Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

EXCLUSIVE Cover Reveal of THE LIBRARY OF FATES by Aditi Khorana

SHARE

We are so thrilled to reveal the absolutely stunning cover of Aditi Khorana’s second novel, The Library of Fates. Aditi is the author of the acclaimed Mirror in the Skywhich came out last summer. The Library of Fates is a romantic coming-of-age fantasy tale steeped in Indian folklore, perfect for fans of The Star-Touched Queen and The Wrath and the Dawn

 

About the book: No one is entirely certain what brings the Emperor Sikander to Shalingar. Until now, the idyllic kingdom has been immune to his many violent conquests. To keep the visit friendly, Princess Amrita has offered herself as his bride, sacrificing everything—family, her childhood love, and her freedom—to save her people. But her offer isn’t enough.

 

The unthinkable happens, and Amrita finds herself a fugitive, utterly alone but for an oracle named Thala, who was kept by Sikander as a slave and managed to escape amid the chaos of a palace under siege. With nothing and no one else to turn to, Amrita and Thala are forced to rely on each other. But while Amrita feels responsible for her kingdom and sets out to warn her people, the newly free Thala has no such ties. She encourages Amrita to go on a quest to find the fabled Library of All Things, where it is possible for each of them to reverse their fates. To go back to before Sikander took everything from them.

 

Stripped of all that she loves, caught between her rosy past and an unknown future, will Amrita be able to restore what was lost, or does another life—and another love—await?

 

Check out the amazing cover of The Library of Fates below, and read our Q&A with Aditi!

 

LibraryOfFates_PRESALES

 

Q: You have said that “Cosmos” was part of your inspiration for Mirror in the Sky, your first novel. What inspired The Library of Fates?

A: While Mirror in the Sky was about finding a sense of belonging in the world when you’re different and “belonging” is an elusive thing, I wanted to write a book about a young woman who has always belonged, always been loved and had everything she ever needed, and to see what happens when all of that is taken away. I was fascinated with this question of who you become when life is stripped down to its bare essentials. The UN High Commission for Refugees just reported that 65.3 million people were displaced from their homes in 2015. I should add here that my grandparents were refugees – they came to India after the 1947 Partition and so I’ve spent a lot of time contemplating this question of starting over when you’ve lost everything, when there’s no home left. I also wanted to talk about the intersection of feminism and colonialism. I loved writing a story about a young women challenging a system that’s stacked against her on so many levels.

 

Q:  How does publishing your second novel feel different from your debut novel?

A: It’s just as exciting but perhaps without some of the nail-biting now that I’ve been through the process once. And honestly, it feels like a debut because Library of Fates is such a different book in many ways than Mirror in the Sky. They fundamentally deal with similar issues of parallel lives and female friendship (themes I’m obsessed with) but Library of Fates is a fantasy, set in ancient India, rather than in a small town in contemporary Connecticut!

 

Q: Do you feel that the landscape of diversity in literature has changed at all since you were pitching your debut novel?
A: I definitely think it has but I think this is just the beginning. We have to continue to value and appreciate difference in society and the call for diverse voices continues to be just as fierce and loud as ever. I’m so proud to be a part of this movement but I really believe that we’re not close to where we need to be yet. Literature – and all media, for that matter, should reflect the landscape of our society and by listening to diverse voices we have the opportunity to grow and develop a sense of empathy. We really need that now more than ever.

 

Q: Why do you feel that diversity in literature is so important, especially for children’s/teen books?
A: I’ve said this before and I will probably continue to because I feel so strongly about it: I grew up all over the place and had a very happy childhood. Then, as a result of my parents’ work, we moved to a very wealthy, very white suburb of Connecticut. Having grown up abroad before then, arriving in Greenwich, CT was culture shock for me. I was one of the only people of color at my high school and I learned to see myself through the eyes of others. I had a very hard time fitting in. During this time, I found comfort in books and longed to see characters who looked like me between the pages of my favorite books. Since I wrote Mirror in the Sky, so many young women of color have approached me and thanked me for writing this book because it’s rare for them to find relatable characters of color as the heroes of a story. We all need to see ourselves out there because it validates who we are in this world. I didn’t have that and I’ve devoted my life to changing that.

 

Q: What do you hope readers will take away from The Library of Fates?
A: That even a young girl with nothing left has agency and strength and the power to transform herself as she transforms the world. That we all do, as long as we are on the right side of history. So make sure you’re on the right side of history. Make sure you’re on the side of justice, and that you understand that not only are we all equal but that we’re equally powerful no matter what our circumstances. It is a revolutionary act to be a woman or a person of color or a member of any marginalized group in this society today and to have the audacity to speak your mind. Have that audacity, speak your mind. Do what you need to do. You are not alone.

 

Q: How would you describe the main character, Princess Amrita?
A: She is the most resourceful characters I’ve ever written. She figures things out on the fly. She has an enormous capacity to survive and to love. And just like the most powerful and brilliant women I know, she is willing to change direction when necessary. She is flexible, open to growth rather than holding on to outworn ideas. She consistently puts aside her ego for the greater good without losing a sense of who she truly is and I think that’s her most admirable trait.

 

Q: What is your favorite thing about The Library of Fates?
A: That it has very strong female characters. I’ve read a lot of YA where young women are “rescued” by young men and this particular trope always depresses me to no end. First of all, it’s a boring archetype. It doesn’t give women a lot of credit and it’s unfair to men. But mostly, it feels untrue. All of the women I know – including myself – whenever we’ve been in a bind, we’ve often had lovely men step up and provide kind caring words, or support or take us out for a drink. But when it comes to really rescuing us? We’ve done that for ourselves. And so it feels “true” to me that after the greatest tragedy of her life, Amrita has to pick up the pieces and figure out how to rescue herself with the help of Thala.

 

Q: What are you currently working on?
A: I’m trying my hand at adult lit for a bit! I just finished a manuscript about a modern American immigrant family, all struggling with their own dysfunctions, nostalgia and losses. And now I’m researching a novel about Los Angeles in the early 80s!

 

 

The Library of Fates hits stores July 2017–preorder your copy today!

 

 

 

 

 

#Newsyoucanuse

Catch Penguin Teen at BookCon 2017!

We are super excited to be attending BookCon again this year, and we’re giving you a preview of all of the amazing stuff that we’ve got going on the weekend of June 3-4. If you haven’t gotten your tickets yet, you can still get them here! Read on for all of the great happenings in … Continued
See More

The Cover for Marie Lu’s WARCROSS Was Revealed Yesterday and People Lost Their Minds

Yesterday, the cover for the first book in Marie Lu’s latest series, Warcross, was revealed, and the internet exploded. We’ve attempted to round up all of the great things fans were saying, and the even more amazing visuals they’ve created, but it was SO HARD TO CHOOSE. Read on to learn more about Warcross and see … Continued
See More

Get in the Holiday Spirit With Our Twelve Days of Downprices!

The holidays have arrived, and we’re getting a jump on celebrating by bringing you 12 Days of Downprices! Read on to find out when that book you’ve always wanted to read is going to be available to download for just $1.99! Make sure to mark your calendar with these dates so you’re stocked up for all of … Continued
See More

5 Books That Will Be Game Changers For Your Fall TBR

Fall will be here before we know it which means your TBR planning should start now. Think we’re jumping ahead of ourselves? Take a peek at five game-changing novels we’re looking forward to this fall and you’ll know exactly what we mean. From a new sci-fi thriller from #1 New York Times bestselling author Marie Lu to … Continued
See More

Check out the New Cover for Ally Condie’s Summerlost!

We are SO excited to share with you the beautiful new cover from Ally Condie’s novel Summerlost. We asked Ally why her Matched fans would enjoy Summerlost, and she said:   “Sometimes I am asked what Matched and Summerlost have in common–and my flippant answer is that they both have truly beautiful covers. I’ve been so … Continued
See More

EXCLUSIVE Cover Reveal of WHEN I AM THROUGH WITH YOU by Stephanie Kuehn

We are thrilled to reveal the cover of When I am Through With You, Stephanie Kuehn’s smart, dark, and twisty novel.   About the book: “This isn’t meant to be a confession. Not in any spiritual sense of the word. Yes, I’m in jail at the moment. I imagine I’ll be here for a long … Continued
See More

See the EXCLUSIVE Cover Reveal of Blood of a Thousand Stars by Rhoda Belleza!

Empress of a Thousand Skies, which came out this February, is an epic sci-fi/fantasy that follows two characters: one, a princess and the other, a fugitive. But together, they must confront a ruthless evil that threatens the fate of the entire galaxy.   Yesterday, Rhoda Belleza teased the title of the sequel to Empress of a Thousand … Continued
See More

Start Your Wish List With Our Penguin Teen Holiday Gift Guide!

‘Tis the season for giving–and, well, for dreaming of all the ways we can improve our shelves in the new year. Whether you’re searching for the perfect gift for the reader in your life, or blanking on what to put on your own wish list, our Penguin Young Readers Holiday Gift Guide has got you covered. … Continued
See More

See the EXCLUSIVE cover reveal of A Land of Permanent Goodbyes by Atia Abawi

We’re thrilled to reveal the cover of A Land of Permanent Goodbyes by Atia Abawi, a heartbreaking and timely story of refugees escaping from war-torn Syria, masterfully told by a foreign news correspondent who experienced the crisis firsthand.   About the book: Tareq lives in Syria with his warm and loving family, until the bombs strike. He, … Continued
See More

Ruta Sepetys and Alwyn Hamilton are Goodreads Choice Winners!

The 2016 Goodreads Choice Awards winners have just been announced–over 3.5 million votes were cast by Goodreads readers, in twenty categories. The people have spoken, and we are so proud to report that two Penguin Teen authors have been selected!   Best Debut Goodreads Author is Alwyn Hamilton for Rebel of the Sands!   Best YA Fiction was … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP

I can give you book recommendations.
Please enter your name and email address to begin chatting with me.



What is your date of birth?

START CHAT