the suspicious deaths of three classmates and accidentally ends up bringing them back to life to form a hilariously unlikely–and unwilling–vigilante girl gang.

5/8: I Am Gandhi by Brad Meltzer: Twenty-five exceptional comic book creators join forces to share the heroic story of Gandhi in this inspiring graphic novel biography written by New York Times bestselling author Brad Meltzer.

5/8: Boying Up by Mayim Bialik: Mayim Bialik, star of The Big Bang Theory and author of the #1 bestseller Girling Up, puts her Ph.D. to work to talk to teen boys about the science and pressures of growing up male in today’s world. A must-have book for all teenage boys!

5/8: And We’re Off by Dana Schwartz: 13 Little Blue Envelopes meets Gilmore Girls in this fun, funny, and bittersweet summer adventure from Observer writer and the hilarious voice behind @GuyInYourMFA, Dana Schwartz. Now in paperback!

5/8: Flame in the Mist by Renée Ahdieh: From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Wrath and the Dawn, comes a sweeping, action-packed YA adventure set against the backdrop of Feudal Japan. Now in paperback, and the sequel, Smoke in the Sun, is out 6/5!

5/15: We Are All That’s Left by Carrie Arcos: Two lives. Two worlds apart. One deeply compelling story set in both Bosnia and the United States, spanning decades and generations, about the brutality of war and the trauma of everyday life after war, about hope and the ties that bind us together.

5/15: A Million Junes by Emily Henry: Romeo and Juliet meets One Hundred Years of Solitude in Emily Henry’s novel about the daughter and son of two long-feuding families who fall in love while trying to uncover the truth about the strange magic and harrowing curse that has plagued their bloodlines for generations.

5/22: The Strange Fascinations of Noah Hypnotik by David Arnold: From the bestselling author of Mosqiotoland and Kids of Appetite, comes the story of sixteen-year-old Noah, who is hypnotized and quickly realizes nothing in his life is the same.

5/22: Always Never Yours by Austin Siegemund-Broka and Emily Wibberley: Megan is the girl before–all of her exes find their one true love right after dating her. When she is cast in her school’s production of Romeo and Juliet, she meets Owen Okita, a boy who has her considering the lead role in her own love story.

5/22: Once and For All by Sarah Dessen: Hailed as the queen of Young Adult literature, Sarah Dessen delivers a richly satisfying romance with an ending that is so much more than happily-ever-after in her latest novel. Now in paperback!

5/29: Lies You Never Told Me by Jennifer Donaldson: Gabe and Elyse have never met. But they both have something to hide. Told in parallel narratives, this twisty, shocking story shows how one bad choice can lead to a spiral of unforeseen consequences that not everyone will survive.

 

 

Can’t wait for May? See if you missed any of these books that came out in April!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#ShelfGoals

Excerpt Alert: Rebelwing

Happy #FridayReads! Did someone say robot dragons?! This week, we’re reading Rebelwing by Andrea Tang. Read the excerpt below! Chapter 1   The Drop   The whole mess was a long time coming, but the drama really began when the long, sleek snout of a plasma gun interrupted Pru’s breakfast.   “Good morning,” said Alex, black-eyed gaze intent over … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: Devil Darling Spy

If you like an edge of thriller in your historical fiction, we’ve got some good news for you. Devil Darling Spy is hitting shelves January 21! This fast-paced follow-up to Orphan Monster Spy follows Sarah’s perilous journey as she hunts a rogue German doctor in Central Africa who might be a serial murderer. This unbearably high-stakes thriller pushes Sarah to … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of THE BEAUTIFUL by Renée Ahdieh

Vampires are making their comeback in just FIVE DAYS, and we’re celebrating with an excerpt! Scroll down to read the first chapter of Renée Ahdieh’s The Beautiful. 1st février, 1872 aboard the CGT Aramis Not What It Seemed The Aramis was supposed to arrive at first light, like it did in Celine’s dreams. She would wake beneath a sunlit … Continued
See More

6 Books to Cuddle Up With

Winter is the best time to be a reader because no one tries to force you to go outside and be “active,” leaving you with plenty of time to cuddle up with a cup of hot cocoa and a good book. Below are a few of our favorites to get all snuggly with, and the … Continued
See More

6 Reads to Help You Recover from Black Friday

You know that day that comes right after the day we all say how thankful we are for the things we have? The one where everyone runs out and risks life and limb to get half-priced plasma screens and tupperware? Black Friday. It’s one that requires a cup of hot cocoa and a stack of good … Continued
See More

October’s most anticipated reads!

To put it simply, October is a very good month for books. And here are 6 of the most highly anticipated you do NOT want to miss!   The Fountains of Silence by Ruta Sepetys – October 1st If you love historical fiction, stunning prose, and a cover you’ll want to keep turned out to gaze … Continued
See More

Excerpt alert: The Blossom and the Firefly

This week, we’re reading The Blossom and the Firefly by Sherri L. Smith, a powerful WWII romance between two Japanese teens caught in the cogs of an unwinnable war. Scroll down to read the excerpt! Chapter One Hana Japan 1945 My father’s voice wakes me—thick as wool, slightly scratchy. “Get up, Hana. It’s time to get going.” Music … Continued
See More

17 Books That Will Get You Hooked on Historical Fiction

Here’s the thing about reading a life-changing historical fiction novel. Once you read one, there’s no going back. You need to read another. And another. And another. So we decided to share the love and round up 17 reads that will get YOU hooked on historical fiction. (Welcome to the dark side. We have cookies.) … Continued
See More

Halloween may be over, but these 4 books will leave you thoroughly creeped out

We love a good Halloween spook, but the best ones are the scares that last year round, and these top 4 reads will probably be keeping us creeped out well into 2020…   Rules for Vanishing by Kate Alice Marshall BY. FAR. One of the CREEPIEST reads of 2019. Rules for Vanishing is a chilling combination of The Blair Witch … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of FIREBORNE

We’ll make it plain: Fireborne is going to destroy you. It is going to do things to your emotions. It’s going to suck you in with the gutting emotional pull of An Ember in the Ashes and then shock you with Game of Thrones-esque plot twists and battles. And it’s all coming October 15th, scroll down to read the … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP