Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Adam & Mia, and 9 Other Artists from YA Books We Love

SHARE

Isn’t there something just so attractive about an artist? Whether they’re putting paint on a canvas or strumming out their feelings on a guitar, the brooding definitely gets to us in the best possible way. Here at Penguin Teen, we work with books (obviously), so it’s no mystery why we love artists in fiction. Here are some of our favs!

 

Always Never Yours by Austin Siegemund-Broka and Emily Wibberley

Have you ever wondered what happened to Rosaline in Romeo & Juliet? Did she find her happy ending or was she destined to lust (and then mourn—sorry, spoiler!) after Romeo? Always Never Yours puts this Shakespearean classic on its head by offering a (hopefully) happier ending for the cast-aside heroine as she tackles the tragic romance as her high school performance.

 

I Have Lost My Way by Gayle Forman

Freya is a musical artist on hiatus… spoiler alert: she’s lost her voice. For a popstar sensation, that’s a huge bummer. But then Freya finds Harun and Nathaniel, and suddenly things aren’t as hopeless as they seem.

 

Crazy Messy Beautiful by Carrie Arcos

Sixteen-year-old Neruda Diaz is an inspiring artist who has been in love many times before, but hasn’t found the one… yet. Cue: Callie. Paired together for a school project, Neruda and Callie realize that they have a lot more in common than they ever thought, but also that love is, well, complicated.

 

Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins

Isla has been enamored with Josh for a while, but Josh just got out of a messy relationship—we’ve all been there. Josh is a brooding cartoonist working on an autobiographical graphic novel. Honestly, what’s not to love?

 

If I Stay by Gayle Forman

Adam and Mia are both musicians with very different styles. Adam is a swoony guitarist and Mia is a classically-trained Cellist with dreams of Juilliard. What is music, but art you can listen to. These two definitely make beautiful music together, and we are very supportive of that.

 

The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen

One of Sarah Dessen’s finest, The Truth About Forever features Macy, Wes, and one of our favorite love stories. Wes is a sculptor that turns junkyard trash into beautiful pieces of art. Honestly, how could you resist that?

 

I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

Jude and Noah are twins; both with incredible artistic talents. For Jude, sculpture is her forte, while Noah prefers to draw. These two used to be close until an earth-shattering event changes everything in this Printz Award winning book.

 

Jane, Unlimited by Kristin Cashore

Jane just graduated from high school and is left with no direction. However, she loves making umbrellas inspired by her dreams. Her seemingly boring life (minus the umbrellas—can we have one?) gets turned upside down when she’s invited to a mysterious gala.

 

Still Life with Tornado by A.S. King

What happens when an artist can no longer draw? Sarah is thrusted into that reality when suddenly her ability runs dry. She must come to grips with the cause of this—the tornado that is her family—and what that means for her.

 

You in Five Acts by Una LaMarche

Five friends at a New York City performing arts school connect over the dream of stardom, but as their senior year is coming to a close, they realize that their time together is running out. A celebration of friendship and everything that comes with it, You in Five Acts gets down to the nitty-gritty of how one tragedy can change everything.

 

 

Are real-life artists more your style? Check out Blood Water Paint and discover the epic life of Artemisia Gentileschi.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#ShelfGoals

Read an excerpt of When I Am Through With You

When I Am Through With You by Stephanie Kuehn is a gripping story of survival and the razor’s-edge difference between perfect cruelty and perfect love. Ben Gibson is many things, but he’s not sorry and he’s not a liar. He will tell you exactly about what happened on what started as a simple school camping trip … Continued
See More

Start Reading CHEMICAL HEARTS by Krystal Sutherland!

Chemical Hearts is now streaming on Amazon Prime Video and we are SO excited to see Krystal Sutherland’s gorgeous novel come to life on screen. But in case you still have some catching up to do on reading the book, here’s an excerpt to get you started! About Chemical Hearts: Henry Page has never been in love. He … Continued
See More

Middle Grade Books by Black Authors You Should Be Reading

  What Lane? by Torrey Maldonado “STAY IN YOUR LANE.” Stephen doesn’t want to hear that–he wants to have no lane.Anything his friends can do, Stephen should be able to do too, right? So when they dare each other to sneak into an abandoned building, he doesn’t think it’s his lane, but he goes. Here’s … Continued
See More

Books to Read for Latinx Heritage Month

September 15-October 15 is Latinx Heritage Month. We’re inviting you to join us in reading stories by Latinx authors–and if you don’t know where to start, here are a few of our recommendations!   We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez A poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, … Continued
See More

10 Swoony Romances to Read Before Summer Ends!

Summer has been a whirlwind, but there are a few summer romances we recommend you pick up to read in the sunshine before summer is over!   Beyond the Break by Heather Buchta For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, … Continued
See More

YA Books by Black Authors You Should Be Reading

From award winning icons such as Mildred D. Taylor to debut voices such as Patrice Caldwell, here are some of the Black authors you should be reading.   A Phoenix First Must Burn edited by Patrice Caldwell Sixteen tales by bestselling and award-winning authors that explore the Black experience through fantasy, science fiction, and magic. … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: VICIOUS SPIRITS by Kat Cho

We fell completely in LOVE with Kat Cho’s Wicked Fox last year. And we may be even more in love with its stunning companion novel, Vicious Spirits! Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE As with any tragedy, it came about because he loved. When he was on the cusp of manhood, a young man met a … Continued
See More

Sci-Fi & Fantasy reads to move up on your TBR asap

2020 has brought a LOT of amazing reads to our shelf. Here are just a few of our favorite sci-fi/fantasy reads you’ll want to make sure you didn’t miss!   Want to win them all? Click here to enter our sweepstakes! The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae You will laugh. You will cry. You will … Continued
See More

Start reading HARROW LAKE by Kat Elis

Calling all horror movie fans! Harrow Lake is a can’t-put-down, creepy thriller about the daughter of a horror film director who’s not afraid of anything–until she gets to Harrow Lake. Scroll down to start reading! Transcript of interview with Nolan Nox, Director of Nightjar, for Scream Screen magazine (Nightjar twentieth-anniversary special feature) CJL: C. J. Lahey, columnist with Scream Screen NN: Nolan … Continued
See More

What to read if you’re not over The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes

If you’ve binge re-read the entire Hunger Games series and flew through the new prequel, The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes, we’ve got some recommendations for what to pick up next! From the Katniss energy of standing up to oppressive governing forces, to death-defying, high-stakes competitions, let’s get started!   The Kinder Poison by Natalie … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP