Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

EXCLUSIVE Cover Reveal of THE LIBRARY OF FATES by Aditi Khorana

SHARE

We are so thrilled to reveal the absolutely stunning cover of Aditi Khorana’s second novel, The Library of Fates. Aditi is the author of the acclaimed Mirror in the Skywhich came out last summer. The Library of Fates is a romantic coming-of-age fantasy tale steeped in Indian folklore, perfect for fans of The Star-Touched Queen and The Wrath and the Dawn

 

About the book: No one is entirely certain what brings the Emperor Sikander to Shalingar. Until now, the idyllic kingdom has been immune to his many violent conquests. To keep the visit friendly, Princess Amrita has offered herself as his bride, sacrificing everything—family, her childhood love, and her freedom—to save her people. But her offer isn’t enough.

 

The unthinkable happens, and Amrita finds herself a fugitive, utterly alone but for an oracle named Thala, who was kept by Sikander as a slave and managed to escape amid the chaos of a palace under siege. With nothing and no one else to turn to, Amrita and Thala are forced to rely on each other. But while Amrita feels responsible for her kingdom and sets out to warn her people, the newly free Thala has no such ties. She encourages Amrita to go on a quest to find the fabled Library of All Things, where it is possible for each of them to reverse their fates. To go back to before Sikander took everything from them.

 

Stripped of all that she loves, caught between her rosy past and an unknown future, will Amrita be able to restore what was lost, or does another life—and another love—await?

 

Check out the amazing cover of The Library of Fates below, and read our Q&A with Aditi!

 

LibraryOfFates_PRESALES

 

Q: You have said that “Cosmos” was part of your inspiration for Mirror in the Sky, your first novel. What inspired The Library of Fates?

A: While Mirror in the Sky was about finding a sense of belonging in the world when you’re different and “belonging” is an elusive thing, I wanted to write a book about a young woman who has always belonged, always been loved and had everything she ever needed, and to see what happens when all of that is taken away. I was fascinated with this question of who you become when life is stripped down to its bare essentials. The UN High Commission for Refugees just reported that 65.3 million people were displaced from their homes in 2015. I should add here that my grandparents were refugees – they came to India after the 1947 Partition and so I’ve spent a lot of time contemplating this question of starting over when you’ve lost everything, when there’s no home left. I also wanted to talk about the intersection of feminism and colonialism. I loved writing a story about a young women challenging a system that’s stacked against her on so many levels.

 

Q:  How does publishing your second novel feel different from your debut novel?

A: It’s just as exciting but perhaps without some of the nail-biting now that I’ve been through the process once. And honestly, it feels like a debut because Library of Fates is such a different book in many ways than Mirror in the Sky. They fundamentally deal with similar issues of parallel lives and female friendship (themes I’m obsessed with) but Library of Fates is a fantasy, set in ancient India, rather than in a small town in contemporary Connecticut!

 

Q: Do you feel that the landscape of diversity in literature has changed at all since you were pitching your debut novel?
A: I definitely think it has but I think this is just the beginning. We have to continue to value and appreciate difference in society and the call for diverse voices continues to be just as fierce and loud as ever. I’m so proud to be a part of this movement but I really believe that we’re not close to where we need to be yet. Literature – and all media, for that matter, should reflect the landscape of our society and by listening to diverse voices we have the opportunity to grow and develop a sense of empathy. We really need that now more than ever.

 

Q: Why do you feel that diversity in literature is so important, especially for children’s/teen books?
A: I’ve said this before and I will probably continue to because I feel so strongly about it: I grew up all over the place and had a very happy childhood. Then, as a result of my parents’ work, we moved to a very wealthy, very white suburb of Connecticut. Having grown up abroad before then, arriving in Greenwich, CT was culture shock for me. I was one of the only people of color at my high school and I learned to see myself through the eyes of others. I had a very hard time fitting in. During this time, I found comfort in books and longed to see characters who looked like me between the pages of my favorite books. Since I wrote Mirror in the Sky, so many young women of color have approached me and thanked me for writing this book because it’s rare for them to find relatable characters of color as the heroes of a story. We all need to see ourselves out there because it validates who we are in this world. I didn’t have that and I’ve devoted my life to changing that.

 

Q: What do you hope readers will take away from The Library of Fates?
A: That even a young girl with nothing left has agency and strength and the power to transform herself as she transforms the world. That we all do, as long as we are on the right side of history. So make sure you’re on the right side of history. Make sure you’re on the side of justice, and that you understand that not only are we all equal but that we’re equally powerful no matter what our circumstances. It is a revolutionary act to be a woman or a person of color or a member of any marginalized group in this society today and to have the audacity to speak your mind. Have that audacity, speak your mind. Do what you need to do. You are not alone.

 

Q: How would you describe the main character, Princess Amrita?
A: She is the most resourceful characters I’ve ever written. She figures things out on the fly. She has an enormous capacity to survive and to love. And just like the most powerful and brilliant women I know, she is willing to change direction when necessary. She is flexible, open to growth rather than holding on to outworn ideas. She consistently puts aside her ego for the greater good without losing a sense of who she truly is and I think that’s her most admirable trait.

 

Q: What is your favorite thing about The Library of Fates?
A: That it has very strong female characters. I’ve read a lot of YA where young women are “rescued” by young men and this particular trope always depresses me to no end. First of all, it’s a boring archetype. It doesn’t give women a lot of credit and it’s unfair to men. But mostly, it feels untrue. All of the women I know – including myself – whenever we’ve been in a bind, we’ve often had lovely men step up and provide kind caring words, or support or take us out for a drink. But when it comes to really rescuing us? We’ve done that for ourselves. And so it feels “true” to me that after the greatest tragedy of her life, Amrita has to pick up the pieces and figure out how to rescue herself with the help of Thala.

 

Q: What are you currently working on?
A: I’m trying my hand at adult lit for a bit! I just finished a manuscript about a modern American immigrant family, all struggling with their own dysfunctions, nostalgia and losses. And now I’m researching a novel about Los Angeles in the early 80s!

 

 

The Library of Fates hits stores July 2017–preorder your copy today!

 

 

 

 

 

#Newsyoucanuse

Read an excerpt of FRANKLY IN LOVE!

As you all know, we are FRANKLY IN LOVE with Frankly in Love! David Yoon’s upcoming debut novel is causing a massive amount of excitement among readers, and it’s no wonder why. Frankly in Love is quickly making out to be one of the biggest books of 2019… AND WE HAVE AN EXCERPT TO SHARE! For those of … Continued
See More

Spring 2020 COVER REVEAL BONANZA!

Spring! Birds are chirping, new life is in the air and NEW BOOKS ARE IN THE WORLD! And Spring 2020 is packed full of amazing reads. But first, you just have to see these covers that are so #bookstagramgoals you’ll be counting down the days until you can get them on your shelf! IT’S THE … Continued
See More

2020 Penguin Teen YA Preview!

It may be a while off, but 2020 for YA books is shaping up to be AMAZING. Obviously it would unfair to not tell you all ahead of time so you can start marking your TBRs, so we’ve created this preview of our breaking news 2020 titles to keep you in the loop of all the best new … Continued
See More

8 Fantastic Fall Fantasies of 2019!

As fall approaches, so does that wonderful time of year: it’s time to fall into fantasy! And we have the top 8 books to help you do just that.   A River of Royal Blood by Amanda Joy We are counting down the DAYS until this magical fantasy falls onto our shelves. This highly-anticipated tale … Continued
See More

Catch Penguin Teen at San Diego Comic Con!

We’re getting ready to head over to sunny California for San Diego Comic Con! Check out what we’ve got going on, and make sure to come by the booth and say hi! Can’t make it to SDCC? Make sure you’re following along on our Instagram and Twitter!   *Make Penguin your first stop! A limited number … Continued
See More

Catch Penguin Teen at BOOKCON 2019!

This weekend we’re getting ready for BOOKCON 2019! Check out what we’ve got going on for BookCon weekend, and make sure to come by the booth and say hi! Can’t make it? Make sure you’re following along on our Instagram and Twitter!     FRIDAY, MAY 31ST:   5:00pm Penguin Teen Instagram Live Feelin’ the BookCon FOMO? We’ve got … Continued
See More

5 Things We Love in the ‘Looking for Alaska’ Trailer

If you’re going to seek a great perhaps, you’ve reached your first destination. The Looking for Alaska TV miniseries trailer is FINALLY HERE! Watch it right now:     Are you like us and can’t wait to see the show premiere on Hulu on October 18? If so, you’re in luck—we’re spotlighting our all-time favorite … Continued
See More

Books Hitting Shelves in July!

Can you believe we’re almost to July?! AKA the MONTH OF MINIS! Not only are amazing books dropping this month, but MINI versions of amazing books are dropping this month too!   7/2 We Walked the Sky by Lisa Fiedler We Walked the Sky is the stunning, multigenerational story about two teenagers: Catherine, who flees her abusive home … Continued
See More

Every book hitting shelves in August!

Looking to fit a few more summer reads in before beach season’s over? Check out every book hitting shelves in August!   8/6: Ziggy, Stardust and Me by James Brandon – In this tender-hearted debut, set against the tumultuous backdrop of life in 1973, when homosexuality is still considered a mental illness, two boys defy all … Continued
See More

5 reasons why you need An Ember in the Ashes Collector’s Edition

Unless you’ve been trapped inside the Martial Empire’s Kauf Prison, you’ve probably heard that An Ember in the Ashes is getting a beautiful collector’s edition this fall! Exclusively at Barnes & Noble, this must-have edition (available in HARDCOVER) contains never-before-seen content that will have even the most diehard Ember fan swooning. Here are five reasons … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP