Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Everything You Need to Know About ROSIE GIRL Author Julie Shepard

SHARE

Name: Julie Shepard

Novel: Rosie Girl

Available: July 11, 2017

About the book: After her father passes away, seventeen-year-old Rosie is forced to live with her abusive stepmom Lucy and her deadbeat boyfriend, Judd, who gives Rosie the sort of looks you shouldn’t give your girlfriend’s step-daughter. Desperate for a way out, Rosie would do just about anything to escape the life she’s been handed. Then she finds a letter her dad wrote years ago, a letter confessing that Rosie’s birth mother isn’t dead, as she believed, but alive somewhere—having left them when Rosie was a little girl for reasons he won’t reveal.

Rosie resolves to find her birth mom, and she’ll put everything on the line to make that happen. She hires a PI paid for by her best friend, Mary, who turns tricks for money. Unlike Rosie, Mary’s no delicate flower and when she sees the opportunity to make some cash and help out her closest friend, she takes it. Romance blooms when the PI Rosie hires hands the case off to his handsome nephew Mac, but Rosie struggles to keep her illicit activities with Mary a secret. Things begin to unravel when Rosie starts getting creepy anonymous texts from johns looking for Mary. And then there’s Mary, the one person Rosie can count on, who’s been acting strangely all of a sudden. As Rosie and Mary get closer to finally uncovering the truth about Rosie’s mom, Rosie comes face to face with a secret she never saw coming. A visceral, poignant tale of friendship, sacrifice and identity, Rosie Girl is an unforgettable debut that will leave you guessing till the very last page.

 

 

Who’s your favorite author, living or dead?

Ugh, this is a brutal question, and you know it. So I’m going to answer this from a different perspective, since I have so many. Twenty years ago, I read A Season in Purgatory by Dominick Dunne. Honestly, I think it was the first time I started questioning my own writing skills and analyzing how a true master story-teller gets the job done. I was absolutely transfixed by his narrative skills.

 

What’s your favorite thing about your book?

Another hard question! But it’s a fair one. I guess I’d have to say the friendship Rosie and Mary share. They’re dependent on each other – maybe a little too much – but I kind of like that. They’ve got a complicated history, one that binds them in a unique way. My best relationships are those with the deepest roots.

 

If you could spend one year on a deserted island with one character from literature, who would you choose?

She may be a little nuts, but I have never been so entranced by a character than Maria Semple’s main character in Where’d You Go, Bernadette? If we spent a year together on a deserted island, we’d be laughing half the time and yakking the other half. We would not be bored.

 

Where do you write?

Ooh, I’ll write anywhere! But if you know anything about me, it’s that I love to be outside. So I do a lot of writing on a lounge chair :)

 

Who is your favorite hero or heroine of history?

When I was in fourth grade, I played the role of Annie Oakley in “Annie, Get Your Gun.” I can still remember practicing “You Can’t Get a Man With a Gun” in the living room while my mother did her best not to cover her ears. Even at ten years old, I thought, “Wow, this Annie lady must’ve been tough.” And she was. I admire any woman who can not only play with the big boys, but beat them at their own game.

 

Do you tweet? What’s the funniest thing you’ve ever tweeted?

I was working on a manuscript when I had this text exchange with my son who was at University of Florida. It was too funny not to share.

 JS_textpic

 

What is your favorite season?

Spring. There’s something about the energy of the religious holidays of Passover and Easter. Plus, the weather here in South Florida is usually spectacular.

 

If you could teleport anywhere in the known universe right now, where would you go?  

Again, as a lover of the outdoors, it would probably be the Nantahala River that runs through North Carolina.

 

Do you have any writing rituals?

Not really! But as a fiction writer, I’m happy to make something up 😉

 

What is your idea of earthly happiness?

In my old age (ha!), it’s being with my family. The four of us (my husband and two sons) were out west recently, and we spent the entire afternoon kayaking on Lake Mead. Splashing each other with frigid water, hanging back half a mile from the tour guide, trying to be the first one to spot wildlife nestled in the surrounding mountains – absolute heaven.

 

What is the best concert you’ve ever been to?

My husband and I are crazy for all kinds of music, but we’re serious fans of the brilliant Joe Bonamassa and were fortunate enough to see him for a second time a few months ago. Pure genius!

 

What are you currently working on?  

Straight up Who-Dunnit. There was a lot I wanted to explore (creatively) in my next novel, so this manuscript has a lot of “firsts” for me. That’s all you’re getting 😉

 

 

 

Get your copy of Rosie Girl here!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#AuthorSpotlight

Everything You Need to Know About THINGS I’M SEEING WITHOUT YOU Author Peter Bognanni

Name: Peter Bognanni Novel: Things I’m Seeing Without You Available: October 3, 2017 About the book: Fans of Eleanor and Park and All the Bright Places will laugh and cry as they read this heartbreaking and life-affirming novel about love after the most profound loss. Seventeen-year-old Tess Fowler has just dropped out of high school. She can barely function after … Continued
See More

12 Authors Who Will Enhance Your Twitter Feed

Twitter-loving authors who will add a bit of oomph to your feed.
See More

LJ Alonge Shares the One Thing He Wishes He Knew as a Teen

Watch LJ Alonge, author of the Blacktop series, share the one thing she wishes he knew in high school!         Check out the books in the Blacktop series here!                                
See More

The Official Conspiracy of Us Series Recap *SPOILERS AHEAD*

Hey there! If you’re here, you’re probably a Conspiracy of Us reader, getting ready for The Ends of the World, book 3 in the Conspiracy series, to release on July 18, and need to remember all that’s happened leading our fearless characters to this point. Or maybe not. Maybe you’re bored and on social media. … Continued
See More

Susan Juby Shares 5 Things You Need to Know About THE FASHION COMMITTEE

Watch Susan Juby, author of The Fashion Committee share 5 things you need to know about her book!           Get your copy of The Fashion Committee here!                            
See More

Susan Juby Explains THE FASHION COMMITTEE in 30 Seconds!

Watch Susan Juby, author of The Fashion Committee explain her book in 30 seconds!           Get your copy of The Fashion Committee here!                            
See More

Julie Israel Shares 5 Things You Need to Know About JUNIPER LEMON’S HAPPINESS INDEX

Watch Julie Israel, author of Juniper Lemon’s Happiness Index, share 5 things to know about her debut novel!         Get your copy here!                                
See More

Dana Schwartz Shares the One Thing She Wishes She Knew as a Teen

Watch Dana Schwartz, author of And We’re Off share what she wishes she knew in high school!         Get your copy of And We’re Off here!                                
See More

5 Reasons to Read The 5th Wave Series

  All three books in Rick Yancey’s The 5th Wave series will be out in paperback tomorrow, and we think it’s the absolute perfect time to binge the entire series. Whether you’ve seen The 5th Wave movie, or are brand new to the story, here are five reasons that this should be the next series … Continued
See More

3 Things We Know About Mira from MIDNIGHT JEWEL Based on THE GLITTERING COURT

Midnight Jewel, the highly anticipated sequel to The Glittering Court is almost here, and we are getting excited to meet the star of the second book, Mira. We asked author Richelle Mead to help refresh our memories of what we already know about Mira. Here’s what she told us:   She disappears in the middle of the … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP

I can give you book recommendations.
Please enter your name and email address to begin chatting with me.



What is your date of birth?

START CHAT