Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

See the EXCLUSIVE cover reveal for THE ARSONIST by Stephanie Oakes!

SHARE

We are so excited to reveal the amazing cover for Stephanie Oakes’ The Arsonist. Stephanie is the author of The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly, a Morris Award finalist. In this gripping novel, three storylines are woven together in a story that’s part Cold War mystery, part contemporary coming-of-age, and completely unputdownable.

 

About the book: 

Molly Mavity is not a normal teenage girl. For one thing, her father is a convicted murderer, and his execution date is fast approaching. For another, Molly refuses to believe that her mother is dead, and she waits for the day when they’ll be reunited . . . despite all evidence that this will never happen.

 

Pepper Yusef is not your average teenage boy. A Kuwaiti immigrant with epilepsy, serious girl problems, and the most useless seizure dog in existence, he has to write a series of essays over the summer . . . or fail out of school.

 

And Ava Dreyman—the brave and beautiful East German resistance fighter whose murder at seventeen led to the destruction of the Berlin Wall—is unlike anyone you’ve met before.

 

When Molly gets a package leading her to Pepper, they’re tasked with solving a decades-old mystery: find out who killed Ava, back in 1989. Using Ava’s diary for clues, Molly and Pepper realize there’s more to her life—and death—than meets the eye. Someone is lying to them. And someone out there is guiding them along, desperate for answers.

 

At turns heart-racing and heartbreaking, The Arsonist is an intricate tapestry—of love, loss, and the mysterious connections between us all.

 

Feast your eyes on the beautiful cover of The Arsonist below, and read our Q&A with Stephanie!

 

TheArsonist_cvr_final

TheArsonist_FINALFull

 

Q: What inspired you to write The Arsonist?

A: This book was a thrill to write because it allowed me to cross a few things off of my writing bucket list. In my last book, The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly, the world is very contained (the settings are a cult in the Montana wilderness and a juvenile detention facility). After writing in such enclosed spaces, I loved the idea of stretching my writing muscles a bit. I decided I had to write this one in multiple perspectives, something I’ve always wanted to try. I decided I’d also let myself travel around the world with this book. I set the modern sections in the gorgeous town of Monterey, California, and the historical setting was 1980s East Berlin. 

Q: Of the three different points of view, whose perspective came the easiest to you? Whose was the hardest? Do you have a favorite?

A: They were each challenging at different moments, but with time, I’ve grown to understand each of them really closely. Ava’s sections required a lot of research to get the details of 1980s East Berlin just right, but after that, her voice just flowed. I have such a soft spot for Molly, even though her sections gave me the most trouble in the beginning (I think it’s because we’re so much alike). And Pepper might be my favorite character because he’s such a comedian and he was always a blast to write. 

Q: How does the cover of The Arsonist represent the story inside? 

A: I’m so happy and impressed with what the design team was able to accomplish with this cover. The artist was Antonio Mora, who specializes in double exposure photography, and he did a phenomenal job. I’m still in awe of it! The most incredible thing about this cover is how well it represents the three main characters. Molly is on the front cover. Everyone in the book is very associated with fire, but Molly probably more than anyone since her father is a serial arsonist on death row. Symbolically, the front cover also tells people a lot about Molly as a person. On the back is Pepper, who is tied in a lot of ways to the ocean. And the spine represents Ava’s diary. My favorite element might be the matchbooks on the spine!

Q: This book is a blend of a few different genres—emotional coming-of-age, mystery, historical thriller, and comedy. Do you have a favorite genre that you like to read? What are some of your recent favorite books?

A: I constantly switch up the genres that I read, so it makes sense that this book is a little bit of everything! I have a soft spot for fantasy and realistic fiction, but I’ll read anything. My favorite book of the year is probably Wink Poppy Midnight by April Genevieve Tucholke. That book is so beautifully written and atmospheric, and I kind of want to live inside it. Right now I’m reading The Passion of Dolssa by Julie Berry, which is so ambitious and like nothing I’ve read in a long time. 

Q: What’s one thing that most people don’t know about you?

A: I love, love, love comic books and graphic novels and secretly want to write my own one day. 

 

 

The Arsonist hits stores in August 2017!

 

 

 

#Newsyoucanuse

COVER REVEAL & SNEAK PEEK: The Boy in the Red Dress

Cover reveal (AND excerpt) time! Get ready for The Boy in the Red Dress by Kristin Lambert hitting shelves this May, is a rollicking romp of truth, lies, and troubled pasts. It’s New Year’s Eve, 1929.Millie is running the show at the Cloak & Dagger, a swinging speakeasy in the French Quarter, while her aunt is out of town. … Continued
See More

Best Bookish Moments of 2019!

Books were read, you voted, and now it’s time to announce the winners! This is Best Bookish Moments of 2019. The competition was FIERCE, but it’s time to meet your winners for Best Fight, Best Kiss, Best Villain, Best Tearjerker, and Best Plot Twist!   BEST FIGHT: Fireborne by Rosaria Munda We nod at each other, exchange … Continued
See More

5 reasons you need to pre-order A River of Royal Blood

Searching for your next fantasy series to dive into? Well, then your search is over! A River of Royal Blood will be on shelves October 29, 2019, which means you have until October 28 to pre-order the first installment in this magickal new series. Here’s why you should pre-order it RIGHT NOW!   1. The … Continued
See More

COVER REVEAL: The Sky Above Us by Natalie Lund

Cover reveal time! Today we’re revealing the cover for Natalie Lund’s The Sky Above Us. After her stunning debut, We Speak in Storms, we absolutely cannot wait what she’s cooked up next. So we’re celebrating with an excerpt! Get ready for a twisty, psychological thriller about three friends searching for the truth in the aftermath of a plane … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: GODDESS IN THE MACHINE

PREPARE YOUR EYEBALLS! Because we have the cover of Goddess in the Machine by Lora Beth Johnson and it.is.STELLAR. Oh, and also? We’ve got an author Q&A and an excerpt to share! Goddess in the Machine is a thrilling sci-fi adventure, perfect for anyone who loves Renegades and Aurora Rising, in which Andra wakes up from a cryogenic sleep 1,000 years later than she was … Continued
See More

Every book hitting shelves in November!

November is here and new books are too! Scroll down to see what’s hitting shelves this month!   11/5: Song of the Crimson Flower by Julie C. Dao – Will love break the spell? From the acclaimed author of Forest of a Thousand Lanterns comes a fantastical new tale of darkness and love, in which magical bonds are stronger … Continued
See More

DIG by A.S. King is a Printz Award Winner!

Dig by A.S. King just won the Printz Award! For those of you who might be new, the Michael L. Printz Award awards the best books written for teens each year, based purely on its literary merit. Basically: it’s a big deal. Think the Oscars for books. So, we are SO excited to share that Dig by A.S. … Continued
See More

Catch Penguin Teen at YALLFest 2019!

We’re getting ready to cruise on over to Charleston, SC for YALLFest 2019! Check out what we’ve got going on, and make sure to come by the booth and say hi! Can’t make it to YALLFest? Make sure you’re following along on our Instagram and Twitter @penguinteen!   FRIDAY, NOVEMBER 8   4:00pm RED CARPET … Continued
See More

Every Book Hitting Shelves in February!

February is here and so are these AMAZING READS!   2/4: The Queen’s Assassin by Melissa de la Cruz – Perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Red Queen, this is the first novel in a sweeping YA fantasy-romance duet about a deadly assassin, his mysterious apprentice, and the country they are sworn to protect from #1 NYT bestselling author … Continued
See More

SURPRISE! New 2020 Covers!

Watch your step because we’re about to drop some COVERS! 2020 is packed full of highly-anticipated reads, from sweet to spooky, and we’re here to tell you about a few of them today in our surprise cover drop! First up…   SKYWATCHERS by Carrie Arcos – August 18, 2020 If you loved In the Woods by Tana … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP