Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

EXCLUSIVE Cover Reveal of THE LIBRARY OF FATES by Aditi Khorana

SHARE

We are so thrilled to reveal the absolutely stunning cover of Aditi Khorana’s second novel, The Library of Fates. Aditi is the author of the acclaimed Mirror in the Skywhich came out last summer. The Library of Fates is a romantic coming-of-age fantasy tale steeped in Indian folklore, perfect for fans of The Star-Touched Queen and The Wrath and the Dawn

 

About the book: No one is entirely certain what brings the Emperor Sikander to Shalingar. Until now, the idyllic kingdom has been immune to his many violent conquests. To keep the visit friendly, Princess Amrita has offered herself as his bride, sacrificing everything—family, her childhood love, and her freedom—to save her people. But her offer isn’t enough.

 

The unthinkable happens, and Amrita finds herself a fugitive, utterly alone but for an oracle named Thala, who was kept by Sikander as a slave and managed to escape amid the chaos of a palace under siege. With nothing and no one else to turn to, Amrita and Thala are forced to rely on each other. But while Amrita feels responsible for her kingdom and sets out to warn her people, the newly free Thala has no such ties. She encourages Amrita to go on a quest to find the fabled Library of All Things, where it is possible for each of them to reverse their fates. To go back to before Sikander took everything from them.

 

Stripped of all that she loves, caught between her rosy past and an unknown future, will Amrita be able to restore what was lost, or does another life—and another love—await?

 

Check out the amazing cover of The Library of Fates below, and read our Q&A with Aditi!

 

LibraryOfFates_PRESALES

 

Q: You have said that “Cosmos” was part of your inspiration for Mirror in the Sky, your first novel. What inspired The Library of Fates?

A: While Mirror in the Sky was about finding a sense of belonging in the world when you’re different and “belonging” is an elusive thing, I wanted to write a book about a young woman who has always belonged, always been loved and had everything she ever needed, and to see what happens when all of that is taken away. I was fascinated with this question of who you become when life is stripped down to its bare essentials. The UN High Commission for Refugees just reported that 65.3 million people were displaced from their homes in 2015. I should add here that my grandparents were refugees – they came to India after the 1947 Partition and so I’ve spent a lot of time contemplating this question of starting over when you’ve lost everything, when there’s no home left. I also wanted to talk about the intersection of feminism and colonialism. I loved writing a story about a young women challenging a system that’s stacked against her on so many levels.

 

Q:  How does publishing your second novel feel different from your debut novel?

A: It’s just as exciting but perhaps without some of the nail-biting now that I’ve been through the process once. And honestly, it feels like a debut because Library of Fates is such a different book in many ways than Mirror in the Sky. They fundamentally deal with similar issues of parallel lives and female friendship (themes I’m obsessed with) but Library of Fates is a fantasy, set in ancient India, rather than in a small town in contemporary Connecticut!

 

Q: Do you feel that the landscape of diversity in literature has changed at all since you were pitching your debut novel?
A: I definitely think it has but I think this is just the beginning. We have to continue to value and appreciate difference in society and the call for diverse voices continues to be just as fierce and loud as ever. I’m so proud to be a part of this movement but I really believe that we’re not close to where we need to be yet. Literature – and all media, for that matter, should reflect the landscape of our society and by listening to diverse voices we have the opportunity to grow and develop a sense of empathy. We really need that now more than ever.

 

Q: Why do you feel that diversity in literature is so important, especially for children’s/teen books?
A: I’ve said this before and I will probably continue to because I feel so strongly about it: I grew up all over the place and had a very happy childhood. Then, as a result of my parents’ work, we moved to a very wealthy, very white suburb of Connecticut. Having grown up abroad before then, arriving in Greenwich, CT was culture shock for me. I was one of the only people of color at my high school and I learned to see myself through the eyes of others. I had a very hard time fitting in. During this time, I found comfort in books and longed to see characters who looked like me between the pages of my favorite books. Since I wrote Mirror in the Sky, so many young women of color have approached me and thanked me for writing this book because it’s rare for them to find relatable characters of color as the heroes of a story. We all need to see ourselves out there because it validates who we are in this world. I didn’t have that and I’ve devoted my life to changing that.

 

Q: What do you hope readers will take away from The Library of Fates?
A: That even a young girl with nothing left has agency and strength and the power to transform herself as she transforms the world. That we all do, as long as we are on the right side of history. So make sure you’re on the right side of history. Make sure you’re on the side of justice, and that you understand that not only are we all equal but that we’re equally powerful no matter what our circumstances. It is a revolutionary act to be a woman or a person of color or a member of any marginalized group in this society today and to have the audacity to speak your mind. Have that audacity, speak your mind. Do what you need to do. You are not alone.

 

Q: How would you describe the main character, Princess Amrita?
A: She is the most resourceful characters I’ve ever written. She figures things out on the fly. She has an enormous capacity to survive and to love. And just like the most powerful and brilliant women I know, she is willing to change direction when necessary. She is flexible, open to growth rather than holding on to outworn ideas. She consistently puts aside her ego for the greater good without losing a sense of who she truly is and I think that’s her most admirable trait.

 

Q: What is your favorite thing about The Library of Fates?
A: That it has very strong female characters. I’ve read a lot of YA where young women are “rescued” by young men and this particular trope always depresses me to no end. First of all, it’s a boring archetype. It doesn’t give women a lot of credit and it’s unfair to men. But mostly, it feels untrue. All of the women I know – including myself – whenever we’ve been in a bind, we’ve often had lovely men step up and provide kind caring words, or support or take us out for a drink. But when it comes to really rescuing us? We’ve done that for ourselves. And so it feels “true” to me that after the greatest tragedy of her life, Amrita has to pick up the pieces and figure out how to rescue herself with the help of Thala.

 

Q: What are you currently working on?
A: I’m trying my hand at adult lit for a bit! I just finished a manuscript about a modern American immigrant family, all struggling with their own dysfunctions, nostalgia and losses. And now I’m researching a novel about Los Angeles in the early 80s!

 

 

The Library of Fates hits stores July 2017–preorder your copy today!

 

 

 

 

 

#Newsyoucanuse

See the EXCLUSIVE Character Reveal for REIGN OF THE FALLEN by Sarah Glenn Marsh!

Here at Penguin Teen, we’re in the business of bringing you the inside scoop about books that you didn’t even know you were dying to read. Today we’re here to reveal the characters from Reign of the Fallen by Sarah Glenn Marsh, complete with a beautiful illustration and a description from the author. Read a bit … Continued
See More

3 Reasons We’re Freaking Out About the New VALIANT CW Show

The CW has just announced that it will be producing a new TV show based off the epic novel The Valiant by Lesley Livingston. TBH we couldn’t be more excited for this silver screen adaptation of one of our favorite books from this past spring for millions of reasons, but we’ve managed to narrow it down … Continued
See More

Catch Penguin Teen at San Diego Comic Con 2017!

We are super excited to be attending San Diego Comic Con again this year, and we’re giving you a preview of all of the amazing stuff that we’ve got going on at Booth #1515H the weekend of July 20-23. Read on for all of the great happenings in the Penguin Teen booth!   If you’re not … Continued
See More

Announcing FUSION FOR BEGINNERS AND EXPERTS by Rebecca Sugar and Angie Wang!

You may know Rebecca Sugar as the creator of the hit Cartoon Network show, Steven Universe. You may also know her as the author of the New York Times bestselling The Answer, which is based on the episode of the same name, and came out last fall. This time, she and Angie Wang have created a … Continued
See More

See the EXCLUSIVE Cover Reveal for PEOPLE LIKE US by Dana Mele!

Here at Penguin Teen, we’re in the business of bringing you books we just KNOW you’ll love. That’s why we’re so excited to reveal the cover of People Like Us by Dana Mele, a sharp psychological thriller that will seduce, mislead, and finally, betray you. Read about the book below, then check out the amazing cover. … Continued
See More

See the EXCLUSIVE Cover Reveal for BLOOD WATER PAINT by Joy McCullough

We’re so happy to be revealing the cover of Joy McCullough’s Blood Water Paint, a stunning debut novel based on the true story of the iconic painter, Artemisia Gentileschi. This novel in verse, which tells Gentileschi’s story, is a must-buy for any feminist reader’s shelf. Read on for a bit about the book, a note … Continued
See More

Stephanie Perkins Announces Tour for THERE’S SOMEONE INSIDE YOUR HOUSE!

Stephanie Perkins, the bestselling author of Anna and the French Kiss, has a new book coming this fall, and you could say it’s a departure from Anna, Lola, and Isla. There’s Someone Inside Your House is Scream meets YA, about a small Nebraska town with a killer on the loose. One by one, students at Osborne … Continued
See More

The TURTLES ALL THE WAY DOWN Cover Was Revealed and People are Freaking Out

This morning, Good Morning America revealed the cover of John Green’s upcoming novel, Turtles All the Way Down, and we weren’t the only ones who lost. our. freaking. minds. Read on for some of our favorite reactions to the cover reveal!   First, make sure you check out the segment on GMA, and feast your … Continued
See More

Everything We Know About A REAPER AT THE GATES So Far

Early this week, Mashable revealed the title, cover, and pub date of A Reaper at the Gates, the third book in the bestselling Ember in the Ashes series by Sabaa Tahir. Because we love you, we’ve gathered a slew of Sabaa’s tweets, instagrams, and the like to compile this list of everything we know about A Reaper … Continued
See More

See the EXCLUSIVE Cover Reveal for GIVEN TO THE EARTH by Mindy McGinnis!

We’re so thrilled to be revealing the cover of Given to the Earth, the sequel to Given to the Sea by Mindy McGinnis. Given to the Earth concludes this stunning duology, which is perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas. Duty, fate, desire, and destiny collide in this intricately wrought tale. Read more about the book and a Q&A with … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP

I can give you book recommendations.
Please enter your name and email address to begin chatting with me.



What is your date of birth?

START CHAT