Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Every Book Hitting Shelves in June

SHARE

Here’s a sneak peek of what’s hitting shelves this June!

 

6/2: Jo & Laurie by Melissa de la Cruz and Margaret Stohl – Bestselling authors Margaret Stohl and Melissa de la Cruz bring us a romantic retelling of Little Women starring Jo March and her best friend, the boy next door, Theodore “Laurie” Laurence.

 

6/2: Beyond the Break by Heather Buchta – A funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, if you count her faith… and that’s where things may get complicated. Now available in hardcover and paperback.

 

6/2: Imaginary Borders by Xiuhtezcatl Martinez – In this personal, moving essay, environmental activist and hip-hop artist Xiuhtezcatl Martinez uses his art and his activism to show that climate change is a human issue that can’t be ignored.

 

6/2: The New Queer Conscience by Adam Eli – In The New Queer Conscience, LGBTQIA+ activist Adam Eli argues the urgent need for queer responsibility — that queers anywhere are responsible for queers everywhere.

 

6/2: This Is What I Know About Art by Kimberly Drew – In this powerful and hopeful account, arts writer, curator, and activist Kimberly Drew reminds us that the art world has space not just for the elite, but for everyone.

 

6/2: Beyond the Gender Binary by Alok Vaid-Menon – In Beyond the Gender Binary, poet, artist, and LGBTQIA+ rights advocate Alok Vaid-Menon deconstructs, demystifies, and reimagines the gender binary.

 

6/9: The Haunted by Danielle Vega – A paranormal novel about dark family secrets, deep-seated vengeance, and the horrifying truth that evil often lurks in the unlikeliest of places. Now in paperback!

 

6/16: The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae – Perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Holly Black, The Kinder Poison is an enthralling fantasy adventure that follows a teenage girl chosen to be the human sacrifice in a deadly game between three heirs who will do anything for the crown.

 

6/23: My Eyes Are Up Here by Laura Zimmerman – A razor-sharp debut about a girl struggling to rediscover her sense of self in the year after her body decided to change all the rules.

 

6/23: The Virtue of Sin by Shannon Schuren – A compelling novel about speaking out, standing up, and breaking free — perfect for fans of The Handmaid’s Tale and Tara Westover’s EducatedNow in paperback!

 

6/23: The Stars and the Blackness Between Them by Junauda Petrus – A Coretta Scott King Honor Book. Told in two distinct and irresistible voices, Junauda Petrus’s bold and lyrical debut is the story of two black girls from very different backgrounds finding love and happiness in a world that seems determined to deny them both. Now in paperback! 

 

6/30: Goddess in the Machine by Lora Beth Johnson – Andra wakes up from a cryogenic sleep 1,000 years later than she was supposed to, forcing her to team up with an exiled prince to navigate an unfamiliar planet in this smart, thrilling sci-fi adventure, perfect for fans of Renegades and Aurora Rising.

 

6/30: Our Chemical Hearts by Krystal Sutherland – An irresistible story of first love, broken hearts, and the golden seams that put them back together again–soon to be an Amazon original film starring Lili Reinhart (Riverdale) and Austin Abrams (Paper Towns). Now in paperback!

 

6/30: Dig by A.S. King – With her inimitable surrealism, award winner A.S. King exposes how a toxic culture of polite white supremacy tears a family apart and how one determined generation can dig its way out. Now in paperback!

 

Wanna know what’s coming next? Here are some upcoming 2020 and 2021 books to add to your TBR asap!

#Bookish

Reads by Filipino-American authors for your shelf!

October is Filipino American History Month, and here are a few amazing reads by Filipino American authors we recommend you add to your shelf if you haven’t already!   Patron Saints of Nothing by Randy Ribay A powerful coming-of-age story about grief, guilt, and the risks a Filipino-American teenager takes to uncover the truth about his cousin’s … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: Undead Girl Gang

We’ve been spotlighting some of our favorite reads by Latinx authors in honor of Latinx Heritage Month, and today we’re sharing an excerpt of Undead Girl Gang by Lily Anderson! Meet teenage Wiccan Mila Flores, who truly could not care less what you think about her Doc Martens, her attitude, or her weight because she knows that, … Continued
See More

Books to #ReadPrideAndBeyond all year long!

June may be coming to an end, but we hope you remember to #ReadPrideAndBeyond all year long. Here are just a few reads to look forward to!     Darius the Great Deserves Better by Adib Khorram – August 25 In this companion to the award-winning Darius the Great Is Not Okay, Darius suddenly has it all: … Continued
See More

Beware: these books will keep you up at night

Halloween is almost upon us! So if you’re looking for the next read that’s going to have you either buying a nightlight or bidding sleep adieu altogether, read on for 17 books that will keep you up ALL NIGHT. 👻   The Companion by Katie Alender  THIS FAMILY IS NOT ALRIGHT. Prepare to be on the … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of Juliet Takes a Breath!

Summer may be over, but if you’re not quite ready to let go, pick up Juliet Takes a Breath for a breathtaking, unforgettable summer. Gabby Rivera’s debut follows Juliet Milagros Palante, who is leaving the Bronx and headed to Portland, Oregon. She just came out to her family and isn’t sure if her mom will ever speak to … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: The Boy in the Red Dress

In continuation of our #ReadPrideAndBeyond celebration, we’re sharing an excerpt from The Boy in the Red Dress by Kristin Lambert, a rollicking romp of truth, lies, and troubled pasts. New Year’s Eve, 1929. Millie is running the show at the Cloak & Dagger, a swinging speakeasy in the French Quarter, while her aunt is out of town. The new … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: This Is How We Fly by Anna Meriano

This Is How We Fly is hitting shelves December 15th and we can’t wait! This loose retelling of Cinderella follows a high-school graduate who–after getting grounded for the whole summer–joins a local Quidditch league and finds her footing. Scroll down to read an excerpt! Two days later, I’m digging through my closet trying to locate a decent pair … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: The Fall of Innocence

The Fall of Innocence by Jenny Torres Sanchez is a gorgeous, haunting, and tragic novel that examines the crippling–and far-reaching–effects of one person’s trauma on her family, her community, and herself. Scroll down to read an excerpt! Emilia searched the sidewalk for the little gifts her birds often left for her, trying not to think of how … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: Start reading Sanctuary by Paola Mendoza & Abby Sher

  Sanctuary by Paola Mendoza and Abby Sher takes place in a near future dystopian where a young girl and her brother must escape a xenophobic government to find sanctuary. Scroll down to start reading! Chapter 1 It took fifteen steps for her to die. Fifteen—one for each year of her life before they snuffed it … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: The Kinder Poison

The Kinder Poison is an enthralling fantasy adventure that follows a teenage girl chosen to be the human sacrifice in a deadly game between three heirs who will do anything for the crown. Also, it’s somehow magical, breathtaking, hilarious, and TERRIFYING all at once. Scroll down to read an excerpt! “The gods have woken Sabil’s knife, signaling … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP