Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

EXCLUSIVE Cover Reveal of THE LIBRARY OF FATES by Aditi Khorana

SHARE

We are so thrilled to reveal the absolutely stunning cover of Aditi Khorana’s second novel, The Library of Fates. Aditi is the author of the acclaimed Mirror in the Skywhich came out last summer. The Library of Fates is a romantic coming-of-age fantasy tale steeped in Indian folklore, perfect for fans of The Star-Touched Queen and The Wrath and the Dawn

 

About the book: No one is entirely certain what brings the Emperor Sikander to Shalingar. Until now, the idyllic kingdom has been immune to his many violent conquests. To keep the visit friendly, Princess Amrita has offered herself as his bride, sacrificing everything—family, her childhood love, and her freedom—to save her people. But her offer isn’t enough.

 

The unthinkable happens, and Amrita finds herself a fugitive, utterly alone but for an oracle named Thala, who was kept by Sikander as a slave and managed to escape amid the chaos of a palace under siege. With nothing and no one else to turn to, Amrita and Thala are forced to rely on each other. But while Amrita feels responsible for her kingdom and sets out to warn her people, the newly free Thala has no such ties. She encourages Amrita to go on a quest to find the fabled Library of All Things, where it is possible for each of them to reverse their fates. To go back to before Sikander took everything from them.

 

Stripped of all that she loves, caught between her rosy past and an unknown future, will Amrita be able to restore what was lost, or does another life—and another love—await?

 

Check out the amazing cover of The Library of Fates below, and read our Q&A with Aditi!

 

LibraryOfFates_PRESALES

 

Q: You have said that “Cosmos” was part of your inspiration for Mirror in the Sky, your first novel. What inspired The Library of Fates?

A: While Mirror in the Sky was about finding a sense of belonging in the world when you’re different and “belonging” is an elusive thing, I wanted to write a book about a young woman who has always belonged, always been loved and had everything she ever needed, and to see what happens when all of that is taken away. I was fascinated with this question of who you become when life is stripped down to its bare essentials. The UN High Commission for Refugees just reported that 65.3 million people were displaced from their homes in 2015. I should add here that my grandparents were refugees – they came to India after the 1947 Partition and so I’ve spent a lot of time contemplating this question of starting over when you’ve lost everything, when there’s no home left. I also wanted to talk about the intersection of feminism and colonialism. I loved writing a story about a young women challenging a system that’s stacked against her on so many levels.

 

Q:  How does publishing your second novel feel different from your debut novel?

A: It’s just as exciting but perhaps without some of the nail-biting now that I’ve been through the process once. And honestly, it feels like a debut because Library of Fates is such a different book in many ways than Mirror in the Sky. They fundamentally deal with similar issues of parallel lives and female friendship (themes I’m obsessed with) but Library of Fates is a fantasy, set in ancient India, rather than in a small town in contemporary Connecticut!

 

Q: Do you feel that the landscape of diversity in literature has changed at all since you were pitching your debut novel?
A: I definitely think it has but I think this is just the beginning. We have to continue to value and appreciate difference in society and the call for diverse voices continues to be just as fierce and loud as ever. I’m so proud to be a part of this movement but I really believe that we’re not close to where we need to be yet. Literature – and all media, for that matter, should reflect the landscape of our society and by listening to diverse voices we have the opportunity to grow and develop a sense of empathy. We really need that now more than ever.

 

Q: Why do you feel that diversity in literature is so important, especially for children’s/teen books?
A: I’ve said this before and I will probably continue to because I feel so strongly about it: I grew up all over the place and had a very happy childhood. Then, as a result of my parents’ work, we moved to a very wealthy, very white suburb of Connecticut. Having grown up abroad before then, arriving in Greenwich, CT was culture shock for me. I was one of the only people of color at my high school and I learned to see myself through the eyes of others. I had a very hard time fitting in. During this time, I found comfort in books and longed to see characters who looked like me between the pages of my favorite books. Since I wrote Mirror in the Sky, so many young women of color have approached me and thanked me for writing this book because it’s rare for them to find relatable characters of color as the heroes of a story. We all need to see ourselves out there because it validates who we are in this world. I didn’t have that and I’ve devoted my life to changing that.

 

Q: What do you hope readers will take away from The Library of Fates?
A: That even a young girl with nothing left has agency and strength and the power to transform herself as she transforms the world. That we all do, as long as we are on the right side of history. So make sure you’re on the right side of history. Make sure you’re on the side of justice, and that you understand that not only are we all equal but that we’re equally powerful no matter what our circumstances. It is a revolutionary act to be a woman or a person of color or a member of any marginalized group in this society today and to have the audacity to speak your mind. Have that audacity, speak your mind. Do what you need to do. You are not alone.

 

Q: How would you describe the main character, Princess Amrita?
A: She is the most resourceful characters I’ve ever written. She figures things out on the fly. She has an enormous capacity to survive and to love. And just like the most powerful and brilliant women I know, she is willing to change direction when necessary. She is flexible, open to growth rather than holding on to outworn ideas. She consistently puts aside her ego for the greater good without losing a sense of who she truly is and I think that’s her most admirable trait.

 

Q: What is your favorite thing about The Library of Fates?
A: That it has very strong female characters. I’ve read a lot of YA where young women are “rescued” by young men and this particular trope always depresses me to no end. First of all, it’s a boring archetype. It doesn’t give women a lot of credit and it’s unfair to men. But mostly, it feels untrue. All of the women I know – including myself – whenever we’ve been in a bind, we’ve often had lovely men step up and provide kind caring words, or support or take us out for a drink. But when it comes to really rescuing us? We’ve done that for ourselves. And so it feels “true” to me that after the greatest tragedy of her life, Amrita has to pick up the pieces and figure out how to rescue herself with the help of Thala.

 

Q: What are you currently working on?
A: I’m trying my hand at adult lit for a bit! I just finished a manuscript about a modern American immigrant family, all struggling with their own dysfunctions, nostalgia and losses. And now I’m researching a novel about Los Angeles in the early 80s!

 

 

The Library of Fates hits stores July 2017–preorder your copy today!

 

 

 

 

 

#Newsyoucanuse

Join the Ember Read-Along!

Join us for the Ember Read-Along! From July 5-September 30th, we’ll be exploring the dangerous world of An Ember in the Ashes, A Torch Against the Night, and A Reaper at the Gates by Sabaa Tahir. Whether you’ve read the series twice already or are picking it up for the first time, ALL are welcome to join and catch up … Continued
See More

BookConline with Penguin Teen!

We are SO excited to celebrate the virtual #BookConline festival this weekend. Join in for giveaways, panels, games and more! Scroll down to see what’s happening at the Penguin Teen virtual booth and make sure you don’t miss out on anything awesome!   Psst! Don’t forget to visit the virtual bookstore and get your new reads … Continued
See More

Every Book Hitting Shelves in May!

It MAY be a very good month for books. Here’s what to look forward to!   5/5: Forged in Fire and Stars by Andrea Robertson – Games of Thrones meets An Ember in the Ashes in this action-packed fantasy from the internationally bestselling author of the Nightshade series.   5/5: How It Feels to Float by Helena Fox – A stunningly gorgeous and deeply … Continued
See More

Every Book Hitting Shelves in August!

August is filled with some of our most-anticipated reads, from murder mysteries to sweet love stories. Check out what’s hitting shelves this August below!   8/4: They Wish They Were Us by Jessica Goodman – Gossip Girl meets One of Us Is Lying with a dash of The Secret History in this slick, taut murder mystery set against the backdrop of … Continued
See More

Join Penguin Teen Trivia Night!

Joining us for Penguin Teen Trivia Night? Here’s how! Where is it happening? Join trivia night by clicking here!   When is it happening? Saturday, 5/30! What time does it start? 7PM EST/4pm PST!    Can I pick my own nickname for the game? Sorry, the nicknames are assigned automatically. But you can refresh your browser … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: WATCH OVER ME by Nina LaCour

The cover for Watch Over Me by Nina LaCour is here and it’s STUNNING. Scroll down to read a bit about the book, coming September 15, 2020. Cover artist: Pippa Young   About the book Nina LaCour delivers another emotional knockout with Watch Over Me, the hotly-anticipated follow-up to the Printz Award-winning We Are Okay.  Mila is used to … Continued
See More

Every Book Hitting Shelves in July!

Looking for your next summer read? These books are hitting shelves this month!   7/7: The Damned by Renée Ahdieh – New York Times bestselling author Renée Ahdieh returns with the second installment of her new sumptuous, sultry and romantic series, The Beautiful.   7/7: The Unleashed by Danielle Vega – In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks … Continued
See More

Join us for the Pocket Change Collective Launch Event!

You’re invited! Come celebrate the release of the Pocket Change Collective series and join authors Kimberly Drew, Adam Eli, Xiuhtezcatl Martinez, and Alok Vaid-Menon for the virtual launch party! With live conversations, fan Q&A, special guest appearances and more – this event is not to be missed. WHEN: Tuesday June 2, 2020 TIME: 7pm Eastern/4pm Pacific WHERE: YouTube/PenguinTeenBooks HOW: … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: A Queen of Gilded Horns + A River of Royal Blood paperback!

Today we’re revealing the MUCH anticipated sequel to Amanda Joy’s A River of Royal Blood. Get ready for A Queen of Gilded Horns! (Oh, and did we mention book 1 got a glow-up?) Scroll down to see the stunning new covers and read an excerpt AND Q&A with the author below! Artist: Alexxander Dovelin (Instagram, Twitter); Designer: Samira … Continued
See More

COVER REVEAL: How It All Blew Up by Arvin Ahmadi

How It All Blew Up by Arvin Ahmadi is coming to shelves this September and we need to talk about it. Because everyone else is already talking about it! Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda goes to Italy in Arvin Ahmadi’s newest incisive look at identity and what it means to find yourself by running away.    … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP