Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

See the EXCLUSIVE cover reveal for THE ARSONIST by Stephanie Oakes!

SHARE

We are so excited to reveal the amazing cover for Stephanie Oakes’ The Arsonist. Stephanie is the author of The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly, a Morris Award finalist. In this gripping novel, three storylines are woven together in a story that’s part Cold War mystery, part contemporary coming-of-age, and completely unputdownable.

 

About the book: 

Molly Mavity is not a normal teenage girl. For one thing, her father is a convicted murderer, and his execution date is fast approaching. For another, Molly refuses to believe that her mother is dead, and she waits for the day when they’ll be reunited . . . despite all evidence that this will never happen.

 

Pepper Yusef is not your average teenage boy. A Kuwaiti immigrant with epilepsy, serious girl problems, and the most useless seizure dog in existence, he has to write a series of essays over the summer . . . or fail out of school.

 

And Ava Dreyman—the brave and beautiful East German resistance fighter whose murder at seventeen led to the destruction of the Berlin Wall—is unlike anyone you’ve met before.

 

When Molly gets a package leading her to Pepper, they’re tasked with solving a decades-old mystery: find out who killed Ava, back in 1989. Using Ava’s diary for clues, Molly and Pepper realize there’s more to her life—and death—than meets the eye. Someone is lying to them. And someone out there is guiding them along, desperate for answers.

 

At turns heart-racing and heartbreaking, The Arsonist is an intricate tapestry—of love, loss, and the mysterious connections between us all.

 

Feast your eyes on the beautiful cover of The Arsonist below, and read our Q&A with Stephanie!

 

TheArsonist_cvr_final

TheArsonist_FINALFull

 

Q: What inspired you to write The Arsonist?

A: This book was a thrill to write because it allowed me to cross a few things off of my writing bucket list. In my last book, The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly, the world is very contained (the settings are a cult in the Montana wilderness and a juvenile detention facility). After writing in such enclosed spaces, I loved the idea of stretching my writing muscles a bit. I decided I had to write this one in multiple perspectives, something I’ve always wanted to try. I decided I’d also let myself travel around the world with this book. I set the modern sections in the gorgeous town of Monterey, California, and the historical setting was 1980s East Berlin. 

Q: Of the three different points of view, whose perspective came the easiest to you? Whose was the hardest? Do you have a favorite?

A: They were each challenging at different moments, but with time, I’ve grown to understand each of them really closely. Ava’s sections required a lot of research to get the details of 1980s East Berlin just right, but after that, her voice just flowed. I have such a soft spot for Molly, even though her sections gave me the most trouble in the beginning (I think it’s because we’re so much alike). And Pepper might be my favorite character because he’s such a comedian and he was always a blast to write. 

Q: How does the cover of The Arsonist represent the story inside? 

A: I’m so happy and impressed with what the design team was able to accomplish with this cover. The artist was Antonio Mora, who specializes in double exposure photography, and he did a phenomenal job. I’m still in awe of it! The most incredible thing about this cover is how well it represents the three main characters. Molly is on the front cover. Everyone in the book is very associated with fire, but Molly probably more than anyone since her father is a serial arsonist on death row. Symbolically, the front cover also tells people a lot about Molly as a person. On the back is Pepper, who is tied in a lot of ways to the ocean. And the spine represents Ava’s diary. My favorite element might be the matchbooks on the spine!

Q: This book is a blend of a few different genres—emotional coming-of-age, mystery, historical thriller, and comedy. Do you have a favorite genre that you like to read? What are some of your recent favorite books?

A: I constantly switch up the genres that I read, so it makes sense that this book is a little bit of everything! I have a soft spot for fantasy and realistic fiction, but I’ll read anything. My favorite book of the year is probably Wink Poppy Midnight by April Genevieve Tucholke. That book is so beautifully written and atmospheric, and I kind of want to live inside it. Right now I’m reading The Passion of Dolssa by Julie Berry, which is so ambitious and like nothing I’ve read in a long time. 

Q: What’s one thing that most people don’t know about you?

A: I love, love, love comic books and graphic novels and secretly want to write my own one day. 

 

 

The Arsonist hits stores in August 2017!

 

 

 

#Newsyoucanuse

Every Book Hitting Shelves in April!

April is almost here, and she’s bringing books!   4/7: The Best Laid Plans by Cameron Lund – High school senior Keely Collins takes on firsts, lasts, and everything in between in this sweet, sex-positive rom-com for fans of Meg Cabot and Jenny Han.   4/7: Holding on to You by Ash Parsons – A gripping and … Continued
See More

Every Book Hitting Shelves in March!

March is making the rest of 2020 BLUSH with how amazing it is. Ready your shelves. Prepare your TBR. LET’S GO!   3/3: The Kingdom of Back by Marie Lu – Two siblings. Two brilliant talents. But only one Mozart. Born with a gift for music, Nannerl Mozart has just one wish–to be remembered forever. And as Nannerl’s hope of … Continued
See More

COVER REVEAL: The Sky Above Us by Natalie Lund

Cover reveal time! Today we’re revealing the cover for Natalie Lund’s The Sky Above Us. After her stunning debut, We Speak in Storms, we absolutely cannot wait what she’s cooked up next. So we’re celebrating with an excerpt! Get ready for a twisty, psychological thriller about three friends searching for the truth in the aftermath of a plane … Continued
See More

A Book for Every Reader: Ebooks on Sale!

Bored at home? We’re here to help! This week on Penguin Teen, we’re featuring a book for every reader of every genre. Scroll down to see all the ebooks on sale this week, and get your copies anywhere ebooks are sold (before it ends on 3/29!)   For Horror fans… The Merciless by Danielle Vega … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: STORMBREAK by Natalie C. Parker

It’s coming. Seafire left us on the edge of our seats. Steel Tide left us with questions that NEED answers. And now, Natalie C. Parker is bringing it home with the epic finale to Caledonia’s journey in Stormbreak. In the thrilling conclusion to the Seafire trilogy, Caledonia Styx will risk everything–her heart, her crew, and even her life–to defeat Lir … Continued
See More

DIG by A.S. King is a Printz Award Winner!

Dig by A.S. King just won the Printz Award! For those of you who might be new, the Michael L. Printz Award awards the best books written for teens each year, based purely on its literary merit. Basically: it’s a big deal. Think the Oscars for books. So, we are SO excited to share that Dig by A.S. … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: VICIOUS SPIRITS by Kat Cho

Cover reveal time! We all fell MADLY in love with Kat Cho’s Wicked Fox. But it also left us with questions. We need to know what’s next for Miyoung and Jihoon! We don’t have all the answers yet, but luckily, we DO have a cover to show you. And it. is. GORGEOUS. Prepare your eyeballs and scroll down … Continued
See More

Cover reveal and excerpt: EVERY BODY LOOKING by Candice Iloh

Jacqueline Woodson loves it, Nic Stone loves it, Jason Reynolds loves it! And we just know you’re going to love it too! Every Body Looking by Candice Iloh, is a that book tells the story of Ada–daughter of an immigrant father and an African American mother–and her struggle to find a place for herself in … Continued
See More

Catch Penguin Teen at NTTBF 2020!

This weekend we’re heading to Texas for NTTBF 2020! Check out what we’ve got going on this weekend, and make sure to come by the booth and say hi! Can’t make it to North Texas Teen Book Festival? Make sure you’re following along on our Instagram and Twitter at @penguinteen!   10:30am Jo & Laurie … Continued
See More

COVER REVEAL & SNEAK PEEK: The Boy in the Red Dress

Cover reveal (AND excerpt) time! Get ready for The Boy in the Red Dress by Kristin Lambert hitting shelves this May, is a rollicking romp of truth, lies, and troubled pasts. It’s New Year’s Eve, 1929.Millie is running the show at the Cloak & Dagger, a swinging speakeasy in the French Quarter, while her aunt is out of town. … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP