Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Everything You Need to Know About THINGS I’M SEEING WITHOUT YOU Author Peter Bognanni

SHARE

Name: Peter Bognanni

Novel: Things I’m Seeing Without You

Available: October 3, 2017

About the book: Fans of Eleanor and Park and All the Bright Places will laugh and cry as they read this heartbreaking and life-affirming novel about love after the most profound loss.

Seventeen-year-old Tess Fowler has just dropped out of high school. She can barely function after learning of Jonah’s death. Jonah, the boy she’d traded banter with over texts and heartfelt e-mails.

Jonah, the first boy she’d told she loved and the first boy to say it back.

Jonah, the boy whose suicide she never saw coming.

Tess continues to write to Jonah, as a way of processing her grief and confusion. But for now she finds solace in perhaps the unlikeliest of ways: by helping her father with his new alternative funeral business, where his biggest client is . . . a prized racehorse?

As Tess’s involvement in her father’s business grows, both find comfort in the clients they serve and in each other. But love, loss, and life are so much more complicated than Tess ever thought. Especially after she receives a message that turns her life upside down.

Funny, heartbreaking, hopeful, and wondrous, in the vein of Six Feet Under and I’ll Give You the SunThings I’m Seeing Without You is a beautiful examination of what it means to love someone, to lose someone, and to love again.

 

Who’s your favorite author, living or dead?

I absolutely love George Saunders. The combination of humor, humanity, and pure imagination in his work is staggering. His short story “Jon,” might be my favorite of all time. Go read him now!

 

What’s your favorite thing about your book?

It sounds cheesy to say, but I really came to love my main character while writing this book. Tess can be difficult, impulsive, and a little mouthy on occasion, but I admire her heart and dissatisfaction with easy answers. She’s the teenager I wish I’d been, flaws and all.

 

If you could spend one year on a deserted island with one character from literature, who would you choose?

I’m going to dip back a ways and say Huckleberry Finn. Not only is he Mark Twain’s finest creation, but he knows how to turn absolutely anything into an adventure. If Huck was on the island, I would never be bored. The only downside is the year would go by too fast.

 

Where do you write?

I have a little office in my house with bright orange walls (to keep me awake). Objects of interest in the space include: a plaster mold of my teeth, an autographed baseball by my favorite major league manager, Terry Francona, and, wadded up in my cloest, a huge banner with my giant face on it from my first book tour. I keep threatening to hang it up in the house.

 

Who is your favorite hero or heroine of history?

There are too many to consider here, so I’ll go with the most recent ones I’ve discovered, the female librarians who brought books to rural Kentucky on horseback during the Great Depression. They crossed dangerous mountain paths to provide reading material to impoverished people in Appalachia. Librarian cowgirls risking danger for books! How amazing is that?

 

Do you tweet? What’s the funniest thing you’ve ever tweeted?

I just got on Twitter, and I only have 20 tweets so far. But last semester  on Facebook, I posted one of my favoriate misspellings I’ve ever gotten from a writing student. The sentence goes “He smelled of leather and cheap bear.”

 

What is your favorite season?

Fall by a landslide. I grew up in Iowa, and we had long beautiful falls there. I love everything about it. The crisp air. The changing leaves. Also, Halloween is my favorite holiday, so that’s a big plus.

 

If you could teleport anywhere in the known universe right now, where would you go?

Pluto. I’ll be the judge of whether it’s a planet or not.

 

Do you have any writing rituals?

I try to do it at the same time everyday and spend at least two hours in the chair. The first half hour is usually pretty useless, but if I can make myself sit there long enough, a few sentences find their way to the page. I used to drink about a pot of coffee each session. It was good for productivity, but bad for sanity.

 

What is your idea of earthly happiness?

Making my two-year-old son laugh.

 

What is the best concert you’ve ever been to?

I saw Prince perform in front of his old high school in Minneapolis. His high school principal introduced him. I was devastated when he died last year. He was an amazing entertainer and a true iconoclast. Put on some old Prince and try not to dance. Just try.

 

What are you currently working on?

I’m working on my second YA book. It’s about a group of misfits trying to save the neighborhood movie theater where they work. I’m a longtime film buff and it’s basically my love letter to going to the movies, which is still my favorite way to spend an afternoon.

 

 

 

Pre-order your copy of Things I’m Seeing Without You!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#AuthorSpotlight

Listen to the FLYY GIRLS Playlist by Ashley Woodfolk!

We asked Ashley Woodfolk, author of Flyy Girls, what her characters would listen to–and she delivered! Read a bit from Ashley below and enjoy the tunes! Writing the Flyy Girls Series has been as much of a challenge as it has been a joy. Getting to know each girl intimately enough to tell her story while … Continued
See More

9 1/2 Things We Learned and Loved From Taylor Swift’s Miss Americana Documentary

If you found yourself deeply emotionally invested in Taylor Swift’s recent Netflix documentary, you’re not alone. And luckily, our fav YA couple IRL, Austin Siegemund-Broka & Emily Wibberley (Wibbroka, if you will) are also HUGE fans. So, they sat down to recap their top nine (and a half) things we learned (and loved) from Taylor Swift’s … Continued
See More

Plotting with Rosaria Munda

If you’ve been paying attention to the goings on of YA, you’ve probably have noticed a whole lot of chatter about the amazingness that is Fireborne by Rosaria Munda. Between the dragons, political intrigue, and wildly complex relationships of characters that had our hearts absolutely aching, Rosaria Munda pretty much captivated fantasy shelves everywhere. And that’s why we decided to … Continued
See More

A Beginner’s Guide to Nina LaCour Books

One of our favorite reads of this year is Watch Over Me by Nina LaCour, a modern ghost story about trauma and survival, chosen family and rebirth. Nina LaCour novels bring out the feels in a special way. So If you’ve somehow missed Nina’s books until now, read on for a beginner’s guide to Nina LaCour and where we recommend … Continued
See More

12 Things to Remember About The Brilliant Death Before You Start Reading The Storm of Life

We are SO excited that The Storm of Life is officially on shelves! But in case you need a quick refresher since reading The Brilliant Death, we asked author Amy Rose Capetta to recap the major stuff! Read her recap below! 1. Teodora di Sangro is a strega. A strega is a witchy-type of person, each one with a … Continued
See More

Rosaria Munda’s Fantasy Book Recs!

Fireborne is Rosaria Munda’s thrilling fantasy debut. In case you’re new to this Game of Thrones meets Harry Potter fantasy you’ve always needed in your life story, here’s a bit about the book! About Fireborne: Annie and Lee were just children when a brutal revolution changed their world, giving everyone—even the lowborn—a chance to test into the governing … Continued
See More

A Beginner’s Guide to #Wibbroka

You may have seen a lot of talk on the internet about the cutest writing couple ever that is #Wibbroka. They are Emily Wibberley and Austin Siegemund-Broka. They write adorable YA rom coms and are #CoupleGoals themselves. Anyway, in case you’re new here, here’s your starter guide to all the #Wibbroka books!   Always Never … Continued
See More

Penguin Teen on Tour!

Not one, not two, but THREE internationally bestselling authors are coming together for the book tour of a lifetime! From historical fantasy, to royal intrigue, to dystopian survival, authors Marie Lu, Melissa de la Cruz, and Astrid Scholte are ready to celebrate some of 2020’s biggest books, and you’re invited! Check below to see if they’re coming … Continued
See More

5 Deleted Scenes That Were Cut From THE MERCILESS II Because They Were Too Scary

Don’t be deceived by the pretty pink cover: the insides of The Merciless are twisty, creepy, gory, and sometimes downright terrifying. Book 2 is no exception. We checked in with author Danielle Vega to get the inside scoop on writing the series, and boy did she deliver. Here are 5 scenes from the The Merciless II that got cut. Think you can … Continued
See More

A Q&A with Adib Khorram

We are IN LOVE with the cover for Darius the Great Deserves Better, and it got us thinking about some questions we have both about the cover and what to expect going into book 2! Luckily, Adib Khorram was kind enough to answer our questions. Scroll down for the Q&A! A Q&A with Adib Khorram! Q: We … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP