Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

EXCLUSIVE Cover Reveal of THE LIBRARY OF FATES by Aditi Khorana

SHARE

We are so thrilled to reveal the absolutely stunning cover of Aditi Khorana’s second novel, The Library of Fates. Aditi is the author of the acclaimed Mirror in the Skywhich came out last summer. The Library of Fates is a romantic coming-of-age fantasy tale steeped in Indian folklore, perfect for fans of The Star-Touched Queen and The Wrath and the Dawn

 

About the book: No one is entirely certain what brings the Emperor Sikander to Shalingar. Until now, the idyllic kingdom has been immune to his many violent conquests. To keep the visit friendly, Princess Amrita has offered herself as his bride, sacrificing everything—family, her childhood love, and her freedom—to save her people. But her offer isn’t enough.

 

The unthinkable happens, and Amrita finds herself a fugitive, utterly alone but for an oracle named Thala, who was kept by Sikander as a slave and managed to escape amid the chaos of a palace under siege. With nothing and no one else to turn to, Amrita and Thala are forced to rely on each other. But while Amrita feels responsible for her kingdom and sets out to warn her people, the newly free Thala has no such ties. She encourages Amrita to go on a quest to find the fabled Library of All Things, where it is possible for each of them to reverse their fates. To go back to before Sikander took everything from them.

 

Stripped of all that she loves, caught between her rosy past and an unknown future, will Amrita be able to restore what was lost, or does another life—and another love—await?

 

Check out the amazing cover of The Library of Fates below, and read our Q&A with Aditi!

 

LibraryOfFates_PRESALES

 

Q: You have said that “Cosmos” was part of your inspiration for Mirror in the Sky, your first novel. What inspired The Library of Fates?

A: While Mirror in the Sky was about finding a sense of belonging in the world when you’re different and “belonging” is an elusive thing, I wanted to write a book about a young woman who has always belonged, always been loved and had everything she ever needed, and to see what happens when all of that is taken away. I was fascinated with this question of who you become when life is stripped down to its bare essentials. The UN High Commission for Refugees just reported that 65.3 million people were displaced from their homes in 2015. I should add here that my grandparents were refugees – they came to India after the 1947 Partition and so I’ve spent a lot of time contemplating this question of starting over when you’ve lost everything, when there’s no home left. I also wanted to talk about the intersection of feminism and colonialism. I loved writing a story about a young women challenging a system that’s stacked against her on so many levels.

 

Q:  How does publishing your second novel feel different from your debut novel?

A: It’s just as exciting but perhaps without some of the nail-biting now that I’ve been through the process once. And honestly, it feels like a debut because Library of Fates is such a different book in many ways than Mirror in the Sky. They fundamentally deal with similar issues of parallel lives and female friendship (themes I’m obsessed with) but Library of Fates is a fantasy, set in ancient India, rather than in a small town in contemporary Connecticut!

 

Q: Do you feel that the landscape of diversity in literature has changed at all since you were pitching your debut novel?
A: I definitely think it has but I think this is just the beginning. We have to continue to value and appreciate difference in society and the call for diverse voices continues to be just as fierce and loud as ever. I’m so proud to be a part of this movement but I really believe that we’re not close to where we need to be yet. Literature – and all media, for that matter, should reflect the landscape of our society and by listening to diverse voices we have the opportunity to grow and develop a sense of empathy. We really need that now more than ever.

 

Q: Why do you feel that diversity in literature is so important, especially for children’s/teen books?
A: I’ve said this before and I will probably continue to because I feel so strongly about it: I grew up all over the place and had a very happy childhood. Then, as a result of my parents’ work, we moved to a very wealthy, very white suburb of Connecticut. Having grown up abroad before then, arriving in Greenwich, CT was culture shock for me. I was one of the only people of color at my high school and I learned to see myself through the eyes of others. I had a very hard time fitting in. During this time, I found comfort in books and longed to see characters who looked like me between the pages of my favorite books. Since I wrote Mirror in the Sky, so many young women of color have approached me and thanked me for writing this book because it’s rare for them to find relatable characters of color as the heroes of a story. We all need to see ourselves out there because it validates who we are in this world. I didn’t have that and I’ve devoted my life to changing that.

 

Q: What do you hope readers will take away from The Library of Fates?
A: That even a young girl with nothing left has agency and strength and the power to transform herself as she transforms the world. That we all do, as long as we are on the right side of history. So make sure you’re on the right side of history. Make sure you’re on the side of justice, and that you understand that not only are we all equal but that we’re equally powerful no matter what our circumstances. It is a revolutionary act to be a woman or a person of color or a member of any marginalized group in this society today and to have the audacity to speak your mind. Have that audacity, speak your mind. Do what you need to do. You are not alone.

 

Q: How would you describe the main character, Princess Amrita?
A: She is the most resourceful characters I’ve ever written. She figures things out on the fly. She has an enormous capacity to survive and to love. And just like the most powerful and brilliant women I know, she is willing to change direction when necessary. She is flexible, open to growth rather than holding on to outworn ideas. She consistently puts aside her ego for the greater good without losing a sense of who she truly is and I think that’s her most admirable trait.

 

Q: What is your favorite thing about The Library of Fates?
A: That it has very strong female characters. I’ve read a lot of YA where young women are “rescued” by young men and this particular trope always depresses me to no end. First of all, it’s a boring archetype. It doesn’t give women a lot of credit and it’s unfair to men. But mostly, it feels untrue. All of the women I know – including myself – whenever we’ve been in a bind, we’ve often had lovely men step up and provide kind caring words, or support or take us out for a drink. But when it comes to really rescuing us? We’ve done that for ourselves. And so it feels “true” to me that after the greatest tragedy of her life, Amrita has to pick up the pieces and figure out how to rescue herself with the help of Thala.

 

Q: What are you currently working on?
A: I’m trying my hand at adult lit for a bit! I just finished a manuscript about a modern American immigrant family, all struggling with their own dysfunctions, nostalgia and losses. And now I’m researching a novel about Los Angeles in the early 80s!

 

 

The Library of Fates hits stores July 2017–preorder your copy today!

 

 

 

 

 

#Newsyoucanuse

Books that offer understanding to the refugee experience

On World Refugee Day, in a time when understanding and empathizing with the plight of refugees is vitally important, these reads offer insight and experience. From a World War II tragedy to the very recent Syrian refugee crisis, these books are important additions to your shelf. A Land of Permanent Goodbyes Narrated by Destiny, this heartbreaking … Continued
See More

See the EXCLUSIVE Cover Reveal for FOUR DEAD QUEENS by Astrid Scholte!

 Get ready for your first 2019 obsession from debut author and superstar in the making, Astrid Scholte. Four Dead Queens is a high-stakes standalone fantasy novel, full of twists and turns, and an ending that will leave you shook! Check out the gorgeous cover below, read about the book, and try not to be *too* … Continued
See More

Catch Penguin Teen at YALLWest 2018!

This weekend we’re heading to sunny Santa Monica, California for YALLWest 2018! Check out what we’ve got going on this weekend, and make sure to come by the booth and say hi! Can’t wait to see you there. Can’t make it to YALLWest? Make sure you’re following along on our Instagram, Twitter, and Snapchat!   … Continued
See More

Sabaa Tahir Recaps Laia’s An Ember in the Ashes journey

The Ember in the Ashes world is DEEP! And with so much going on – all that death and destruction – it can be hard to remember exactly who is betraying who. Don’t worry though, we had Sabaa Tahir recap Laia of Serra’s journey in the first two books in the series to help refresh … Continued
See More

Sabaa Tahir Recaps Elias’ An Ember in the Ashes journey

Son of The Commandant, and just trying to be a good guy Elias Veturius can’t catch a break. He really wants to escape this life but circumstance, family and promises aren’t making things easy. If you need a refresher on exactly what Elias has been through in An Ember in the Ashes and A Torch … Continued
See More

Catch Penguin Teen at North Texas Teen Book Festival!

We’re so excited to be heading back to North Texas Teen Book Festival next week and we couldn’t wait to give you a little preview of all the free swag, buzz-worthy panels, and awesome activities we have planned for the day. Read on for more info and on April 21st, be sure to stop by our booth for exclusive … Continued
See More

The Truth and Lies of Ella Black cover is HERE!

After the internationally acclaimed The One Memory of Flora Banks, Emily Barr is back and her next book The Truth and Lies of Ella Black is a twisty, who-can-you-trust thriller set a global stage!   Ella Black has always had dark inclinations. She’s successfully hidden her evil alter ego from her family and friends, but … Continued
See More

Catch Penguin Teen at BookCon 2018!

It’s that time again–we’re heading to BookCon! Read on for our full schedule and join us at Booth 2121 for exclusive games and giveaways*, author signings, and sneak peeks at our upcoming books.   SATURDAY JUNE 2ND Ticketed Photo-Op with Sabaa Tahir 10:15AM SOLD OUT! Fear the Reaper. Come get a picture with Sabaa and some … Continued
See More

Sabaa Tahir Recaps Helene’s An Ember in the Ashes journey

Poor Helene! We all know our Blood Shrike really has not had much joy in the Ember in the Ashes series so far, but in case the details are a little fuzzy, we had Sabaa Tahir recap her journey so far. While the path has definitely not been easy for Helene heading into A Reaper at the … Continued
See More

Are You Ready for A REAPER AT THE GATES?

A Reaper at the Gates is the hotly-anticipated third book in Sabaa Tahir’s An Ember in the Ashes series, and it’s finally hitting shelves June 12! We could not be more excited. To get you ready, we’re putting all of this pre-release goodness in one place! Read on for a digital sampler of the three … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP