Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Every book hitting shelves in May 2021!

SHARE

You MAY or MAY not be ready for these May reads. Here’s what’s hitting shelves!

 

5/4: Luck of the Titanic by Stacey Lee – From the critically-acclaimed author of The Downstairs Girl comes the richly imagined story of Valora and Jamie Luck, twin British-Chinese acrobats traveling aboard the Titanic on its ill-fated maiden voyage.

 

5/4: That Was Then, This Is Now by S.E. Hinton – That Was ThenThis is Now is S. E. Hinton’s moving portrait of the bond between best friends Bryon and Mark and the tensions that develop between them as they begin to grow up and grow apart. Now in a new paperback edition!

 

5/11: From Little Tokyo, With Love by Sarah Kuhn – Celebrated author Sarah Kuhn reinvents the modern fairy tale in this intensely personal yet hilarious novel of a girl whose search for a storybook ending takes her to unexpected places in both her beloved LA neighborhood and her own guarded heart.

 

5/11: Switch by A.S. King – A surreal and timely novel about the effects of isolation and what it means to be connected to the world from the Printz Award-winning author of Dig.

 

5/11: Juliet Takes a Breath by Gabby Rivera – In a summer bursting with queer brown dance parties, a sexy fling with a motorcycling librarian, and intense explorations of race and identity, Juliet learns what it means to come out–to the world, to her family, to herself. Now in paperback!

 

5/18: Perfectly Parvin by Olivia Abtahi – Fourteen-year-old Iranian-American Parvin Mohammadi sets out to win the ultimate date to homecoming in this heartfelt and outright hilarious debut.

 

5/18: Some Girls Do by Jennifer Dugan – In this YA contemporary queer romance from the author of Hot Dog Girl, an openly gay track star falls for a closeted, bisexual teen beauty queen with a penchant for fixing up old cars.

 

5/18: Shipped by Meredith Tate – From the author of The Last Confession of Autumn Casterly comes a heartfelt story about rivalry, friendships, and defying preconceived notions–even the ones about yourself.

 

5/18: My Eyes Are Up Here by Laura Zimmerman – A razor-sharp debut about a girl struggling to rediscover her sense of self in the year after her body decided to change all the rules. Now in paperback!

 

5/18: We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez – A poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, inspired by current events. Now in paperback!

 

5/18: Break the Fall by Jennifer Iacopelli – Audrey Lee is going to the Olympics. But with painful revelations, incredible odds, and the very real possibility of falling at every turn, will Audrey’s determination be enough? Now in paperback!

 

5/25: Aetherbound by E.K. Johnston – A thought-provoking new YA space adventure from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Star Wars: Ahsoka.

 

5/25: Girls at the Edge of the World by Laura Brooke Robson – Set in a world on the edge of an apocalyptic flood, this heart-stoppingly romantic fantasy debut is perfect for fans of Rachel Hartman and Rae Carson.

 

 

 

 

Excited about From Little Tokyo, With Love? Read an excerpt here!

#Newsyoucanuse

Cover Reveal: PRACTICE GIRL by Estelle Laure

Cover reveal! Jo never heard of the label “practice girl”…until she was called one. And those two devastating words would irreversibly change the way she saw everyone–including herself. Jo Beckett is looking for love. She’s fallen for a few boys, but for some reason, they’ve never fallen for her. One night, at a party she … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: GETTING OVER MAX COOPER

Cover reveal! Boundaries are crossed and the edge of sanity is tested in Marcelle Karp’s debut novel that celebrates the complicated dynamics of female friendship, and the heartbreaking ache of first love.  Sixteen-year-old Jazz Jacobson has always spent her summers on Fire Island. This year she’ll be scooping ice cream during the day and hanging out … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: ZYLA & KAI by Kristina Forest

Cover reveal! Zyla & Kai is an epic star-crossed love story about first love and not just the will they, won’t they— but why can’t they? While on a school trip to the Poconos Mountains (in the middle of a storm) high school seniors, Zyla Matthews and Kai Johnson, run away together leaving their friends and family … Continued
See More

December Books: Here’s What’s Hitting Shelves!

Grab a cozy blanket and a warm beverage, because it’s time to cuddle up with December’s most anticipated reads! Here’s what’s hitting shelves.   12/7: Call Us What We Carry by Amanda Gorman – The breakout poetry collection by #1 New York Times bestselling author and presidential inaugural poet Amanda Gorman   12/7: The Righteous by Renée Ahdieh … Continued
See More

November 2021 books: see what’s hitting shelves!

November snuck up on us. But luckily, is here with some of our most-anticipated reads! Scroll down to see what’s hitting shelves!   11/2: Where Echoes Lie by Shannon Schuren – In this eerie thriller of a ghost story, a teenage girl must solve the mystery of the ghost bride that has haunted her community in rural Kentucky … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: KINGS OF B’MORE

Kings of B’more is a magnetic YA debut by celebrated cultural critic and bestselling author of Here for It R. Eric Thomas, following two Black, queer best friends facing their last day together with an epic journey through Baltimore. With junior year starting in the fall, Harrison feels like he’s on the precipice of, well, everything. Standardized testing, college, and … Continued
See More

2022 YA Book Preview!

Are you ready for all the amazing reads next year is bringing to your shelf? Here’s your official 2022 YA book preview of what to look forward to!   Echoes and Empires by Morgan Rhodes – January 4 A snarky seventeen-year-old must team up with an enigmatic criminal to cure herself of dangerous forbidden magic … Continued
See More

Join Penguin Teen for YALLFest 2021 Fun!

YALLFest is coming up, and we don’t want you to miss out on any panels, prizes, or pets (yes, you read that right). Scroll down to see what’s happening at YALLFest this year, both in-person and virtually!   Virtual Events and Giveaways   Monday 11/8  Rec-a-Reads Giveaway 20 winners will receive one physical galley. Titles … Continued
See More

2022 Fantasy books to get absolutely lost in

We love wandering into a fantasy world and getting absolutely lost in it, and we know you do too! We’re here to help you prepare your 2022 TBR with bookish escapes, so get ready for 6 of our most highly-anticipated fantasy books!   Echoes and Empires by Morgan Rhodes – January 4 A snarky seventeen-year-old must … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: IT SOUNDS LIKE THIS by Anna Meriano

Cover reveal! It Sounds Like This by Anna Meriano is a sweet and nerdy contemporary YA novel set in the world of marching band, perfect for fans of Late to the Party, Fat Chance, Charlie Vega and Kate in Waiting. Scroll down to see the cover and read a bit about the book! Illustrator: Ali Mac Cover design: Kristin Boyle    Yasmín … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP