Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Every cover we’re OBSESSED with this year so far

SHARE

2020 is dropping some INCREDIBLE reads. And incredible reads deserve incredible covers. So, we’re sharing some of our favs! Scroll down for some serious book cover eye candy.

 

The Conference of the Birds by Ransom Riggs.

Conference-of-the-Birds

There Ransom Riggs goes again. Baffling us all with his ability to find the absolute best vintage photos ever.

 

Break the Fall by Jennifer Iacopelli

BreaktheFall_BOM_FINAL.indd

Talk about striking a pose.

 

Layoverland by Gabby Noone

Layoverland

This may be one of the most unique covers of 2020. We’re obsessed.

 

The Queen’s Assassin by Melissa de la Cruz

QueensAssassin_ONLINE

“Name a cover that would make any royal fantasy lover shriek with glee”

 

The Last Confession of Autumn Casterly by Meredith Tate

TheLastConfessionofAutumnCasterly

We LOVE a cover that tells the story with a single image.

 

The Vanishing Deep by Astrid Scholte

vanishing deep

The water. The color scheme. The LOOK. Chills.

 

The Kingdom of Back by Marie Lu

kingdom-of-back-cover

Admit it. You had to pick your jaw up from the floor the first time you saw this cover.

 

Rebelwing by Andrea Tang

rebelwing

Allow me to direct your attention to the ROBOT DRAGON IN THE BACKGROUND.

 

A Phoenix First Must Burn, edited by Patrice Caldwell.

phoenix-first-must-burn-cover

This book was a TALL ORDER just by that title. Thankfully, I think we can all agree this magical cover totally does it justice.

 

The Blossom and the Firefly by Sherri L. Smith

blossom-cover

There’s a soft, vintage feel to this cover. It’s a definite standout and we love it!

 

Girls Save the World in This One by Ash Parsons

girls-save-the-world-in-this-one

This cover showcases a fierce girl squad and we ARE ABOUT IT.

 

Verona Comics by Jennifer Dugan

Verona-Comics-cover

Ummm this cute graphic character design thing happening all over the book cover world? We like it a lot. More of this please.

 

The Jewel Thief by Jeannie Mobley

9781984837417_JewelThief_CV_ONLINE

DIAMOND. PROFILE. This cover is giving us all the historical fiction mystery vibes that we NEED.

 

Four Dead Queens by Astrid Scholte

Four Dead Queens

We love a cover glow-up. Especially a gothic one with hot pink letters.

 

The Best Laid Plans by Cameron Lund

The Best Laid Plans

It’s just SO. CUTE.

 

Forged in Fire and Stars by Andrea Robertson

Forged-in-Fire-and-Stars

This is the sort of cover that makes you realize “Why yes, I AM ready for an epic fantasy adventure.”

 

Jo & Laurie by Margaret Stohl and Melissa de la Cruz

9781984812018

Somehow it looks classic vintage AND modern YA at the same time.

 

Goddess in the Machine by Lora Beth Johnson

GoddessInTheMachine_ONLINE

We NeEd It NoW.

 

Beyond the Break by Heather Buchta

Beyond-the-Break-cover

Excuse us while we stare at the moon and the water and the everything in this cover for a while.

 

The Damned by Renée Ahdieh

The-Damned

Desperately, hopelessly waiting for this to join The Beautiful on our shelves.

 

 

Did you hear? We just revealed the cover to Kat Cho’s VICIOUS SPIRITS. Click here to see it!

#ReaderLove

Cover Love: Our Favorite Illustrated Covers This Year!

We are LOVING the illustrated cover trend that has blessed YA recently. If you are too, here are 28 of our favorite illustrated covers from this year!   Margot Mertz Takes It Down by Carrie McCrossen and Ian McWethy The laptop decals. The smirk. We’re here for it.   Huda F Are You? by Huda … Continued
See More

PLOT TWIST! 8 YA books that take a serious turn!

Love a mind boggling plot twist? These 8 YA books take a SERIOUS turn, and are guaranteed to be living in your head rent free for weeks to come!   Dark and Shallow Lies by Ginny Myers Sain When we say plot twist, we actually mean plot twist after plot twist. NOTHING is as it seems … Continued
See More

YA Retellings we are OBSESSED with

Do you love classic lit, fairytales, and legends? We think you’d adore these modern retellings!   Love Camelot? Try…   The Other Merlin by Robyn Schneider Channeling the modern humor of The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue, bestselling author Robyn Schneider creates a Camelot that becomes the ultimate teen rom-com hotspot in this ultra-fresh take on … Continued
See More

YA Graphic Novel MUST Reads for Your Shelf!

Calling all graphic novel lovers! Before 2021 ends, we’re here to make sure you have these 3 graphic novels to take into the new year!   Huda F Are You? by Huda Fahmy From the creator of Yes, I’m Hot In This, this cheeky, hilarious, and honest graphic novel asks the question everyone has to figure … Continued
See More

Bisexual Books To Add Your TBR

Today is #BiVisibilityDay! So we’re recommending some of our favorite reads with bi rep. These books highlight bisexual characters in kickass adventures and swoon-worthy love stories that are perfect for your shelf!   Some Girls Do by Jennifer Dugan In this YA contemporary queer romance from the author of Hot Dog Girl, an openly gay track star falls … Continued
See More

Read an Excerpt of Darius the Great Deserves Better by Adib Khorram

Darius the Great is BACK in paperback and we already have hearts coming out of our eyes. In this companion to the award-winning Darius the Great Is Not Okay, Darius suddenly has it all: a boyfriend, an internship, a spot on the soccer team. It’s everything he’s ever wanted–but what if he deserves better? Scroll down to … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: SO, THIS IS CHRISTMAS

Need a break from all the Halloween horror? We’ve got you! Let It Snow meets Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares in So, This Is Christmas by Tracy Andreen, a new small-town Christmas romance. And you can start reading it now! When Finley Brown returned to her hometown of Christmas, Oklahoma, from boarding school, she expected to find it just as … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: WHEN WE MAKE IT by Elisabet Velasquez

When We Make It by Elisabet Velasquez is an unforgettable, torrential, and hopeful debut young adult novel-in-verse that redefines what it means to “make it,” for readers of Nicholasa Mohr and Elizabeth Acevedo. Scroll down to read an excerpt! How I Got My Name Sarai  Let’s start the story where abandon meets faith. Aight, so, boom. … Continued
See More

Hey Netflix! These books are READY!

After all the recent announcements and film adaptations, we’ve been thinking it’s time to put together a list of nominations for what hits the screen next. Because between Beasts of Prey getting picked up by Netflix, Vampire Academy getting picked up by Peacock, and There’s Someone Inside Your House JUST hitting screens this month, we have some requests!   An Ember … Continued
See More

These laugh-out-loud books are GUARANTEED to make you smile

Whether you had a bad day, lost your favorite bookmark, or are grieving the tragic death of your favorite fictional character, we have a few books that are GUARANTEED to make you smile. So scroll down for some of our favorite reads with witty characters, hilarious banter, and all around good vibes.   The Other … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP