Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Every book hitting shelves in September!

SHARE

It’s honestly insane how many freaking AMAZING books are about to hit shelves, but we’re gonna try and break it down, starting with September!

 

9/3: We Speak in Storms by Natalie Lund – A powerful and haunting debut novel about friendship, acceptance, and learning to let go as the balance between the living and the dead is upended, perfect for fans of We Were Liars. It’s been more than 50 years since a tornado tore through a drive-in movie theater in tiny Mercer, Illinois, leaving dozens of teens — a whole generation of Mercerites — dead in its wake. So when another tornado touches down in the exact same spot on the anniversary of this small-town tragedy, the town is shaken. For Brenna Ortiz, Joshua Calloway, and Callie Keller, the apprehension is more than just a feeling. Though they seem to share nothing more than a struggle to belong, the teens’ paths continue to intersect, bringing them together when they least expect it, and perhaps, when they need it most.

 

9/3: Crown of Thunder by Tochi Onyebuchi – The conclusion to this sweeping duology is coming, and it’s the perfect read to follow up bingeing Children of Blood and Bone or the Binti series. Now in paperback! 

 

9/3: The Brilliant Death by Amy Rose Capetta – Set in renaissance Italy, this steamy LGBTQ fantasy romance will sweep you off your feet as one young Strega learns to embrace her identity and awaken her true powers. Now in paperback!

 

9/10: Frankly in Love by David Yoon – The biggest contemporary of 2019 is about to HIT SHELVES! High school senior Frank Li is a Limbo–his term for Korean-American kids who find themselves caught between their parents’ traditional expectations and their own Southern California upbringing. His parents have one rule when it comes to romance–“Date Korean”–which proves complicated when Frank falls for Brit Means, who is smart, beautiful–and white. Fellow Limbo Joy Song is in a similar predicament, and so they make a pact: they’ll pretend to date each other in order to gain their freedom. Frank thinks it’s the perfect plan, but in the end, Frank and Joy’s fake-dating maneuver leaves him wondering if he ever really understood love–or himself–at all.

 

9/10: The Prom by Saundra Mitchell – An honest, laugh-out-loud, feel-good novel inspired by the hit Broadway musical The Prom–a New York Times Critic’s Pick! Seventeen-year-old Emma Nolan wants only one thing before she graduates: to dance with her girlfriend at the senior prom. When word gets out that Emma plans to bring a girl as her date, it stirs a community-wide uproar that spirals out of control. Enter Barry Glickman and Dee Dee Allen, two Broadway stars who decide to take up the cause and get a little publicity along the way.

 

9/17: Juliet Takes a Breath by Gabby Rivera – A gutsy, queer coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Nina LaCour, Rainbow Rowell, and Elizabeth Acevedo. In a summer bursting with queer brown dance parties, a sexy fling with a motorcycling librarian, and intense explorations of race and identity, Juliet learns what it means to come out–to the world, to her family, to herself.

 

9/17: Steel Tide by Natalie C. Parker – The second book in a heart-stopping trilogy that follows the captain of an all-female ship intent on taking down a vicious warlord’s powerful fleet. Caledonia may have lost her crew, but she’s not done fighting yet. After nearly dying at the hand of a powerful foe, Caledonia is pulled from the sea and nursed back to health by a crew of former Bullets that call themselves Blades. But Caledonia wants to do more than just hide. She’ll need to do everything in her power to convince the Blades that fighting is their only option, that there has to be a life better than the one under Aric Athair’s reign, and that finding the women of the Mors Navis is the first step to revolution.

 

9/17: Wildcard by Marie Lu – In this explosive sequel to the New York Times bestselling Warcross, Marie Lu delivers an addictive finale that will hold you captive till the very last page. Determined to put a stop to Hideo’s grim plans, Emika and the Phoenix Riders band together, only to find a new threat lurking on the neon-lit streets of Tokyo. Someone’s put a bounty on Emika’s head, and her sole chance for survival lies with Zero and the Blackcoats, his ruthless crew. But Emika soon learns that Zero isn’t all that he seems–and his protection comes at a price. Now in paperback!

 

9/17: Stars and the Blackness Between Them by Junauda Petrus – Told in two distinct and irresistible voices, Junauda Petrus’s bold and lyrical debut is the story of two black girls from very different backgrounds finding love and happiness in a world that seems determined to deny them both. This book brilliantly captures the distinctly lush and lyrical voices of Mabel and Audre as they conjure a love that is stronger than hatred, prison, and death and as vast as the blackness between the stars.

 

9/17: Kingdom of the Blazing Phoenix by Julie C. Dao – Fans of Stealing Snow, Red Queen, and The Wrath and the Dawn will fall head over heels for the stunning fairy tale retelling and conclusion to Julie C. Dao’s Forest of a Thousand Lanterns duology. Now in paperback!

 

9/24: Obviously by Akilah Hughes – “A refreshingly funny and blisteringly unsentimental coming-of-age memoir.” –John Green

In Akilah Hughes’s world, family–and life–are often complicated, but always funny. Through intimate and hilarious essays, Akilah takes readers along on her journey from the small Kentucky town where she was born–and eventually became a spelling bee champ and 15-year-old high school graduate–to New York City, where she took careful steps to fulfill her dream of becoming a writer and performer.

 

9/24: Rules for Vanishing by Kate Alice Marshall – In the faux-documentary style of The Blair Witch Project with a dash of magical realism comes the campfire story of a missing girl, a vengeful ghost, and the girl who is determined to find her sister–at all costs. It’s been exactly one year since Sara’s sister, Becca, disappeared, and high school life has far from settled back to normal. When a mysterious text message invites Sara and her estranged friends to “play the game” and find local ghost legend Lucy Gallows, Sara is sure this is the only way to find Becca–before she’s lost forever. Together, they will have to draw on all of their strengths to survive. The road is rarely forgiving, and no one will be the same on the other side.

 

9/24: Bid My Soul Farewell by Beth Revis – If you fell head over heels in love with Give the Dark My Love, then prepare yourself for an equally stunning sequel. Bid My Soul Farewell is getting ready to hit shelves in September! Alchemy student turned necromancer Nedra Brysstain has made a life-changing decision to embrace the darkness–but can the boy who loves her bring her back to the light before she pays the ultimate price?

 

9/24: Give the Dark My Love by Beth Revis – A young alchemist turns to dark magic when a deadly plague sweeps through her homeland in this epic fantasy from New York Times bestselling author Beth Revis. Now in paperback!

 

9/24: Looking for Alaska by John Green, the Hulu tie-in! – Before. Miles “Pudge” Halter is done with his safe life at home. His whole life has been one big non-event, and his obsession with famous last words has only made him crave “the Great Perhaps” even more (Francois Rabelais, poet). He heads off to the sometimes crazy and anything-but-boring world of Culver Creek Boarding School, and his life becomes the opposite of safe. Because down the hall is Alaska Young. The gorgeous, clever, funny, sexy, self-destructive, screwed up, and utterly fascinating Alaska Young. She is an event unto herself. She pulls Pudge into her world, launches him into the Great Perhaps, and steals his heart. Then. . . .
After. Nothing is ever the same.

Coming to Hulu in October!

 

 

 

Miss any of last month’s amazing reads? Check them out here!

#Newsyoucanuse

Catch Penguin Teen at YALLFest 2019!

We’re getting ready to cruise on over to Charleston, SC for YALLFest 2019! Check out what we’ve got going on, and make sure to come by the booth and say hi! Can’t make it to YALLFest? Make sure you’re following along on our Instagram and Twitter @penguinteen!   FRIDAY, NOVEMBER 8   4:00pm RED CARPET … Continued
See More

Our top takeaways from the LET IT SNOW trailer

Have you seen the trailer?! Let It Snow is on Netflix November 8th and it looks MAGICAL! Watch the trailer below, and scroll down for our fav takeaways!   1. KIERNAN IS THE DUKE!! First Sabrina, now The Duke?! Kiernan is killing it with the iconic character thing.   2. Jubilee and Stewart?! We’re guessing … Continued
See More

12 hours to go! Here are 12 facts you need to know about Frankly in Love…

Frankly in Love hits shelves TOMORROWWWW! So here are 12 facts you should know:   1. It has BLUE-STAINED EDGES And they are so pretty you may want to have the spine sit backwards on your shelf just so you can gaze upon them daily.   2. It has the best book trailer of all time … Continued
See More

SURPRISE! New 2020 Covers!

Watch your step because we’re about to drop some COVERS! 2020 is packed full of highly-anticipated reads, from sweet to spooky, and we’re here to tell you about a few of them today in our surprise cover drop! First up…   SKYWATCHERS by Carrie Arcos – August 18, 2020 If you loved In the Woods by Tana … Continued
See More

5 reasons why you need An Ember in the Ashes Collector’s Edition

Unless you’ve been trapped inside the Martial Empire’s Kauf Prison, you’ve probably heard that An Ember in the Ashes is getting a beautiful collector’s edition this fall! Exclusively at Barnes & Noble, this must-have edition (available in HARDCOVER) contains never-before-seen content that will have even the most diehard Ember fan swooning. Here are five reasons … Continued
See More

5 Things to Know Before You Watch Netflix’s Dark Crystal Show

  Getting ready to dive into Netflix’s The Dark Crystal? Here are 5 things you should know first!   1. It’s a prequel to the original movie. In the original film, a young Gelfling must stop the evil Skeksis, who use the powers of the Dark Crystal to live forever. Age of Resistance charts how the … Continued
See More

5 reasons you need to pre-order A River of Royal Blood

Searching for your next fantasy series to dive into? Well, then your search is over! A River of Royal Blood will be on shelves October 29, 2019, which means you have until October 28 to pre-order the first installment in this magickal new series. Here’s why you should pre-order it RIGHT NOW!   1. The … Continued
See More

Catch Penguin Teen at Texas Teen Book Festival!

Penguin Teen is heading to Texas for Texas Teen Book Festival! Will we see you there? Check out our official schedule below!   OCTOBER 12, Saturday   11:00am GIVEAWAY & GAME: Would you rather… Would you rather train to be an assassin or learn to revive the dead? Tell us your answer and walk away … Continued
See More

Every book hitting shelves in November!

November is here and new books are too! Scroll down to see what’s hitting shelves this month!   11/5: Song of the Crimson Flower by Julie C. Dao – Will love break the spell? From the acclaimed author of Forest of a Thousand Lanterns comes a fantastical new tale of darkness and love, in which magical bonds are stronger … Continued
See More

Catch Penguin Teen at NYCC 2019!

We’re getting ready for all things New York Comic Con! Check out what we’ve got going on, and make sure to come by the booth and say hi! Can’t make it to NYCC? Make sure you’re following along on our Instagram and Twitter @penguinteen!   *Make Penguin your first stop! A limited number of tickets … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP