Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

See the EXCLUSIVE cover reveal for THE ARSONIST by Stephanie Oakes!

SHARE

We are so excited to reveal the amazing cover for Stephanie Oakes’ The Arsonist. Stephanie is the author of The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly, a Morris Award finalist. In this gripping novel, three storylines are woven together in a story that’s part Cold War mystery, part contemporary coming-of-age, and completely unputdownable.

 

About the book: 

Molly Mavity is not a normal teenage girl. For one thing, her father is a convicted murderer, and his execution date is fast approaching. For another, Molly refuses to believe that her mother is dead, and she waits for the day when they’ll be reunited . . . despite all evidence that this will never happen.

 

Pepper Yusef is not your average teenage boy. A Kuwaiti immigrant with epilepsy, serious girl problems, and the most useless seizure dog in existence, he has to write a series of essays over the summer . . . or fail out of school.

 

And Ava Dreyman—the brave and beautiful East German resistance fighter whose murder at seventeen led to the destruction of the Berlin Wall—is unlike anyone you’ve met before.

 

When Molly gets a package leading her to Pepper, they’re tasked with solving a decades-old mystery: find out who killed Ava, back in 1989. Using Ava’s diary for clues, Molly and Pepper realize there’s more to her life—and death—than meets the eye. Someone is lying to them. And someone out there is guiding them along, desperate for answers.

 

At turns heart-racing and heartbreaking, The Arsonist is an intricate tapestry—of love, loss, and the mysterious connections between us all.

 

Feast your eyes on the beautiful cover of The Arsonist below, and read our Q&A with Stephanie!

 

TheArsonist_cvr_final

TheArsonist_FINALFull

 

Q: What inspired you to write The Arsonist?

A: This book was a thrill to write because it allowed me to cross a few things off of my writing bucket list. In my last book, The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly, the world is very contained (the settings are a cult in the Montana wilderness and a juvenile detention facility). After writing in such enclosed spaces, I loved the idea of stretching my writing muscles a bit. I decided I had to write this one in multiple perspectives, something I’ve always wanted to try. I decided I’d also let myself travel around the world with this book. I set the modern sections in the gorgeous town of Monterey, California, and the historical setting was 1980s East Berlin. 

Q: Of the three different points of view, whose perspective came the easiest to you? Whose was the hardest? Do you have a favorite?

A: They were each challenging at different moments, but with time, I’ve grown to understand each of them really closely. Ava’s sections required a lot of research to get the details of 1980s East Berlin just right, but after that, her voice just flowed. I have such a soft spot for Molly, even though her sections gave me the most trouble in the beginning (I think it’s because we’re so much alike). And Pepper might be my favorite character because he’s such a comedian and he was always a blast to write. 

Q: How does the cover of The Arsonist represent the story inside? 

A: I’m so happy and impressed with what the design team was able to accomplish with this cover. The artist was Antonio Mora, who specializes in double exposure photography, and he did a phenomenal job. I’m still in awe of it! The most incredible thing about this cover is how well it represents the three main characters. Molly is on the front cover. Everyone in the book is very associated with fire, but Molly probably more than anyone since her father is a serial arsonist on death row. Symbolically, the front cover also tells people a lot about Molly as a person. On the back is Pepper, who is tied in a lot of ways to the ocean. And the spine represents Ava’s diary. My favorite element might be the matchbooks on the spine!

Q: This book is a blend of a few different genres—emotional coming-of-age, mystery, historical thriller, and comedy. Do you have a favorite genre that you like to read? What are some of your recent favorite books?

A: I constantly switch up the genres that I read, so it makes sense that this book is a little bit of everything! I have a soft spot for fantasy and realistic fiction, but I’ll read anything. My favorite book of the year is probably Wink Poppy Midnight by April Genevieve Tucholke. That book is so beautifully written and atmospheric, and I kind of want to live inside it. Right now I’m reading The Passion of Dolssa by Julie Berry, which is so ambitious and like nothing I’ve read in a long time. 

Q: What’s one thing that most people don’t know about you?

A: I love, love, love comic books and graphic novels and secretly want to write my own one day. 

 

 

The Arsonist hits stores in August 2017!

 

 

 

#Newsyoucanuse

See the EXCLUSIVE Character Reveal for REIGN OF THE FALLEN by Sarah Glenn Marsh!

Here at Penguin Teen, we’re in the business of bringing you the inside scoop about books that you didn’t even know you were dying to read. Today we’re here to reveal the characters from Reign of the Fallen by Sarah Glenn Marsh, complete with a beautiful illustration and a description from the author. Read a bit … Continued
See More

3 Reasons We’re Freaking Out About the New VALIANT CW Show

The CW has just announced that it will be producing a new TV show based off the epic novel The Valiant by Lesley Livingston. TBH we couldn’t be more excited for this silver screen adaptation of one of our favorite books from this past spring for millions of reasons, but we’ve managed to narrow it down … Continued
See More

Catch Penguin Teen at San Diego Comic Con 2017!

We are super excited to be attending San Diego Comic Con again this year, and we’re giving you a preview of all of the amazing stuff that we’ve got going on at Booth #1515H the weekend of July 20-23. Read on for all of the great happenings in the Penguin Teen booth!   If you’re not … Continued
See More

Announcing FUSION FOR BEGINNERS AND EXPERTS by Rebecca Sugar and Angie Wang!

You may know Rebecca Sugar as the creator of the hit Cartoon Network show, Steven Universe. You may also know her as the author of the New York Times bestselling The Answer, which is based on the episode of the same name, and came out last fall. This time, she and Angie Wang have created a … Continued
See More

See the EXCLUSIVE Cover Reveal for PEOPLE LIKE US by Dana Mele!

Here at Penguin Teen, we’re in the business of bringing you books we just KNOW you’ll love. That’s why we’re so excited to reveal the cover of People Like Us by Dana Mele, a sharp psychological thriller that will seduce, mislead, and finally, betray you. Read about the book below, then check out the amazing cover. … Continued
See More

See the EXCLUSIVE Cover Reveal for BLOOD WATER PAINT by Joy McCullough

We’re so happy to be revealing the cover of Joy McCullough’s Blood Water Paint, a stunning debut novel based on the true story of the iconic painter, Artemisia Gentileschi. This novel in verse, which tells Gentileschi’s story, is a must-buy for any feminist reader’s shelf. Read on for a bit about the book, a note … Continued
See More

Stephanie Perkins Announces Tour for THERE’S SOMEONE INSIDE YOUR HOUSE!

Stephanie Perkins, the bestselling author of Anna and the French Kiss, has a new book coming this fall, and you could say it’s a departure from Anna, Lola, and Isla. There’s Someone Inside Your House is Scream meets YA, about a small Nebraska town with a killer on the loose. One by one, students at Osborne … Continued
See More

The TURTLES ALL THE WAY DOWN Cover Was Revealed and People are Freaking Out

This morning, Good Morning America revealed the cover of John Green’s upcoming novel, Turtles All the Way Down, and we weren’t the only ones who lost. our. freaking. minds. Read on for some of our favorite reactions to the cover reveal!   First, make sure you check out the segment on GMA, and feast your … Continued
See More

Everything We Know About A REAPER AT THE GATES So Far

Early this week, Mashable revealed the title, cover, and pub date of A Reaper at the Gates, the third book in the bestselling Ember in the Ashes series by Sabaa Tahir. Because we love you, we’ve gathered a slew of Sabaa’s tweets, instagrams, and the like to compile this list of everything we know about A Reaper … Continued
See More

See the EXCLUSIVE Cover Reveal for GIVEN TO THE EARTH by Mindy McGinnis!

We’re so thrilled to be revealing the cover of Given to the Earth, the sequel to Given to the Sea by Mindy McGinnis. Given to the Earth concludes this stunning duology, which is perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas. Duty, fate, desire, and destiny collide in this intricately wrought tale. Read more about the book and a Q&A with … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP

I can give you book recommendations.
Please enter your name and email address to begin chatting with me.



What is your date of birth?

START CHAT