Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Excerpt Alert: WHEN WE MAKE IT by Elisabet Velasquez

SHARE

When We Make It by Elisabet Velasquez is an unforgettable, torrential, and hopeful debut young adult novel-in-verse that redefines what it means to “make it,” for readers of Nicholasa Mohr and Elizabeth Acevedo.

Scroll down to read an excerpt!

when we make it

How I Got My Name Sarai 

Let’s start the story where abandon meets faith. Aight, so, boom. Check it.

I’m named after homegirl

in the Bible who couldn’t have kids.

Her man Abram was all like:

Yo, Sarai, God promised me I would be the Father of Nations.

 

Sarai was all like:

Nah B, you must be buggin’, you know I can’t have no babies.

 

Our pastor says faith is believing in something you can’t really see. According to Mami, we should never put our faith in men.

Mami was pregnant with me when Papi bounced

for some new chick & told Mami to have an abortion.

Abram got himself a new chick, too. Got her pregnant and all that.

I guess Mami identified with Sarai’s fear and doubt —

& so I was born out of Mami’s faith & hope.

 

Mami

 

Mami is a round woman.

A square by any other definition.

No-nonsense, Pentecostal

with no patience for her own children most days.

There are three of us in total.

Danny, Estrella & Me. I am the youngest.

My sister Estrella said Mami’s depressed. File this under “shit we don’t talk about”.

Pentecostals, we’re just supposed to pray the sadness away.

¡Fuera! The pastor demands on prayer night.

¡Fuera! I imagine sadness is a bad singer

being kicked off the show

by el Chacal on Sábado Gigante.

Apparently, Jesus & Don Francisco can save anything.

Once during church testimonio, Mami gave Jesus mad credit

for saving her from Papi’s fists. ¡Amén! ¡Aleluya! Now, Papi lives in the Bronx with his new wife.

Estrella uses the payphone to collect call him all the time. She says Papi is also Christian now & that God forgave him

for beating on Mami & so we should too.

But Mami’s eyes never close right during prayer service

& I wonder what kind of God you have to be

to receive praise from the hands responsible for that.

 

How We Got Our Names Estrella

  

Estrella was named after another woman Papi was cheating on Mami with.

Nobody says that out loud though. But I can tell

by the way my sister’s name jumps off of Mami’s tongue like one of those side chicks on The Ricki Lake Show.

On my father’s tongue, Estrella matters. Her name is a sloooow dance in Brooklyn.

Her name is a bullet that didn’t kill nobody.

Her name is the beeper alert that gets a call back.

Estrella is three years older than me. She is sixteen but her body is not.

She got that it’s not my fault, I thought you were older kind of body.

She is the kind of beautiful that dique puts men in danger

or that makes men want to be dangerous.

The kind of beautiful Mami always wanted to be.

When we walk down Knickerbocker Ave.,

the men hiss like they are deflating at the sight of us.

They call Mami suegra. Mami can’t stand it. Qué ridículo, she says. She ain’t old enough to be nobody’s mother-in-law.

She shifts her body in front of Estrella’s, to protect her

or maybe so she can be seen first.

 

Papi 

 

Estrella races to the window

and pulls back the curtain, which is really just a fuzzy blanket

with a lion print that Mami ordered from Fingerhut,

a magazine that lets Mami own nice things and pay for them slowly.

Papi parks outside and makes his station wagon cry until it guilts Mami into letting us go downstairs.

I examine my father until he is human again. When he hugs me, I want no parts of his hands.

I become Mami the last time he hit her.

Leave me alone. Don’t touch me.

 

Estrella laughs at my fear & tells Papi Mami is brainwashing me into hating him.

Papi says he hopes I’m not becoming an angry bitch like Mami.

Men don’t like angry bitches. Men leave angry bitches.

 

All Mami was ever good for was kicking him out.

He can’t remember the last time her mouth made a home for him.

That’s why he left and didn’t come around for a few years.

Now Papi comes by every weekend & gives us five dollars to split.

Estrella & me argue over how to spend it. Five dollars

can buy us mad chips, quarter juices, now and laters, devil dogs.

Or we can use it to share one ham & cheese hero and a two-liter.

When I look up at the window you can’t see Mami peeking but

the lion’s mouth is open

and roaring for me to come upstairs.

Get your copy here

Looking for more amazing reads? Here are 11 high stakes thrillers we think you’d love!

#ReaderLove

Excerpt alert: start reading I GUESS I LIVE HERE NOW by Claire Ahn!

For fans of Anna and the French Kiss and Loveboat Taipei, this effervescent debut takes readers on a journey to the place where trends are born—Seoul, Korea—where Melody Lee unwillingly moves with her family and must start a new life, a new school…and maybe a new romance. Scroll down to read a sneak peek of I Guess I Live Here … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: LEAGUE OF LIARS by Astrid Scholte

League of Liars by Astrid Scholte is coming to shelves THIS MONTH! In this fantasy thriller, four teens charged with murder and caught up with the illegal use of magic band together to devise the ultimate jailbreak. Perfect for fans of Six of Crows and How to Get Away with Murder. Ever since his mother was killed, seventeen-year-old Cayder Broduck has … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: SO, THIS IS CHRISTMAS

That cute holiday romance read you were looking for? It’s right here. Let It Snow meets Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares in So, This Is Christmas by Tracy Andreen, a new small-town Christmas romance. And you can start reading it now! When Finley Brown returned to her hometown of Christmas, Oklahoma, from boarding school, she expected to find it just … Continued
See More

All My Rage Transformed My Idea of the American Dream

All My Rage is a powerful, heart-wrenching, and ultimately uplifting contemporary novel from Sabaa Tahir, on shelves now. We asked Samawia Akhter, a BookToker and superfan of the book, to share about the impact that All My Rage had on her. Keep scrolling to see what Samawia said!   View this post on Instagram A … Continued
See More

A Beginner’s Guide to Ruta Sepetys Books

With more than 1 million copies of her books in print, the critically acclaimed Ruta Sepetys is known for her uncanny ability to uncover some of the darkest corners of history, and tell their stories. But in case you’re new here, it’s time we introduce you to the Queen of Heart-wrenching Historical Fiction. So, think … Continued
See More

Cover Love: Our Favorite Illustrated Covers This Year!

We are LOVING the illustrated cover trend that has blessed YA recently. If you are too, here are 28 of our favorite illustrated covers from this year!   Margot Mertz Takes It Down by Carrie McCrossen and Ian McWethy The laptop decals. The smirk. We’re here for it.   Huda F Are You? by Huda … Continued
See More

2022 Epic Fantasy Covers We’re OBSESSED With

2022 is killing it in the fantasy cover arena. Here are just a few of our favs so far! League of Liars by Astrid Scholte This cover honestly gives us chills. Echoes and Empires by Morgan Rhodes  The box. The magic. The title treatment. The everything. Akata Woman by Nnedi Okorafor We can’t get over … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: Sunny G’s Series of Rash Decisions

For fans of Sandhya Menon and Adam Silvera, Sunny G’s Series of Rash Decisions is a prom-night romantic-comedy romp about a Sikh teen’s search for love and identity. Sunny G’s brother left him one thing when he died: His notebook, which Sunny is determined to fill up with a series of rash decisions. Decision number one was … Continued
See More

Best of #Bookstagram: ALL MY RAGE by Sabaa Tahir

We love #bookstagram, and #bookstagram is loving All My Rage by Sabaa Tahir! Scroll down to see some of our favorite bookish posts so far and what reviewers are saying!   “I’m simultaneously so excited to start and also emotionally unprepared ” — @abookishmarriage View this post on Instagram A post shared by Hillary (@abookishmarriage)   “I … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: ECHOES AND EMPIRES by Morgan Rhodes

From the New York Times bestselling author of the Falling Kingdoms series comes the first book in a brand-new duology about forbidden magic and dangerous secrets, for readers of Victoria Aveyard and Margaret Rogerson. Scroll down to start reading Echoes and Empires, on shelves January 4, 2022! The sound of a crash from around the corner drew my attention. I … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP