Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

6 Must-Read Forbidden Love Stories

SHARE

We all love a good love story. But a forbidden love story? Even better. These stories have us anxiously turning the pages, rooting for the two characters against all odds. Read on for some of our favorite forbidden love stories!

 

Flame in the Mist by Renee Ahdieh

What do you do when you’re falling in love with your assassin? Find out in this sweeping, action-packed adventure set against the backdrop of Feudal Japan where Mulan meets Throne of Glass.

 

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

Laia is a slave. Elias is a soldier. Laia is undercover as a slave, actually working for the rebellion. Elias is not any soldier, but the son of the woman whom Laia is determined to take down. The two are drawn to each other, despite all the reasons they shouldn’t be, and despite what each of them is hiding.

 

The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

Khalid, the eighteen-year-old Caliph of Khorasan, takes a new bride each night only to have her executed at sunrise. Shazi’s best friend was one of them. When she volunteers to marry Khalid, it’s not without a clever plan to take him down. No one thought she would survive the night. But Shazi herself is more surprised at what follows: is she falling for the boy who killed her best friend?

 

Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

As a Dhampir, Rose has one mission in life: to protect. She is sworn to protect her best friend, Lissa, from dangerous Strigoi, putting herself in harm’s way in the process. But though she is skilled and near-fearless, she still has much to learn from her mentor, Dimitri. Dimitri at first is cold and mysterious, immune to Rose’s sarcastic remarks. But with each training session she finds herself falling for Dimitri, even though everything–his age, his status as her mentor, and her dedication to protect Lissa–tell her not to.

 

The Dark Days Club by Allison Goodman

On the eve of eighteen-year-old Lady Helen Wrexhall’s presentation to the queen, one of her family’s housemaids disappears–and Helen is determined to find her by any means necessary. She meets Lord Carlston, one of the few who can stop the perpetrators: a cabal of demons infiltrating every level of society. Dare she ask for his help, when his reputation is almost as black as his lingering eyes? And will her intelligence and headstrong curiosity wind up leading them into a death trap?

 

The Careful Undressing of Love by Corey Ann Haydu

The girls of Devonairre Street in Brooklyn have always been told they’re cursed: any boy they love is certain to die within five years. The girls don’t necessarily believe it…until their beloved Jack dies. The curse suddenly is realer than they’d ever imagined.

 

 

 

 

Looking for more recommendations? Check out this list of our most anticipated summer reads!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#ShelfGoals

Read an excerpt of When I Am Through With You

When I Am Through With You by Stephanie Kuehn is a gripping story of survival and the razor’s-edge difference between perfect cruelty and perfect love. Ben Gibson is many things, but he’s not sorry and he’s not a liar. He will tell you exactly about what happened on what started as a simple school camping trip … Continued
See More

Start Reading CHEMICAL HEARTS by Krystal Sutherland!

Chemical Hearts is now streaming on Amazon Prime Video and we are SO excited to see Krystal Sutherland’s gorgeous novel come to life on screen. But in case you still have some catching up to do on reading the book, here’s an excerpt to get you started! About Chemical Hearts: Henry Page has never been in love. He … Continued
See More

Middle Grade Books by Black Authors You Should Be Reading

  What Lane? by Torrey Maldonado “STAY IN YOUR LANE.” Stephen doesn’t want to hear that–he wants to have no lane.Anything his friends can do, Stephen should be able to do too, right? So when they dare each other to sneak into an abandoned building, he doesn’t think it’s his lane, but he goes. Here’s … Continued
See More

Books to Read for Latinx Heritage Month

September 15-October 15 is Latinx Heritage Month. We’re inviting you to join us in reading stories by Latinx authors–and if you don’t know where to start, here are a few of our recommendations!   We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez A poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, … Continued
See More

10 Swoony Romances to Read Before Summer Ends!

Summer has been a whirlwind, but there are a few summer romances we recommend you pick up to read in the sunshine before summer is over!   Beyond the Break by Heather Buchta For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, … Continued
See More

YA Books by Black Authors You Should Be Reading

From award winning icons such as Mildred D. Taylor to debut voices such as Patrice Caldwell, here are some of the Black authors you should be reading.   A Phoenix First Must Burn edited by Patrice Caldwell Sixteen tales by bestselling and award-winning authors that explore the Black experience through fantasy, science fiction, and magic. … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: VICIOUS SPIRITS by Kat Cho

We fell completely in LOVE with Kat Cho’s Wicked Fox last year. And we may be even more in love with its stunning companion novel, Vicious Spirits! Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE As with any tragedy, it came about because he loved. When he was on the cusp of manhood, a young man met a … Continued
See More

Sci-Fi & Fantasy reads to move up on your TBR asap

2020 has brought a LOT of amazing reads to our shelf. Here are just a few of our favorite sci-fi/fantasy reads you’ll want to make sure you didn’t miss!   Want to win them all? Click here to enter our sweepstakes! The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae You will laugh. You will cry. You will … Continued
See More

Start reading HARROW LAKE by Kat Elis

Calling all horror movie fans! Harrow Lake is a can’t-put-down, creepy thriller about the daughter of a horror film director who’s not afraid of anything–until she gets to Harrow Lake. Scroll down to start reading! Transcript of interview with Nolan Nox, Director of Nightjar, for Scream Screen magazine (Nightjar twentieth-anniversary special feature) CJL: C. J. Lahey, columnist with Scream Screen NN: Nolan … Continued
See More

What to read if you’re not over The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes

If you’ve binge re-read the entire Hunger Games series and flew through the new prequel, The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes, we’ve got some recommendations for what to pick up next! From the Katniss energy of standing up to oppressive governing forces, to death-defying, high-stakes competitions, let’s get started!   The Kinder Poison by Natalie … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP